Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,004 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Aveo electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jan 072016

Aveo

  • 71,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition switch. Due to the failure, the vehicle could not be turned off. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the failure might be due to a defective gear shaft or ignition switch. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 71,500.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #24

Feb 222010

Aveo

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Aveo. Consumer writes in regards to several vehicle repair problems. The consumer stated there was a burning odor coming from the vehicle. The dealer was unable to find a problem. A repair shop, replaced a fuse, due to know battery power.

- Richmond Heights, OH, USA

problem #23

Aug 042014

Aveo

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. When starting the vehicle, the fuel tank caught fire. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact extinguished the fire. A police report was not filed. The contact sustained pneumonia. Medical attention was required. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Gunnersville, AL, USA

problem #22

Jun 302014

Aveo

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Basically I am writing because GM issued a recall in June 2014 letting me know that my car has an issue which may lead to a fire in my car. The problem is that a year has passed and the status of that recall still is "General Motors will provide its plan for remedying the defect as soon as it is confirmed." I honestly feel they have forgotten all about it. I don't think this should be an issue that should take such a long time to get fixed.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #21

May 232015

Aveo

  • 125,000 miles
I have a 2004 Chevy Aveo and a 2005 Chevy cobalt my ignition switch on my Aveo does the same thing as cobalt but Aveo not recalled itook cobalt in dealer replaced ignition swtich took Aveo in for recall for drl switch dealer wants over 300.oo dollors to replace ignition switch I will be driving along at different speeds car will shut off starts back up when I put key in have to move key several times to start car dealer says no recall on the Aveo for ignition switch but it is doing the same thing as my cobalt did is this a different switch the Aveo has done this several times over the last year or so.

- Ashtabula , OH, USA

problem #20

Feb 022015

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
Received a recall notice for drl fire hazard. Called 3 dealerships in the dallas area to have the mosfet repaired. All 3 dealership deny any knowledge of the recall and do not have the parts in stock even if I did bring the recall notice in. Chevy has sent 2 E-mails but they are the do not reply. I have attempted numerous times to contact Chevy customer service and cant get anyone to respond. This is a fire hazard, please help me to get this fixed.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 112011

Aveo

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V2610000 (exterior lighting). While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact's vehicle tapped another vehicle. The contact noticed flames under the hood of the vehicle. The vehicle became engulfed in flames and was destroyed. There were no injuries. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #18

Nov 042014

Aveo

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the service engine warning lamp illuminated several times and then turned off. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 30 mph, the vehicle was shaking violently and stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and upon pulling over, the contact noticed flames and smoke was emitting from under the hood near the front passenger side. The driver and the front passenger exit the vehicle. The fire was able to be extinguished by the fire department. A police report was filed. The driver and front passenger did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V261000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was not inspected or diagnosed. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #17

Oct 142014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. While starting the vehicle, smoke emitted from the vents and cd player without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 5/5/15 updated 10/23/2015

- Gunterville, AL, USA

problem #16

Jul 072014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
GM recall #14093 2004 Chevrolet Aveo GM mailed a letter in July regarding this recall. There has been no follow regarding repairing the defective equipment. When GM was contacted, they advised to contact the local dealership. The dealership advised they have not received the parts or instruction from GM on how to repair the defective equipment. I have a Chevrolet Aveo with inoperable tail lights, front parking lights and instrument panel lights. I am unable to operate the vehicle at night. Can NHTSA assist with getting GM to repair the vehicles?

- Manassas`, VA, USA

problem #15

May 012013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When will the drl module replacement be available" it's been over 4 months since this came to light! do I have to wait until my car catches on fire? GM recalls just says not available yet! do you have more power now since the ignition recalls"

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #14

Jun 182014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • miles
My 19 year old daughter just arrived at her mothers house, parked the car and came inside. When we started seeing, and smelling smoke. So we went outside to investigate the problem and saw smoke pouring out from under the hood as if there was a fire contained under the hood. So we called 911 and suddenly we heard a loud pop and saw flames on the hood. We proceeded to get a water hose to pour water on the car until finally the firemen arrived. The car still remains in front of her mothers house, if anyone would like to take a look at the car. The firemen deemed it to be a total loss. I would like any information for recalls on this make and model.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #13

Jun 032014

Aveo

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that when the key was removed from the ignition, it was extremely hot. The vehicle was taken to multiple independent mechanics. The technicians were unable to properly diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Springfield , TN, USA

problem #12

May 012012

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. While driving approximately 45 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road. The engine was restarted after the first attempt and the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred nine times on separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they were unable to detect a cause of failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 39,500. Updated 07/25/12 the consumer stated the dealer kept the vehicle for eight days. Updated 07/25/12

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #11

Apr 282011

Aveo

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph the vehicle suddenly stalled after the instrument panel started to flash on and off. The speedometer then started to misread and display that he was traveling at higher speeds than normal. He coasted to the side of the road the vehicle was towed to his home. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 82,000.

- South Port, FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 202011

Aveo

  • 66,000 miles
My Aveo is supposed to have a warning light to come on when the engine has to be serviced. Apparently, this light did not come on for the warning that there was something wrong with the vehicle that I need to find out about. Driving to me(the vehicle was driven by my child of 28 years with a 3 month old in a rear car seat) to pick me up to take me to work the car just stopped. In the middle of ongoing traffic. Thankfully the car was not hit but the police as well as my brother (whom was on his way to work) were able to get the car to the side of the road. Her father (he was called) showed up with a tow on its way to take it to my mechanic. It was determined that the timing chain/belt went. Because the car was in motion it also caused the bending of 2 pistons. In order to fix it properly this mechanic was not able to do so. I was informed however that all Aveos from this model or year has shown to have the timing belt/chain to malfunction between the mileage of 40,000- 80,000 miles. So, I am trying to find out if there is a recall on first the warning light not indicating there was something wrong and second, the timing chain/belt malfunctioning repeatedly between the miles of 40,000-80,000 miles. I love my Aveo because it is the perfect size, excellent on gas and being a 2004 model there is only about 66,000 miles or so on it. I am truly missing my Aveo and would appreciate it if someone can help me get it back to normal so I can take it home. I have to say that this is my first real car and I would rate it in the top ten vehicles to purchase for its total economical qualities. So, please let me know at your earliest convenience.

- Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA

problem #9

Oct 122010

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I purchased this used 2004 Chevy Aveo from tony Honda end of July 2010. It ran good up until 10/12/10 when all of a sudden the hold button light flashed along with the check engine light...the car literally dropped to like 5 miles an hour and sputtered all the way like it was dying....thank god that for some reason, I decided to take my grandson to school so I was in the school zone and not on the freeway which I normally would have been. I swear, I would have been dead had that happened at 60 miles an hour. I have called Chevy and they do not have a recall.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #8

Jul 302004

Aveo

  • 65,000 miles
My 2004 Chevrolet Aveo has a problem with the ignition key getting very hot. I am worried of a electrical fire. My A/C went out due to a bad seal and I was told they had redesigned the A/C compressor. What are my options?

- Belleview, FL, USA

problem #7

Nov 142008

Aveo

  • 100 miles
Ever since I bought the car new the clock has never worked right. It runs for a few hours, shuts off for a few hours. Dealer couldn't fix when under warranty because they couldn't make it repeat. Most recently, the electronic door locks have stopped working, both inside and with the keyless entry. I tried changing the fuse, but that didn't help.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 032008

Aveo

  • 61,000 miles
We have a 2004 Aveo and no light came on and at 61,000 miles my car just quit running in the middle of the road and had to be towed to the dealership the timing belt had broken and the motor was messed up also. I had to pay over $3,000 to have it repaired cause a belt broke. It messed up half of the motor and had to be replaced. Then a month later the lights on the dash quit working and they told me that they have replaced them alot for these cars and the wire harness is $1,200 dollars and I am paying more for the repairs then I have for the car. The clock light has never worked right since we got the car. So be careful and replace your timing belt early and don't have to pay all that money like we had to. I wish I have never bought the car now.

- Perry, FL, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?