Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,194 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Buick LaCrosse seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Dec 202014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 23,885 miles


While driving the air bag symbol came on the dash. Stayed on for a bit and went off. Every once in a while would come on and then go off after a bit. It done that several times on this trip. It has done it some since also /

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #38

Dec 012014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Buick Lacrosse. Air bag light comes on constantly and has been coming on since the vehicle was purchased.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #37

Oct 012014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 23,450 miles
While driving at highway speed approx. 55mph the orange passenger side air bag light illuminates and says the air bag is disabled. It will fluctuate between being disabled and not being disabled. The red warning light in the instrument panel illuminates also. This only seems to happen when someone is sitting in the passenger side front seat. The individuals that are sitting in the front seat are all over 125lbs.when it has happened. It continues to occur. The passengers all have their seat belts on.

- Aydlett, NC, USA

problem #36

Mar 242014


  • 140,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while having repairs performed for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system), the technician notified the contact that the air bag light was sporadically illuminating. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage of the vehicle was 140,000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #35

Apr 012009


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the passenger side air bag light illuminated indicating that the air bags system was off. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the problem. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Colonial Hieghts, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Mar 202012

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Airbag display shows airbag off intermittently with seatbelt on with an adult in passenger seat while moving on highway.

- Coeur D'alene, ID, USA

problem #33

Apr 252014


  • 71,494 miles


Passenger air bag light on the dashboard turned from "on" to "off" with 150 pound passenger seated in the front passenger seat. The red warning indicator light on instrument panel also came on. It stayed on for 2 or 3 miles then the dashboard light turned back to "on" and the red warning indicator light turned off. It occurs intermittently on most trips, "on" then "off" then back to "on". typically, the dashboard indicator light will stay in the "off" position for 4 or 5 miles. Now at 81,737 miles the air bag dashboard indicator light "on/off" still occurs. The first occurrence occurred while car was still in the 12 month GM certified warranty period. The condition was reported to dealership, they did not confirm by their static check procedure. It still occurs, intermittently, after 10,000 from first observance.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #32

Oct 192011


  • miles
The passenger air bag warning light will come on when I'm driving and no one is even sitting in the passenger seat. Anything sitting on the seat weighs much less than the 80 lbs specified in the manual. Sometimes the light will come on when I have a passenger sitting there, indicating that the air bags are off - when they should be on!!! there is no event that consistently triggers the light coming on. I might be turning or slowing down or just driving down a straight road. Sometimes, the light will stay on for a couple of minutes, and sometimes it will stay on for more than ten minutes. I've taken my car to the dealer five times in the four years I've owned the car, and the first four times, the dealer fixed it at no charge. This time, the dealer says it "has gone all the way down to the passenger detection module and it will cost you $1250 to fix it." A passenger detection modules sounds rather important to me, and very much a safety issue, but the service manager said that if there's no recall, it's customer pay. With the number of complaints made on this site for this identical issue, I'd say it's highly likely that there are many more cars with the same problem, but their owners just don't know about this site. Is it necessary for a certain number of complaints before an investigation is made? I guess my husband will just have to trust his luck - he's the one generally sitting in the passenger seat!!

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #31

Aug 062014


  • 53,291 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. While driving various speeds, the front passenger air bag sensor warning indicator illuminated although the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,291.

- Catlin, IL, USA

problem #30

Sep 262014


  • 91,000 miles
Continuation of a previous complaint dated 10-10-14, air bag light on dashboard randomly comes on and goes off. The other day I had a passenger, and I was interested in what the air bag dashboard light, and the passenger "protection" light above the radio, would do. My passenger got in and buckled up. At first everything was fine, no air bag dashboard light, passenger protection light "on", but then it started. The air bag light would come on, and I noticed the passenger "protection" light would display "off". the air bags would not deploy in the event of a front end collision. A moment later, the air bag light on the dash disappeared and my passenger "protection" went "on". we were protected, for the moment. Problem is, the game went on the whole trip, "on", then "off", "on", then "off", each time the dashboard light and passenger "protection" light working in tandem. Guess to protect my passenger they will have to sit in the back seat. I understand people have taken Lacrosses to the dealer and have been told it costs $1200 to fix problem. Sounds like the bean counters are hard at work figuring out if it will be cheaper to fix the problem or settle the lawsuits, in which there claim will be the automobile is safe, and quoting comedian [xxx], "safe enough to get you all the way to the grave." Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 122014


  • 46,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated sporadically. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing, but the failure recurred. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #28

Oct 102013


  • 91,000 miles
A few days after purchasing a 2008 Buick Lacrosse from the local dealer, the dashboard air bag light came on. Didn't think much about it until it happened several more times, so I headed to the dealership for help. They instructed me not to put anything in the front passenger seat because the car would sense the weight and think there is a person there. So I didn't, but I did notice the indicator above the radio that senses a person in the passenger seat didn't turn red during this time. Then the game began. I would put my lunch box in the seat on the way to work, sometimes the air bag light would come on, sometimes it wouldn't. and, I found there is a delay in the switch, when adding or removing the lunch box. Sometimes after removing the lunch box the air bag light would stay on, or just come on when it wanted to. Found out how to fix that problem also, albeit temporarily. Take your fingers and firmly push 4-5 times along the stitching in the center of the seat. Will take a few seconds and the light may, or may not, go out. Or, a quick stop to grab a drink will reset the light. The problem is, from what I understand, if you get in a crash while the light is on there is a pretty good chance your airbags will not deploy. As a matter of fact, I owned a 1994 Ford aerostar van which I took to the dealer when the air bag light came on. They would not let me drive the van, for fear the air bags would not work in a crash, and gave me a loaner while they fixed the problem. I did notice Buick has service bulletins on the air bag problem, stating "problem could be caused by loose, missing, or broken connector position assurance (cpa) retainer. " (sb-08-09-41-002C) can't imagine what would be the hold-up in fixing the problem, just hoping I am not the first statistic.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #27

Aug 012014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to dash panel airbag light issues. The consumer stated the air bag light would blink on and off, while driving. A diagnostic check, revealed nothing wrong. Updated 09/09/14

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #26

Aug 202014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Module under right front seat defective causing air to turn off while driving.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #25

Jan 152014


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated intermittently while driving. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #24

Jul 012008

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. During the daytime, the instrument panel lighting was very dim, which made it difficult to view the gauges. The dealer stated that the vehicle was working up to standard and that the design of the vehicle could not be altered. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 5. updated 10/03/14 updated 3/10/2015

- Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jul 092014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
Engine light comes on and car goes real slow, then it wont move. Doors wont lock/unlock with remote and they wont automatically lock/unlock in park or when you start driving. Air bag light for passenger side comes on and off, when someone is sitting there. Back tires wore off on insides had to replace them. I don't feel safe anymore. Dealer said I should be notified of recalls so it can get my Buick repaired.

- Edwardsburg, MI, USA

problem #22

Jul 232014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 11,724 miles
Air bag sensor malfunctions for both driver and passenger. Sometimes it works normally, sometimes it fails for passenger or driver or both. Occasionally it will function normally after driving about 15 minutes. This issue dates back to November 1, 2007.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #21

Oct 252012


  • 61,500 miles
On October 25, 2012, we took our Buick Lacrosse in to sunrise Chevrolet/Buick dealership, collierville, tn. The passenger side airbag indicator had been showing "off" when a passenger was seated. It would sometimes come back on, but did this repeatedly. The dealership "fixed" it, saying it was a "passenger presence module" which they replaced in the amount of $855.43, parts and labor (not tax). During the last two months, the same thing has been happening with the indicator showing "off" when a passenger is seated and sometimes coming back on. The mileage on vehicle now is 80,500. This would seem to us to be a safety issue and it would seem that GM should bear responsibility for correcting it at no cost to us. We feel sure that we are not the only ones experiencing this fault. Have you had other reports about this issue? please give us your judgment regarding this matter.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #20

Apr 012011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while the passenger was seated in the front passenger seat, the passenger side air bag indicator light would illuminate intermittently. The contact mentioned that the passenger side air bag indicator light would mainly fail to illuminate when the passenger was seat. The contact was concerned that the passenger side air bag may not deploy while in a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and independent mechanic who were both unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 8/28/14 updated 9/10/2014 the consumer stated the dealer suggested replacing the passenger seat but, it was not a guaranteed fix. Updated 9/10/2014

- Cicero, NY, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?