Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,515 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Sep 032013

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles


Received notice from Chevrolet 2.4L engine may contain 2 parts subject to premature failure due to wear. Failure of either part has potential to render vehicle inoperable and cause major engine damage. Chevrolet's proposed fix is for owner to drive vehicle to failure and then deliver it to a dealer and they will repair at no charge. Owners should not be subjected to the personal safety risk of being stranded on the side of the road late at night or on some deserted highway. Chevrolet's proposed solution is totally unacceptable; the defective parts should be replaced before someone is hurt while waiting for help.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 042011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the camshaft actuator needed to be replaced. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions for the failure but to no avail. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,500 and the current mileage was 47,000. Updated 03/20/13 updated 04/02/13 updated 04/19/2013

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #20

Jun 252011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
Engine continue to run 3 - 5 seconds after the ignition was turned off.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #19

Jul 062011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated was driving approximately 35 mph when the vehicle jerked, lost power and stalled without warning. The vehicle was also leaking engine oil and the timing chain had become loose. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times for the failure. The dealer replaced the crank shaft sensor and the timing chain but the failure was not correct. The vehicle continued to jerk and stall sporadically, without warning. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage 10,700. Updated 05/08/12 updated 05/15/12

- Wilmington , OH, USA

problem #18

Jul 302011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 6,230 miles
I purchased a new Chevy Equinox on May 13, 2011 from maritime motors in fairfield, ct it has been a nightmare from the beginning drivetrain/timing issues, bucking on acceleration and deceleration and pulsing at traffic lights and stop signs. The Equinox still occasionally clatters upon starting (after the recall was apparently fixed in summer 2011), and the vehicle also pulses at stop signs and traffic lights to the point it feels like it is going to stall and I have to remove my foot from the brake to stop the pulsing. I have had nothing from maritime motors (or General Motors) in terms of support on this issue. I do not feel safe in the vehicle - I have five witnesses/passengers who have experienced my concerns. In addition, I have two friends with the same make and model (purchased from maritime motors) and are experiencing identical issues. The state of Connecticut department of consumer protection has resolved four recent complaints with GM for the exact same issues.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #17

May 212011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I bought my 2011 Equinox in Dec. 2011. About 4 months later when I started the car there was a rattle noise which sounded like the starter is not engaging right. I told my dealership about this but they could not duplicate it. I have read other complaints, so I hope GM will investigate this problem. I hope this does not mess up the engine. I have been driving 46 yrs & never have had this problem before. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #16

Oct 092011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 570 miles


The 2011 Chevrolet Equinox I purchased on October 8th 2011 began malfunctioning the first time I started it after driving it home (500 miles) from the dealership. On startup there was a loud 3-4 second rattle coming from the engine compartment (almost as if low on oil). This rattle was evident whether the engine was hot, warm, or cold. I took the car into my local Chevrolet dealership on 10/11/2011. They reprogrammed the ECM and gave me back my Chevrolet Equinox. The next day the rattle was still there. On 10/31/2011 I returned my Chevrolet Equinox to the dealership for the same problem. This time a sound insulator was installed on the high pressure fuel line/fuel pump. The next day the rattle was still there. On approximately 1/20/2012 my Chevrolet Equinox began idling rough, stalling, and throwing check engine lights. I returned my Chevrolet Equinox to the dealership on 1/27/2012. On 2/3/2012 I was given back my vehicle and told that it was fixed and appeared to be running ok with no rattle. I took my new Chevrolet Equinox home and parked it in my driveway to find an oil puddle under it the next morning. In my 53 years I have never had a vehicle that leaked oil, let alone one that does with less than 3000 miles on it. The car is scheduled to go back to the dealership in two days. There are other service bulletins out on this vehicle that pertain to the problem that I am having but the dealership has not completed them at this time. There are also bulletins and information that mention debris and multiple oil changes (this speaks of long term engine damage to me). For $31,000 I would have hoped for a little more than this in a brand new vehicle. Hopefully Chevrolet "steps up to the plate" and makes things right.

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #15

May 262011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 205 miles
Car stalled-out completely cut off going down road.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #14

Sep 232011


  • 6,590 miles
Concerning 2011 Chevy Equinox 4cyl, on startup, there will be a loud knocking noise, sounds as if there is no oil in the engine, sound lasts from 1-5 seconds then goes away. Most of the times it will do it on first start-up of the day but there have been a few times where it has done it multiple times in the same day. Car has been in the shop 4 times for the same issue, they have replaced the cam actuator and solenoid, which I had to bring back again (#5) because the gasket was seated incorrectly and was leaking oil on my driveway. Service account manager has heard the noise the first time I bought it in and the last time it was in, both times the sound lasted about 1 second, but it was enough that both of us heard it, not as long as the times when starting at home, probably because those were on first start-up of the day whereas the times at the dealership it was either already running or was started a few times that day. They also replaced a high pressure pump insulator cover for a ticking noise that had nothing to do with the knocking noise. Also have mentioned to them that while accelerating (from dead stop at traffic light, going up on-ramps to highways and merging into high-speed traffic), the RPM's will drop down to zero and car almost stalls then it kicks back into gear (up to 6500 rpms), this has happened at least 5 times, and they couldn't duplicate that problem either. I have tried all 3 grades of gasoline and issues were present with all 3. at this point it has already been in 4 times for the same issue and I feel as though one day the engine will have more serious issues because of these issues.

- Blackwood, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jan 012012

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 14,200 miles
While waiting on red light with foot on the brake the car started stalling, loosing RPM and engine stopped.I started it again and released the brake and pushed the gas slowly to get thru the intersection and the car began loosing RPM again and almost stalled again put me and my baby in very dangerous situation in the middle of the intersection.there is obviously some serious problems with the Chevy Equinox engine and GM has to take this matter seriously before somebody gets killed on the road or cause chain accident because engine stalls.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 232011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 4,123 miles


At 4000 miles the radiator failed and the car overheated. Replaced radiator. At the same time there was and still is a clunking at low speeds and when up-shifting. The clunk has been so dramatic that I thought on several occasions that I was hit from the rear. It actually makes me sick to my stomach driving the car and makes people in the back sicker. Additionally some where above 30 miles an hour the car has several times hesitated as if running out of gas. The gas peddle does not respond properly, hesitating before catching on. Now at 11,000 and three return visits to the dealer they say that this is how all Equinox cars have this drive performance and it is "normal". this was not an issue when we first got the car and had I been told that some Equinox drive like this, I would not have bought the car knowing this. I know from searching the internet that this was a problem in 2009 and still is and was sold a car that they knew could be faulty without a current software fix. I will not drive this car again, especially knowing now that they can stall at 30 miles and hour.

- West Brandywine, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 252011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 5,200 miles
Vechile will shake back and forth everytime im about to come to a stop it will not allow me to press gas. Car odometer goes to 0 and I have no power to the vechile, the vechile just dies in the middle of traffic has been to the dealership twice already over issue this will be the third time.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #10

Nov 182011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
This vehicle is under a recall - #11195B product emissions poor driveability - reprogram engine control module. This recall, if not done properly or within the allotted time causes severe engine damage to the timing chain, the timing gears and other cam shaft parts. Our dealer has not been able to repair in a reasonable time.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #9

Oct 282011


  • 13,900 miles
Drove it. Turned it off for 15 minutes. Went to start it back up and would not start. Wouldn't even turn over. Called onstar and they sent someone to jump it. Would not start 2 more times before I could get it in to get looked at. The neighbor and my fiancee had to jump it both times. That was within 3 days. Dealership could not duplicate. Said it was a program telling my car not to start. They re-programmed my car. Worked for a week. Then went to get in it to go to work again and would not start. That was a Saturday. Have an appointment on Tuesday because they need to fix a recall on my vehicle not associated with this problem. Let them know it would not start again. Also, when I went to back out of my parking space the first time onstar came the steering wheel was turning but my wheels weren't. had my boss with me to witness this. After 6 tries the wheels finally turned to allow me to back out of my space. The dealership thought that the cars computer system may have just been taking a while to kick in.

- Titusville, PA, USA

problem #8

Jul 132011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Engine stalling problems, vehicle towed car had recall for problem. RPM`S go up and down at idle still hesitates every once and awhile has engine knock at start up dealer cant reproduce, been thru one GM buy back on Chevy Malibu with steering problems, and engine knock. This was a four cyl. And the Equinox is a 4 cyl. To. think the engines R the same in both cars.seems to me like GM has big problems with this engine design.

- Lawrenceville , IL, USA

problem #7

May 162011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 4,011 miles
I purchased a 2011 Chevy Equinox on March 8, 2011. Since purchasing I've had multiple issues with the vehicle that have not been resolved. Falls in the lemon law category at this point. May 26, 2011. Vehicle stalling and hesitation when accelerating tech removed and replaced the exhaust and intake camshaft actuators and the camshaft solenoids (2 actuators and 2 valves) I was informed that this would correct both problems September 14, 2011 vehicle stalling, hesitation when accelerating and recall no.11195. Tech claimed he was unable to duplicate the stalling/hesitation. Tech performed campaign no. 11195. I was informed that the recall was to repair the stalling/hesitation and would correct both problems September 26, 2011 -September 28, 2011 third visit for same issues! vehicle still stalling, hesitating during acceleration and rattle at startup day 1: informed that the vehicle would need to be kept overnight (parts ordered). Day 2: tech removed and replaced the camshaft actuators again and the problem was still occurring after replacing actuators the service engine soon light was lit. I was called and informed that the dealer would need to keep my vehicle one more day to replace the timing chain (parts ordered) day 3 in service: Camshaft timing chain replaced total work over 3 days: 2 valves, 2 actuators, 1 seal, 1 gasket and 1 chain installed. I was informed that these fixes would resolve stalling and engine hesitation issues I am having the following problems with my vehicle at this time: Vehicle stalling hesitation when accelerating I have filed paperwork for lemon law but also wanted to file a complaint so that people are aware of the problems that Chevy is having with theequinox. From the complaints, blogs, etc that I've seen online this seems as if this is a widespread issue and other consumers are dealing with the same issues

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #6

Oct 162011


  • 6,888 miles
I was driving my Equinox out of a parking lot and it stalled, I restarted it, drove it up the road and was going about 30 mph and it stalled again, I turned around back to the parking lot and it happened 2 more times. I have also be getting very poor gas mileage (15-18mph). The car was towed to the dealer and they said they reset the electrical control module because it had errors on it. This has thus far resolved the car from stalling but has not improved the gas mileage.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #5

Sep 222011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • miles
I started my new car up to leave the garage @ work and my car stalled 4 times.I turned off the car each time and restarted the car. I wasn't sure what was happening to my car. I was going down the ramp and the car would stalled again. Finally I was at the cashier booth and the car stopped moving. Again turned off the car and restarted. It finally moved. Went to the grocery store and returned to the car and drove away. I glanced down @ my dashboard and noted the indicator light was on. Immediately became concern and called onstar to do a diagnostic. I was told that it was engine problem and that I need to get the car to nearest service center and followed up. I drove the car down the major highway very nervously and slowly hoping that the car wouldn't stall or get rear ended to dealership. I presented the problem to the rep. He asked me if I was ever told by the dealership that a recall was done on the engine module and I told him I didn't receive proper notification. I purchased the car July 18, 2011. The recall was done June 13, 2011. I was shocked that Chevrolet didn't inform me prior to purchasing car. He allowed me to leave the car and offer me a loaner and would have mechanics work on car the following day. I contacted dealership and left a message as well as the customer relations dept. I received a call that Friday that the part was installed. I didn't feel comfortable riding this car, after that and made it known to the representative. I am requesting assistance in this matter.

- Columbus, NJ, USA

problem #4

Aug 072011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 2,200 miles
Engine has stalled multiple times upon acceleration. Very concern for our safety!

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #3

May 032011

Equinox 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2011 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to defective vehicle operation and safety the consumer stated the vehicle was returned to the dealer three times, due to it running rough, loss of power, an overwhelming smell of gasoline, a sticky accelerator pedal and the check engine light illuminating. The dealer replaced the high pressure fuel pump, fuel rail pressure sensor and an attempted repair of the PCM and the reprogramming of the tac. The dealer has been unable to resolve the defects.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?