Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chevrolet Cruze engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chevrolet Cruze:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chevrolet Cruze Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Oct 032014

Cruze

  • 20,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 10-1-14 my Cruze eco would not start. After multi tries and hearing only clicking sounds it did start. After getting to my destination and letting the car sit for hours it did the same thing again. Contacted dealer was told to bring car in which I did on 10-3-14. After a week, they stated they showed the alt was not charging and replaced it then again because 1st one they received from G.M was defective. On 10-10-14 picked up car started it up went home and let sit for about a hour then tried to start and again it only clicked but this time there was 3 messages and one was to roll window up and down" why? does these Cruze have electrical issues or computer issues" contacted selling dealer again and was told to bring it back which I did on 10-13-14. Waiting on my new Cruze again to be fixed and wondering why do these 5 star Cruze have so many problems according to what I have been reading the last few days without G.M doing something. I am not satisfied with this car.

- Orland, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 252012

Cruze

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle moved backwards before accelerating forward. When the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle jerked forward. In addition, the contact heard a rattling sound coming from the engine and motor oil fumes were present. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The failures occurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #14

Feb 012014

Cruze

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled numerous times and the traction control light illuminated. The contact mentioned that due to the failure another vehicle crashed into the rear of the vehicle. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 042014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the highway @ 65 mph our 2013 Chevy Cruze died suddenly. As we coasted, I tried starting it and it started and we continued. A few minutes later it did the same thing, we coasted to the side of the road, stopped, and again it restarted. We continued our 3 hour journey home without any other incidents.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 302013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Just a few months after purchasing our Cruze, is has failed to start on numerous occasions. After 2 or 3 key turns, it does start. This has occurred a dozen or so times in the 16 months we have owned the car.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 012014

Cruze

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that the check engine indicator illuminated and the vehicle hesitated while driving at an unknown speed. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer several times. The dealer reset the thermostat once and then replaced it, but the failure recurred both times. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 152013

Cruze

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My sister and I rental a car it stop on the interstate, we was stuck from 830pm until 530am, no help from budget.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 242013

Cruze

  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, the vehicle would decelerate to 30 mph. The contact stated that the engine power reduced, service stabilitrak, and service traction control warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,500 and the current mileage was 13,000.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 192014

Cruze

  • 3,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact restarted the engine and the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 3200. Updated 06/17/14

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #7

Dec 272012

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
Almost from the day I leased my manual Cruze I had engine dying problems. It happens when I downshift into second gear, when I stop and when I stop suddenly. It happens perhaps a few times a week. The dealership service dept. Tested the car and found nothing wrong. It was suggested, tactfully, that perhaps I wasn't shifting correctly. I am almost 66 years old I learned to drive a car on a three-the-tree Ford. I have owned only one automatic car in my life, and that was for four years. I really don't think I am to blame. As the GM ignition switch came to light I began to wonder. Over the past few weeks GM has expanded its recall into more recent model years. To me, it is simply the GM culture when it comes to building cars. The same mentality about using bad parts was probably passed on the 2013 models.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 112013

Cruze

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When my husband and drive the car and turn it off the car tries to re-crank on its own. It has happened numerous times. Also, my cousin witness it one day after I turned the car off. I'm not sure if it's the ignition or what. We wanted to report the problem sooner but didn't know how to until I searched on the internet. It's scary to see such vehicle trying to re-start itself.

- Morrow, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 202013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I purchased a 2013 Chevy Cruze in June, 2013. In November of the same year, I struck a deer on a rural stretch of interstate highway at high speed (70mph). At this point there were roughly 9,000 miles on it. The air bags did not deploy, but I was unharmed. The impact caused the vehicle to do a 180 degree roll onto the shoulder, at which point I exited the vehicle to see the area near the battery smoking with a small flame coming out of it. Within minutes, and before emergency vehicles could arrive the front of the car was fully engulfed in flames.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #4

Jul 052013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • miles
In April of 2013 my 2013 Chevy Cruze shut off while attempting to drive off from a red light that just turned green, as soon as I stepped on the gas pedal the car just shut off. There were no other vehicles behind me so I immediately tried turning the car on but I had to put it park then start it again and continued en route and did not think anything of it. This happened twice within the next few months. The fourth incident I had a car full of family member and we were getting on the freeway on ramp slowing to come to a stop when the light turned green so as soon as I stepped on the gas pedal the car shut down and I had no control and was almost hit from behind luckily there was no car in the lane over so the truck behind me swerved into the next lane and I once again put the car in park started again and immediately called the dealership and took the vehicle into the dealership. I was told by the service department a few weeks later that they figured the problem was a low octane gas and I just needed to start using chevron only and they would give me $250 in chevron gas cards. I refused to pick up the car because I already only used chevron gas in the vehicle since I purchased it in December 2012 with only 3 miles. After 2 months of arguing back in forth about them not having a fix for the car I returned the rental and purchased a different vehicle elsewhere and filed a complaint with GM which also gave me the run around about the vehicle being fixed when it wasn't ever worked on to this day they have the car and I am now in collections and continuing this headache with GM. They said its not a recall but I have spoken to several other people including the rental company that has had the Chevy Cruze shut off on them as well.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #3

Jan 092014

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 10,801 miles
Took the car to dealer for car wash, after doing complimentary multi point inspection they called me and told me my water pump was leaking.they replaced the water pump on a car with only 10801 miles.

- Redlands , CA, USA

problem #2

May 012013

Cruze 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I had the vehicle serviced for oil change and tire rotation on May 25. A few days later, approximately June 1, I noticed the vehicle was very hard to stop when backing out of my driveway (had to push down very hard on the brakes which did not seem to go to the floor). I also noticed that while I was stopped at red lights or behind other vehicles the car would lunge forward--not enough to hit someone because I noticed it as soon as it happened. About two weeks later I took the car to the dealership, jeff wyler Chevrolet eastgate, and advised them of the problem. Someone test drove the car with me in the passenger seat, and he informed me that he could find nothing wrong with the car. I do not know if he checked anything else while I was in the waiting room. At my request, he provided me with a printout documenting the visit. On July 7, 2013, while my daughter was pulling the vehicle into our garage, the brakes failed and she hit my granddaughter bicycle which, in turn, went through the drywall at the end of the garage. I have four children living at the house including an 8 and 10 year old. There is also a sign on our street indicating a deaf child lives on the street (we have only lived there since Nov. 2012). We are very fortunate that a child has not been injured. There is no way to alert the deaf child that the car is coming their way since they cannot hear the horn.

- Amelia, OH, USA

problem #1

May 202013

Cruze

  • 800 miles
Best way to describe what happened was when I was sitting at the stop sign behind someone, with foot on the brake pedal, my car went forward about a foot or so, no gas acceleration from myself, I don't know if the gas was auto controlled, but I felt like I wasn't pushing on the brake enough even though I was, I did some investigating and I read online that other people have been having similar issues with their 2013 Chevy Cruze.

- White Oak, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?