Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Sep 152012


  • 8,000 miles


I have had issues with my blower motor ever since I purchased this vehicle brand new - every time I take it in it into a certified Chevy dealership the issues is not happening by the time I get there they just tell me "well there is nothing we can do if the issue is not happening" it is the middle of summer and not having air for the first few minutes is horrible, by the time I get close to the dealership it starts working again so not only am I wasting gas trying to get to the dealership but I'm hot or cold while trying to do it... I have never been so frustrated with a vehicle as I am with this one... I literally have to hit a deep pothole for it kick in which makes me think it is an electrical issue but every time I try to get them to do it they just tell be well there will be a fee for diagnosing it even though I have been telling then since 2012 that this issue has been happening sporadically. Even tried to contact GM about it and they said well there isn't much we can do without the issue happening when you get there... that is completely unacceptable at minimum the blower motor should have been replaced if they did not find any issues in the wiring but they refuse to narrow down the issue. The issue normally happens when I first start the car but I have noticed it sometimes struggles while driving as well... so the issue is just getting worse. On top of that - every time I took it in to the dealership they never noted that I had complained about the issue since back in 2012 and finally I made them enter it into the system prior to my manufacturer warranty expiring so I have paper proof of the issue happening before it expired when it would be fully covered.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #29

Apr 272015


  • miles
Bought the car used in April 2014. In April 2015 had to have the timing chain replaced. In July 2015 had to have the rings, pistons, and cylinder head replaced. Now in February 2016 I have had the to replace the battery, and the starter and it still won't start.

- Wellsville, NY, USA

problem #28

Feb 102016


  • 130,000 miles
Had my car fixed for the oil consumption issue and a week later I lost power and the car shut off while driving almost causing an accident with my children in the car. Dealership denied any thing wrong with the car.... after having it towed back to them, they found the throttle body connectors were no good and need a new wiring kit to fix. There needs to be a recall on this because this could cause a serious accident, almost happened to me! please recall the 2011 Equinox as a whole, you obviously didn't build this car correctly.

- Saranac, MI, USA

problem #27

Feb 092016


  • 55,426 miles


Upon driving my car to work with my two kids in the car, my car suddenly lost power without warning, the dashboard lit up "engine power reduced" as well as stabilitrac and traction control. The car would not accelerate to more than 20mph and then died on me. I contacted GM, received a claim number and they never called me back as promised. I was able to restart the car and continue on my way in fear for the safety of myself and my children. As a result of this, I told my husband I was not comfortable driving this unsafe vehicle with our kids in the car and we would trade cars until the problem was resolved. The following morning my husband was driving the Equinox to work and it happened to him, "engine power reduced" loss of stabilitrac/ traction control. Unfortunately, he wasn't as lucky as me and was on a turn when this suddenly happened without warning, causing him to lose traction, steering control and crashing into a ditch. Now we have an insurance claim to deal with and only one car. GM is well aware of the problem as they had a recall on the previous year model. Not until 13 people die will they do something about it as proven in the past. Bad customer service, faulty deadly vehicles! by the way, nearly 48 hours later and I have still not heard back from GM after a promise of a call back within 2 hours!

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #26

Nov 152015


  • 60,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. After the ignition key was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was restarted after several attempts and having the battery recharged. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,500.

- Conover, NC, USA

problem #25

Oct 202015


  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted, but the failure recurred on multiple occasions. While accelerating from a stop, the vehicle accelerated and immediately stopped responding in the middle of an intersection. The contact continued to depress the accelerator pedal, and the vehicle jerked and began to accelerate. After that incident, the vehicle would no longer reverse or shift from third to fourth gear. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000.

- New London, NC, USA

problem #24

Dec 102010


  • 500 miles


Shortly after purchasing this new Equinox, the dash lights would go off and then come back on after a period of time and variable miles of travel. I informed the garage where I purchased this vehicle and they said the little knob on the dash needed to adjusted. This did not work. I have had this vehicle to three different garages and told them of this problem and to enter it into the history of this vehicle. None of them have solved the problem and it is a safety factor when driving at night. The vehicle now is out of warranty but the problem still exists.

- Fitchburg, WI, USA

problem #23

May 022015


  • 49,250 miles
When I was out running errands on 5/2/15 with my 5 year old, as I was arriving closer to my destination my car started shaking the check engine light came on, the stabilitrak light came one and I started to accelerate the car and the pedal was all the way to the floor and the car hesitated for a min or so then it started to rev up and I was able to pull off. Then when I got to where I was going I turned the car off and according to the manual the stabilitrak should go off and it usually activates due to check engine light coming on. I can honestly say that when you are in traffic at a stop and trying to pull off this is a very dangerous situation. After being in the store for at least 30mins or more when I come back out the check engine light is still on but the stabilitrak light is off. I am no more than 20 mins away from my home but on the way back home it took at least 45 mins because three times while in traffic waiting for the light to turn green the card started having the soldered acceleration problems again. I am just relieved that the drivers behind me in each occurrence which would be a total of 4 was very patient. I did do a diagnostic report with onstar after the second incident and I was informed that there were 3 codes on my car now and the loss of power can be an issue for these code and to get the car to the dealer within 7 days. This seems to be an issue that has been listed on this site more than once. I am no longer under the warranty for this vehicle and from what I have read is a very expensive repair. I am not sure why Chevy/GM is not acknowledging this issue from what I have seen on this site and, car and you tube this a very real and serious issue. This issue needs to be addressed soon than later. I don't understand why there hasn't been anything done about this. I am scared to drive my car now.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #22

Mar 172015


  • 63,000 miles
The console dashboard lights remain on after the key is removed from the ignition! this has happen several times!

- Gainesville, Florida, FL, USA

problem #21

Aug 042014


  • 82,000 miles
1.while driving in nashville for work the first occurrence started with check engine light. Moments later check traction control warning popped up and immediately after a reduced engine power notification and vehicle lost power. Went from 55 to 30 mph in seconds. I have no clue how this did not cause a wreck in the heavy traffic. I took the vehicle to the dealership I purchased it from ([xxx] in clarksville, tn) and they told me it was a loose timing chain and that they fixed it. 2.4,000 miles later while working all the same messages popped up and the car completely stalled and would not restart on a busy bypass. Vehicle would not restart and I paid to have it towed. This time the dealership said they had to replace the entire timing chain assembly and a housing due to it being destroyed. It was covered by warranty again and they serviced it for free. 3.vehicle ran great for 3600 miles and again the same message sequence occurred. The car fortunately continued to run and I drove it straight to the dealership. I insisted it was a safety hazard and that I wanted to trade it in immediately. 2 hours later they offered me $7,000 under blue book because of engine problems. This was very funny of course since it is Chevrolet and the dealerships fault for selling such a lemon. I told them it was under warranty. To fix it again for free and I would pick it up. Dealership called next day. Said everything was fine. It was out of oil and that caused safeties to kick in and that created the problem. I ask how this is possible you changed my oil 3600 miles ago. 4.last week (again 3800 miles later) the car produced all of the same messages and stalled on the same busy bypass. This time I had my 3 year old and 1 year old in the car. The speed limit is 55 so of course traffic regularly runs 60 mph. I was stranded with my children on 20 degree weather with no heat. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #20

Nov 182014


  • 38,500 miles


My 2011 Chevy Equinox started having trouble when starting the engine. I would start the car and all my emergency lights would start flashing. Emergency blinkers, airbag service light, stability track and check engine light. I would start to drive and the car would just stall out. If I am driving below 10 miles an hour, the car will turn off. I was making a left turn and my car stalled out in the oncoming lanes almost causing an accident. I have been trying to get my car serviced for a while but all the Chevy dealerships are booked solid around me. Reading the other reviews it looks like this is a common problem. I feel very unsafe driving this vehicle and for a car to only be a couple years old, this should not be happening.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #19

Sep 092014


  • miles
Sept.09,2014 while driving with my 11 year grandson the engine turned off! we fear for our lives.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #18

May 012014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle suddenly stopped dead while driving and would not restart. The consumer stated it took him 20 minutes, to get the vehicle started again.

- Georgetown, IL, USA

problem #17

Dec 062013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
On numerous occasions this winter, the vehicle displayed the message "engine powering down" & "service stabilitrak" while I was driving 65 mph at night on a very busy highway during rush hour commutes. When this happens, engine slows and the vehicle comes to a crawl within minutes - barely enough time to find a place to pull off the highway. When I shut off the engine, all electrical ceased, and emergency flashers would not work. Allowing the vehicle a 5 minute break then restarting (resetting the computer) fixes the problem. I researched this on the internet, and there are many Equinox owners complaining about this very thing.

- Victor, MT, USA

problem #16

Dec 182013


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the volume on the radio decreased independently and then the radio volume increased to the maximum limit. The interior lights flickered on and off and the engine stalled without warning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection and they were unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Thaxton, VA, USA

problem #15

Mar 092011


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The engine restarted after two hours. The failure recurred twelve times and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for each occurrence. The repairs that were performed on the vehicle were unknown but the failure persisted after each repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #14

Nov 132013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Check engine light came on, had autozone run on computer, came back code P0011, found recall on code in 2011(11195A), car is doing same thing as recall stated, I called GM and they said it was not part of recall, I explained problem and they would not tell if part was under warranty, all they said was take to dealer. GM told me so ES vins were recalled, but not all, couldn't tell me why this one was not recalled even though it is doing same thing.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #13

Aug 192013


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the air conditioner malfunctioned. The contact mentioned that whenever she attempted to activate the A/C, it would blow hot air. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the condenser, expansion valve and the compressor were defective. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 40,000.

- Plantation , FL, USA

problem #12

Feb 012013


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the headlights failed and powered back on independently without warning. Additionally, the windshield wipers and the anti-theft device independently powered on without warning. The service tire pressure monitor warning light was also illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician advised that the body control module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 48,000.

- Burlington , MI, USA

problem #11

Mar 152011

Equinox 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the memory seat positions were preset and recognized how to set the seats by the electronic memory key fob when inserted into the ignition. The contact stated that when she inserted her key into the ignition, the memory seat was set based on the other driver's saved seat settings, and not hers. When the other driver entered his key into the ignition, the memory seat would move forward to the contact's saved seat position and not his own pre-setting. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 200. Updated 10/3/12 updated 10/09/12

- Munster, IN, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?