Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,649 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

May 112015

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Newport Coast, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 102016

330

  • miles
Takata recall. After waiting 9 months for replacement of passenger side air bag I received another recall notice for the drivers side airbag. It has now been nearly 15 months and no remedy in sight. Received a " final remedy available " letter dated Sept. 2016 asking that I call dealer for repair. Called local dealer October 10/16 and was told no parts are available.I have not had full use of my vehicle for nearly 2 years and see no remedy coming anytime soon.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #51

Jul 012015

330

  • 76,000 miles
Takata inflators. Manufacturer has not pursued the existing recall in even a remotely timely manner. I was notified by letter dated July 2015 of the recall. That was over 14 months ago! I called my local BMW service center who informed me the required parts were still not available. The representative here at safecar.gov notified me that parts are available. When I contacted manufacturer "national recall call center" (800-831-1117), as recommended by rep here at safecar, they said they weren't for my VIN. When I informed them I had inquired here with this Agency and was told the parts were available, the national center said they'd call me back in 48 hours. They never did. Does anyone take these safety recalls seriously? the manufacturer certainly isn't.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #50

May 272015

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #49

May 292015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Greensburg, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #48

Nov 282014

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V428000 (air bags) and 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #47

Jun 202016

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #46

Aug 302016

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V428000 (air bags) and 15V318000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Long View, WA, USA

problem #45

Jul 182015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #44

Nov 092015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #43

Aug 102016

330 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I sent you my first complaint on or around August 10, 2016, and only received a 'thank you' return note, and that you would get back to me. You have not! to recapitulate the earlier complaint, I received recall campaign no. 15V-318 in July 2015, and have since not received anything from BMW. I called BMW customer relations around August 4, to find out the status of the airbag replacement. After getting no information from the first customer relations person, I was connected to a supervisor who also gave me no information. I asked when I could expect a airbag replacement - they told me 'probably before the end of the year'. I told them this was an unacceptable, dangerous situation, with the supervisor's response that 'nobody had died in a BMW of an airbag incident'. while it is good nobody has died, the response was less than acceptable. It is now a week later, August 18 - and still no further response from BMW or from the NHTSA. You guys have been working this - is it safe to drive my car or not" are you asking or working with BMW to resolve this? when can I expect a replacement airbag, or at least a response from BMW or the NHTSA" please get back to me - your in-action is not acceptable either. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #42

Aug 022016

330

  • miles
Dear sirs: I received a recall notice (15V-318) in July 2015, for the front, driver's side airbag recall for my 2003 BMW 330I. Since that time I have not received any additional correspondence from BMW or anyone, to provide status. I called bmwusa, customer service on August 2, 2016 - I first talked to anthony smith, who recited prescribed verbage, that I would be contacted once replacement airbags were received. I asked when - he could only say 'probably before the end of 2016'. I told him BMW's handling of this was less than acceptable, and asked to talk to a supervisor - I was connected to a person named cole, who refused the courtesy of providing a last name, only his extension of X8917. I asked cole when I could expect to receive a replacement airbag; he could not answer that. I told cole I was deeply upset for not receiving any information (at all) from BMW since July 2015, and was deeply concerned for my safety and that of my passengers. He would only say that 'no one had died' of an airbag incident in a BMW - yet, and could offer no other options or comfort for me. I wrote an email letter to bmwusa that same day, detailing what I wrote in this note, receiving a note back from bmwusa (correspondence 1-7149508707), thanking me for my writing them, and that they had forwarded my email to cole for review - and of course I have not heard from them since. Its obvious that bmwusa customer relations group is less than compassionate for their customers. My friends that work at Honda are telling me to 'get out my car', regardless of what BMW is saying - this is a dangerous, unacceptable risk. Please let me know what you think - I think at the very least that BMW should put me in a safe car until they can replace this defective airbag. Thanks for your time.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #41

Aug 022013

330

  • miles
This is a California car parked outside from 2003-2014. From 2014-2016 is has been parked outside in North Carolina. I would think a 13 year old car with this history would be in the priority a group. It is been hot and humid its entire life. It needs to be replaced now. It's just a matter of time.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #40

Jul 212016

330

  • miles
Takata recall. I have been in contact with BMW North America & my local dealer for well over 1 year on my driver's side airbag recall (after a multi year delay to get the passenger side replaced), but still do not have any idea of when they will fix the problem. Most recently, BMW [xxx] told me "remedy is available" in writing. I have called the local dealer & left messages 3 times, but the service department will not call me back. The secretary for the service department told me while leaving a message I needed to come to the dealer to order the recalled part. I asked how this could be correct. I really need to go to the dealership to order a part for a recalled item? BMW [xxx] now will not return my emails. I have asked multiple times to simply disconnect the potentially deadly airbag until a replacement is available, but they will not. I cannot understand why both the parent company & the dealer refuse to return my calls & emails, and simply provide me with information on when my car will be fixed. Further, why would they say a fix/remedy is available & then stop communication and not follow through, making the required repair. Please help me in getting this potentially deadly airbag replaced. Please fine BMW for operating in such a horrible manner. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #39

Jul 152015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dix Hills, NY, USA

problem #38

Apr 202016

330

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330xi. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #37

Apr 082016

330 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/15/16 the consumer stated it has been almost two years, since the recall was first initiated and still no resolution. Updated 06/16/16.

- Hartford, CT, USA

problem #36

Apr 062016

330

  • miles
Takata recall my family drives a 2003 BMW 330I. We received notice of the airbag recall over 6 months ago, but the dealer still does not have parts needed for repair. There has not been an incident, but I feel like we are driving a ticking bomb. When will BMW be forced to make these repairs?

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #35

Feb 102015

330

  • 96,000 miles
"takata recall" the drivers door air bag light came on and would not go off. So we took the car to BMW dealer and was told the air bag was defective. We were given a recall # 15V318, its over a year we have been waiting for car to be repaired and when we call BMW at 1-800-831-1117 to check we were told that they will get to it in good time so we should wait, it is now April how much longer do we have to wait? no one can give us an answer

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #34

Jul 012015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Irvine, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?