Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Jan 082013

Equinox

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After about a year of owning this vehicle, we have experienced several issues with engine related problems starting in 2011 to current recent issue on 30/2014. We have been to the dealer for several "repairs" and have continued to have additional problems. On several occasions the vehicle has stalled while driving, engine shifts hard/delayed while driving, excessive oil loss between oil changes. Oil is changed and added before every 3,000 miles or sooner in recent months due to low oil and engine making "knocking" sound. Took vehicle to dealer for recent noise and engine light. They are stating it needs engine work done for oil being "burned" in engine through the exhaust in excess of $1600. Listed several items that need repair in conjunction with this issue.

- Norwich, NY, USA

problem #42

Jun 062012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that fuel was leaking into the oil pan. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the fuel pump and timing chain tensioner needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000. The current mileage was 89,000. Updated 06/10/14 updated 06/10/2014

- Bath, MI, USA

problem #41

Jul 032013

Equinox

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician stated that a sensor was faulty and the brake line was not detected. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacture was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 43,000.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #40

Feb 212014

Equinox

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving vehicle when all of a sudden entire dash lit up and car stalled. Messages included service stabilitrak, service ABS, engine light, and service traction control. I lost power, power brakes, and power steering and coasted vehicle to a stop. It took a couple of tries but finally got the car to turn over, engine light remained on but drove to dealer. Vehicle did not drive correctly when accelerated, it was slow and jerky. When I took the vehicle to the dealer they told me it would be covered under warranty, they plugged in their tech code reader and determined it was throttle body. I was given a concierge vehicle and informed it would take them the weekend to fix. When I picked the vehicle up they charged me saying that it would not be covered under the warranty and tried to make me pay for the rental and I have still not been reimbursed for the repairs that should have been covered under warranty or the rental car. The service agent at the dealership printed off where it clearly states that it should be covered. This is a dangerous problem and should be recalled.

- Bozeman, MT, USA

problem #39

Mar 082014

Equinox

  • 70,000 miles
Since the purchase of my Chevy Equinox I have had engine trouble related to the oil system. For a period of time I was initially given the run around in regards to a solution. The engine noise made it clear to me that my car needed some type of repair. My persistence enabled me to finally have the problem solved. I cannot be more specific about that event, but keeping that incident in mind leads to the next. I later began to have problems with oil consumption (several months down the road). During periods in between oil changes I began to put more and more oil in my car. This didn't make since my travel was local and not much. ( I have been out of work since last June 2013). That time I decided or I will say insisted the dealer look further into the problem when it was three weeks after an oil change and it was down almost five quarts of oil. I got a lecher about the damage it would have caused. To the point of the problem with all this. I read other letters of complaints on the website in regard to other engine or oil related issues on the Chevy Equinox. It seems more than apparent that this should be looked into prior to accident, injury or death. Each problem or complaint also had a number of how many of each were recorded. I would hope that it wouldn't take for me to injure myself or be just another tragic death related to the big car industries. Trouble shooters get paid big money to prevent such travesties. I would then expect that these glitches would be worked out to the benefit of the small people paying big money for vehicles that help them make it on the journey to a bigger a better way of life. I hope someone sitting in his or her corporate office does more than just brush this aside and post it with the other letter of complaint.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #38

Jan 272014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Why don't you let a person tell the complete story? my entry about Chevy Equinox could cause fatalities and you cut me off after I spend time to type it all out. I am saving it to a word file if anyone there is interested, contact me at[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Litchfield, IL, USA

problem #37

May 082013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 61,474 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have experienced nothing but issues with my 2010 Equinox. It has been in the shop many times regarding the oil level being low and a loud noise and transmission getting stuck and slipping. Also experiencing gas smell while I'm driving or when I come to a complete stop. Also it's not normal for the engine to lose 3 quarts of oil out of 5qts within 3000 miles. Started noticing the lost of oil may of 2013. Took it to the shop and they replace the engine and other parts that go along with that repair. July of 2013 same problem occur again, lost of oil again, and then they replace front drive axle inner shaft seal. Also took the car back to the shop for oil lost on Dec.31, 2013 for losing 3 qts oil out of 5qts. They tell us that there is nothing wrong. They said they inspected it for oil leaks, but if they would of check the oil dip stick they would have seen the lost of 3qts of oil. Also I have pictures that I took of the oil dip stick showing only 2qts of oil on Dec.17 2013. Also we have contacted GM and no help from them. I've investigated this problem I learned that I"M not the only one experiencing the same problem across the United States. Also on the invoice that I received they did not do an oil consumption test which involves more than just checking for leaks" seem like there not following the service procedures. It's obviously an internal defect in the 2.4 liter engine that causes it to burn that much oil. Also I have all my papers when I took it to the shop. Also they gave us a copy of the multi-point inspection where it indicates the fuel system, engine, transmission, drive axle; transfer case requires attention soon, wow you think that's why my transmission is slipping.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #36

Jul 182013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
At about 40,000 miles noticed that vehicle was loosing or using oil. Carried to the shop and no problem could be found. At 50,000 miles engine started knocking and engine light came on. Carried to the shop, found that timing chain bracket had broken. Replaced timing chain, bracket, and gaskets. Two months later check engine light appears again. Take it to shop. Ran die through engine to find out where oil loss is, checked timing chain again, changed oil, checked fuel pump, reading for check engine light was O2 sensor but nothing was done about it. It's been three weeks and check engine light is on again. Car computer first sayed stabilizer bar needed checking. Got that light off and car will at least go over 30miles per hour but check engine light is still on. Got to carry it back to the garage. Something really needs to be done for the consumers that own a 2010 Equinox. This is just ridiculous.

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #35

Jan 202014

Equinox

  • 77,367 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated while driving various speeds the engine stalled and the warning indicator illuminated prior to the malfunction. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the timing chain fractured which caused internal damage to the engine. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,367.

- Spring Creek, TN, USA

problem #34

Jan 032014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox the contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph and making a left turn, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was diagnosed and repaired by the dealer. The contact was informed that the PCV positive crankcase ventilation had seized, which over pressurized the engine and caused the rear main seal to malfunction. The rear main seal was replaced. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Attic, MI, USA

problem #33

Jan 012014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 24,465 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just bought and being told it is not covered by any warranty having issues with the defoggers and all the windows are fogging a lot. Tried to crack the windows to vent the out the car no help. Instrument problems. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #32

Jun 102011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 28,265 miles
I started hearing a knocking noise at 28000 miles. Had serviced but after several miles noise started again. Noise continues so service is needed(10-2-13). I had several gaskets, seal, bolts, fuel pump(which was leaking raw fuel into inside of engine), balance chain, timing chain, guide for timing chain(which guide and debris fell in oil pan), and two tensioner replaced as well as oil life monitor recall update. Here I am nearly 3 months later and my 2010 Equinox is in shop(12-31-13) and can't be driven do to loud noises, lose of power fuel and oil, as well as stalling and check engine light being on continually. I did extensive research and found thousands of people with same year and model Equinox as mine to be having same problems as mine at same mileage. I found that the engine needs to be replaced because of damage done by leaking fuel pump. So no matter what work is done or what is replaced problems still keep happening because damage is all ready done to inside of engine and the entire engine should be replaced. Please help, this is a major problem that effects thousands and nothing is being done for us owners. Those who are lucky to get their engine replaced don't get an accurate warranty and after several miles the new engine starts having the same issues. Please help!!

- Lonoke , AR, USA

problem #31

Apr 112011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 20,595 miles
2010 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to timing chain recall did not fix the problem. The consumer stated the timing chain was installed on April 24, 2013. Five months later, the vehicle was running rough, stalling and shaking and rattling while it was in idle. He received a recall notice for the timing chain. The service department informed him, the recall was serviced during the April 24, 2013 visit. On November 22,2013 another timing chain was installed. The consumer has experienced several problems with the vehicle, since April 2011. The dealer replaced a worn compressor, the balance shaft chains, oxygen sensor, high pressure fuel pump, intake actuator, intake solenoid and the transfer case.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #30

Dec 082013

Equinox

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact was driving 40 mph when the vehicle began to shake and stalled. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for inspection where the fuel pump and cam shaft were replaced however, the failure later recurred. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000.

- St Charles, IL, USA

problem #29

Dec 182013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
No oil on the dipstick after 3 months and 3000 miles since they replaced my drive chain and added oil I experienced no heat and transmission irregularity. Added 4 qts of oil and called Chevy dealer. Took it in and they are replacing the rings and valves which were leaking oil into the crankcase and I was burning the oil. It will take a week to fix. They gave me a free rental car. I am concerned that this may have caused some damage to the engine.

- Medina Ohio 44256, OH, USA

problem #28

Dec 012013

Equinox

  • 45,000 miles
Took a road trip and the engine was making noise half way through. Checked oil dipstick when we arrived home and no oil registered on dipstick! the 2010 Chevy Equinox is a lemon!! stay away

- Bay City , MI, USA

problem #27

Dec 142012

Equinox

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the cam shaft actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Belville, IL, USA

problem #26

Apr 012013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Chevy Equinox on 4/1/2013. I have since had a few issues with the vehicle. I had the timing belt replaced due to knocking in the engine. I thank the good lord that it was under a recall. I have also been experiencing oil loss. I have my oil changed on a regular basis and it has been using oil between those changes. The last time I had it changed, I was told that there was no oil on the dip stick when they checked it prior to doing the change. I have also gone without a defroster as well. Haven't thought much about it since I haven't needed it yet but now the weather is changing and I know I am going to need it real soon. But guess what. Even though there is a recall on that, mine doesn't fall under that recall. I F there are so many people having the same issue, you would think it would be covered no matter. It isn't my fault that it is not working properly. So, right before christmas I am going to have to shell out over $400 to get this fixed so that I will be able to see out of my front windshield. I guess it is my fault that I have waited till now to worry with it. I am also having issues with my dash lights going in and out and my air bag light stays on. There should not be that many issues with one vehicle.

- Porum, OK, USA

problem #25

Nov 092013

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Car made noise and engine started to stop. Pulled off to side of freeway, turned off key and car burst into flames. Car is a total loss, due to the fire damage.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012013

Equinox

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the engine, the transmission wave plate, and the gear shift selector had failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failures. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Sewickley, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?