Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volvo V70 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volvo V70:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volvo V70 Owner Comments

problem #19

Sep 072014

V70

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving home from detroit to indianapolis on highway... check engine light came on, then went out a little further down the road... later came on again... engine was running fine... then sudden power loss....engine completely stopped... coasted to side of highway with no power steering or power brakes... restarted engine... engine ran well enough to get me to next exit before losing power again... this time it wouldn't run well enough to drive it after restarting.... after expensive trip to dealer for repair, found out issue was a fuel pressure sensor that failed... this is kind of like having your car lose power and stop running because your coolant temperature gauge failed... engine control module should not shut car off in response to this fuel pressure sensor fail... this gauge is used to optimize fuel consumption... it's not a pressure regulator... unexpected and complete power loss on a highway can be very dangerous... engine control module should not be programmed in this way...

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #18

Mar 172013

V70 5-cyl

  • 171,000 miles
I purchased a used vehicle the old owner said there was a recall. The check engine light goes on and off. I contacted the Volvo dealer he ran VIN but no recall for this car. I took it to a mechanic and he ran a diagnostic which read fuel sensor. The recall I saw for this year car is similar to the one issued. Could my car have been missed? NHTSA campaign id number: 07V226000 recall date: 2007-06-05 summary: On certain passenger vehicles, the fuel pressure sensor located on the left end of the fuel rail may, at times, transmit incorrect signal regarding the fuel pressure to the engine control module. If the signal is outside of the pre-programmed allowable limits, a diagnostic trouble code may be set and the check engine light will come on. The soldered joints on the circuit board of the fuel pressure sensor may crack due to temperature changes and excessive vibrations. Consequences: Misfire may occur during driving that, in turn, will reduce the engine torque and in the worst case scenario, the engine may stall without warning. In certain traffic situations this could cause an unsafe situation and possibly a crash. Remedy: Dealers will replace the fuel pressure sensor free of charge. The recall began on June 29, 2007. Owners may contact Volvo at 1-800-458-1552. Component affected: Engine and engine cooling notes: Volvo cars of N.a., llc

- Watsonville, CA, USA

problem #17

Dec 152011

V70 5-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. While parked, the contact noticed that the check engine warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The technician recommended updating the software. The software was updated however afterward, the check engine warning light illuminated intermittently. Additionally, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the control electronics module would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but to no avail. The contact informed the dealer that there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling) that could have been related to the failure. The dealer advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The technician then replaced the fuel pressure sensor. The failure was remedied. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000...updated 11/29/12 the consumer stated during the latter part of 2011, the "check engine' light came on and would go off intermittently. June 30, 2012 the vehicle would not start. A mechanic determined there was an internal fault in the cem module. It was replaced but, did not repair the vehicle. The vehicle shut of while making a turn on August 21, 2012. There were no codes displayed. The consumer requested the fuel sensor to be checked. It was found to be the reason for the failure and replaced at a cost of $375. The consumer request that recall 181 be required to expand its coverage. Updated 12/4/2012

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #16

Jun 202010

V70 5-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stopped on freeway, in heavy traffic. Wife and children in the car. Exact description as in NHTSA campaign I.D. 07V226000. Dealer (carlsen Volvo, palo alto, ca), claimed the car had no indication of recalls on their computer, but Volvo recall campaign R181 clearly states my vehicle and specific engine # 61 (6th and 7th digits in VIN) were subject of recall for the specific symptoms involved. I called Volvo U.S. and they gave me the same rote response, "your vehicle's VIN number doesn't show up as being included in R181". this is patently false. According to the recall, carlsen Volvo should have replaced the fuel pressure sensor free. Instead, over the course of 2years and multiple visits to the dealer, they never properly diagnosed nor repaired the problem. When your engine stalls in heavy traffic at freeway speeds, you and your passengers are at severe risk! I want my free repair from Volvo! I know I'm not the only V70 owner who has been lied to in this specific way by Volvo and their dealers.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 062012

V70

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. The contact stated that the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the fuel pressure sensor was failing and caused the vehicle to stall. The contact spoke with the manufacturer in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling), but was informed that the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 97,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #14

Mar 252012

V70

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostics. The mechanic stated to the contact that the fuel pressure sensor would have to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #13

Jan 152012

V70

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70R. The contact was driving 70 mph when the vehicle decelerated and the engine sputtered. The check engine light also illuminated during the failure. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that the failure occurred because the fuel pressure sensor was set to high. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that the VIN failed to qualify for the recall under NHTSA campaign id number 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 90,100.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 272011

V70 5-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Our 2004 Volvo V70 engine cut off while driving on highway. At the time, we were traveling at approximately 45 miles per hour. Luckily there was a side road nearby so we were able to coast, stop, and restart the car safely. Since that day, the check engine light has been coming on and then going off and the engine has shut down while driving on several other occassions. We took the car to Volvo and they claimed there were not any recalls on our 2004 Volvo V70 and performed a $65 diagonstic service and determined that our fuel pressure sensor had failed and need to be replaced at a cost of over $400. We pulled recall information for our car off motortrend's sited (see below) and forwarded this to the dealership. The dealership called Volvo's customer support team and they said our car was outside the warranty period and had no recall for this issue. We countered that recalls are not warranty claims and fall outside that window. Our car has experienced the same issue listed in recall listed below and the repair and diagnostic test should be honored by Volvo!! recall date Jun 05, 2007 consequences: Misfire may occur during driving that, in turn, will reduce the engine torque and in the worst case scenario, the engine may stall without warning. In certain traffic situations this could cause an unsafe situation and possibly a crash. Remedy: Dealers will replace the fuel pressure sensor free of charge. The recall began on June 29, 2007. Owners may contact Volvo at 1-800-458-1552. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #11

Aug 222011

V70

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. The contact was driving 45 mph when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after the failure and was taken to a private mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic advised that the fuel pressure sensor was sending faulty signals to the electronic control module. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised that the VIN did not qualify for recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 100,500. I contacted Volvo via phone about the issue, but Volvo would not agree to replace the fuel sensor free of charge, although Volvo has a recall for another 2004 fuel sensor. Updated 09/29/2011

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #10

Jan 022011

V70

  • 125,000 miles
My Volvo V70 is stalling during driving. I took it to the dealership and paid the $875 to replace the mass flow sensor. The stalling has continued. I reported the problem to Volvo America. They told me that model year was not covered by the recent recall for electronic throttle control. The symptoms of going into limp mode. The car has to restarted. The problem occurs on the highway and during stop and go traffic.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #9

Oct 312010

V70 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. The check engine light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosis located the failure as the fuel pressure sensor. The manufacturer stated that the VIN wasn't listed in recall 07V226000 engine and engine cooling; therefore, they would not assist with the repairs. The failure and the current mileages were 84,000. Updated 01/13/11 updated 03/31/11 updated 05/04/11 updated 08/19/11

- Pittsboro , NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 192010

V70

  • 77,900 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. While driving approximately 25-30 mph the vehicle began to shake and then it stalled. The contact stated that there were no warning lights. The vehicle restarted and began to function normally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer since the check engine light was coming on and the dealer advised him that the fuel pressure sensor needed replacing. The contact referenced recall 07V226000, engine and engine cooling and was advised by the dealer that his vehicle was not part of the recall. The failure has occurred twice. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,900 and the current mileage was 78,028.

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #7

Nov 082008

V70 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns 2004 Volvo V70. While driving 5 mph out of driveway the contact heard a clunk and the vehicle stopped. A bolt came apart from the control arm. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and it was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 60000. The current mileage was 66000. Updated 06/02/10. The control arm was partially disconnected from the vehicle to the point where the bolt. Also, the service engine soon light illuminated. The consumer was told the fuel pressure sensor had failed. The consumer stated he learned of two recalls. However, he was told they did not apply to his VIN. The consumer referenced both recalls; 04V029000 and 07V226000. Updated 07/08/10.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #6

Dec 182009

V70

  • 79,353 miles
Fuel pressure sensor mis-communicates to the ECM about the fuel pressure, and so the ECM gives a mis-communication to the fuel pump how much pressure to exert. According tonhtsa recall 07V22600 for Volvo V70 2003-2004, "misfire may occur during driving... the engine may stall without warning;in certain traffic situations this could cause an unsafe situation and possible a crash." The Volvo dealer read the NHTSA recall notice and said that the customer would have to pay for elective repair for reason that this "VIN does not pop up." The Volvo manufacturer (800/458-1552) said that the "VIN does not pop up; there is no recall for this vehicle." I am requesting NHTSA to add this VIN to recall 07V226000, then notify me that it had done so.

- Claremont, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 152009

V70

  • 73,000 miles
Approximately two months ago, my car began shuddering and bucking in a random fashion, and getting no power to the accelerator. I contacted my mechanic, and since it couldn't be duplicated and at that time there was no "check engine" light on, there was nothing that he could check. This continued with varying degrees of intensity until last evening(12/15/09) at approximately 6:00 pm. As I was merging onto the highway, the car began shuddering intensely. I down shifted and it continued. Without warning(and while having fully merged and reaching the highway speed of 65 mph), the car died. I was able to pull to the shoulder without incident. The check engine light came on and remained on when I restarted the engine. It again died within a few feet. After a third attempt, I was able to restart the car and exit the highway and return home. In researching the possible cause, I came across the description of the following NHTSA recall on certain '03-'04 models(07V226000). My dealership informed me on the following day that the issue with the car was indeed the fuel pressure sensor, and that my car was not part of the recall. I know from other V70R owners that they too have had the same issue, and that Volvo usa is aware of the problem. I would like for an investigation into the recall be expanded to more of the vins that were produced in '03-'04. Had I not been able to pull over to the shoulder immediately(I was in the right hand lane), I could have been in a serious accident. The highway in question is a 3 lane highway that was quite busy and it was fully dark at the time that the engine failed.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #4

Oct 302009

V70

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions; the engine stalled without warning. There were several attempts before the engine restarted. The vehicle was able to resume normal operation. Whenever the vehicle was in operation the failure occurred intermittent. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic on two separate occasions for diagnostic testing. The failure was related to the fuel pressure sensor. The vehicle was not been repaired for the malfunction. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact experienced the identical failures mentioned in the recall. However, the VIN was excluded from the recall defect. There was concern of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 101,000. The current mileage was 102,500.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 202009

V70

  • 86,000 miles
The check engine light on our 2004 Volvo V70 wagon came on while driving down the highway. The vehicle then made noticeable hesitations but the vehicle continued to be drivable. After getting to atlanta and taking the car to a Volvo dealership, the fault code said the problem was with the fuel sensor. Interestingly there was a recall on the 2004 Volvo V70 recall #07V226000 for the exact same problem. I called Volvo and they say it is not covered as the problem was only for VIN's 286155 - 404037. Volvo declined to cover the problem. The recall clearly states that the fuel sensor problem can cause the vehicle to stall and it is a dangerous problem in my opinion. In our case we are luckily the problem did not cause the vehicle to stall completely on the highway. I highly recommend that you look into this issue on the 2004 V70 Volvo's after the VIN range as the problem appears not to have been resolved on all vehicles exhibiting this dangerous problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #2

Oct 232008

V70 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,900 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. While driving approximately 60 mph on normal road conditions, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The engine stalled intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was related to the fuel pressure sensor. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling), although the failures were identical. The failure mileage was 28,900 and current mileage was 29,000. Updated 12/01/08. Updated 12/01/08.

- Annapolis , MD, USA

problem #1

Mar 232006

V70

  • miles
2000 V70xcaw cross country wagon ETM system failed. The ac hose compressor condenser was replaced. The vehicle was leaking gas and the O-ring seal on the pump sender was replaced. The front passenger window was inoperable when trying to use the master controls. The dealer replaced the module switch. The engine would whine at highway speeds while accelerating. The battery, oil pan, upper torque mount, angle gear, rotors, fuel pump, fuel tank, fuel seal and struts were all replaced. The cv boot was leaking. The turbo charger was replaced because of an oil leak.

- Sun City, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?