If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,518.00
Average Mileage:
59,434 miles
Total Complaints:
42 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (31 reports)
  2. install deflector in oil pan (3 reports)
  3. replace piston and rings (2 reports)
  4. replace the engine (2 reports)
  5. replacement of defective rod in engine, and cylinders in som (2 reports)
  6. installed new valve cover with oil deflector (1 reports)
2007 Chevrolet Avalanche engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Avalanche Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

May 242014

Avalanche LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,904 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chevrolet has been my car of choice for 50+ years, not any more this oil problem is unacceptable. I just bought this Avalanche 2007 in may I have wanted one since 1999 ,now I have a lemon does anyone want to buy some lemonade? this is only the beginning of this saga. Should I paint it yellow and take it to the dealer I bought this from (the largest auto dealer in the country) and drive it around Columbus, Oh

- , Lucasville, Ohio, USA

problem #41

Oct 142009

Avalanche Z71 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

I first noticed the oil consumption problem at around 40,000 miles. 1 quart between oil changes, not too bad. Talked to Dealer service guy who said "average". My reply back was that I have had vehicles with over 200,000 miles that never used oil. As time wore on, the problem got worse. By October of 2009, I was going through 4 quarts between oil changes.

At 68,000 miles, I took it to the dealer and complained again. At that time, they changed the valve cover as the problem was thought to have been the PCV valve/cover design. Didn't help. So at 74,000 miles, I started the "Oil Concumption Study". As you can see by my mileage, I put a lot of miles on my vehicles. I change the oil when the "Change Oil Light" comes on. Which for me is about every 7000 miles. (Mainly highway driving). So from Jan 2010 till the end of March 2010, I did the "study". When it was all said and done, my consumption was "within spec". That meaning, according to Service Document #PIP4574F (you can get this from your service guy, but you have to push the issue) as long as you are not using more than 1 quart of oil every 2000 miles, it is within spec. Are you kidding me!?!?!?

So if you burn more than 1 quart every 2000 miles, they may fix it. but they try all kinds of dumb stuff first instead of addressing the real issue. I have a nephew who is a GM mechanic at a GM dealership. The real problem is the "Active Fuel Management" feature as mentioned on another post. The oil control rings get stuck because of buildup on the pistons and rings. The real fix is to basically rebuild the engine with new oil control rings, but, the problem will only come back again because also as mentioned in another post, GM will not turn the feature off. They have yet to get a fix for this issue. In the service bulletin, they acknowledge that "the root cause of the stuck rings is still under investigation, this may not be a permanent repair."

So here it is, May of 2014, I burn 1 quart of oil every 800 miles, and get a big puff of blue smoke when I start the truck every morning. Just hit 174,000 miles.

GMC - Government Motors Corporation. Now we know why they had to bail them out.

No more GM products for me.

- , Townsend, DE, USA

problem #40

Jul 302013

Avalanche LTZ Lc9 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,000 miles

I have owned my 2007 Avalanche LTZ since 2008, I bought it used with only 30K miles. Not one day has gone bye that I have noticed significant Oil Consumption issues on this Truck. I finally called GM in 2009 and they asked to have an oil consumption test done but the dealer already told me that this truck was notorious for this issue. I wasted hundreds of dollars adding oil in between oil changes and hundreds more on oil changes.

Finally in 2013 I was driving down the Highway and my warning came on to "service stibilitytrac" and my engine light was flashing which indicated a misfire. I immediately pulled over and called Al Sierra Chevy Dealer service department and they said it was OK to drive in. I turned the truck back on and it was shaking hard, but drove it over to the dealership. They said it would cost me $100 to do a diagnostic test and they would get back to me later that day.

Al Sierra called me later that day and told me I sheared a lobe in my camshaft and have metal shavings in my engine. They told me I had to pay $3700 for a new camshaft or $6700 for a new motor. I called my dad who told me it was virtually impossible to "shear" a lobe in the camshaft and I needed a second opinion.

I also called GM after reading about all the issues I have had about oil consumption on the 2007 Avalanche. The rep was very nice, took all my information and promised a call back in 24 hours. Indeed I did get a call, they did investigate and came to the conclusion that it was not covered under GM and they offered me a $1000.00 Good Customer discount towards a new car or GM truck. After talking with them, GM rep said that year should have been recalled because of this issue.

I took the truck and had a second opinion and behold, I have so much carbon baked on my engine I was not getting oil to the lower part of my engine, and I was told had two lifters that were sticking in the down position causing 2 dead cylinders. Why? Because the over-spray of the oil was being sucked in by the seals and caking on my engine. There is where all that freaking oil was going!!!!!!! I was running out of oil or low every 1000k or 1300k miles after oil changes. Never was my truck leaking or showed on the outside any oil. Now I have to replaced my engine with a brand new GM LC9 5.3 but I will ALWAYS have the same issues burning thru oil.

I am on the phone.... again with GM, but not hopeful they will reimburse me.

- , Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #39

Dec 132010

Avalanche LTZ 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,501 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had excessive oil use since 12/13/10, using 2 quarts every 2300 miles. I took my vehicle today to the deal to schedule an appointment, stating my problem and the service writer stated that 1 quart to every 1000 miles is considered acceptable, my eyes just rolled.Set up service visit next week . When I got home I contacted GM to notify them of my problem and to get a file reference number, since my warranty is to expire 5/20/2012. By doing this if the problem is not resolved by the time the warranty period is up, GM still has to honor the warranty claim.

One of the questions I asked the GM claims,ARE THERE ANY BULLETINS ON THE EXCESSIVE OIL USAGE ON 2007 5.3 MOTORS, OR HAVE THEIR BEEN SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, HER REPLY WAS, NOT AWARE ANY ANY ISSUES. CLAIMS STATED THEY WILL FOLLOW UP WITH A CALL AFTER MY VISIT WITH THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALER NEXT WEEK.After reading the complaints looks like this is going to be a strung out ordeal.

Keep you updated on next weeks visit and G reply

- , Clarksburg, MD, USA

problem #38

Apr 262012

Avalanche Z71

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

I have to add about a quart of oil every 2,000 miles. I have been told this is not a warranty issue. This has been going on since I purchased the vehicle. This is my third Chevrolet and my last.

- , Conyers, GA, USA

problem #37

Sep 142011

Avalanche LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

At 3300 miles (since my last oil change) I was down 3+ qts of oil. This happened on several oil changes. I had two oil consumption tests ran and managed to fall within the "accepted guidelines." It seemed to be exponential oil consumption as I approached 3000 miles (e.g. 0.5 qts at 1000, 1.5 qts at 2000, 3.0 qts at 3000).

- , Edmond, OK, USA

problem #36

Apr 182012

Avalanche LTZ 5.3L Afm

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After 50,000-60,000 miles 5.3L V8 w/ AFM began consuming oil at a quart every 1,000 miles.

GM stated that I needed to participate in an 'Oil Consumption Monitoring' protocol to measure the amount of oil being consumed. The verbally instructed me to bring the truck in every 1,000 miles ofr them to measure the amount of consumed oil.

Eventually as the problem worsened as mileage increased on the motor, they offered to install an 'oil deflector' in the oil pan, claiming it would reduce the amount of oil consumption. (I declined as I saw this was only a bandaid to the actually known problem.)

At this point GM agreed to replace the pistons/rings, again claiming this would solve the oil consumption problem, however the AFM (Active Fuel Management System) is the actual culprit. Ironically, GM will not disable AFM.

At the end, I'm left with no other option than to wait another 50,000-60,000 miles and have the same experience again.

Because the problem is completely unrelated to how I drive the vehicle and is solely known to be a design problem with GM; I intend on filing a law suit against them. I contact a lemon law attorney and am preparing for my suit.

- , St. Michael, MN, USA

problem #35

Oct 122010

Avalanche LT 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

I own a 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche LT with a 5.3L V8 engine. I am the second owner and have never been hard on the vehicle and have always maintained it myself. Ever since I have owned it, it has used oil. Approximately two quarts between oil changes. It is not leaking out of the engine anywhere that I can see. Which only leads me to believe that it is being burned and consumed somewhere inside the engine. This is scary and I don't believe it is normal at all. A friend of mine has a 2007 Suburban with the same engine and has the same problem with his engine. I just wanted to let it be known that this seems to be a very common problem/complaint with this engine. I hope GM and Chevrolet read these posts and take some action.

- , DeWitt, MI, USA

problem #34

Oct 112011

Avalanche LT 5,3

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

My engine started using oil at 40,000 miles and fouled number one plug. The dealer's fix was to install a new plug. Six months later it happened again and the plug was cleaned. On 1/22/13 the number seven plug was fouled. This time the dealer recommended a new style valve cover to correct the problem at $453.93. Chevrolet has a design issue but will not own up to it. Therefore, this 07 Avalanche will be my last Chevrolet. Good by Government Motors.

- , Newport News, VA, USA

problem #33

Nov 022011

Avalanche

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

I have complained to the dealer whom also changes my oil . They tell me this is normal. First time in 30 years we have owned a Chevy. Going back to Ford. Also the engine light comes on with a new tank of gas. Most times goes out by itself. I do not use cheap gas either. This is a very comfortable riding vehicle but too many engine problems. My expedition had over 100,000. miles before it needed new brakes. going back.

- , Roy, WA, USA

problem #32

Dec 312010

Avalanche LS 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive oil consumption.. Spent many of my days with ongoing oil consumption tests. I ride around with a case of oil. Before I reach 3,000 mile I am adding oil. usually around 1500 miles. According to chevy this is normal. and they have the nerve to ask "who does your oil changes? they may be adding in the wrong oil." I reply with " You Do XXX##X?@." I should have stock with the oil company. Eventually after the cylinders carbonize Chevy replace all 8 lifter and charge me for the spark plugs and wires. The spark plugs lasted me approx. 4 months and we are back to the same problem. The cylinders are carbonizing again. now I'm continuously replacing spark plugs. note: "Make sure you put the right brand your vehicle." This is their new answer. Now since the cylinder carbonized- and back to doing oil consumption tests. This week I am away from my home base of 200+ miles and the vehicle breaks down again... its now the transmission for the 2nd time..along with cylinder 1..and all the spark plug wires need to be replaced again..and I have only 4 more payments to go.to this is really all mine.....any advice?

- , Garfield, NJ, USA

problem #31

Dec 142011

Avalanche LTZ

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,981 miles

So angry my warranty is up and my extended warranty isn't covering this problem!! My mechanic has told me to sell it because the reflector thing still isn't going to solve the problem. So I have spent $1100 for nothing. My engine is making horrible ticking sound. I have always bought Chevy, but no more!! I want to start a law suit against them!!

- , Aldergrove, BC, Canada

problem #30

Jun 202011

Avalanche LTZ 5.3lV8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

I have a 07 avalanche that I bought used with 65,000 miles. 2 weeks after I purchased the truck my add oil light came on which I thought was strange cause I assumed the car lot had changed the oil, so I checked and it was a qt low about another 1000 miles the add oil comes on again. long story short I now have 71,000 miles on this truck and have had to add 4 qts of oil and have had 2 oil changes. I had a 02 tahoe with a 5.3 for 6 yrs before this and never had to add a drop of oil between changes so I don't see where GM is getting off saying this is normal consumption.

- , Joplin, MO, USA

problem #29

Jul 152011

Avalanche LT V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,413 miles

The joke continues. The personnel at Matthews stated usually by now Chevrolet replaces the engine at no charge or they offer a very attractive buy out of the vehicle towards a new one. But the story changed again and this new fix was Chevrolet's guarantee that the problem would go away completely. This turned out to be another "snow job" story to make sure the vehicle was way beyond the 100,000 mile warranty so they wouldn't have to honor their written warranty.

- , Chenango Bridge, New York, USA

problem #28

Mar 112011

Avalanche LT V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,686 miles

When I took the truck in for service on 3/11/11, they confirmed that the oil was down a great amount. They told me to do mileage/oil usage work sheet every time I filled up with gas for 3000 miles. Then they made me an appointment to come in for repairs on 4/25/11. Was able to pick up truck on 5/6/11. The mileage from 3/11/11 to 4/25/11 went up to 103235. They (Matthews Chevrolet service personnel) that everything would be totally covered (all labor and all parts) under the original warranty of 100,000 miles since this was an on going problem and Chevrolet was aware of the situation.

- , Chenango Bridge, New York, USA

problem #27

Oct 012008

Avalanche LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

Like others with 2007 5.3L engine, my Avalanche starting going through oil at an average of one quart every 1,100 miles at about 30,000 miles. The dealer told me "normal" oil consumption was up to one quart every 1,800 miles. After monitoring it for oil consumption, they added the oil deflector and it decreased oil consumption to a quart every 2,000 miles for about 6,000 miles. I am back to one quart every 1,100 miles. It rolled 103,000 miles today and there has been a noticeable engine tick for at least 50,000 miles. The dealer is unwilling to do any other repairs. I previously owned a 2004 Avalanche and never added a quart of oil in 80,000 miles before trading it for the "new and improved" 2007 model. Other than the oil consumption issue and the lousy 12 mpg average fuel economy, it has been a good vehicle.

- , Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #26

Nov 212011

Avalanche LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

I have a 2007 Chevy Avalanche with 65,000 miles on it now. I took it in at 38,000 miles when I started noticing that it was burning oil and the oil light was coming on at anywhere between 1500 & 2500 miles after my oil change. The dealership took a look at it and said that I needed to do an oil consumption test. Well I did that, they told me that the factory didn't put on an oil deflector, and that this would fix my problem. So I had them (under warranty) install the oil deflector. Sure enough, that didn't fix it. So I took it back in, and i was told that I would have to do another oil consumption test. So I did that. After the service manager told me that he had never heard of this engine having this problem, I ended up talking with another service manager (great guy actually). I was told that GM wouldn't do any work on an engine that wasn't burning 2.5 quarts every 2500 miles. That was the threshold. Ridiculous. So after a little help, and mentioning the "tick" that I had been hearing, they are replacing everything in my engine except the block and camshaft (literally everything but those two things). Turns out that there is a problem with the installation of the piston rings. They didn't offset the rings by 180 degrees at the factory, thus oil goes straight into the cylinder. This ends up seizing the rings, and essentially destroying the engine. While I was in the shop, one of the techs showed me a 08' with the exact same problem, and mentioned that this is a common issue with these motors that have a "tick". Had I not mentioned the "tick", the dealership wouldn't have been able to do anything for something that is clearly a warranty issue. I wish GM would have stepped up, recognized this as a problem, and fixed it without me having to go thru two years of pain, consumption tests, arguing with the dealership, and getting 12-13 mpg. Makes me want to look at a Ford....ok I didn't mean that....

- , Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #25

Jan 012008

Avalanche V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

I bought the vehicle new and ever since I've owned it it burns a quart of oil every 1,200 miles and the dealer tells me this is normal. I've owned many cars and never had one that burns this much oil. I have had the car back to the dealer over 10 times and they say there is nothing wrong. I'm sure when the warranty runs out they will find the problem and want $2 or $3 thousand dollars to fix it. All I get is the run around from the dealer. Meghan L Ft Myers Fl.

- , Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #24

Oct 042010

Avalanche LS V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I bought the truck used from a local dealer. It had 30,000 on it then. At 35,000 miles the transmission blew up. Which they said was "normal" for the Avalanche. It took 4 days to have that fixed. Then the gears in the rear end went out at 40,000 miles. So there was another 2 days. Then at 60,000 the engine started using 2 qts of oil between changes. Then the engine, on acceleration, would surge and chug. I took it to the dealer. They said it was a factory defect, I was the first one to come in and complain about it, and that it was going to take a couple of days to put some kind of deflector shield in it to keep oil from getting into the cylinders and fowling out my plugs. I too had problems with a loaner car because they only give you one if the repair last more then a day. Well the drop off date doesn't count and on the second day that it should have been done it wasn't. It then went into the third day with no loaner. The GM loaner program is a real joke! Afterward the truck was fine for 40,000 more miles.. Now it is right back to using 2 qts of oil every 3,000 miles. I have had this truck in more times for repairs then any truck I have ever owned. I use to be a Chevy guy all the way. I'm ready to trade this piece of junk in on a Dodge.

- , Summerville, SC, USA

problem #23

Oct 002010

Avalanche LT V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,200 miles

I bought the truck used with 77,000 miles. The truck ran great for the first 5,000 miles. Then the oil light came on. The truck was down 3 quarts of oil. I took the truck to Matthews Chevrolet service department in Vestal, NY. The service personnel said they had to contact their help desk for the proper fix. They(service personnel) said they had a sure fix to correct the problem. They did the oil pan repair and assured me the problem was totally fixed. Well guess what, now the truck was eating more oil than before.

- , Chenango Bridge, New York, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?