Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,280 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Aug 012014

Impala

  • 78,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road suddenly check engine light came on speed reduced get a reduced power/traction control message and speed drop to 40 in matter of seconds engine running very rough. Almost caused a accident due to this happening at the morning rush hour on commute to work. I looked online this seems to be a common complaint that there needs to be something done about it. I have had other issues (eg: Steering mid-shaft failure front end shimmy, brake issues, connector to rear defrost melting, wires in shifting console breaking to where couldn't remove keys or get out of park) with this vehicle and called GM about them and they assign a case number and tell you sorry you will need to pay and keep receipt if there is ever a recall issued.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #24

Mar 052008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 12,675 miles
I will not drive this car down any steep grade. Going down cuesta grade and applying brakes, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. We had the car checked out at a dealer and they said it was probably the rotors. We then had them turned front and back and got a front end alignment. That did not change anything. We then had a four wheel alignment done and replaced the brakes. No difference. That is when we were told we needed to replace our tires. The rear were wearing out at very fast. They lasted under 20K miles. We are now on our third set. It's too bad GM will not recall 2007/2008 Impala. Only the police version.this is not right. Our rear spindles and front upper/lower control arms should be replaced at no cost to us. If not who would bother buying this car when we sell it?

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 032010

Impala

  • miles
I own a 2007 Impala lt 3.9 L. purchased from sunset Chevrolet in sumner, wa 1/03/10. Not even 3 months after buying the car, the engine oil started leaking, the transmission started leaking, the power steering started making an abnormal noise, and the car needed a brake job. (front and back). Took car to dealer (burien Chevrolet in burien, wa). Was told that the needed repairs were not covered by warranty. We declined repairs as we could not afford out of pocket cost. Contacted General Motors. Was told that at the time the vehicle was taken to the dealer, that relevant components were indeed covered by the warranty. GM was unsure of why dealer had told us they were not covered by warranty. But that the warranty was presently expired, and even though it wasn't when we took car to dealer, there is nothing they can do now that the warranty is expired. Also, the tech at burien Chevrolet said that he could see no signs of the symptoms that we described were wrong with the transmission, even though there was a service bulletin issued by GM on 10/15/09 (06-07-30-023C) which describes the symptoms exactly as we told the dealer. It also contains information neede to repair the problem. Now the transmission is on the verge of breaking down and the engine is leaking oil more than ever.

- Burien , WA, USA

problem #22

Oct 092011

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have had issues with warping rotors on a 2007 ltz with only 50, xxx miles on it. This is a safety issue as the inferior product (GM brake rotors) make the car shutter and shake, which causes the driver to almost lose control. This has been going on for too long GM. My 2003 Silverado has the same issues with the brakes. GM - read your customers reviews and fix this problem! I for one like to buy american, but have since considered a different route since my family's safety is being compromised with the inferior brake components that GM has in their vehicles.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #21

Sep 182011

Impala

  • miles
I noticed that all of a sudden when I would try to stop my car would shake or hesitate to stop. I thought it was my brakes. After trying to park and the brakes not stopping at all. I took the car to repair shop to be fixed. First I was told it was the master cylinder after replacing that the car still would not stop. So I was told it was the hydraulic ABS system and that all the brakes and rotors needed to be replaced. The dealership doesn't have the part it is on backorder due to the high volume of the part. That says to me there is a problem that Chevy needs to be responsible for and correct before a serious accident happens.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #20

Jun 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Severe vibration from the front brakes of my 2007 Chevrolet Impala. Occurs at speeds above 50 mph, particularly sever when stopping ~70 mph. Car did this at 40,000, replaced front rotors. Again at 80,000 miles, again replaced front rotors, now again at 100K miles.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #19

Jun 012009

Impala

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Chevy Impala with brake and tire issues. I have owned this vehicle since it was 2yrs old with about 32,000 miles on it. In the first year of owning it I had to replace brakes rotors due to warping four times and tires due to pounding three times. After filing a complaint with Chevy on their web site and getting no response and seeing other web based complaint site with similar complaints, I am sending this to you. Chevy tells me that these problems are caused by hard braking which isn't the case, I have been driving the same way for over 25yrs and have never had this problem. After spending thousands of dollars to try and correct the problem I gave up and have been driving the vehicle the way that is for awhile now. Recently because the tires were pounding so much and the brakes shaking so much at highway speed, it was hard to control the vehicle. I had to replace the rotors again which started pulsating again within a thousand miles or so. I have talked with other Impala owner and have heard similar complaints and Chevy doesn't seem to care. This can be a real safety issue at highway speeds and replacing tires and brake is only a temporary cure. Chevy says that I should do a "road force balance", at $70 per, every 3,000 mile to correct the tire pounding issue. They have no solution for the brake issue other than to not use the brakes I guess.

- Brewer, ME, USA

problem #18

Oct 152005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact state that when driving 60 mph downhill or at any incline, the vehicle would hesitate to stop when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The brakes and rotors were replaced yet the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000. Updated 06/13/11 updated 06/27/11

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 142010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 15,921 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the brakes began grinding. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the rotors had hot spots and were warped. The contact was told that he would be responsible for repair costs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 15,921. Upatded 3/9/11 the rotors were replaced tiwce. Updated 07/29/11

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #16

Feb 252008

Impala

  • 16,000 miles
I own a 2007 Chevy Impala that when brakes are applied the steering wheel shudders. This happens after moderate to heavy braking or during down-hill braking. The driver gets a sense of losing control of the vehicle and tends to reduce braking which may lead to an accident.

- Clifton , NJ, USA

problem #15

Jul 022010

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevrolet Impala braking system grabs and shakes car excessively when using the brakes to control descent down mountain roadways. This has also occurred during commuting to and from work when the brakes are used quite often. The braking system was tested by a Chevrolet dealer, three days after the mountain driving problem. The rotors and pads were in excellent condition and no problem could be identified. A web search identifies other complaints of this same symptom. Although no damage was caused, the car was operating in a very unsafe manner. Even at 30 - 40 mph the car was shaking enough to degrade safe control.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 202010

Impala

  • 10,000 miles
Many Chevrolet vehicles have a long term problem with inadequate, defectively manufactured brake rotors causing the vehicle to violently shake, chatter, vibrate, etc., when the brakes are applied. The Chevrolet brake chatter, shake, pulsating, roughness problem reported by many Chevrolet owners is not only an annoying problem but also a safety problem!!!! the following is a personal experience nearly resulting in a serious accident primarily because of defective brakes on my 2007 Chevrolet Impala vehicle. Recently while traveling along an interstate highway with my wife driving, we were suddenly faced with an panic stopping requirement because of backed up traffic on a curve. My wife applied the brakes heavily and the car went into such a violent front shaking fit that she panicked and release the brake to stop the shaking and had to swerve to avoid stopped cars in front of us. The NHTSA should force Chevrolet to recall all Chevrolet vehicles with this problem and correct it before major accidents happen with loss of property and life. This problem is common to many Chevrolet vehicle as reported on many web sites but because it is often just an annoying concern most people don't consider the safety aspects of this problem until they are faced with a situation as describe above. Note: Please do not associate this chatter, shaking, vibrating brake problem due to defective brake rotor design/manufacture with the activation of the anti-brake system. This problem shows up with just normal brake activation.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #13

Jun 152010

Impala

  • 69,186 miles
2007 Impala. Rotors replaced 3 times. Police brakes were installed but the rotors warped. They did last longer. The dealer replaced the police rotors and they warped within 100 miles. The rotors were cut yesterday and I would bet they will be warped with in 2 weeks.

- Lake Hopatcong, NJ, USA

problem #12

May 102009

Impala

  • 12,000 miles
Going down hill brakes started chattering.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 072007

Impala

  • 23,000 miles
Front rotors are warped at 22,000 miles on the car. It appears that the rotors are either undersize, made of poor steel, and or imported from china. There is no reason for the rotors to have failed and be resurfaced. As a mechanic this condition caused a significant safety issue under highway speed braking to a stop. My wife thought it was the road but instead it was a rotor shimmy. I thought the car was going to shimmy apart and brake steering tie rod links at the time it happened. There was no way I was going to let up on the brake or I would have hit the car in front of me. Instead I rode out the violent shimmy and grinding sounds coming from the front end. The concern I have is that other people would not identify the shimmy for what it is like my wife did and think it was the road. I feel that if the road was wet I would have lost control of the car.

- Alexander City, AL, USA

problem #10

Jun 012008

Impala

  • 15,000 miles
Front disc brakes make a grinding noise when applied especially going downhill. Rotors and pads are in perfect condition. Dealer said that they are noted for this problem yet they will do nothing to correct as there is plenty of pad left. Noise is very bothersome. It sounds as if the pads are worn out and starting to grind into the rotors. This is definitely a factory defect and GM should offer a new type of pads to eliminate the noise! these are the factory original pads on the car.

- Moon Township, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 102007

Impala

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the brakes would squeak very loudly when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that the brakes were lubricated and should be fine. Two months later, the tire pressure sensor illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer placed air into the tire and the sensor warning light illuminated again. The dealer stated that the sensor malfunctioned; therefore, it was replaced and recalibrated. The contact then began to hear a rattling noise coming from the rear passenger side. The dealer stated that the bracket for the exhaust manifold malfunctioned and was repaired. The latch mechanism on the driver's side door malfunctioned and caused the door to shake rapidly while in motion. The dealer replaced the door latch. While driving 40 mph, he suddenly depressed the brake pedal to avoid a crash on the interstate. The driver's seat bracket snapped and threw the contact backwards into the rear seat. The passenger in the vehicle grabbed the steering wheel to avoid a crash. The contact was completely displaced from the normal driving position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and was unable to be driven. The dealer stated that the seat needed to be replaced, but made the necessary repairs in order for the vehicle to be driven again. The failure mileage was 100 and current mileage was 21,932.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #8

Aug 072008

Impala 8-cyl

  • 21,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 30 mph, the driver seat completely detached and threw the contact into the back seat. His spouse was able to grab the steering wheel to prevent a crash. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they repaired it under warranty. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was informed that they would investigate the failure and call him back. The current mileage was 21,924 and failure mileage was 21,900. Updated 10/03/08 the front brakes squeaked irregulary whenever the consumer tried to stop, the tire pressure montioring system would informt he cosumer one or more of the tire were low, the consumer was told the tire sensors were bad after having returned for a second time for the same roblem. The bracket on the rear muffler had broken, the latch in the front drivers door had broken and needed to be replaced. Updated 10/07/08.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #7

Aug 192008

Impala

  • 25,000 miles
Shaking from front end when brakes applied. Can be very violent when going downhill. Seems to be common amongst Impala's, dealers refuse to cover the brakes. I just bought it second owner at 25,000 and it even went through "GM certified" with this shaking brake problem.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jul 222008

Impala

  • 33,815 miles
The brakes were applied while descending a steep grade. The front end of the vehicle started shaking violently. When the dealer was contacted they stated it was probably warped rotors and they probably need turned. This will be the second time those rotors will be turned. This is always the manufacturers cure for this problem. It's just a delay until the vehicle runs out of warranty in another 5,000 miles. I've had this problem with warped rotors on various vehicles before and my experience has been that it never fixes the problem. Because this is a known on going problem which occurs on all makes and models of vehicles and also because it happens to one of the vehicles most critical systems, the practice of turning rotors to solve rotor warping or rotor shudder problems should be banned for all vehicles.

- Berrysburg, PA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?