Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Equinox is plagued by a heating problem, as in the heater only blows cold air.

The reported cause of this problem is a small door, known as the air temperature blend door, which allows air to flow past the heater core. This door has a plastic connecting shaft to an electric motor and the shaft is prone to breaking after a few years. The problem has a typical repair cost of over $800.

The 2006 Equinox also has a number of reported problems ranging from the key getting stuck in the ignition, to failing speed sensors, and trouble starting the engine. All in all, this car sounds like one worth avoiding.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,560 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Aug 312012

Equinox

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since I got this vehicle I have always heard what sounds like water in the dash, I've been reading that it is a known problem and it contributes to the antifreeze which in some cases leaked out of the air vents into the vehicle. I've also had my heater blend door go bad and got that replaced. My check engine light comes on all the time because of the gas cap. Leaking antifreeze some where and from what I read it goes into the engine heads and causes damage there. This is my daily drive and I drive about 50 miles a day 6 or 7 days a week. All I do is put money into it on parts since I got it.

- Edinboro, PA, USA

problem #37

Dec 032014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
The fan is my car only blows out cold air. Not great when the weather is 25 degrees and snowing. Really GM, step up to the plate.

- Berlin, NJ, USA

problem #36

Oct 012012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
This vehicle has been difficult to crank, you have to manipulate the steering column, and repeatedly try to crank it. Key is difficult to remove. On Sept 29, 2014, the key came out of ignition while in drive. I reported to GM at 18002221020 at 8am on Sept 30, to, who took details, and said a sr. Service advisor would call me in 24-48 hours. No one did. I called GM back today and spoke to a hispanic man, who said [xxx] is the sr. Advisor assigned but she is not available at this time. I left a voice mail for her. I also contacted riverside Chevrolet in wetumpka Alabama, and was told a service person would call me back. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Eclectic, AL, USA

problem #35

Aug 252011

Equinox

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Same as reported below, ABS issues, ignition switch, over heating, water sound in dash, blend door issues. Only have 80K on car but problems surpass value. Why are there no recalls for Equinox?

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #34

Feb 282014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
I have an 06 Chevy Equinox. Over the past month it has been randomly shutting off as you are driving. The first time I was at a stop light and it shut off. After a few tries to start it back up I called my husband he came to get me and it started back up. We took it to our mechanic that day. He saw nothing wrong. There was no code that came up to identify a problem. Since then it has shut off multiple time while in motion. The engine will shut down and the tc light will come. I found this forum and read other comments of this happening. I live in Florida and have to go over a bridge every day to go to work. I am scared this might happen while on the bridge or highway. GM should really look in to this problem if it is happening to more than a few people. I don't have money to give away if no problem can be seen by a mechanic nor can I afford a new car. Some one please help or give me an answer.

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 222013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 75,400 miles
My 2006 Chevrolet Equinox has a un -fixable [per dealer] a.C. problem. Driving in Florida with temps in the high nines in traffic the temp inside the car is much higher. Being in our seventies I nearly passed out while driving. This problem is rampart on google with hundreds of the same issue. Trying to drive with in-car temp. Over 112 is scary and not safe.

- Saint Augustine Beach, FL, USA

problem #32

Apr 202013

Equinox

  • 108,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling at about 40 mph down a main road, when I tried to stop at a red light. Upon pressing the brake, the whole brake system locked up, and there was resistance. I swerved to avoid the car in front of me, and ran into a mailbox on the side of the road. Prior to this, my car experienced overheating and smoke that blocked my view, and I was told that I had a blown head gasket. I am mentioning this because I see that others had the same issue. GM needs to fix these problems before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Wheaton, MD, USA

problem #31

Oct 262012

Equinox

  • 78,000 miles
No warm air from defroster heater. Thermostat replaced, problem not solved. Mechanic told me heater door blend door broken. No recalls, even though common problem. 2010 Equinox reported same problem and has recall. Approx $ 1000 repair and definite safety issue. GM should recall 2006 Equinox also.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 082010

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
Bought in Jan 2009 with 65,000 on it. Summer 09 in a rain storm it looked like someone turned a faucet on in my car the water was coming in on drivers side my left foot looked like in the tub, fixed under warranty. Out of pocket $100, the by end of 09 the real fun began, had engine mounts replaced, knocking in car when car started for first 5 minutes. The by October car was over heating, heat only blew when car was moving, car now had 118137 replaced the ender blower motors, coolant fans and fan motor, called and reported to Chevy, then in November 010, it all happened again. This time had to have blend arm door replaced car called Chevy nope not a issue per internet its major issue. Replaced at my cost $891. Right before christmas, 2010, gaskets and seals blew car over heated then shut off, had to let it cool down then start up again. Had to replace engine, gaskets and seals. Now 7/12 Chevy wants to reimburse for the part but decided to fight me tooth and nail on the reimbursement because I no longer own the car. Traded it in April 2012 could not longer afford it and trans felt like its going to go. Chevy said I will get a partial refund of blend arm door only" wtf the car put me and my children in danger and that's all they want to do but yet fight me" also I reported to Chevy all these issues, the BBB, a lawyer at this point, 2 tv network news programs, and all available multimedia.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 112012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, he noticed that the check engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that the head gasket had failed and need to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired but the failure continued. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 71,000 and the current mileage was 81,000. Updated 7/16/12 the head gasket and intake gaskets were replaced. In June 2012, the engine light began flashing and white smoke and water were emitting from the exhaust. A mechanic informed the consumer the rear head gasket had failed and the #1 cylinder had failed as well. Updated 07/18/12

- Stoneboro , PA, USA

problem #28

Mar 212012

Equinox

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Blown head gasket at 65,000 miles. Was driving on the freeway when it happened, car lost power. No indication of any issues before, no check engine light, no other warning whatsoever. Seems to be a common problem among 2005 & 2006 Equinox's since I was informed of how common it is from the lady at the bmv....I kept asking my Chevy dealer how does a vehicle with only 65,000 miles blow a head gasket and somehow I doubt this was the first time they have heard of it.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #27

Feb 012012

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Our 2006 Equinox blew a head gasket at 100000 miles under normal use. We have found dozens of other 06 Equinox owners online that have had the exact same problem. There are forums of Equinox owners discussing the problem. Chevy should reimburse us for the cost of fixing this. I have contacted them and they said because there is no recall there is nothing they can do. Please help. Thank you.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #26

Apr 022012

Equinox

  • 115,200 miles
Bought used in Feb 2012 from local dealer the heater worked fine until early April. We had weird weather here in upstate NY very warm so did not need to use heater that much. Took daughter to work at 4 am and turned on heat and cold air is coming thru vents, the temp gauge is fine I am thinking maybe the thermostat is stuck open it might be original thermostat or from what I see on this site the mechanical door is stuck or broken. I spoke with dealer he said it was covered in the warranty to pay the $100 deductible and have it checked out, with so many other people complaining about this can the attorney general get involved on this it is definitely a safety issue if no heat and defrosting windows and GM sits on their hands and say it is within GM's criteria well GM obviously sucks and do not honor a major defect in their product. I like the Equinox but only had it 2 months and this is not good glad it is getting warm now.

- Watervliet, NY, USA

problem #25

Dec 022011

Equinox

  • miles
After a month of purchasing my Equinox the heat quit working. After doing research on the internet I have noticed that this is a common problem with this year and make vehicle. I took my Equinox to my local GM dealer and they confirmed that the problem I was having was with the air temperature door blend breaking due to improper installation of the actuator that opens and closes the door. The actuator will put too much pressure on the door causing it to break over time. This is a safety issue in cold weather states because you don't have heat to defrost your window properly. If this door breaks on a road trip you are likely unable to see until you get the problem fixed. I believe that GM is unwilling to recall this part due to the fact that it is so labor intensive to repair this problem. The cost should not be the issue as people's safety should be their main concern! I am asking the NHTSA to look into this matter and make GM fix this problem!

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #24

Oct 042011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
While driving at aprox 45mph the engine just stalled. No warning no sputtering just dead. Both engine lights came on the check engine light and one with the X thru the engine. After aprox 30 seconds it started back up and was fine. This has happened intermittently at different stages of driving and various speeds. On 12/28/11 it happened to us 3 times while out. I am leary of taking it to the dealer close to us as they recently did a brake job that I have had to take back 4 times and am again having symptoms of needing brakes. I have no faith in the dealer.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #23

Nov 282011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 118,230 miles
Blown head gasket.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 102011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 60,559 miles
No heat coming in the SUV to defrost windows or to warm up the inside. Total repair will be $800 for a $30 part. Plastic plate that controls the air and heat is defective. Apparently the part after sometime get weak from hot and cold conditions. Only way to fix is to tear complete dash board out to reach blower assembly, replace vent door and reassemble the entire dash board.

- Allegany, NY, USA

problem #21

Nov 252011

Equinox

  • 71,000 miles
My heater quit working in my 2006 Equinox. Apparently it is a common problem with the air temperature blend door. Since the potential danger is there during the winter GM should put out a recall on this part!

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #20

Nov 162011

Equinox

  • miles
When I start my Equinox it sometimes idles down and then back up to where it should be. It also has died after I have started it. But the most concerning is having to push on the gas pedal to keep it from dying, as if it is not getting fuel. Then it will run just fine.

- Pierre, SD, USA

problem #19

Jun 072011

Equinox

  • miles
The heater started blowing cold air. I know for certain that my car is one of many. There was less than 60K miles on the car at the time. Unacceptable.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?