Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Colorado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Colorado Owner Comments

problem #20

May 102010

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


I bought this pick up truck from local dealer stared making trouble very early days, shaking and misfiring, engine check light showed up, I took to local auto shops and they told me it has a major engine problem by the manufacture(Chevy)and misfiring the engine and showing an internal leak, causing all problem, I spend a lot of money but not able to fix, it was failing on smog test as well.finally I took to local Chevy dealer, they asked me to pay $150.for diagnose, I agreed to pay..fortunately dealer found in the system that this model truck is in the list of engine trouble, all the symptoms my truck was showing, but GM never send me recall notice, I could have killed by big accident as it was stalling on the freeway with lot of problem...GM mislead me and covered this defected truck and model, and I am sure there are many others like investigate this issue and update me......[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 152012


  • 114,797 miles
I bought this truck a little over 2 months ago. Since purchasing the truck the check engine light came on, I had to have the gas tank float/fuel sending unit replaced, I had to have the ac repaired because the ac would turn on and then constantly turn on and off at first and then it stopped working all together, I had to have transmission seal replaced because it started leaking, and now I have this awful vibration when I accelerate and I have to keep the window cracked open because the sound of the vibration inside the truck is so loud it makes me feel like my head is going to explode. I was not made aware of any problems with this truck as a matter of fact the dealer told me the truck had just been serviced, the oil was changed and there were no problems with the truck. I realize that I bought a used vehicle and it's not going to be in perfect brand new condition but this is ridiculous so now I am stuck with a truck that has many problems that Chevrolet has been obviously aware of since the beginning and I am out the money I paid for the truck. I can't afford to spend all this money to keep fixing this truck just for something else to have to be fixed. I was told that I don't have grounds to file a complaint based on the lemon law and the dealer won't let me trade this truck for something else or fix the problems so I'm stuck.

- Coaling, AL, USA

problem #18

Mar 102012


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Colorado. The contact stated that the vehicle started driving very rough and resistant to acceleration. The contact stated that the check engine light was illuminated and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer inspected the vehicle and advised the contact that the cam shaft position actuator solenoid needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileages were 60,000.

- Shelbyville, KY, USA

problem #17

Feb 202012

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Colorado. While the contact was driving approximately 5 mph into an intersection, the engine stalled with the illumination of the warning indicator. There were several attempts before the engine restarted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who recommended the vehicle be diagnosed by the dealer. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where they stated to the contact that the timing chain, engine cylinder and head gasket would needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and they offered a ten percent discount towards the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 04/11/12 the consumer had to pay for the repairs at her expense. Updated 04/20/12

- Oviedo , FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 072010

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 58,276 miles
Vehicle will crank and not start, check engine does not come on. Wait 10 minutes and truck will start. Happens up to once a week, random. Took it to the dealership, replaced element, installed fuel system power pack, injection system clean and replaced air filter. That was in 2010, truck was under warranty but did not cover this work, did not fix the problem. Truck is no longer under warranty and still having the same problem.never know when it will happen.

- Rowley, MA, USA

problem #15

Apr 012011

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Like all the other reports and complaints I have read online about this type of vehicle. I have the same problem with my 2006 Chevy Colorado. I bought the truck 4 years ago almost brand new and I'm still paying for it but can't move it because it would not pass the state emissions test. I have spent about $1,000 trying to fix my truck, buying parts and replacing them because the check engine light came on. At the end I was told it had several misfires and had to do with the camshaft solenoid position. The truck would come to a complete stop while going to an intersection or a stop sign. I was told and also read that my only solution to fix this problem is to put in another engine but with time the same problem will come back. I guess this problem should be handled by the manufacturer and they're the ones who need to either fix them, give us our money back or something. Is not fair that we as consumers have to pay for something they did wrong. Now my truck is just standing there not able to drive it around and meanwhile I have to use someone else vehicle to move around or go to work.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #14

Jul 012011


  • 160,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Colorado. The contact stated that the engine was a 4 cylinder 2.8 engine and would cause the vehicle to drive abnormally. The contact stated that the number 4 valve was sticking. The dealer diagnosed that the engine would need replacing. The engine was replaced by the dealer numerous times, but the failure continuosuly recurred. The dealer also rebuilt the transmission, but the contact was uncertain if the failure was directly related to the engine failure. The manufacturer was contacted, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 160,000 and the current mileage was 200,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Youngston, OH, USA

problem #13

Sep 082009

Colorado 4-cyl

  • miles
Went to dealership in san angelo tx, did diagnostic for engine light being on dealership said problem was P0017 (cam actuator) did not have the money to fix it at the time dealership said it would be ok to drive it as is. Did research online and looked it up on book at auto parts store and P0017 says this "crankshaft position camshaft position correlation - bank 1 sensor B" what ever that means. But now I have major problems I still have that and a few more codes I have P0014 exhaust camshaft position timing over - advanced (bank 1), and P0300 random misfire detected.

- Fort Stockton, TX, USA

problem #12

Sep 012011


  • 6,999 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Colorado. While driving approximately 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle began to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the mechanic advised that the engine would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 6,999.

- Palm Springs, CA, USA

problem #11

Apr 262011

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Colorado with about 61,000 miles. I have recently had it to fail N.C. inspection due to dtc P0017. I have spent roughly $400 between sensors/valves and diagnoses for this truck. I see there are numerous tsb's for this model and dtc P0017 being a couple of them. We are struggling trying to get this taken care of and would like to file a complaint because we believe this is a defect due to the recurring problem people are having with this dtc code. There should be a recall. Please do something about this, so other people won't have to drain their bank accounts for a defective vehicle.

- Nc, NC, USA

problem #10

Sep 272010


  • 48,500 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Colorado. While driving approximately between 10-15 mph, the engine completely stalled due to electrical failure. The engine restarted after the contact waited five to ten minutes. The failure occurred four different times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and a diagnostic testing was performed twice which detected no trouble codes. The failure continued. The failure mileage was 48,500.

- Linton , IN, USA

problem #9

May 232009


  • 29,000 miles
Truck will go into reduced power mode while driving. When it does this it will chime a few times and then drop the speed you are driving at to whatever it wants usually it's 40 to 20 mph, you cannot go any faster, and there is no warning to this at all, and no pattern as to when it will do this. But it has always done it while I have been driving. This is not the first time that this has happened and luckily no one hit me that was behind me. I have had my truck into a dealership five times, the first two times was to mills in richwood, which they had no idea what to do with the truck as the engine wasn't throwing a code, and they thought it was a bad sensor but didn't know which one so they sent me on my way. The third and fourth time I took it to roby's. the third time they replaced the battery and said that was it, the fourth time they called GMC and said my engine needed a new code in it. Two weeks after that the reduced power light comes on and I almost get killed on the freeway. I then took it to chesrown and they replaced a sensor in the accelerator pedal. No one knows what the problem really is and I'm scared to death I'm going to get killed because my truck does this all the time without warning and the problem is getting worse as before it would be almost half a year to a few months between problems, now it's getting to be every couple of weeks. This has been going on since I bought the truck in May 2006 and I am terrified to drive for fear that the reduce power is going to kick in and someone will be behind me when it happens and hit me and kill me.

- Richwood, OH, USA

problem #8

Feb 242009


  • 47,000 miles
2006 Chevrolet Colorado has a known defect with the camshaft actuator solenoid filtering screens dislodging from the part, that causes the engine timing to be affected and makes the engine idle rough and stall. This can create an incident or accident if the involved vehicle is in operation at the time of failure.

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #7

Aug 202008


  • 2,400 miles
While driving our 2006 Colorado truck, the engine quit running placing us in danger from the vehicles near us. This has happened three times. We were able to navigate to a safe zone. The engine started and we continued our trip. We are concerned that we may be injured or killed. We are not driving the truck until it is fixed.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #6

Jul 222008


  • miles
I have a Chevy 2006 Colorado this will be the six time that I that the truck to the dealer to have the rear brake lights fix they all go out together theirs have been some times that we had close call that we didn't get hit by the rear end it has been real scary at those times.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #5

Dec 202006


  • 8,319 miles
2006 Chevy Colorado problems with airbags and engine stuttering. Consumer states that airbags sensor can not tell when his wife or daughter are in the passenger seat. He states that the engine stutters when the temperature is decreased. The consumer stated the air bag light did not turn on when the seat was occupied and sometimes the air bag indicator would suddenly show the passenger air bag was off. The consumer also stated on one occasion, the vehicle did not want to move; it went a very slow pace no matter how hard the accelerator was applied. The check engine light illuminated. The dealer stated they found a fuel injector leaking.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #4

Feb 232008

Colorado 4WD 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After several weeks of check engine light going on and off I decided to have the truck checked out. After dealer ran history, stated that I needed to bring truck in for a head issue. After having the truck for three days, dealer notified me that they put engine back together and got it fired but was losing compression on the #1 cylinder. Then the engine was making very loud noises. After tearing engine back down, then noticed the exhaust valve was stuck in the down position, while the piston was going in the up position, it broke the piston in pieces and broke the valve. The dealer contacted GM as to what to do. GM is sending a new engine to replace the blown engine. There is only 25,000 miles on the truck.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 012007

Colorado 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Colorado. When idling or driving 20 mph, the engine RPM's increase. The dealer stated that the vehicle was designed that way for better emission. The manufacturer stated that the idling could not be corrected. The current mileage was 4,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Beaverdam, WI, USA

problem #2

Jun 192007

Colorado 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Truck misfiring on all cylinders since around June 2007. Check engine light on some, off some. June 19 dealer said misfiring on all cylinders and they were stumped. They first guessed bad gasoline then said computer needed reconfiguring. Still misfiring when I left shop. On July 19 returned to dealer. They said it was a GM problem that GM was aware of...possibly crankshaft sensor and for me to come back in two weeks. On Aug 18 I took truck back to dealer after engine quit in a rolling turn in middle of intersection. Dealer replaced fuel pump and spark plugs and said they thought water was in fuel. Don't go back to same gas stations they said. I haven't. truck still was misfiring when I left. On 9-26 I went back to dealer. Truck engine shut off while I was doing 70mph down busy interstate. Made it to side of road, restarted and continued on my way. Dealer said it was computer loosing communications internally and had clogged fuel injectors. Left dealer and truck still misfiring. Drove it for a day or two and when friend who went to lunch with me wondered if we were going to make it back from lunch I decided to call dealer. Called dealer and was told it was a software problem and that GM is working on it. Groan! truck is almost out of warranty and I am wondering when next time engine will quit running and under what driving conditions. Thanks....roger dowdy

- Cottontown, TN, USA

problem #1

Aug 112007

Colorado 4WD 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,600 miles
Power reduced warning and engine light comes on, can't accelerate above 50 mph. Dealer is currently working on problem for the fourth time. Unable to correctly repair or find problem. Very rude treatment from dealer. Updated 09/18/07

- Mentor On The Lake, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?