Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,622 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #16

Sep 272014


  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 62 mph, the tire monitoring warning light illuminated and the engine began revving while the cruise control was activated. The brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle accelerated causing the contact to crash into the mile marker signs and a ditch. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a broken rib on the right and neck burn from the seat, front seat passenger sustained a fractured vertebrae in the lower back. The rear driver's side passenger sustained three broken ribs and a bruise on the chest area. All required medical attention. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #15

Jul 202011

Impala 8-cyl

  • 56,743 miles
We purchased our 2007 Impala ss on 11/17/09 with 33,003 miles on it. On July 20, 2011 while driving home from work with my wife and stepson on the I-94 freeway in clinton township, mi., the leftside rear tire blewout. We notice that it had broke the inner plastic piece and bent the muffler tip and there was clearly no rubber left on the inside of the tire all you saw was wires. Had to put our spare tire on. Took the car into the tire shop on July 22, 2011 to have that tire replaced, service guy said there was no rubber left on the inside of the left tire in the rear, and the wires were clearly visible and showed us them, which we had noticed when this occurred. He also stated that on the rear rightside the wires were showing too. We had him replace all 4 tires on the vehicle. He also stated that we had been the 4th Impala they had replaced tires on in the past week. While on the lift we noticed that the back tires were slightly leaning out, like (/) left side and (\) right side, I told him that I want the tires back and he gave them to me. We took them home and took picks of them and the back of our car to show how the tires were still leaning out, and also took pictures of where the plastic had been broke in the wheel well. This has happened in less than 20,000 mile since we purchased the vehicle. I went to the dealership that we purchased the vehicle from and told the service guy what had happened, he stated that there was no recall as of yet on this problem but that other people had came in with the same complaints, that I should get ahold of GM and see what they say. He told me that he was aware of the police vehicle that had been recalled but as of yet knew nothing about all others. He stated that he wished he could do something for us but there was nothing he could do. When is GM gonna do something about this?

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #14

Apr 052008


  • 126 miles
I purchised this car in April of '08 and it has been failing since I bought it. There is a vibration while riding in the car that makes your body bounce. The dealer states they don't feel it, but I have cronic back pain from it. I have had it at the dealer several times and no fix. I took it to an alinement shop they told me that the stuts were set out from the factory so the tires don't hit the grond flat like they should. The problem causes my tires to slip out of balance constantly making the vibration worse. My windshield and dash both make craking noises now from all the vibration in the car. It makes for a very uncomfortable ride. I am on my 3rd set of tires at 28.300. The brakes don't work properly, the dealer has turned the rotors twice for warping. Now they are grooved and they tell me that "it's normal" and I don't have the normal stoping power I should. The power stering squiels, but they can't hear it. The front end has a banging noise when going over bumps, "they don't hear",but I can feel it in the floor board when it happens. The car is sluggish when excelerating, "no problem found". the fuel econemy has decreased as well. While on an incline the car roles backward like a standard, "it's normal" I have never had a car do that without the trany being bad. When stoped at a light the trany takes a couple of seconds to reengage for take off. Tps repeated problems not working poperly. The cars handling is very poor in the rain, snow, or ice. The muffler system has a leak as well.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 012007


  • 3,000 miles


Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, electrical system and on-board computer issues started occurring: Tire monitor system (TPMS) in-op. Warnings randomly appearing in dash: Check tire monitor system. Check left/right rear tire pressure. TPMS did not warn of a flat tire even though a significant amount of air was lost. Increasing no. Of issues with electrical system: Keyless entry fails. Check airbag warning appears. Check A/C warning in dash. Ambient temperature gauge erratic. Compass showing N (or ne/nw but always incorrect heading). Cruise control will not resume at times or set incorrect speed (a few M/H higher or lower). Speed has increased on its own. Once, I noticed the speed at over 80M/H when I had set the cruise control at 70. Dash displaying warnings quickly and yellow warning lights flash briefly, which is extremely distracting and warnings cannot be read. TPMS light comes on routinely after driving for 1-3 hours. Warnings may flash at any time. Took the vehicle in six times at the request of GM. Some parts were replaced but electrical issues keep increasing and original issues cannot be fixed. Keyless entry working for now, after components were replaced twice. E-brake did not work when the vehicle was purchased. Though promised by delivery, car had to be taken in five times for E-brake to work modestly. I am not in possession of any old parts as repairs were performed under warranty.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #12

Dec 012009


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. When driving approximately 30 mph and turning the steering column he heards a loud noise. Also the computer was not reading the tire pressure of the tire on the rear passenger side. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Cleveland , OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Oct 122007


  • miles
We purchased our 2007 Chevy Impala brand new January 07. Since then within a year we have already replaced 2 tires that were bare on the outside part of the tire. The tire monitor service always pops on the display saying tire pressure off almost daily. We've taken it back to our Chevy dealership on several occasions for them to check. They have re-set this monitoring thing several times, re-aligned the car, replaced 2 tires (at our expense). Right after this last time we took it in, the next day the warning popped up saying right rear tire pressure was at 58!, I thought my tire was going to blow up. Parked it to go into business, within about 20 min came out and started and tire was normal? several times the light flashes "tire monitoring system service soon" it rides very bumpy even after replacing bad tires and re-aligning. We have taken this car in over and over and still no recall on this problem. I'm sorry but this is one out of several GM vehicles we've had, and GM is terrible at taking care of their customers when it comes to problems. This car has 34,000 miles on it, warranty ending soon, we are now trying to get rid of it because of the problems already with the tires, etc. I do not feel safe in this car and constantly the tire monitor flashes pretty much every day, then shut it off, sometimes it goes off, sometimes it doesn't. I do not feel safe, nor do I feel this is a reliable vehicle on a long road trip.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #10

Nov 172008


  • 36,962 miles


Right after I hit 36,000 miles on my car, I started hearing a clunk sound from the steering wheel. I brought it into the dealership, and the gentleman told me it was probably the steering shaft. I asked if this was a common problem, and if it was covered under my extended warranty. I was told yes, it is a common problem, and no, its only covered under the 36000 mile warranty. Not the 50,000. I asked why this isn't covered seeing as its a part that should never go on your car, especially after only 36000 miles. His reply shocked me when he said that all the ones he's seen break before the 36,000! added onto this, my car remote just stopped working, as well as my tire monitor system is unable to be reset! basically after owning this car less than a year, I'm starting to feel that I have just bought a nice new lemon!

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #9

Sep 112008


  • 54,015 miles
I had my 2007 Chevy Impala lt serviced at dyer Chevy (vero beach, fl.) and since then the TPMS warning light has been coming on and off daily. Went in a few weeks later to have sensor reset and it stopped for a couple of days. Went in on 9/11/08 and had a detailed check while TPMS light was still on and got news that the sensor was bad and had to be replaced, as well as the 2 remote transmitters, since they would not work with the new receiver at a cost of $600 plus dollars.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #8

Nov 102007


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the brakes would squeak very loudly when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that the brakes were lubricated and should be fine. Two months later, the tire pressure sensor illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer placed air into the tire and the sensor warning light illuminated again. The dealer stated that the sensor malfunctioned; therefore, it was replaced and recalibrated. The contact then began to hear a rattling noise coming from the rear passenger side. The dealer stated that the bracket for the exhaust manifold malfunctioned and was repaired. The latch mechanism on the driver's side door malfunctioned and caused the door to shake rapidly while in motion. The dealer replaced the door latch. While driving 40 mph, he suddenly depressed the brake pedal to avoid a crash on the interstate. The driver's seat bracket snapped and threw the contact backwards into the rear seat. The passenger in the vehicle grabbed the steering wheel to avoid a crash. The contact was completely displaced from the normal driving position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and was unable to be driven. The dealer stated that the seat needed to be replaced, but made the necessary repairs in order for the vehicle to be driven again. The failure mileage was 100 and current mileage was 21,932.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #7

Aug 072008

Impala 8-cyl

  • 21,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 30 mph, the driver seat completely detached and threw the contact into the back seat. His spouse was able to grab the steering wheel to prevent a crash. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they repaired it under warranty. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was informed that they would investigate the failure and call him back. The current mileage was 21,924 and failure mileage was 21,900. Updated 10/03/08 the front brakes squeaked irregulary whenever the consumer tried to stop, the tire pressure montioring system would informt he cosumer one or more of the tire were low, the consumer was told the tire sensors were bad after having returned for a second time for the same roblem. The bracket on the rear muffler had broken, the latch in the front drivers door had broken and needed to be replaced. Updated 10/07/08.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #6

Jun 282008


  • 34,000 miles


While driving vehicle hear and feel lump, lump about 10 times and then an explosion. You can feel the tire explode on the bottom of your car and through the steering wheel.

- Greenville, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 162008


  • 35,000 miles
While driving vehicle hear and feel lump, lump about 10 times and then an explosion. You can feel the tire explode on the bottom of your car and through the steering wheel.

- Greenville, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 012008


  • miles
We have two Chevy Impala and both have less then 25,000 miles. They both had alignments, both went through two sets of tires, both went through two sets of brakes and rotors and one already needed a battery.

- York, PW, USA

problem #3

Jan 092007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Impala with 7800 miles on it. In January, my service TPMS warning light came on in my dash. It would go off after a few minutes. I also noticed at the same time that my remote keyless entry and remote start did not work more than 10 feet away from the vehicle. I took the car to a local dealership (graff Chevrolet) and they informed me of an antenna that needed to be replaced. I was told that the part was unavailable for an undetermined amount of time. The dealership would not check to see if the tmps sensor in the left rear tire was defective like I asked them to. They said the new unreleased part should solve the problem, but they don't know for sure. The left rear sensor would always trigger the warning light, but the tire is properly inflated. Not being able to fix the problem is making me think that I have a flat tire on my car every time the light goes on.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #2

Jan 052007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,800 miles
- the contact has a 2007 Chevrolet Impala with an odometer reading of 3800 miles and has had computer failures. The contact stated that the tire pressure monitor dose not work, and the air bag light continually stays on. The contact took the car to the dealer (graff Chevrolet ) they told him that the tire pressure monitor on over half of their new Impala don't work properly; and that they did not know why the air bag system lost its coding, but they did reinstall a new code.

- Owosso, MI, USA

problem #1

Oct 212006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
: the contact stated the tire pressure monitor did not work properly. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who determined that the coax antenna needed to be replaced. Updated 12/28/2006 - the consumer was told that the part would not be available until 1/07. The remote start and remote door locks fail intermittently. The radio would turn off periodically. The high beams flickered.

- Wilmington, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?