Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,396 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jan 082013


  • 36,000 miles


After about a year of owning this vehicle, we have experienced several issues with engine related problems starting in 2011 to current recent issue on 30/2014. We have been to the dealer for several "repairs" and have continued to have additional problems. On several occasions the vehicle has stalled while driving, engine shifts hard/delayed while driving, excessive oil loss between oil changes. Oil is changed and added before every 3,000 miles or sooner in recent months due to low oil and engine making "knocking" sound. Took vehicle to dealer for recent noise and engine light. They are stating it needs engine work done for oil being "burned" in engine through the exhaust in excess of $1600. Listed several items that need repair in conjunction with this issue.

- Norwich, NY, USA

problem #29

May 242014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Vehicle was at a stop awaiting movement of traffic, when it would not move or go into gear other than park. Since purchasing this vehicle for keffer automotive (charlotte, nc) in 2012 we've had to replace the throttle body, engine, and compressor. Now it appears that there is another major mechanical flaw. Either the manufacturer or dealer should be responsible for such a poorly made vehicle.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #28

Mar 182014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Over the course of the past two years, the transmission steadily shifted harder and harder, sometime the gears wouldn't shift up, or down without a 3~5 second delay at speeds of 30mph or 50mph. Around Mar 18 2014, we were going up a hill going roughly 50mph all of a sudden, there was an external electrical noise, and seconds after, the car wouldn't shift into gear. After getting off the freeway, the car would not shift out of 1st gear, and was in limp mode. We took the car to the dealer the day after and was told the 3-5-reverse wave plate or also commonly referred to as clutch plate shattered and the pieces got into the gears and torn up all the gears with it. The car was still just right under the power train warranty so the dealer replaced the wave plate and the broken gears. But make no mistake, this is a common problem. GM claimed they "supposedly" improved this old problem post 2009 models, however, countless 2010+ Chevy equinoxes, traverse, and GMC terrain, and acadia are still encountering failing transmission because of this very specific 3-5-reverse wave plate issue. Just google for "Chevy Equinox transmission wave plate", or "GM 3 5 reverse wave plate" you'll see countless GMC, Chevy 2010+ owners still encountering pre-mature transmission failures due to this very exact issue. If you take all the average transmission failures from all the 2010+ vehicles, you'll see that the transmission would fail on average anywhere between 60,000~150,000. This is not acceptable, and it should be listed as an official recall!!

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #27

Apr 122014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 89,089 miles


I was driving in the highway 93, when suddenly the wheel start to be very hard, at this moment I was trespassing other car and for very close I couldn't complete the operation. I almost hit the other car, could cause a very bad accident because the speed. Unfortunately everything end okay, I was able to control the car and stop in a safety place.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #26

Nov 132011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 75,200 miles
11/13/13 first report of transmission surging/bucking when coming to stop then engine dies, happened twice. Dealer could not duplicate. 12/21/13 transmission failure: No reverse, won't shift past 2nd, trans fluid ok but dark w/ metal shavings. Found 3,5, R wave plate fibers & steels damaged along w/ clutch housing assembly, low reverse spring retainer & housing. 1,2,3,4, piston, low reverse 1,2,3,4 clutch, low reverse piston. Clean case, rebuilt valve body, replaced seals, installed overhaul kit. 2/24/14: Reported transmission problem recurred, dealer drove for 2 weeks could not duplicate. 3/24/14: Reported transmission problem recurred 7 times on 3/23. Dealer able to duplicate problem. Replace sungear, output carrier gear set, wave plates, overhauled transmission, relearn shift adapt.

- Wheeling, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Feb 252014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Transmission is failing. Transmission type is 6T40. It appears to be either the wave plate or the reverse drum. According to several service centers, there have been continuing issues with this transmission as well as other versions. I do know that Chevy has extended the warranty on the engine due to a "concern" over the lower timing chain tensioner. I do not know what percentage of vehicles need to fail before GM would be forced to do something but they obviously know there is an issue because GM/dealerships have agreed to cover some costs for customers that were the original owners after 100K miles. According to my service center, the transmissions seem to begin failing between 80mk and 110K. Unfortunately for me, I am 3% beyond being covered.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #24

May 082013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 61,474 miles


I have experienced nothing but issues with my 2010 Equinox. It has been in the shop many times regarding the oil level being low and a loud noise and transmission getting stuck and slipping. Also experiencing gas smell while I'm driving or when I come to a complete stop. Also it's not normal for the engine to lose 3 quarts of oil out of 5qts within 3000 miles. Started noticing the lost of oil may of 2013. Took it to the shop and they replace the engine and other parts that go along with that repair. July of 2013 same problem occur again, lost of oil again, and then they replace front drive axle inner shaft seal. Also took the car back to the shop for oil lost on Dec.31, 2013 for losing 3 qts oil out of 5qts. They tell us that there is nothing wrong. They said they inspected it for oil leaks, but if they would of check the oil dip stick they would have seen the lost of 3qts of oil. Also I have pictures that I took of the oil dip stick showing only 2qts of oil on Dec.17 2013. Also we have contacted GM and no help from them. I've investigated this problem I learned that I"M not the only one experiencing the same problem across the United States. Also on the invoice that I received they did not do an oil consumption test which involves more than just checking for leaks" seem like there not following the service procedures. It's obviously an internal defect in the 2.4 liter engine that causes it to burn that much oil. Also I have all my papers when I took it to the shop. Also they gave us a copy of the multi-point inspection where it indicates the fuel system, engine, transmission, drive axle; transfer case requires attention soon, wow you think that's why my transmission is slipping.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #23

Jul 182013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
At about 40,000 miles noticed that vehicle was loosing or using oil. Carried to the shop and no problem could be found. At 50,000 miles engine started knocking and engine light came on. Carried to the shop, found that timing chain bracket had broken. Replaced timing chain, bracket, and gaskets. Two months later check engine light appears again. Take it to shop. Ran die through engine to find out where oil loss is, checked timing chain again, changed oil, checked fuel pump, reading for check engine light was O2 sensor but nothing was done about it. It's been three weeks and check engine light is on again. Car computer first sayed stabilizer bar needed checking. Got that light off and car will at least go over 30miles per hour but check engine light is still on. Got to carry it back to the garage. Something really needs to be done for the consumers that own a 2010 Equinox. This is just ridiculous.

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #22

Jun 102011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 28,265 miles
I started hearing a knocking noise at 28000 miles. Had serviced but after several miles noise started again. Noise continues so service is needed(10-2-13). I had several gaskets, seal, bolts, fuel pump(which was leaking raw fuel into inside of engine), balance chain, timing chain, guide for timing chain(which guide and debris fell in oil pan), and two tensioner replaced as well as oil life monitor recall update. Here I am nearly 3 months later and my 2010 Equinox is in shop(12-31-13) and can't be driven do to loud noises, lose of power fuel and oil, as well as stalling and check engine light being on continually. I did extensive research and found thousands of people with same year and model Equinox as mine to be having same problems as mine at same mileage. I found that the engine needs to be replaced because of damage done by leaking fuel pump. So no matter what work is done or what is replaced problems still keep happening because damage is all ready done to inside of engine and the entire engine should be replaced. Please help, this is a major problem that effects thousands and nothing is being done for us owners. Those who are lucky to get their engine replaced don't get an accurate warranty and after several miles the new engine starts having the same issues. Please help!!

- Lonoke , AR, USA

problem #21

Apr 112011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 20,595 miles
2010 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to timing chain recall did not fix the problem. The consumer stated the timing chain was installed on April 24, 2013. Five months later, the vehicle was running rough, stalling and shaking and rattling while it was in idle. He received a recall notice for the timing chain. The service department informed him, the recall was serviced during the April 24, 2013 visit. On November 22,2013 another timing chain was installed. The consumer has experienced several problems with the vehicle, since April 2011. The dealer replaced a worn compressor, the balance shaft chains, oxygen sensor, high pressure fuel pump, intake actuator, intake solenoid and the transfer case.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #20

Dec 182013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


No oil on the dipstick after 3 months and 3000 miles since they replaced my drive chain and added oil I experienced no heat and transmission irregularity. Added 4 qts of oil and called Chevy dealer. Took it in and they are replacing the rings and valves which were leaking oil into the crankcase and I was burning the oil. It will take a week to fix. They gave me a free rental car. I am concerned that this may have caused some damage to the engine.

- Medina Ohio 44256, OH, USA

problem #19

Jul 012013


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the engine, the transmission wave plate, and the gear shift selector had failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failures. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #18

Jun 112013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Car stalls with no warning, stalled in mid right turn, on freeway, on narrow 2 lane road. Dealer wants me to drive car with a monitor in it so I can press button when stall occurs, this while trying to keep control of the vehicle. Have had issue with metal shavings in oil, timing chain, excessive use of oil.

- Montague, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 012012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Purchased 4/2010 1 at a red light, car idled really rough, then all of the dash lights came on. I drove straight to the dealership. They checked it out and said I needed a new fuel pump. I had about 47,000 miles. 2. oil consumption - the first time this happened I was hearing a funny noise when I turned left coming from the engine. My boyfriend checked the oil the next morning to find no oil on the dipstick. We put in 2 qts then when the dealer ship opened I took it in. They told me they could not find any internal or external leaks so bring in weekly for oil consumption test (I was about 1500 miles since my oil change that was done at the same time the fuel pump was replaced) drove out of town to visit family (about 2000 miles after oil change) after driving 200 miles heard the noise again checked the oil.......2 qts low. Added oil and took to local dealership. No problems found related to oil, but did find another alert that needed to be completed when I got home related to the water pump tensioner. GM customer service again, but only was told to wait until my next scheduled oil change and start consumption tests again. 3. I pod jack - worked fine for the first 2 years, but then would cause all center console lights to go out, could not operate radio or A/C. 4. stalling - I have only had this problem once but it was as I was turning left across 3 lanes of traffic! 5. jerky transmission - the first time this issue happened it jerked so hard I thought I hit something. Took it to the dealership and was told, like others it was the transmission "learning" me. The transmission codes were updated and problem only occurs occasionally 6. drivers seat lumbar support airbladder - has popped and had to be replaced two times.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #16

May 012013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle started jerking when driving at highway speeds. The failure recurred sporadically until the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that when the vehicle stalled, the gear shifter would not move. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer, but was not told what caused the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Eavanston, IL, USA

problem #15

Apr 062013


  • 45,000 miles
My 2010 Chevy Equinox started to slow down after giving trouble regarding getting into gear. I was able to pull over on the hwy and turn off the engine. When I attempted to turn the engine back on it started to make a swirling noise like a plane powering down. Car refuses to go into gear at the dealership after if it was towed.

- Amityville, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 182013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Start-up noise coming from engine, sounds very similar to running a diesel. Vehicle is experiencing rough idle, or near stalling/complete stall out at a low throttle opening. Check engine light came on throwing codes P0014 and P0011. Vehicle is also burning through at least 2 quarts of oil each week and not receiving the expected amount of gas mileage (only about 1/2). These issues are very similar to those recorded for recall 11195A on the 2011 Equinox model with the 2.4L engine. My 2010 is no longer covered under GM's powertrain warranty and would like to see this recall extended for the 2010 models as I am not the only one experiencing these problems.

- Dansville, MI, USA

problem #13

Feb 212013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While driving in heavy rain with the windshield wipers on high, the windshield wiper transmission failed and the wipers disconnected from the drive and stopped all the way left with the driver side wiper hanging off the vehicle and visible from the driver side window. With no visibility from the front window, made an emergency stop to exit the expressway almost causing an accident with the cars around me.

- Fenton, MI, USA

problem #12

Oct 082012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I had been having oil consumption problems, like many other owners of 2010 equinoxes and was undergoing an oil consumption test. Was driving on I-81S on a 500 mile trip. When I started the car after stopping for gas, it idled very roughly. Foolishly, I got back on the interstate, thinking that maybe a higher speed would help. The car would not get up to a safe speed and completely stalled out about a quarter mile from the exit, leaving me stranded (by myself) 150 miles from my destination. Was towed 70 miles to a dealership who replaced the timing chain, tensioner and fuel pump. This dealer stated the problem was due to low oil level as well as dirty oil. I incurred an unexpected $1200 bill and was without my car for a week. My home dealership replaced my engine 2 weeks ago and I received reimbursement for the repair bill. I am pleased, presently, with the response from GM, but it required persistence. Although I have had my present problem rectified, I'm reporting this problem as many, many others have been experiencing this same problem with varying responses from GM. I've also experienced some shifting problems as well, but the engine problem took precedence, so I'm waiting to see if the transmission problem continues!

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 082012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
It started with the check engine light would come on and the stabilitrak light coming on sometimes. And you hear a rough idle.and a horrible rattling noise was coming from the engine while parked and. When I drove the car when accelerating it sounded worse as if I was driving a diesel truck. And the car would stay on for about 2 to 3 seconds after I turned the car off. So I dropped the car off at the dealer they checked it with a scanner and they got the P0172 - too rich error code. And they saw for themselves the car stayed on after turning off the car and the rattling noise it was making. After 2 days I picked up the car coalition??T hear the rattling noise as could still hear the rattling but very slightly the check engine light was off. After a week driving my car you can hear the rattling noise very, very little. They fixed the rattling noise somewhat it was covered ( by power train warranty) however both the check engine light and the stabilitrak light came back on. And the car still would stay on for about 2 to 3 seconds after I turned the car off. And sometimes when I start my car it would rev up has if I step on the gas pedal and then it will drop to normal. All issues were not resolved still having problems with check engine light stabilitrak light on and the car staying on. For a few seconds. After turn off the car. Took it back to the dealership now they are saying they found that it is a problem with the high pressure fuel pump and the body throttle. Not functioning correctly. This may cause gas to leak into the oil. I did some research this is a common problem with the 4 cyl Equinox. The dealership said the repair would not be under the 100,000 mile powertrain warranty.

- Tomball, TX, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?