Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,816 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Apr 052010

Equinox

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Going down the road and my car started to vibrate had it checked and I was told it was the center support bearing. It felt like I had a tire out of balance but it was the bearing. Talked with alot of people on the internet and they are having the same trouble.

- Mill Run, PA, USA

problem #12

Dec 102009

Equinox

  • 95,000 miles
2005 Chevy Equinox drive shaft bearing wore down, vehicle never shook. There was a dragging noise I took it to the mechanic, he drove it, it ran smooth, he looked underneath and was able to move it 6 inches in all directions. Now have to replace the whole drive shaft.

- Bloomingdale, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 242005

Equinox

  • miles
I have went through 3 wheel bearings, 2 carrier bearings which took 3 weeks to get from dealer so car was laid up., 2 stabilizer bars, all wiring was corroded and had to be replaced, battery goes dead if door is open for 15 minutes. Sun roof has rattled from day one. Paint is chipping off lift gate and inside back door from day one. Warranty would not cover. My 2005 Equinox is a big piece of junk!!!

- Bergland, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 212009

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Equinox. He stated that the front wheel bearings were replaced. He heard a peculiar noise in the vehicle after the wheel bearings were replaced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and a technician concluded that the struts needed to be replaced. The part was on back order and no repairs were made. The failure mileage was 57,000. The current mileage was 67,000. Updated 11/12/09 the wheel bearing and driveshaft were replaced as well. Updated 11/16/09

- Phoenix, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 012005

Equinox

  • 135,000 miles
At aprox 135K miles, the struts went bad. I assumed this was something normal considering the mileage however the mechanic said this was highly unusual. Cost to repair $600.

- New Hudson, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Sep 252008

Equinox

  • 68,800 miles
2005 Chevrolet Equinox, mileage 68,800. "growling" heard coming from the rear end of the vehicle. Diagnosed by repair shop as rear hub bearings going bad and they needed to be replaced before total failure which could have caused seizing or lose of wheels. No recall has apparently been issued and it isn't a "known" problem but local dealership said that they had 16 replacements in stock.

- Yale, MI, USA

problem #7

May 052007

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 6,775 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took title to my 2005 Equinox on Dec 27, 2004. On may5, 2007, I reported a noise in the rear suspension. The dealership ordered the parts and 1.5 months latter replaced the rear differential drum & clutch pack assembly on Sep 9, 2005, I reported a groaning noise in the front end to the dealership. On Sep 16, 2005, the dealership replaced the front struts and both torsion bar supports. On Dec 16, 2006, I reported a tapping noise from the rear right. The dealership has never been able to find the cause. On Nov 13, 2006 reported that the transmission slips and lags on uphills. The dealership could fund no problem. On May 1, 2007, reported that the door chime comes on when no key is in ignition. Dealership replaced ignition cylinder. On Aug 16, 2007 reported the same noise from front end and dealership replaced upper strut mounts. On Oct 30, 2007 reported that the groaning noise was back. The dealership replaced strut mounts and repositioned strut boot. On Mar 18, 2008, reported the noise to the dealership and they replaced the leaking strut mounts. The next day, the car was making the same groaning noise in the front end. To the dealerships credit, they have been very nice about all of the repairs.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #6

Feb 082006

Equinox 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
My wife and I bought this 2005 Equinox in March of 2005. It had 9K miles on it. A few times after that it did not sound like it was going to start. When it did the whole vehicle shook, it was like starting a manual in gear. At around 12K miles the front end started shaking when the were brakes applied. Took it in to be serviced in February 2006 and asked them to check brakes. They said there was no problem. They did not feel anything. Contacted Chevrolet and the customer service told me to take the vehicle back to the dealership and have them check the brakes again. When we did they told us the rotors were warped. This should not be happening already. Still has half the life on the brakes. Today we took it in to have the shocks and struts replaced. This was due to a loud noise we kept hearing. Hopefully that fixed that problem. As far as the brakes and rotors, the dealership told us not to worry about having new rotors put on until the brakes were worn. It is really dangerous on the interstate when someone slows down in front of you when you're doing 50 to 65 mph and it don't feel like your going to stop. We were told this wasn't covered under warranty. Something should be done about this. I am done with Chevrolet.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #5

May 012005

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and was placed in drive, however it did not move. The vehicle was towed to a dealership who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. Also, the vehicle shook while driving over 60 mph and when the brakes were applied. The dealership replaced the tires twice, rotated, and balanced the tires in an effort to correct the problem. The dealership also replaced the rims, wheels, and hubs, however the problem persisted. In addition, the air conditioner unit fell off the bracket which caused the engine to shut down. The vehicle was towed to the dealership. Updated10/04/06.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #4

Mar 092006

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have 13,000 miles on my can, and the brakes are 40% gone on the front, and 20% on the back. Also poor steering and handling. Front suspension makes a clunking sound. Have been to dealer 3 times for these problems and am told that they are normal, that all Equinoxs make the noise.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #3

Dec 012004

Equinox

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chevrolet Equinox experiencing problems with the steering. The vehicle is equipped with variable steering. It was the consumer's understanding that with variable steering, the steering was looser during city driving and would become tighter during highway driving. The consuemr feels that the steering was too loose, that the vehicle wandered and pulled to the left while driving.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #2

Aug 112004

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles
Contact states: Bought a brand new vehicle in August 2004. The anti-freeze was changed. The anti-freeze was brown and the smell was severe and nauseous. The car has been the shop 9 times with so many different reasons. The antifreeze line wasn't bled right and the antifreeze was leaking in the ground. There was a leak in the dome light and sunroof, the suspension and engine would tick, the horn did not work, there were front end problem, the shifter would stick, there ignition problem, noise when turning the vehicle, gas mileage problem and there was a toxic smell from the anti-freeze, the vehicle over heated, the brakes made noises, the consumer had driven through a car wash, the dome light had filled with water, the lower dash was dripping water and the vehicle would not accelerate vehicle would not accelerate and the engine light had illuminated, the vehicle pulled to the right when driving and when braking, there was poor gas mileage during city driving, there was a loud noises when making turns on the front struts, the front brake rotors were out of round, the shifter would stick, the ignition cylinder was binding, there was popping when the vehicle was started from cold, and the brake pedal would go to the floor.

- North Merrick, NY, USA

problem #1

Jul 142004

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When going over bumps or turning wheel a popping noise is heard from the passeneger front wheel. Took to dealer and was told that GM currently has no fix for the problem. Problem steadly getting worse.

- Peoria, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?