Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Volvo XC90 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Volvo XC90:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Volvo XC90 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Nov 252009

XC90

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Urgent service transmission light came on 2005 Volvo XC90 T6 with 80,000 km. Flush and new software tried to fix problem. It didn't solve anything. One month or two later the gears starting slipping from stopped position and while driving. Light came on again. A large amount of sludge and filing were found in the pan. Had to have to a complete rebuild of the transmission.

- Caledonia, 00, USA

problem #17

Nov 132009

XC90

  • 69,800 miles
I am the owner of a 2005 XC90 Volvo. This car only has 69,000 miles on it and the transmission has failed and needs to be replaced. My car broke down on a short road trip in the middle of no where on top of a snowy mountain. Due to the poor quality of transmission coupled with the powerful engine the transmission shredded metal that reached the radiator and other coolant departments that also now need to be replaced. The total cost of repairing the damage caused is $6,700. I bought this car in hopes to have a secure vehicle to drive my kids around while my husband is deployed and expected to it last at least to 100,000 miles. The car is only 4 years old and should not be needing such extensive repairs. I contacted Volvo and it is taking them a long time to get back to me. My car is sitting at a repair shop while I wait for a phone call to see if they will help cover the costs or not. A Volvo technical support representative admitted to me that they are aware that this is a common problem with this year and make but were not saying that they would cover the expenses, rather she said that they would see if they could assist me in some way. I am dissatisfied with their lack of response and unwillingness to help correct their mistake. After doing some research it is obvious that many Volvo owners of the CX90 2005 are having the same problem and this needs to be addressed and Volvo needs to be help accountable for their faulty product, they need to sell cars that are safe for families to drive.

- Klamath Falls, OR, USA

problem #16

Apr 022009

XC90

  • 51,000 miles
Add me to the list of XC90 T6 owners that had to replace a defective transmission. I barely evaded a catastrophic accident when the trans failed at a busy intersection. There are thousands of posts on various forums detailing similar experiences. Volvo has done nothing to address this irrefutable problem. What is the NHTSA doing to potentially save lives" like so many others, I have been quiet hoping that others speak up on my behalf. There are class action suits being initiated around the country. Enough is enough. Either Volvo issue a recall and correct the issue or these vehicles should be replaced. I waited two months for the last transmission that was on back-order. Hmmm, I wonder why it is on back-order" one doesn't need to be a genius to figure that out. I am 3K into the new trans and already experienced a slipped gear shift. I sense that there aren't many surprised by this. It is sad to say, but it will likely take some lost lives that are attributed to the faulty transmission before something is done. I didn't buy a Volvo to worry about my family's welfare everytime they drive this vehicle. Please help!

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 242009

XC90

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Volvo XC90 T6 with 71000 miles on it. On 7/23/09 the transmission began to "slip" and I took it to the Volvo dealership on 7/24/09 for them to diagnose the problem. The transmission on this 4 year old vehicle need to be replaced at a cost of $5,300. Volvo has been aware of the problem and so far has not owned up to responsibility. The transmission slips in low gears and upon acceleration. It is a safety issues because if the transmission slips while merging onto the highway it could cause an accident or at any other time for that matter. It is a very common problem and Volvo should make this a recall to protect the safety of their customers but thus far there has been no recall. The transmission is on back order for 1 - 2 months which is completely unacceptable from any consumer or safety standpoint.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #14

Jul 182009

XC90

  • 131,997 miles
2005 Volvo xc-90, transmission failure. "transmission service urgent' light came on and the transmission began slipping at 131,997 miles; in July 2009. This was a new transmission, replaced by the dealer at 76,994 miles in January 2008. The vehicle has only been serviced by that dealership. The new transmission lasted less than 18 months and less than 54,000 miles at a cost of over $5,000. The replacement transmission was either defective or not new, which is what was proclaimed.

- Hodges, SC, USA

problem #13

Jul 232009

XC90

  • 102,400 miles
Transmission on a 2005 Volvo XC90 failed while driving on I-95 heading onto ri rt 37. Thirty-five miles prior to this failure Volvo dealer upgraded the software to remedy the "transmission service urgent" problem at a cost of $200. This seems to be a common and extremely costly problem among Xc90S and must be remedied by Volvo.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #12

Jun 022009

XC90

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Volvo XC90 T6 the transmission just failed at only 75000 miles. My son bought the same car at the same time as me brand new. His transmission has been replaced twice.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jun 192008

XC90

  • 54,756 miles
Transmission failure at less than 65000 miles. Originally reported at 54756 miles. Oem warranty expired at 50,000 miles. Own extended warranty but so far dealer has had vehicle 3 times over course of last 9 months and unable to get extended warranty company to replace transmission.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #10

Jan 222009

XC90

  • 70,000 miles
Coming to a stop sign, on a rural road, funny noise, then urgent transmission light came on. Didn't hear anything, tried to move vehicle, go up a hill and it seem as if I lost first and second gear. Towed to shop, they got the light to come off, they believe it needs a transmission but won't do anything. I'm trying to drive it occasionally and I've almost gotten stuck twice. Transmission is slipping badly and locking intermittently.

- Simsbury, CT, USA

problem #9

Jan 202009

XC90

  • 53,000 miles
I have the ill fated XC90 T6...like clockwork at 53000 miles the dreaded transmission service urgent light comes on....now I am supposed to fork over 7000 bucks for a completely defective transmission!

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #8

Feb 042008

XC90

  • 54,414 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2005 Volvo XC90 (54,414 miles) on a busy California freeway (the 405), the engine stopped suddenly with no warning or warning light. Fortunately, I was able to make it over to the side of the road to call for a tow without injury (although I was almost rear ended since the failure was so sudden and without warning) and had it towed to a Volvo dealer in torrance, ca. It is a transmission problem. Since then, we have found hundreds of other consumers who have had the same problem with their XC90 Volvo too. Volvo has not recalled or provided any notice to consumers of the problem. Volvo has provided replacement trades and cash to some consumers who complained, but no overall notice to consumers. We didn't find out until it happened to us and started to research. Additionally, the week before, the front left tire blew out when my wife was driving and I was out of town. Uneven tire wear, uneven wear even with constant realignment, is another common issue with the 18" tires on Volvo. They know of the issue, but not how to fix it. Volvo did at least send a tow truck to put the spare on and my wife was not injured (fortunately). We didn't know of the safely flaws in the XC90 which was purchased because of Volvo's marketing campaign of "safety" and "Volvo for life" campaign. Volvo is advertising falsely and the XC90 has safety issues. Please help protect others!

- Palos Verdes Estates, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 182008

XC90

  • 63,200 miles
The transmission in my 2005 Volvo xc 90, failed in traffic on Dec. 18th. After doing some research this is a very common issue. The car only had 63,200 miles on it and had been regularly serviced. The links below, show that this is a common issue which Volvo is aware of but failing to make public. townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F18A651/132 www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/Volvo.htm townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.EF21566/1030 I believe there should be a recall, as people are having to pay $3000 - $5000, to replace a defective part. If you check the links, some users have had to replace the transmission multiple times.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #6

Oct 052008

XC90

  • 122,239 miles
I have had my 2005 T6 XC90 for 5 months and until today have only dealt with small issues. Today I was on the freeway and lost transmission power at 65 mph and the event could have been catastrophic, however I was lucky enough to regain transmission control and could get to an exit and park my vehicle in a safe place to await a tow. I had no idea that the T6 was known for this type of failure with the transmission or I would never have bought it. I have two little girls and their safety was the key element in my purchasing this vehicle. All things considered, today could have been much worse but according to many accounts this isn't the first T6 to have tranny problems and it won't be the last. Until Volvo is made to acknowledge that their design was faulty other families' lives are at stake. I know my XC90 will need a new transmission, and the cost is going to be upwards of $6,000. And for a "Volvo for life" this is unacceptable!!

- Freeport, MN, USA

problem #5

Jul 152008

XC90

  • 72,350 miles
While driving my 2005 Volvo XC90 noticed the transmission slipping. The slipping started in the just two after purchased and it was taken to the dealership at the factory schedule maintenance intervals. On July 15, 2008 while my wife was driving the vehicle with my two children that transmission slipped and got stuck is a gear that prevented my wife going more than twenty miles per hour on a very busy street. The vehicle has 72,000 miles on it.

- Stevenson Ranch, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 022008

XC90

  • 60,450 miles
I have a 2005 Volvo XC90 T6. The transmission failed at 60,000 miles and will cost $4600+ to repair. The transmission should last longer than 60,000 miles unless there is a defect in design.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #3

Jun 172008

XC90

  • 103,000 miles
I currently own a Volvo XC90 T-6 2005. The transmission began to slip in first gear, I had a Volvo dealership take a look at it about 6,000 miles ago. Now, the urgent service light came on and Volvo states that the transmission needs to be replaced. Many others have experienced these same issues, so what is Volvo not fixing these issues. I will never, never purchase a Volvo again.

- Woodstock , MD, USA

problem #2

Dec 022007

XC90 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Transmission went out at 62K miles and had to be replaced. Checking on edmunds website, this appears to be a very common problem with this vehicle.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #1

Mar 212007

XC90 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,880 miles
This vehicle was purchased outright as a new vehicle in February 2005. This 2005 XC90, fwd with approximately 13,880 miles had a complete transmission failure on 03/21/2007. Day prior to the event, an odd noise was heard on driver's side of vehicle. Upon acceleration vehicle would hesitate then lunge forward. Service department called upon arrival at home. The following morning, on way to dealership/service, 2 blocks from there vehicle lost power and would no longer accelerate. Was notified that a new transmission was needed. Currently am awaiting new transmission. As per service this was under warranty. Service dept and Volvo na, stated that the new transmission will only be covered for the remainder of the new car warranty period which would be approximately 2 years.

- Plainedge, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?