Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: Top complaints for the 2006 Chevy Impala include how the transmission slips, clunks and fails. Or how the power steering knocks and squeals. In other words, this car is a noisy bucket of eventual failure points.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,813 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Impala accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #8

Jun 032013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last June I went to the store and tried to open my back doors and they would not open from the inside. I was able to open one of the back doors from the outside only. The door locks indicated the doors were not locked. If I was involved in an accident and needed to get people out of the back seat of my car they would not be able to get out on their own. The locking mechanisms failed on both doors. Both doors has this lock issue for about 3-4 months and then one of the locks started working again from the inside. Eventually the other door started working again once it was getting close to winter. This is a serious safety issue that needs looked into and a recall done by GM. GM consistently puts out expensive cars with inadequate parts that fail. I researched this issue online and found this was typical of all Chevy imapla's no matter the year.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #7

Jun 142011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
Rear drivers side door does not open from inside or out. Son was stuck in car. Nothing has been done about this.

- Raymond, NH, USA

problem #6

Jun 072010

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the rear trunk did not have the capability to open manually with a key however, the trunk could be accessed electronically with the keyless remote control and the interior automatic trunk release mechanism. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they informed the contact that the issue being addressed was a manufacturer design flaw. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 02/25/11 updated 05/02/11

- Escanaba, MI, USA

problem #5

Jul 282010

Impala

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevrolet Impala 8 months ago the left back door would not open, a couple months later the right back door will not open. I was unable to get my grandson out of the car seat I had to climb over the front seats to unlock the car seat undo the seat belt climb back over and than lift him out through the front seat. If there would have been an accident I would not have been able to get him out through the back doors. There is a safety issue with this problem.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #4

Dec 212008

Impala

  • 36,500 miles
I purchased the 2006 Impala in 11/2006 when stopping the steering and front end shakes and vibrates. 1st the keyless remotes stop working which included my automatic start not working that happened 12/7. I am a trooper so I waited took my car to the Chevy dealer 4/08 and they said there was a recall on the system so they fixed that and my tire monitoring system(which went out again on 12/1/08). My seatbelts wont lock in you have to force it hard several times and then still comes out on both the passenger and drivers side. My rear left door stop wrkg 6/08 1st the door would not close now it does not open at all. On 12/21/08 the power steering went out while driving at 55mph on the expressway. Also the heat stop working and the rear defrost 12/16/08 and it is freezing in Chicago. Took car to dealership and of course the warranty was expired so I was stuck paying the $300 bill for the power steering. My husband refused to pay the $400 for them to replace the thermostat and thermostat gasket. Well two days later car is back in the shop because now 1/3/09 the water pump is leaking waiting on a callback now from the authorized mechanic with the final report on what all is wrong with this car that just came from the other authorized shop on 12/21. Mind U the car was only driven like 4 miles B4 the other problems started happening. I have had it with this car. I will send in more information when I get the final verdict on the death trap from the authorized mechanic when he calls me back today 1/3/08.

- Markham, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Dec 292008

Impala

  • 70,000 miles
The right and left rear doors are inoperable. I opened the door and when I attempted to close the door it would not shut. The jam was unhooked and when I attempted to open the door again it would not open. This happened with both sides of the door. If an accident were to occur the backseat passengers would be unable to get out of the vehicle.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #2

Apr 152007

Impala

  • 5,000 miles
Recall on something in the brain of the car (it's computer).about 2 weeks later car started losing power on the freeway going twenty five and the RPM's as high as it could go in the red, the car completely shut off after making a loud noise rebuild the transmission due to an "electrical" problem. They did not replace the transmission on my new car 1 week later car would not turn off! key out and it was still running kill battery several times speakers are not properly working along with the factory alarm 2 months later the car did it again I can't even get the car to lock period, every time I manually lock the doors, they automatically unlock I'm downtown los angeles with my children in the car and it totally just over heats and cuts of in all of five seconds with a big city bus directly behind me. This starts July 3rd, 2008 the car will not cut off, not even when my husband pulled its fuse, period, it just kept running till the battery died and the car lost all power. July 10th, 2008 they call me to pick my car up, it's ready again!!! July 11th, 2008 they had to tow it back because the car overheated, then would not turn off and the engine stated it had low power, what ever that means...grrrrhhhh!!! August 27th, 2008 the car would not shut off, even once we pulled the fuse, the engine started shaking uncontrollable like it was going to jump out and the dash board was reading all types of crazy messages!!! this car really scares me! I'm looking for an attorney to help me with this, I can't do it anymore, this was 8 times too many and now that I'm less then 10K from my warranty being I feel like S & J has been scamming me!!!!

- La, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 222008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. Sporadically, the two rear passenger doors will not unlock from either the interior or exterior of the vehicle. The dealer stated that this was a common failure for this year, make, and model vehicle. The contact would have to replace all the latches, locks, and linkages at more than $200. The vehicle has not been repaired and the manufacturer did not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 49,000 and current mileage was 50,000. Updated 10-07-08 updated 10/15/08.

- Remsun, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?