Indiana Lemon Law Information
The Indiana Lemon Law applies when, during the first eighteen (18) months or 18,000 miles (whichever comes first), following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more business days.
To qualify for the Indiana Lemon Law, you must notify the manufacturer in writing. Depending on your warranty, you may be required to provide documentation of all repair orders. The manufacturer has 30 days to respond.
If the manufacturer has adopted an informal dispute proceedure that has been certified by the Attorney General, you must try that before proceeding with a legal claim. If you are unsatisied with the mediation process, you have 2 years from the date you first reported the problem to the dealer to file a lawsuit.Indiana Lemon Law information from the Attorney General's Office »
Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Indiana Lemon Law Attorneys
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.