If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page
2007 Chevrolet Impala transmission NHTSA complaints: Power Train:Automatic Transmission

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,080 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 182014

Impala 8-cyl

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought car (2007 Impala ss) 2 years ago I drive it mostly on highway to work with since then has ranged down from 85 miles a day to about 40 an last year around this exact time my transmission went completely out I had it rebuilt fully for almost 2000 dollars an just last week I noticed slippage again I took it in to where I had it rebuilt an the scanner sowed the torque converter was failing so I replaced it again an a day later I'm noticing it again, I don't, mind repairing wear an tear on vehicles but a transmission ever year is ridiculous an extreme fa the general public to deal with I am hoping that GM recalls this problem, an I am seeing an hearing a lot of folks with this problem if anything can be done to help please contact me.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #15

Nov 012011

Impala 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 0 to 20 mph the vehicle would violently sheke forward when trying to reach first gear. The RPM's would also rev up to approximately 3,000. The contact stated that this failure had occurred on an intermittent basis for the last twelve months. The vehicle was later taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. After diagnosis they advised him that the transmission would need to be rebuilt. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a second opinion and was awaiting the diagnosis. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000. The current mileage was approximately 53,000. Updated 12/19/12 updated 1/9/2013

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #14

May 132012

Impala

  • 67,000 miles
My transmission is slipping and sounds like a bearing is going out when I release the accelerator.

- Nc, NC, USA

problem #13

Mar 012011

Impala 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter to the administrator from reporting transmission slips intermittently in his 2007 Chevrolet Impala ss the consumer stated the transmission problem usually happened when starting from a standstill or while moving at a slow speed. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for an inspection where they checked the shift points, checked the computer for faults and installed a software update in the computer. The transmission fluid was in satisfactory condition. The dealer stated they were unable to observe any problems with the vehicle.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 052011

Impala

  • 60,300 miles
No signs of failure until put car in park. Tried to put back into drive and shift lever would not move. Read owners manual and tried their recommendation, did not work. Found the ground wire for the BTSI had broke do to faulty wiring at factory, yet Chevy will not cover the expense. Repair cost $165.60. If this were to happen in cold temps, an emergency, at a train stop or anywhere like that it could be life threatening since their is no override other than tearing apart console to hit the manual reset. Their is also a technical bulletin on this issue, telling me it happens quite frequently.

- Kasson, MN, USA

problem #11

Feb 042011

Impala

  • 45,000 miles
Car does not shift out of park with brakes applied and ignition on.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 082010

Impala

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our 2007 Chevrolet Impala 3lt new in February 2007. The car just turned over 50,000 miles. At 38,000, we noticed the passenger seat heating element quit working. Chevy dealer estimates the cost of repairs at about $200. At 48,000 the shifter release switch stopped working, so the shifter could not be moved from the park position. Chevy dealer said a wire broke in the center console and repairs were $137. From about 45,000 miles to present, the transmission occasionally slips when accelerating from a stop at an intersection. The engine revs for about a second or two before the transmission engages. The Chevy dealer has had the car in twice for this problem, the second time for more than a week, and we're told it doesn't happen in the shop. The slip happens about once every two days that we notice. Now, at 50,100 miles, the exhaust has gotten louder and a repair shop said there's a crack on the top of the left muffler. The Chevy dealer says it's not in warranty, and the job will cost $1,152. An independent repair shop says the muffler can be replaced for $160.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 142010

Impala

  • 51,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Chevy Impala lt with 52,000 on 5.27.10. The car is unsafe, makes loud road noise, the tires are wearing out funny, even tho the car was perfect when I bought it. The brand new tires are wearing out funny, I took it to 2 shops, had rotors replaced that were warped, balanced, and rotated tires, tomorrow getting it aligned again, the dealer aligned it when I purchased it less than a month ago. The tires also need balanced again even tho I got it done a week ago. I don't feel safe driving this car it has a serious defect with the car not the tires, some kind of alignment problem a GM defect, and I'm seeing alot of others same the same thing as me on the forums about the 2007 Impala. The transmission slips when taking off from a light in city at low speeds, I push the gas peddle just a little bit to speed up like a car is designed to do but the rpms go up but the car does not speed up to keep up with traffic, I push the gas peddle down half way and the overdrive kicks in without expecting it and it speeds up like a rocket in 30mph traffic. The car struggles and kicks its overdrive in to just speed up in the city, something isn't right with this. Im afraid to drive on the highway with the tire wear issue, the tires are being ruined and no excuse for it. Im saving and filing all repairs done to my Impala... I really am afraid to drive this car over 50mph, I don't think my life should be at risk because GM slapped together a car without making it safe. I don't feel safe driving the car, it doesn't handle or stir that well either, not very responsive. I'm shocked that GM put out such a vehicle, it's a mess and I don't get it" it's a factory problem GM overlooked and not willing to recall. They should considering it's unsafe. The car has other issues as well.. a warning light came up saying driver side airbag not working, it corrected itself and went away, I hope the airbags are working properly" my girlfriend sits in that seat. I want her safe.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #8

Apr 052008

Impala

  • 126 miles
I purchised this car in April of '08 and it has been failing since I bought it. There is a vibration while riding in the car that makes your body bounce. The dealer states they don't feel it, but I have cronic back pain from it. I have had it at the dealer several times and no fix. I took it to an alinement shop they told me that the stuts were set out from the factory so the tires don't hit the grond flat like they should. The problem causes my tires to slip out of balance constantly making the vibration worse. My windshield and dash both make craking noises now from all the vibration in the car. It makes for a very uncomfortable ride. I am on my 3rd set of tires at 28.300. The brakes don't work properly, the dealer has turned the rotors twice for warping. Now they are grooved and they tell me that "it's normal" and I don't have the normal stoping power I should. The power stering squiels, but they can't hear it. The front end has a banging noise when going over bumps, "they don't hear",but I can feel it in the floor board when it happens. The car is sluggish when excelerating, "no problem found". the fuel econemy has decreased as well. While on an incline the car roles backward like a standard, "it's normal" I have never had a car do that without the trany being bad. When stoped at a light the trany takes a couple of seconds to reengage for take off. Tps repeated problems not working poperly. The cars handling is very poor in the rain, snow, or ice. The muffler system has a leak as well.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #7

Mar 032008

Impala

  • miles
When I am coming from a stop and beginning to accelerate at moderate rate between 5-25 miles my car jerks very hard. The feeling is sometimes to the point it feels as if I have been hit from behind by another car. The feeling is very forceful and it feels as if it begins in under the rear seats and the rear tires. It happens sometimes maybe once or twice a day and other times everytime I press the gas upon coming out of a complete stop and sometimes it does this forceful jerk/thump/shrug consecutively as I come out of the complete stop and then as I accelerate a little more. Have taken it to two certified GM service centers on 3 occasions and told them the problem. And after the last visit the problem has gotten worse. I am concerned as what to do. And the problem is progressively getting worse. It happens daily and on most occasions everytime I stop.

- Pinson, AL, USA

problem #6

Feb 182007

Impala

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was purchased in March 2007 and is used as a commuter car from new oxford, pa to Washington, DC daily. I average 750 miles per week. Last fall when the vehicle had just over 90,000 miles, I began having problems first with the cruise control dropping off speed and not resetting. This quickly advanced to a shuttering feel when accelerating and occasionally picking up speed and within 50 miles the car refused to move after a stop light. I turned it off and restarted the engine and after putting it into drive, managed to get it to a nearby former Chevy dealer. They determined the transmission was totally slipping and required replacement. Chevy stood by the 100K power-train warranty with a no-cost replacement and installed a new transmission, issuing a 12,000 mi warranty. Today, at 111,000 miles, less than 20,000 into the new transmission, the problem returned. The first time it was on flat ground and I was simply a stalled nuisance in traffic. This time, I was going up a hill and had stopped for a light. The car began to roll back down the hill, I had difficulty braking and nearly got struck by a large truck. It would not move forward until I turned off the engine and then with a thuds and jerks I was able to move it to a safe parking spot. This time I did not have the difficulty with the cruise control but did have a bit of what I now recognize was transmission slip but I attributed to the anti-slip brakes on ice. This happened a couple of times. From the early shudders, less than 400 miles elapsed. I was fortunate both times.

- New Oxford, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 012010

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
Transmission "slips" then engages hard. Has progressively gotten worse. Had transmission service just about a year ago, fluid has been clean and full. I was making a right hand turn and started to go but the car would barely pick up speed, the engine revved then after about 3 seconds it jerked hard and resumed acceleration. My local dealer and GM themselves flat-out lies about the issues with this car (has had all the common things, tire wear, bad rotors, motor mounts, window screeching, steering noises, remote entry, you know, typical Impala) so unlikely it will go to dealer for diagnosis. They will likely say it's due to position of the moon and direction of the wind. Just hope this does not cause accident before I can ditch this car or NHTSA gets on GM's case for these defect ridden cars!

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #4

May 262009

Impala

  • 56,771 miles
At random times, starting from a stop, my 2007 Chevy Impala ltz car will slowly engage 1st gear and then suddenly engage with a strong jerk. On several occasions this occurred when pulling out into traffic, starting at a traffic light on a wet road, and pulling up slight inclined driveway into garage. Several of these times I've lost control briefly from movement of the steering wheel, due to the unexpected power of the transmission engaging and jerking. The dealer has made multiple unsuccessful attempts at repairs throughout 2008 until now. From reading all the owner discussions at edmunds.com I see this is a common problem and a safety issue for me.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #3

Feb 162009

Impala

  • 43,678 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. When the contact's vehicle came to a complete stop, he noticed that the transmission was failing and would not shift gears in a timely manner. He took the vehicle to the dealer, but they stated that the transmission was functioning correctly. The dealer wanted to change the oil and charge an additional $400 to diagnose the transmission. The current and failure mileages were 43,678.

- Chestnut Ridge , NY, USA

problem #2

May 052008

Impala

  • 5,500 miles
I purchased the vehicle with 704 miles on it in February 2008. In may of 2008, the traction light came on and the traction control and ABS were "disabled". I took the vehicle in to the dealer where I purchased it, and they told me I had water in the fuel. As I was leaving the dealership, the transmission stopped shifting, and the car went into "limp" mode. I left the car to have the transmission control module replaced. I received the car back 5 days later and the light came on again, and the ABS and traction control where disabled. I took the car to another dealership in the hopes that they could find the trouble. After 14 days in service, they determined that rust has clogged the fuel system of the vehicle. The vehicle currently has 9,800 miles on it. The car is now "undriveable". they have yet to address the root cause of the safety issue that was the catalyst for the service visit.

- Oakland, ME, USA

problem #1

Mar 042008

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,900 miles
The vehicle was turned off, in park, with the parking brake on, in the driveway at an incline. The vehicle rolled backwards down the driveway, and hit the fence which brought it to a stop. There was damage to the driver side door and driver side rear of vehicle. The car was taken to dealer, and the event explained. The dealer made repair to door at my cost. The dealer made no attempt to determine the cause. I called again to service and spoke to someone, who stated that the parking brake is not supposed to prevent the vehicle from rolling backwards. No investigation was offered.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?