Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,420 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volvo V70 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volvo V70:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volvo V70 Owner Comments

problem #9

Jun 022014

V70 5-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the vehicle is driving at any speed and the accelerator pedal is pushed down, there is often a loss of power and the vehicle will not move forward for up to 5 to 10 seconds. There is a recall on this year and model already but my specific vehicle with my VIN is not covered. However our vehicle is doing the exact same thing as the vehicles that have been recalled. I have spoken to Volvo but they have been unwilling to work with us to repair the vehicle. I feel as though the previous recall should have been expanded but I am unsure. Thank you

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Dec 152011

V70 5-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. While parked, the contact noticed that the check engine warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The technician recommended updating the software. The software was updated however afterward, the check engine warning light illuminated intermittently. Additionally, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the control electronics module would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but to no avail. The contact informed the dealer that there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V226000 (engine and engine cooling) that could have been related to the failure. The dealer advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The technician then replaced the fuel pressure sensor. The failure was remedied. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000...updated 11/29/12 the consumer stated during the latter part of 2011, the "check engine' light came on and would go off intermittently. June 30, 2012 the vehicle would not start. A mechanic determined there was an internal fault in the cem module. It was replaced but, did not repair the vehicle. The vehicle shut of while making a turn on August 21, 2012. There were no codes displayed. The consumer requested the fuel sensor to be checked. It was found to be the reason for the failure and replaced at a cost of $375. The consumer request that recall 181 be required to expand its coverage. Updated 12/4/2012

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #7

Sep 272011

V70 5-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Our 2004 Volvo V70 engine cut off while driving on highway. At the time, we were traveling at approximately 45 miles per hour. Luckily there was a side road nearby so we were able to coast, stop, and restart the car safely. Since that day, the check engine light has been coming on and then going off and the engine has shut down while driving on several other occassions. We took the car to Volvo and they claimed there were not any recalls on our 2004 Volvo V70 and performed a $65 diagonstic service and determined that our fuel pressure sensor had failed and need to be replaced at a cost of over $400. We pulled recall information for our car off motortrend's sited (see below) and forwarded this to the dealership. The dealership called Volvo's customer support team and they said our car was outside the warranty period and had no recall for this issue. We countered that recalls are not warranty claims and fall outside that window. Our car has experienced the same issue listed in recall listed below and the repair and diagnostic test should be honored by Volvo!! recall date Jun 05, 2007 consequences: Misfire may occur during driving that, in turn, will reduce the engine torque and in the worst case scenario, the engine may stall without warning. In certain traffic situations this could cause an unsafe situation and possibly a crash. Remedy: Dealers will replace the fuel pressure sensor free of charge. The recall began on June 29, 2007. Owners may contact Volvo at 1-800-458-1552. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #6

Sep 062011

V70 5-cyl

  • 82,261 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On a recent rainy afternoon I stalled out in the middle of a very busy intersection in my 2004 V70, subjecting myself and my family to a very dangerous situation. I was able to restart my car, and after several more stall outs and restarts I was able to limp to a nearby parking lot where I called my repair shop to have my car towed in for repair. My mechanic diagnosed the problem as a faulty fuel pressure sensor, ordered the part from the local Volvo dealer and repaired my car; the total bill, including towing was $615. Later that week, my husband looked up vehicle recalls on the NHTSA website and found recall #R181 which exactly described my situation. I would like to know why I was not notified of this recall before my car stalled and put me and my family at great risk.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #5

Dec 102010

V70 5-cyl

  • 65,900 miles
December 10, 2010 - Jan 5, 2011) frequent engine stalls, check engine light illuminated. Service diagnoses (chesapeake import services, annapolis, md) revealed ECM & dtc codes pointing to Volvo recall 181, NHTSA campaign # 07V2Z6000. Dealer and Volvo cars of North America, llc indicate vehicle (VIN: [xxx]) is not covered by recall; Volvo will not pay for repair. Vehicle repaired on January 9, 2011 at owner expense by implementing the recall action (replace fuel pressure sensor). Check engine has remained out and there are no further problems with surge or stall. While the chassis number (409846) appears to be out of the recall range from the information available to the owner, there may be substantial risk to other owners with these vehicles. One of the engine failures (the last one) for this owners' vehicle occurred at a busy, high speed, and notorious intersection. The vehicle was then parked until a repair could be effected. We highly recommend that the scope of the recall campaign be reexamined with a view toward covering all the vehicles that might be exposed to this extremely dangerous condition. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Annapolis, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Oct 312010

V70 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo V70. The check engine light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosis located the failure as the fuel pressure sensor. The manufacturer stated that the VIN wasn't listed in recall 07V226000 engine and engine cooling; therefore, they would not assist with the repairs. The failure and the current mileages were 84,000. Updated 01/13/11 updated 03/31/11 updated 05/04/11 updated 08/19/11

- Pittsboro , NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 032010

V70

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Parts defect - relay that regulates fuel consumption. Volvo recalled some cars but did not include our VIN number.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 302008

V70

  • 63,866 miles
I was driving alone in Napa, ca at night on Tuesday, December 30th. I signaled to make a right hand turn from 30mph (so I was braking at the beginning of the turn and during the turn). About half way through the turn, I lost all power, power steering, brakes, etc. All of the dashboard lights went on - car was dead. I was trying to brake and steer to miss colliding with a parked car - to no avail. The car came to a stop about 1 foot from the a parked car in the opposite lane from where I was supposed to be. Fortunately, there was neither a waiting motorist nor a pedestrian walking at the intersection, as I most certainly would have hit them. While in the wrong lane, facing the wrong direction (by about 30 degrees) I managed to start the car immediately, but not without an oncoming motorist having to go around me. The same thing happened twice in October of this year - I brought it to my local Volvo dealer/service shop where they found "nothing" wrong with it. I did my own online research, finding similar issues and a recall citing problems with the fuel pressure sensor. My dealer replaced that part- and it has been running without incident until this Tuesday. Worth mentioning: In each incident, I was braking from no more than 30 mph. I had at least 3/4 tank of gas (the first time it occurred I was leaving a gas station!)

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 292008

V70

  • 50,750 miles
My regularly serviced Volvo wagon's "service engine" light came on. Like a good customer, took it to the dealership. They determined it to be a defect in the leak detection problem. Soaked me for over $500 for the repair, which they started without my permission. The car only has 50,770 miles on it and is a 2004, purchase in Jan. '04. I am beginning to think it is a case of pre-planned failure. Please help!!

- Archdale, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?