Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Chevy Colorado is mechanically identical to the GMC Canyon.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,248 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Colorado electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Colorado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Colorado Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Nov 012013

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The wiring harness between the truck body and the rear driver side half-door (extended cab) passes through a flexible rubber housing. The pair of wires to the seat belt tensioner (part of the airbag system) were broken completely in half mid-way through the rubber housing from normal use of opening and closing the door. Airbag light on dash stayed on permanently which prompted me to locate the problem. Only found it because the radio speaker in that same door had stopped working as well. Found that it had broken wires in the same location along with the airbag system wires. This problem is well documented in online forums as many Colorado owners across many production years have had the same issue.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012009

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
I was driving on the highway and noticed my cruise control wouldn't come on. I figured it was a fuse and would get to it after work. When I pulled into work a coworker who was behind me told me I had no brake lights. Checked all fuses, all were fine. Took the truck to a Chevrolet dealership and was told the brake switch and/or wires had burnt up and needed to be replaced. I paid over $500 for the repair. Later found out there was a recall for this incident, but it did not cover my VIN. I called GM and complained and was told there was a "special coverage" so they reimbursed me a portion of my repair costs. Fast forward to February 10, 2014 and I have the same issue. No cruise but more importantly no brake lights. I called GM to complain again and was again told my VIN does not fall under the recall (recall no. 09049). Was also told the special coverage expired 4 months ago.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #10

Oct 262007

Colorado

  • 18,234 miles
Heater/blower electrical system defect in original design..... 18,234 miles(10/26/2007):heater/blower motor only worked on high...dealer replaced under warranty the resistor and connector to the blower since it was melted 51,612 miles(6/4/2010): Same problem: Heater/blower motor only worked on high...dealer replaced the resistor and connector to the blower since it was melted. We paid for this one 73,853 miles(11/26/2012): More issues with heater blower. Blower intermittently works. Replaced the resistor. Power to motor...replaced the blower motor. 74,313 miles (12/21/2012): More issues: Blower only works sometimes. Burned connection at right kick pillar/ power at fuse, but not to the blower. Terminal for power at connector behind kick panel on right side had poor connection and burned connector. Dealer had to cut wire out of connector and bypass to repair. Have contacted GM...even though this problem is in the NHTSA database and reported on other websites, they take no responsibility for the design problem.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 152009

Colorado

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I got a recall notice for my truck, the brake lights won't work in the taillight system. The brake light above the back window works. When I called about this I was told the recall was over my vehicle was not one of the recalled vehicles, all my other lights work it is only my brake lights that don't work. I feel like this is part of the recall. What should I do. They say Arkansas is not part of the recall.

- Sheridan , AR, USA

problem #8

Oct 202011

Colorado

  • 65,500 miles
ABS light comes on and doesn't shut off. There is a "rubbing/pulsating" noise when I push the brakes and I can hear something activating in the engine compartment (maybe the ABS computer?). I checked the brake fluid and its good. Nothing was damaged when the brakes were changed earlier. When I turn it on after having it off for a little while, there are no fault indications. When I start moving forward I can here some sort of motor or pump or something initiating. After a little bit I start pushing the brakes at the stop sign then all of a sudden the ABS fault light, emergency brake light comes on as well as the ABS fault and brakes message flashing across the display. I am not taking it to the dealership as they are worthless.

- Wahiawa, HI, USA

problem #7

Aug 192011

Colorado

  • 62,000 miles
Vehicle would not start after parked and shut off engine. Found that the passlock anti-theft system had activated somehow. The engine would not turn over, only a few audible tones and the red "lock" light on. Also it showed an ABS fault. Note- I do not have an aftermarket alarm or locks on my truck, I actually don't have any aftermarket anything on my truck besides tinted windows. I checked the battery with my multimeter, voltage was at 12.7vdc. After a few more unsuccessful attempts, I unhooked the battery and let it sit for about 15 minutes to maybe reset the computer. Tried again and found that the computer did not reset. Called the dealer, jn automotive in honolulu, and they said they have never heard of the problem and to bring it in. I got it towed there and after a day they said that the battery had a low voltage of 11.6~vdc and that's why it wouldn't start/turn over. I know for a fact that 11+vdc will turn an engine over at least a few times if not just start it. So they were able to start the truck by apparently unhooking the battery from the truck for a long period of time (maybe an hour, overnight, whatever) and replacing it. This did not solve the issue of why my truck "all of a sudden" initiated the anti-theft system and lock me out from starting the engine. They charged me over $200 for a new battery plus $100+ for labor because they said the problem was with the battery and not the truck electronics. I really needed my truck as I had all my tools and paperwork in there and I had to go back to work. They said this is the first time they encountered this problem. Google revealed many accounts of this problem. Oh, and by the way, when I was there I saw at least 6 newer corvettes and 4 newer Avalanche there for some problem so watch out Chevy owners...

- Wahiawa, HI, USA

problem #6

Aug 012010

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Htr/ac blower motor won't work at 3 lowest speeds, only works at #4 highest speed. Temporary fix at wire connector by cleaning a burnt connector. Finally failed again in less than a year. Truck is out of warranty, dealership claims they never heard of such a problem, but think that a new blower motor would solve problem. I disagree. It is a fairly cheap fix involving new connector, proper grounding, etc, and should be covered in or out warranty since it is a design problem. I've been a longtime GM buyer since 1964, but am nearing the end of my patience with them. Too many problems that they never recognize as widespread.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #5

Aug 012010

Colorado 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Colorado. The contact stated the air conditioner would not function. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic noticed the wires connected to the blower resistor had melted. The mechanic stated the blower resistor and blower resistor pigtail needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 9/13/11 updated 09/28/11

- New Boston, TX, USA

problem #4

Feb 082010

Colorado 5-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Colorado. Consumer states malfunction with the passlock system according to the owners manual, the passlock is a theft-deterrent system. The passlock enables fuel of the ignition lock cylinder if turned with a valid key. If an incorrect key is used or the ignition lock cylinder is tampered with, the fuel system is disabled and the vehicle will not start. What was not mentioned in the owner's manual is that the system malfunctions even when a valid key is used and or the lock cylinder has not been tampered with. The system failed on numerous occasions. Each time, the consumer had to wait 10-15 minutes and then the engine would start. The vehicle finally failed altogether and had to be serviced at the dealer. After the vehicle was serviced, five months later, the vehicle failed to start at a rest stop. The vehicle failed to start again seven days later.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #3

Feb 172010

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 33,917 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Colorado. The contact stated that upon initial startup, the vehicle would hesitate to start between 5-15 minutes. The dealer cleared the lock codes in an attempt to repair the failure but to no avail. The contact also mentioned he heard a squealing noise whenever he would depress the brake pedal. The dealer advised there were over 16 sensors connected between the brake system and the ignition and he would not be able to replace every sensor. The failure mileage of the vehicle was 33,917 and the current mileage was 34,241. Updated 4/27/10. The consumer stated the brakes have not stopped squealing since it was first purchased. The consumer stated when he applied the brakes at times, the vehicle would not fully stop.

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #2

Oct 142009

Colorado

  • 39,900 miles
Blower motor was running on low. I detected a faint odor of something hot. Blower quit working. Runs on hi speed (4) only. Will not run on speeds 1,2 or 3. researched problem online. Seems to be a common problem. There is an issue with the blower motor resistor and connector. When I checked, one of the pins on the connector and socket is burned. Potential for fire exists. I ordered new parts. (blower motor resistor & connector).

- Neenah, WI, USA

problem #1

Jun 032008

Colorado

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Colorado. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle lost acceleration, began smoking, and finally stalled. The dealer only offered a warranty on the parts and made three attempts to repair the vehicle within the last three months. The dealer is not repairing the failure by replacing the wiring that melted and burned. The repair receipt states that the cause of the failure was an electric continuity through negative cable. The parts were replaced under warranty. The current mileage was 39,000 miles and failure mileage was 31,000.

- Niceville, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?