Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,997 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Impala steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #75

Nov 152016

Impala

  • 161,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving in traffic around 5:30pm cst on us 59 N and rankin rd Tuesday 11/15/16 when my vehicle lost engine power. I was unable to accelerate or steer and the only light that came on in the car was the service tire monitor system. I managed, somehow, to steer the vehicle to the left shoulder of the freeway and put it in park. I turned off the vehicle and when I went start it again, after releasing the key, it made a stuttering to start sound over and over again even though I was no longer touching the key. When I tried to start it again it turn on and then back off and continued to do this at least 3 more times. I eventually had it towed to my home and after reading online today at forums.edmonds.com many people have been having this issue with Impala's and Suburban's from GM for at least 4 years now, first post is back in 2012. GM needs to put a recall on these vehicles and fix the issue before it more fatalities, as proven in their earlier 2014-2015 recall. They just did a recall about a year ago for Impala's having an issue where the ignition switch would then switch into the off position while driving if you hit a bump too hard and had too much weight on your keys. I got my vehicle serviced for that recall issue but it seems like their fix for that was incorrect and not the issue seeing as my vehicle, and several others, still shuts down while driving and the ignition is still in the on (not off) position, you lose acceleration and steering. This is extremely dangerous and will cause more deaths, injuries, and accidents. Please get this to GM and have them correct this issue in all their models with sensor throttle body's instead of wired ones. They also need to fix the issue of door and A/C accuators in their models, as its been described to me as a common issue in GM models. This is a very unsafe issue for all drivers GM or not. More accidents will follow.

- New Caney, TX, USA

problem #74

Jan 252016

Impala

  • miles
My vehicle was in motion. I was trying to park, and the wheel did not want to move. There was also a loud screeching noise when I turned the wheel. I was told I probably did not have power steering fluid. I put some in, that lasted for a day, and my car started doing the same thing all over again. Also when I turn, it makes the same noise. Two other people that live in my building have 2007, 2008 Impala, and they had to replace their power steering box. Seems to me there needs to be a recall on this. This makes me very scared. I was not going at a high rate of speed then. What about the next time. ##

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #73

Jan 012016

Impala

  • 104,372 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. In addition, the contact noticed fluid leaking from underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,372.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #72

Sep 302015

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2008 Chevy Impala ltz from a reputable certified used car dealership (merrolis Chevrolet 9 mile and gratiot). I also had a warranty. In less than two months I had a service invoice for over $1300 the car needed a airbag coil replacement (477.00) steering difficulties. Also. The converter needed replacement (877.00). This makes the car sound like it needs a new muffler. I complained to the manager in service and I'm awaiting a response 11-13-15. He was supposed to call me back on Friday 11-13-15 but did not.

- Harper Woods, MI, USA

problem #71

Nov 072015

Impala

  • miles
This happen a few months ago 2 times and again today while driving the steering wheel locks up this is very scary and somebody is going to get hurt. Do something before it happens.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #70

Oct 102015

Impala

  • 95,000 miles
This has happen 2 times since I bought it in Feb. When I was steering to the left it wouldn't turn like the steering column was locked for about 15 second and then it's fine. Thank god both times I was turning and not at a high speed.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #69

Oct 022015

Impala

  • 65,937 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has 65,937 miles and failed nc inspection due to excessive play in both front hub and bearing assemblies. No steering problems noted prior to this inspection. Dealer stated they have replaced some assemblies but had not been made aware by Chevrolet this was a problem nor has any recall been initiated. With so few miles and a defect so potentially dangerous some form of notification to vehicle owners of models using this type of assembly should be notified.

- Shallotte, NC, USA

problem #68

Aug 242015

Impala

  • 29,900 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 29,900.

- Ceder Springs , MI, USA

problem #67

Aug 062015

Impala

  • 56,000 miles
I was driving on a small side street on the way to pick my son up from school. The street is pretty deeply pot holed, and it had been raining so it was also very muddy. For this reason I was luckily going slow. As I made my way through one particular large puddle on a right hand curve I could see that I was going to almost immediately get into the left lane to go around some parked cars. As soon as I went to veer left the car wouldn't budge. It felt as if the power steering had shut off. No light came on no new sounds were made, nothing to indicate that anything was wrong. Luckily with a few quick pulls left and right on the steering wheel everything seemed to back I'm working order. Very very scary.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #66

May 152015

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. While making a right or left turn at approximately 20 mph in rainy weather, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Odessa , TX, USA

problem #65

Apr 072015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Subject: 2008 Chevrolet Impala rear tire wear. Case # [xxx]VIN # is [xxx] we are having a problem with our 2008 Chevrolet Impala. Our rear tires are wearing out twice as fast as the front tires. I went to costco yesterday to have my tires rotated, after looking at the rear tires we had to buy new ones because the back tires were worn down to the metal backing, the front tires were still good. Only one half of the warranty had been used. The tires were Michelin X-radial dt mich passenger S/T P225/60R16 bw mspn 17457 tires with an 80,000 mile warranty. We ended up buying four new Michelin tires for around $600. The costco guy thought that something must be wrong with the car. After I got home I checked on the internet as to what could cause this problem and found out that there was a problem with the 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. there had been a service bulletin #08032A sent out in 2011 to replace the spindle rods on all the 2007 and 2008 Impala's that were sold as police cars to fix this problem that they were having with rear tire wear. I would like to see that service bulletin extended all the other 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. the part number for the spindle rod is the same on all 2008 Impala, police or non police. This is a major safety problem and people are going to be killed if this problem is not fixed, you just don't expect the tires to wear out so fast. We had just finished a trip were we drove freeway speeds up to 75 miles an hour. After seeing our tires I don't know how we keep from having a blow out on the back tires. I think that lots of accidents have happened with these 2007 and 2008 Chevy Impala with tires blowing out because rear tire wear because the spindle bolts are engineered wrong and every one thinks its the tires fault.. GM needs to fix this problem and replace the four spindle bolts. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Tapps, WA, USA

problem #64

Jan 312015

Impala

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when making a left or right turn, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the rack and pinion steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #63

Feb 162015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles
Own snow the rear end slides all over the place you have no control, I have brand new tires extraction tires on rear.

- Springfield, TN, USA

problem #62

Dec 052014

Impala

  • 97,785 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle veered to the right and became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,785.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #61

Oct 142014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while making a left hand turn, the steering wheel seized causing another vehicle to crash into the passenger front side. The air bags failed to deploy. The passenger from the other vehicle sustained unknown injuries which required medical attention. It was unknown if a police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Jacksonville , AR, USA

problem #60

Jan 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 733,781 miles
Vehicle was leaking oil for the past several months and upon inspection by local repair shop on January 15, 2015, two different visible leaks were found as a result of normal wear and tear after only approx. 73,000 miles. The repair shop indicated that inferior gaskets/seals in the 1) engines intake manifold gasket and 2) the rack and pinion system caused premature leaks to occur in the models. Repair costs are estimated at approx. $2,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #59

Dec 312014

Impala

  • 182,000 miles
On this day I was driving normal speed, climate and roadway was dry and free of debris. The traction control light came on and the car began to shift hard when accelerating after a stop. Today, January 5, 2015 while operating under normal speed and dry climate the check engine light came on along with traction control, which has remained on since the initial incident. The car began jerking and the engine shut off while traveling at a rate of 40mph. I was almost hit by the vehicle behind me, however thankfully managed to pull to the shoulder of the roadway. My children were in the car with me. I shut the car off in hopes that the lights would reset, but they did not. I have contacted GM and in my opinion they couldn't care less about this issue. I have researched several online forums and see that this appears to be an issue with many Impala owners. A few even stated they had wrecked their vehicles due to the engine shutting down while experiencing the exact same issues. Why has this issue not been addressed? I see reports dating back to 2010. The same danger that warranted an ignition switch recall is happening in these cases as well, these cars are shutting off while being driven.

- Gordonsville, TN, USA

problem #58

Jun 022014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have had the ignition switch repaired under the recall thinking this might help the problem. I will be driving down the road when the steering will lock up and the car slows and cuts off. I have had several near miss accidents with other cars and am literally afraid to drive the car anymore. I have taken the car to several other dealers and they claim they are unable to determine what is wrong or how to fix it. It is only a mater of time before I have an accident and injure myself or others.

- Bennettsville, SC, USA

problem #57

Nov 122008

Impala

  • 1,070,000 miles
My Impala will completely shut down and lock up everytime it rains. I can be driving 5 mph through a parking lot and water film on the pavement and my Impala will shake, lock up and shut down. I was leaving my church parking lot to turn right onto road, my Impala shut down and drifted straight across the street almost landing in the ditch. Thank god there was no oncoming traffic. It has happen while driving 35 and car shut down. It is very terrifying to drive a car that shuts down and have no control over. I have small children and am fearful my and their safety. Updated 2/16/16

- Spring , TX, USA

problem #56

Nov 172014

Impala

  • 165,000 miles
After going through a small puddle, serp belt slips, lose power steering, cant hardly control car. If it happened with my wife driving in traffic could be very bad. Went to beard Chevrolet a month ago (this has been happening several mos) and was told it's normal, and in new cars they went to electric ps because of it. That doesn't console me with an otherwise perfectly running car. I had replaced the tensioner and serp belt already before going to the dealer.

- Brewster, , MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?