Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,275 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW X5 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW X5 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jan 022013

X5 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage was 48,900.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #17

Jul 152012

X5 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was found that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in the manufacturer's recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 02/12/13 updated 02/13/13

- Middle Village , NY, USA

problem #16

Jul 012012

X5

  • 60,000 miles
Passenger side seat sensor has failed, leaving airbag in permanently deactivated state. This defect was previously subject of recall in other vehicles in same model year, but not particular month of manufacture of mine according to VIN. Have reported to BMW dealer and BMW na; customer service agent at BMW na initially indicated they might cover it but then request was denied by management. I have requested they simply deactivate the sensor and leave the airbag on, which would seem to be a low-cost repair. They have stated there is no safety issue in doing so. The stated purpose of the sensor is to prevent unnecessary cost for airbag replacement after an accident. This seems to be a clear design defect: If the sensor fails, the airbag should be left in the active condition, not a disabled condition. The dealer is requesting $1276 to replace the defective seat sensor. BMW knows they are making money off this repair and has no incentive to find a low cost repair that would save lives. Software deactivation of the sensor would increase safety since some will be unable to afford a repair of this expense and driving without a passenger side SRS puts occupants at significant risk. I am a university professor and I have notified BMW na of this and if BMW continues to refuse to provide a low-cost repair for this condition I will be willing to testify at trial attesting to the fact that BMW was informed of this issue and advised of their possible liability if anyone has an accident in a 2006 X5 and the passenger airbag does not deploy resulting in increased passenger injury; contact me at [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 042011

X5 6-cyl

  • 59,862 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The sensor in the passenger's seat failed so the airbags light stayed on as well as the fasten seatbelt. Transport Canada issued a recall # 2008307 Aug. 26, 2008 confirming the problem and that"the occupant detection mat will be granteda warranty extension of 10 years" BMW will not honor this. I had to enter Washington state as Canada is not listed. City is surrey, british columbia, V4A8C1.

- Surrey, British Columbia, 00, USA

problem #14

Dec 152009

X5 6-cyl

  • 30,010 miles
Just purchased the certified pre owned BMW X5. 2006 model and had it 1 day and the passenger side airbag light came on and would not go off. Returned car to BMW of dallas to have repaired. Approximately 40000 miles later at 68000 miles same light is on and will not go out.

- Arlington, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Mar 132012

X5 6-cyl

  • 44,360 miles
The front passenger air bag sensor went on at 44K and remains illuminated at all times and for no apparent reason. I took the vehicle to an independent repair shop and was informed that the air bag sensor was defective. Called the BMW site who indicated that there were no recalls for this issue. Contacted NHTSA website and informed that recall was in place (EA08001 BMW of North America, llc 01/04/2008 12/31/2008 BMW airbag light illumination 08V384000) dealer stated they would not honor this due to the manufacture date of my vehicle which fits every other criteria (e.g., year, make and model.) not the BMW I am used to.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #12

Jul 092012

X5

  • 62,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the front passenger air bag sensor remained illuminated at all times. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the air bag sensor was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,250. The VIN was unavailable.

- Carterville, IL, USA

problem #11

May 242012

X5

  • 81,963 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated upon starting the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the front passenger seat sensor was replaced. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 81,963.

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012012

X5 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The passenger air bag light is on all the time. I took it into my BMW dealership and they said the sensor mat in the seat faulted and needs to be replaced.they originally said it was covered under a warranty extension for this specific problem. Later they said my vehicle was made too late to be included in the voluntary warranty extension. If this is the same problem that keeps occurring in bmws and obviously affects the safety of the vehicle and is the subject of a NHTSA investigation, why is my vehicle not covered. It would appear BMW did not fix its problems with its passenger airbag system. Why isn't the NHTSA still investigating this problem.

- Ruxton, MD, USA

problem #9

Oct 112011

X5 6-cyl

  • 68,166 miles
I noticed that the airbag light was on, I called BMW and they scheduled me for a appointment the following week. On the day of the appointment the vehicle was diagnosed and showed that the front seat mat was faulty. I paid $1400 to have it fixed. Five months since the vehicle was serviced by the dealer, the airbag light was on again which means the airbag won't deploy when it's needed.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #8

Dec 022011

X5

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated approximately 2 months ago. The vehicle was later taken to the dealer and they advised the contact that the front passenger seat sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000.

- Mendum, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jan 172012

X5

  • 60,750 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the passenger side air bag sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,750 and the current mileage was 60,890.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 052011

X5 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Air bag passenger seat occupancy sensor failure.

- Alamogordo, NM, USA

problem #5

Sep 192011

X5

  • 52,435 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag off warning light was constantly illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised that there were no recalls for the vehicle and offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 52,435.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #4

Aug 142009

X5

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated the occupancy detection mat which was located in the passenger or driver seat that informs the computer that a person was in the seat failed. The failure rendered the air bags inoperable and also caused the seat belt lights to illuminate as if a person was sitting in the seat when it was unoccupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on more than one occasion and they performed a diagnostic test but the computer displayed no codes; therefore, they could not repair the failure or duplicate it. The manufacturer advised him to take the vehicle back to the dealer but they would not honor the request. The failure mileage was 38,000 the current mileage was 67,000.

- Sairless Hills, PA, USA

problem #3

Jan 072011

X5

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that there was a faulty air bag seat sensor switch on the passenger side that continuously failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no further assistance. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #2

Nov 012009

X5

  • 45,000 miles
The vehicles seat occupancy sensor is malfunctioning for no particular reason which will prevent for passenger airbag to deploy when it is suppose to in the event of an accident, my vehicle is not that old and has not been abused but yet this issue occurred since about less than a year ago, when someone sits in the passenger seat the warning light comes on that indicates that the air bag is off and the airbag warning light comes on as well. I have tried to get the manufacturer to take responsibility with no luck, they want over a $1000 plus to replace the sensor, my issue remains unresolved; I ran a check for this issue online and found that almost every BMW owner experiences the same issue and almost every BMW in different range of recent years and different models has the same problem and this is a mass-produced manufacturer defect that has gone unnoticed. This is a safety issue, if I had been in an accident my passenger airbag would not deploy, this issue still remains unresolved as of this date. This problem began about a year ago when my vehicle was only about 3 years old and 45000 miles and has been getting worst with time, before it was occasional but now it is all the time, the repair would consist of taking the entire passenger seat out and apart and replace the sensor-pad that is connected to the vehicles safety system computer placed inside the seat pads, this is not an easy task or a repair that is accessible. Most definitely there should be a safety recall on this item. Most people don't know that they can file a complaint and request recalls on their vehicle issues and that is why you may not see many complaints about this issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 212007

X5 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. While driving 3 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front side quarter panel of the contact's vehicle. The other vehicle was driving approximately 20 mph. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle came equipped with side air bags. There were no warning indicator lights present. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the scene and has not yet been inspected. The driver was taken to the emergency room in an ambulance because her head hit the door window. The current and failure mileages were 19,000.

- Elizabethtown , KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?