Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,015 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #49

Oct 092016

Equinox

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall " fuel gage going crazy 10- 16 -2016 steering locked up hard to steer 10-2014 I was driveing anti skid work and does not work. 10-2009 until now while driveing

- Quincy, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 012012

Equinox

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. While operating the vehicle, the check engine and stabilitrak sensor indicators would randomly illuminate and the vehicle's speed suddenly decreased. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #47

Aug 022016

Equinox

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. While the vehicle was stationary, the stabilitrak, traction control, and engine warning indicators remained illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle performed as if the emergency brake were engaged. The vehicle was diagnosed; however, the details were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #46

Jan 012016

Equinox

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle jerked and lost power. The stability control and the traction control warning indicators illuminated. The failure occurred while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing, but the failure could not be found. The vehicle was taken to a transmission specialist who stated that the failure was not due to the transmission. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Gouverneur, NY, USA

problem #45

Oct 272015

Equinox

  • miles
Over the past few days, my stabilitrak light has come on and off while driving or just sitting in the car. Pulling into my driveway today I noticed that the light came back on for the stabilitrak. I proceeded to drive and then suddenly it became increasing hard to maneuver my steering wheel almost to the point where it felt as if it had locked up on me. I was able to drive the car back home but as I was driving I notice my air bag light came on and will not go off at all. After making it back to into my driveway I cut off the ignition waited a few minutes and turned the car back on to see if this would help either of the problems but to no avail. I have now taken the car to my local Chevrolet dealer and they have informed me that they have sen this issue with a number of Equinox and it is indeed an issue my stabilitrak.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #44

Sep 252015

Equinox

  • 19 miles
2997 Chevy Equinox - the car was in motion around 60mph, while driving the brakes activate by themselves and the ABS, stability track lights come on. The vehicle stalled in the interstate several times. The car would not move when I accelerate. It seems at if all the brakes are active and not allowing the car to move. After almost getting clipped by a semi I had to think fast. I read the manual and found the ABS fuses. In order to move the car I have to remove the ABS motor fuse and the ABS system fuse. This bypasses the system and the car is able to move. I have taken to a mechanic and they replaced dealer parts ABS module and ABS modulator "motor". I paid $1800 for the repair. Car has same issue as I drove a way from shop. When it stalled after repair I removed the fuses again and drove it back to the shop for repair again. Shop says these parts replaced are dealer parts and they will replace again with new parts. Called the Chevrolet dealership on this and they mention that there is no issue/recall with this at the time. The car has $80K miles and has been at the shop for two weeks still under diagnostics to try to determine the cause. Frustrated!

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #43

Jul 012015

Equinox

  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the traction control and the stabilizer warning indicators remained illuminated until the vehicle was turned off. The failure became progressively worse and occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 800.

- Elsa, TX, USA

problem #42

May 072015

Equinox

  • miles
Driving down the street and I hear warning signal look down at dash it says stabilizertrack

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #41

Mar 212015

Equinox

  • 77,898 miles
The speedomenter quits working it will work off and on at will, I have had it in the shop 3 times when it quits working the stability control light starts flashing saying it needs service, I am afraid it will quit working all together.

- Lumber City, GA, USA

problem #40

May 062015

Equinox

  • 95,000 miles
I havent had this car 6 months when the stabitack is messsing up not on just mine I've talked to many who own theses cars some are 08 and 09 and 07 thats a bit much why is there such a problem, many cant complain they dont know where to go for help. I stumbbled across this site....this is a big deal I'm putting this site on facebook so people can complain. GM needs to do somthing this is expenisive for folks to repair when there on a fixed income.ive aways drove a Ford. This is making me reconsider my decision.. and I cant keep a starter on this car ive had 3 put on in the last 2 weeks... whats the deal" this car and others are a areal pain I can provide you with many on a list that has this car and the problems and what drop down box?"

- Wynnewood, OK, USA

problem #39

Aug 292014

Equinox

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I'm not sure if I had written you already, its complicated, but here goes. I bought a 2007 Chevy Equinox in August 9, 2014. August 29, 2007 is when the first of many problems started. The stability a light came on, at the exact time the lights came on the car would slow way, way down it didn't even register on how many miles I was going that's how slow the car moved, then it came to a complete stop. I waited a few seconds and tried to start the car and it did start. This kept happening about 4 or 5 times, then on December 12, 20014 it did it again, but this time it would not start up again. I had to have the car towed, I had all of my 10 year old christmas gifts still in the car. The garage had my car from Dec. 12 thru to March 20, 2015, then it was towed to another garage, the first garage could not locate the problem. Ok, the second garage had it, they charged me $160 I got the car back on April 10, 2015 I drove it for four days and it did it again, now this car has died in the middle of intersections before and it did it again on April 13 2015. I was stuck in the middle of a very busy intersection, there was this huge dump truck headed right for me, I was scared to death, I almost always have my grandchildren with me thank god they weren't this time. When my car was moving very slowly the stabilitrac light did not come on, after a couple of minutes after the fact they did come on. Two men pushed me out from the middle of the intersection. There was smoke coming from the hood of the car. The first thing I thought of it might have been the radiator, but come to find out it was not the radiator. I had the car towed again to a different garage, they looked it over very well and called me to tell me there's a wire that caught on fire and it burned.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #38

Jun 032014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Transmission will not shift into third gear without letting off the gas, valve body solenoid problem. Rear wiper motor bad, ignition gets stuck on with key in, have to put gear shifter in and out of gear multiple times to get key out. Electronic stability control off lights comes on after just a few seconds of vehicle being started. Alternator was whining extremely loud, had to replace. Heater blend door broken, cannot have hot air for winter or cold A/C in summer. Sounds like water rushing through dash board when car is started. Very heavy odor of antifreeze inside car when heat is on.

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #37

Nov 302014

Equinox

  • 76,554 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Equinox. When the vehicle was started, the stabilitrack warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact had to use excessive force to turn the steering wheel. The dealer stated that the power steering module failed and needed to be replaced. The dealer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,554.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #36

Feb 012014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I have multiple issues currently and they all seem to be listed on other complaints. 1. the driver side window has completely stopped working. It seems to have become disconnected to the motor as I can hear the motor going up and down within the door. 2. stabilitrak warning and engine light are constantly turning on and off. This has happened on and off over the past year or so but the dealership could not get a reading from the computer. Now it has been on for the past 2 weeks constantly 3. the temperature gauge in the instrument panel does not work. Took it into the dealer and they replaced the thermostat a few days later the gauge went haywire again. It gets worse when I fill up with gas and tends to mirror the gas gauge reading most of the time. 4. the key will not come out of the ignition when turning off the car. This is extremely frustrating. I put the car in park, turn the key off, the engine turns off but the key will not come out of the ignition. Have to turn car back on, put it in and out of park, turn the wheel, back up, drive forward or just sit and wait a few minutes and it comes out. 5. occasionally the electronics go crazy - the turn signals won't work and the radio shuts down. It makes a sound when it does this as well, like a clicking noise but it only lasts for a few seconds and I can't figure out what causes it.

- Belgrade, MT, USA

problem #35

Apr 252013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The car starts to jerk while driving almost causing me to have an accident. The transmission jerks and the tractions control makes the car become undrivable. The computer in the car is defected I purchased the car last year in 2013 and the car computer transmission is no good.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #34

Aug 152014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Driving on a busy highway and car lost power although did not shut off (this time). The stabilitrac light and the reduced engine light came on. The vehicle is again at the Chevrolet dealership (5th time since April 2014) for the exact same problem and it looks like the throttle bottle is (again) being replaced. The service manager and technicians indicated they don't know what the "real problem" is, and good chance the vehicle will develop the same issue again. This is a very unsafe vehicle condition, and I would like to sell the car but afraid to put someone else in danger.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #33

Jul 092014

Equinox

  • 122,000 miles
I contacted GM about the issues, they made an appointment at a dealer, when I took it their the dealer refused making up every excuse he could, called GM several times but they say these items would be fixed, it is all screwed up, GM does not give a [xxx] about these hazards, problems still exist, reference number is [xxx],their have been recalls except for Ohio, give me a break, that is the stupidest thing since the vehicle has so many recalls...........................tail gate door does not open, motor is not working, potential hazard. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #32

Jul 072014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 68,285 miles
On 7-7-14, while driving home from the doctors' office, the vehicle slowed down. It was like I was driving on a washboard and was very hard to steer. When I pulled off the road and was backing up to park, it was as though I had no power steering. I turned the ignition switch off for a few seconds, and when I restarted the vehicle, I pressed on the brake pedal and attempted to move the shift lever, it would not move until I pressed the brake pedal as hard as I could. Then the vehicle responded normally. This problem has occurred on several occasions. In June 2014, we took the vehicle to the dealership in an effort to correct the problem. They readjusted the brake pedal switch. I had no problem until 7-7-14. We took the vehicle back to the dealership and they quoted us a cost of over $600 to replace the traction control module because they told us that it was unrelated to the first incident. However, the vehicle was doing the same exact thing as the first time we took it in. After reading other complaints identical to mine, I'm not very comfortable with what I'm being told regarding this problem. I'm the primary driver of this vehicle, since my husband suffered a stroke on 2-18-2013. Too bad you buy a vehicle and do not feel safe driving it. I hope no one is injured or killed before something is done to correct this problem.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #31

Jul 022007

Equinox

  • 1,500 miles
The speedometer stopped working, the passenger air bags on and off light was going on then off now not working at all the power searing went out and then back working after the dealer tried to charge my wife 800 plus for parts not needed all this has been going on sense she first bout it off the dealer lot but they refused to resolve the electrical problems they replaced the speed odometer and even noted it in there paper work that there was body electrical ` problems with this Equinox and yet still refuse to ether fix it or replace the car with a equal value all these problems was going on before the warranty ever ran out and we have now been fighting with the dealers and GM over this now for over 7 years it even had the key switch that wont work some times and sometimes it will lock up and cut off when going down the road its done this twice now in the past year I don't feel like I nor my wife [xxx] should pay to fix problems on this car due to the fact that it has all been happening since we bout the car new with less than a 100 miles on this car the dealers keep saying they cant make any codes come up but yet when we go in to them we show them what's going on with it scene it was new im sick of them lieing to us and not fixing there problems they know that are wrong with this truck if they new it had electrical problems with the truck when they did the work on the truck when it was new why didn't they fix it instead of lieing and covering up it and lieing to my wife iv had to take off from my work now for a week fighting these people and im sick of it and still have to pay more money out off my pocket over all this isn't far when we have the paper work from them stating it has electrical problems from day one.

- Appomattox, VA, USA

problem #30

Dec 012013

Equinox

  • 83,759 miles
While driving home my car suddenly became very very hard to steer I could not make right or left turns without extreme difficulty turning the wheel. In fact it felt like the power steering had completely went out in the 2007 Equinox. When I went to the Chevrolet garage they were no help but to tell me they would not do a thing until I paid $89 they would not even say if this was an issue experienced by anyone else in the past or about how much it could even cost if they found something. When I left the car started to act correctly but the stabilitrak service light came off and on again we asked about this at the garage they would not comment on that until we paid $89. As I did not feel safe at all driving the car I remembered another place here in town that handled cars and the rebuilding of most any main featured items from motors to transmissions and went there the auto mechanic took the car for a drive of course the stabilitrak service light did not come on but the steering once again acted up. He immediate informed me that it was the power steering motor and we ordered it and had it installed last week June 20th. The garage had a lot of trouble getting the part because they had to deal with a dealer here in town and they gave them a very hard time. During this wait to get the part and have it installed the steering only acted up during the cold months but once the weather warmed up I did not have a problem and the light issue stopped. With the new motor the car drove well this weekend but now the light has again come on for the stabilitrak service. This is so very annoying as I have no faith in the dealerships here as all they can say "we need $89 to even step over to look at it". believe me when I say I will never buy a Chevy again.

- Altoona, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?