Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,956 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 6 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #302

Jun 182014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were on vacation at ft. Myers, fl, on the highway, going 70 mph and the ding-ding-ding sound went off and we lost power steering. If I would have been driving I would have crashed as I have weak arms from a neck injury. My husband was able to steer it without the power steering as he is strong. The steering would come back on then go back off erratically. We got the car back home to Mississippi and put it in a garage on Monday, 23 June 2014 at 9:30. I missed work to do that and am presently still waiting on turan foley to get the power steering unit to my mechanic who ordered it Tuesday 24 June 2014. Today is 27 June 2014. This was a very dangerous situation. We had been notified that our ignition switch must be replaced and have been waiting 3 months on the part. I called turan foley and spoke with the parts lady about the power steering to see if I could get a car in the waiting time. She said no as the 2006 power steering for HHR's has not been recalled. I inquired about the ignition switch I've been waiting 3 months for and she looked in her records and said she'd notified us by letter and phone 3 June 2014 the part was in. She did not send us a letter or notify me or my husband by phone. There is no record whatsoever that we were notified. We would have fixed it before vacation as we've been very concerned about this. GM has some very dangerous parts of the car malfunctioning-in my case my power steering and possible ignition switch defects. I will have to pay my mechanic $310 for the power steering. I am very unhappy with the GM product, my HHR 2006 model. GM has done a great disservice to their loyal customers. I used to be one.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #301

Dec 032012

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
Power steering stopped working while making a left hand turn.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #300

Feb 032014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Power steering goes in and out. Stop the car and restart the engine and it resets and steering works. Power steering quits at inopportune times. This could result in a major accident. GM is recalling cars with similar power steering issues but not the HHR.

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #299

May 082008

HHR 4-cyl

  • 300,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light come on in the passage set when know one in the set.the steering made funny popping noise. An all the door handle broke where you could not get out of the auto. And the car show on car fax that it is a buy back auto. But GM say it not. And one of the handle is breaking on the driver side. And I can not sale it because it show as a buy back.tdmv say it was and then they change there mind. I fill like someone at GM pay them off. I know this has been a long time but I still have the car. And I am still looking for help.I will keep a copy for my record.

- Wharton, TX, USA

problem #298

Jun 022014

HHR

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall and power steering and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated two days after getting the vehicle back from the dealer, the vehicle had to be flat-bedded back to the dealer, because it wouldn't start. It was determined the ignition switch needed to be replaced. Also, the right passenger outside mirror fell off, the right passenger wiper arm broke, the rotors were replaced twice in two years, and the rear shocks were replaced.

- Kirkville, NY, USA

problem #297

May 212013

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The power steering chimes and then the dashboard displays power steering. The wheel is becoming harder to turn especially in curves and making turns. On the highway the whole steering wheel almost gets so tight you can't get into another lane. On the street I can start the car and it will reset if I let it sit but then it will just chime again and go right back out. This is so frustrating because I contacted GM customer service on several occasions and the hold time is crazy 3-4 hrs listening to music and then being told that there is no recall on my car at this time but there is a lifetime warranty which the local dealership won't honor or even look at the car until they see it on Chevy website even though several reps have sent email notices to the GM local head mgr. They said we will look at this as a case by case. This is very very unsafe. It's not like GM is not aware of this issue, then being told that the parts are not available and the recall notices have not been sent out yet, and then being told after they fixed the ignition switch problem in my car and this was taking place at the same time that they could not look or do anything about this. GM is aware of this! I'm scared that I am going to be driving and lose complete control do I have to die before GM will take responsibility for this. Not like they are not aware of this issue because they are and it should be fixed! getting the run around is so frustrating when they had my car fixing the ignition switch that was on recall.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #296

May 132014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 70 mph, the power steering failed to respond. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 8/12/14

- Herculaneum, MO, USA

problem #295

Jun 082014

HHR 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. While starting the ignition, the power steering warning indicator illuminated and the power steering also failed. Three days later, the engine stalled while attempting to start the vehicle numerous times. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000..... updated 08/05/14 the consumer stated while driving the vehicle lost power steering the power steering went on and off repeatedly while driving. Three days later the vehicle would not start. The starter was replaced which resolved the issue.the vehicle had a recall for the ignition not steering loss. Updated 08/11/2014

- South Bridge , MA, USA

problem #294

Sep 162013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving and in traffic lost power steering. Had to pull over, shut off car and restart T. this has happened numerous times and is to the point we can not drive the car.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #293

Jun 062014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 91,020 miles
Steering power lost while you turn and power steering comes on.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #292

Jan 242014

HHR

  • 134,562 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact mentioned that the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who informed the contact that the power steering motor failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,562 and the current mileage 136,958.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #291

May 262014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 131,126 miles
There is a chime and the power steering goes out. Now you can restart the car cutting it off and then it will come back in. But when turning and its a stop light its hard very hard to turn. You lose control when turning. You can't stop on the highway when it goes out and restart. GM won't recall 2006 HHR in us but in Canada. Really that is odd!

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #290

Feb 212013

HHR

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated while driving various speeds, there was a loss of power steering and the steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle was able to operate normally. The malfunction recurred whenever the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #289

Nov 182009

HHR

  • 39,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that immediately after turning the vehicle on, the power steering warning lamp illuminated in the instrument panel and the power steering stop working. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnosed the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 39,000 and the current mileage was 79,441.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #288

May 312014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
While driving at approx. 35 mph and in the middle of a 108 degree turn (on-ramp to the inter-state), the power steering warning lamp came on and the power steering quit working. It was very difficult to maneuver the vehicle on to the inter-state and off the road safely. After shutting the ignition off and restarting the car the power steering was working normally again for approx. 30 minutes, then quit working again. This happened several times in 1 day. I had seen a report on 5/29/14, that 2009 and 2010 HHR are being recalled for this problem, but mine is not. It seems that my 2006 HHR should also be included in this recall. I am still awaiting the new ignition parts to come into my dealer to satisfy the ignition recall. I am beginning to feel very unsafe while driving this vehicle.

- Montpelier, OH, USA

problem #287

Apr 102013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
The vehicle lost power steering control. A chime sounded and a message appeared on the instrument panel. The power steering cuts out regularly since, every time the vehicle is driven. I have contacted GM numerous times, they insist that my vehicle is not included in the recent power steering recalls even though it uses the same exact power steering motor as the vehicles that are included (my local Chevrolet dealer has verified this and has contacted GM on my behalf too). I am frustrated and angry that GM is still neglecting to address this safety issue.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #286

May 202014

HHR

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the power steering warning lamp illuminated and the steering wheel became very hard to maneuver. The contact mentioned that after turning the vehicle off and restarting it the power steering would resume normal function. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 107,000 and the current mileage was 107,083.

- Punta Gorda , FL, USA

problem #285

Feb 122003

HHR

  • 82,000 miles
The power steering failure light came on as well as other lights and the radio stop working, dealer said power steering module was no good but could not find out why dash lights come on and why radio stops working when we seem to hit a bump.it cost me over $1700 dollars to repair and they said nothing was under warranty or a recall. I see the cobalt was recall for the same problem why not the HHR same unit.

- Mapleville, RI, USA

problem #284

Apr 012009

HHR

  • 25,000 miles
There appears to be a large amount of cobalt and HHR owners with complaints about suspension clunking noises. Research shows there is an issue with the stabilizer bar parts and also the intermediate steering shaft. These problems occur at many intervals of mileage ranging from 10,000 miles and up. GM has since sued the manufacturer of the intermediate steering shaft for those replaced under warranty equaling $30mil. I am unlucky as my vehicle was out of warranty (3yr/36000 miles) and could not get any of my suspension and steering problems fixed by a known issue from GM. They have stated that the intermediate steering shaft is not a safety concern. Now, if a part that is vital in connecting the steering column to the rack and pinion system is not a safety concern, then I believe GM executives are more concerned with cost of doing the right thing than safety of their customers. These are parts that keep a vehicle from flipping over during sharp turns at highway speeds and that keep the car traveling in the direction the operator determines using the steering wheel. After replacing the parts to correct my issues, the problem has re-occurred. The parts were not changed so even after "fixing" it, it would eventually return.

- Hamilton, IL, USA

problem #283

Apr 012014

HHR

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 180,000.

- Pinsom, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?