Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,275 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW X5 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW X5 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Apr 162014

X5

  • 67,203 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 67,203.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #37

Feb 032014

X5 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I received a recall notification from bwm a couple of months ago; 'recall campaign no. 13V-564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat'. the recall notice said that the parts were not yet available to fix the issue but that they would be shortly and BMW would send out a notice once they were available. My vehicle was experiencing the exact issue described in the recall letter which was 'the air bag warning lamp on the instrument cluster and the front "passenger air bag off" lamp in the overhead console are illuminated at the same time'. I took my car into a service center (center BMW in sherman oaks, ca); they acknowledged the recall and told me to come back in March when the parts would be available. Not only are the parts still unavailable, but the recall notice has been cancelled for some reason. My front passenger seat air bag is still not functioning though. I am forced to have passengers travel in the front seat at times and am very concerned that if an accident happens they will be seriously hurt. Who can I contact to help with this"?"

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #36

Oct 182012

X5

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the front passenger seat occupancy detector mat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #35

Feb 242014

X5 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both of the air bag problem indicator lights are activated. This is a result of a faulty air bag occupant detection mat. This faulty mat deactivates the passenger side airbag. There have been recalls issued by BMW for this issue for my model and other models. When I called the dealership they informed me that my vehicle will not be covered based on my VIN number.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #34

Jun 042013

X5 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags) however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Oct 012010

X5 6-cyl

  • miles
Since 2010, my BMW X5, 3.0, 2006 seat belt continually sounds the alarm chime even though there is no passenger in the seat. This issue only happens in the passenger front seat. The seat belt must remain fastened at all times to avoid the warning indicator from alarm.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #32

Jul 012013

X5 8-cyl

  • 106,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger airbag is de-activated. Passenger seat occupancy sensor is not working. BMW states that my production date is not inclusive of the recall# 13V564000. The recall starts mfg date 12/1/2005 forward for BMW X5 models. BMW customer service stated my date of mfg was 10/25/2005 and they will not cover. I need intervention with this matter. It is more than coincidence that I am having the identical issue as cars mfg less than 35 days after my mfg date. Thank you.

- Cedar Grove, NJ, USA

problem #31

Dec 242013

X5 6-cyl

  • 94,500 miles
Passenger side seat sensor has failed, leaving airbag in permanently deactivated state.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #30

Dec 022013

X5 6-cyl

  • 63,500 miles
Front passenger airbag malfunction light stays on. Obd scanner indicates air bag mat sensor defect. BMW declined to fix problem since vehicle is out of warranty. Same problem appeared on June 15, 2011 but was fixed at no cost by dealership since vehicle was still under warranty at 447,94 miles.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #29

Dec 012013

X5 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Passenger occupancy sensor fails, causing air bag to become inoperative and airbag light to appear on dash. In case of accident, the airbag will not deploy. Dealer wants nearly 2000 dollars to fix, though they say it had "already been repaired in 2008" when the vehicle was two years old; dealer confirmed that they hear this complaint all of the time. Recall campaign 08V384000 addresses this issue for some BMW models/seats, but does not adequately address all models and years that have the problem. For the X5 model, for example, the "comfort seat" is covered, but the standard seat, which has the very same problem (not related to the comfort system) is not. Please widen the coverage of the campaign to include all models and years affected by this widespread problem.

- Kaysville, UT, USA

problem #28

Jan 272013

X5 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag sensor.

- Imperial Beach, CA, USA

problem #27

Oct 152012

X5 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After experiencing the same issue for which BMW issued this recall NHTSA action number: EA08001 I learned that because my 2006 X5 was manufactured after November 30, 2005, BMW is not covering under warranty the very same defect that vehicles manufactured prior to November 30, 2005 are under warranty for (extended to 10 years with no mileage restrictions). The explanation is "that is the recall policy. We manage this via VIN numbers".

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 082013

X5

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where it was discovered that the passenger's side mat sensor had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #25

Feb 012013

X5

  • 94,000 miles
Production date 03/2006 front passenger seat occupant detection mat malfunction. Vehicle was brought to independent shop for code reading to verify that 'airbag light off' illuminated was triggered from seat sensor. Light stays illuminated (indicating airbag is off) with adult occupant on passenger seat, approximately less than 1,000-miles after, driver dash airbag light illuminated permanently also. Vehicle was purchased as a cpo. Airbag/seat sensor code began after cpo warranty expired. During the period of my ownership, vehicle was never involved in any collisions. Vehicle was last brought in for brake and oil service at BMW dealership. Some research seem to indicate a recall regarding very similar situation (NHTSA campaign # 08V384000) was available for certain model BMW. Summary of the campaign letter does not include 2006 X5, however, extra notes does state that it includes "my 2006 X5." Both BMW dealership and BMW of na were not able to find any recall associated with my VIN. There were made aware of the letter and were firm that vehicle was not part of the recall and repair/replacement cost at owner's expense.

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 012013

X5 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Passenger seat occupancy airbag light shows airbag is inactivate (whether or not someone is in the passenger seat). This light appears intermittently. Took to dealer and was advised the repair is $1200. Although my model should be covered in the 2008 recall, NHTSA 08V384000 - ??BMW is extending the warranty to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit to the following vehicles: My 2006 6-series, 3-series (standard seat), my 2004-2005 Z4, my 2004-2006 7-series, my 2006 X5, and my 2004-2006 5-series (comfort seat). Under the extended warranty program, the occupant detection mat in a vehicle that experiences this specific issue will be replaced at no charge to the customer, although my car is listed above, the dealer says that my 2006 X5 was manufactured outside the current manufacture date for the 2008 recall. This recall need to be expanded. There are numerous complaints from 2006 X5 owners outside the November 2005 manufacture date.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Jun 152013

X5 8-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the mat sensor had failed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 8/5/13 the consumer stated her vehicle was rear ended. However, while at the collision center, the air bag light sensor illuminated on the dash.

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #22

Jun 152013

X5 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Both the air bag warning lamp and passenger air bag "on-off" lamp illuminated on circumstance that there is someone sitting on the passenger seat.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #21

May 152013

X5 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Passenger seat occupancy airbag light near sunroof controls remains unilluminated (which means airbag is activated) when no one is in the passenger seat. This appears to be intermitent as yesterday it remained illuminated (airbag off) as it should be with no one in the passenger seat. Also had case where red airbag light was illuminated on dash for unknown reason but light went off after driving for a period of time. My X5 was manufactured in May 2006 and appears to be outside the current manufacture date for the 2008 re-call. The recall needs to be expanded based on how many people complain about this on vehicles outside the November 05 manufacture date.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #20

Mar 182013

X5 6-cyl

  • 121,018 miles
Passenger seat occupancy sensor light illuminated and disengaged airbag whether passenger in seat or not. Known faulty equipment needs recall and repair.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #19

Aug 252012

X5

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?