Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,487 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Impala suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Nov 012009


  • 42,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that both rear tires had to be replaced every three to four months due to the inside of the tread wearing down. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was diagnosed that the rear axle spindle failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #34

Nov 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer states rear wheel bearings/ spindles failed prematurely the consumer stated he had to replace the tires on his vehicle in November 2011, due to the premature failure.

- Aplington, IA, USA

problem #33

Oct 012011

Impala 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to rear suspension the consumer stated when traveling on mountain roads that twist and turned, the rear end felt very loose. The tires had to be replaced twice. The consumer was informed the tires were worn out and could not be rotated. Updated 10/14/11.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 242011


  • 71,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was parked the contact inspected the rear tires and noticed the tread was excessively worn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact stated the failure was caused by the rear suspension and stated the manufacturer voluntarily recalled police vehicles only for the same failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000.

- Pawnee, OK, USA

problem #31

Jul 152011


  • 15,000 miles
Purchased 2008 Impala ss factory demo car with 3000 miles and at 15000 miles a rear tire blew out at 65 miles an hour and almost wrecked us. Rear tires were wore out on inside. Down to the cord which at 15000 miles seemed impossible. Replaced tires and dealer said alignment was not the problem but was normal for the model car and now at 23000 miles rear tires are wore out again on inside and front tires are the original and still look new. Why can't the dealer repair the problem instead of selling tires every 10000 miles? I think they just want the extra cash flow during this time the economy is slow.

- Chandler , AZ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Sep 032009


  • miles
I own a 2008 Chevy Impala and have had extensive work done on the car to repair the alignment of my rear tires. I first noticed the issue when after roughly 7000 miles I took my car in to have the tires rotated and I was informed that my rear tires had the steel belts showing. This was a shock because I had purchased 80000 mile tires. I then took my car to my local mechanic who fixed the problem to the best of his ability and this plus the cost of the tire ran me roughly 1000 dollars. Prior to me getting the car in to the shop I had noticed extremely poor handling in the snow, basically it felt as if the rear of the car was constantly sliding out.

- South Lyon , MI, USA

problem #29

May 102011


  • 16,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle began to shake violently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis, where they stated that the rear spindle rods were faulty and caused the tires to prematurely wear. The faulty rear spindle rods also contributed to the misalignment of the vehicle. A set of four tires were previously replaced on two separate occasions due to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact planned to have the vehicle repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 242011


  • 63,000 miles
My family was traveling to a funeral driving a 2008 Impala at 75mph. Tires were properly inflated and visually checked for wear by general appeared to have plenty of tread and no cupping. Left rear tire detonated sending tire tread/belts/debris into wheel well area. This ripped fuel filler assembly loose and sent it below car where it trailed with no remaining fuel cap and frayed sensor wires exposed. Car was brought to a safe stop beside interstate. When trying to make temporary repairs it was noticed that opposite rear tire had wear down to steel belts on inside two inches. The remaining tire appeared almost new from exterior view. It was replaced along with blown tire as this tire was just as deadly. Repair by insurance exceeded $4,000. Contacted Chevrolet dealer where vehicle was purchased and have not received a response. I believe this is a potentially deadly service issue that needs to be addressed so that repairs to rear suspension can be made. Most people are driving around totally unaware that their tires only appear safe. Unless the car is put on a lift rack the wear issue is not obvious to the average automobile owner.

- Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

problem #27

Jul 202008


  • 7,000 miles
Previously filed complaint in 10/2009 GM offered $1000 voucher for the problem. Turned vehicle into dealer in Sept 2009. Told GM that I would make payments until Jan 2010 and to provide a solution to making our 2008 Impala safe to Transport my family. They refused to address the problem and the car sat at dealers until May 2010 when a collection company called my home and I told them the story. They asked where the car was and I told them. They put me on hold and called the dealer to confirm. That day they went and picked up the vehicle and started sending collection notices. I told them car was unsafe to drive. They sold at auction and sent me to a collection Agency for the balance of $9700. The car resold to an unsuspecting customer in nh. GM is still trying to collect the balance and has offered a compromise $4800. These vehicles have killed unsuspecting consumers but documentation does not exist?? I am sure if a study was done on all highway /accidents/deaths connected to 2007 & 2008 Impala, rear tire wear would be well represented. GM should smell the coffee and recall these dangerous vehicles. It appears to be a specific frame run and not every Chevy and Buick frame manufacturers in those years. All police vehicles have been recalled and retrofitted to correct the rear alignment issue please help protect american consumers and force GM to make this problem right!

- Hurley, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 282011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
We own a 2008 Chevy Impala ltz and have had to replace the back tires due to excessive wear. We purchased the vehicle used with 18000 miles on it and the tread was completely wore to the steel belts on the inside 3 treads at 24000 miles on it. We took the car in for its scheduled 6000 rotation only to discover the tires were shot. The dealer would not honor replacing the tire and mentioned no reasonable solution. I have researched the car thoroughly and have discovered disturbing facts about the Impala spindle rods. There have been many documented cases across the country with very similar problems with the 2007 and 2008 Impala. Upon further investigation, I find a class action suit has been filed and GM has been dragging their feet. They recalled police cars, but not cars belonging to citizens. Any Impala that is showing common wear should be recalled. I can deal with a defect, but my family was at risk as we traveled in the car together 1200 miles cross country and had no idea about the defect. Tires should not be worn to the steel after less than 6000 miles. GM is putting people at risk. When are they going to solve this problem and make things right with their patrons.

- Good Thunder, MN, USA

problem #25

Mar 172008


  • 7,000 miles


I bought a 2008 Chevy Impala, and had to buy new tires 3 times I constantly complain to my Chevy dealer they told me their was no problem with these cars. I finally had no choice but to trade my car only after it was three years old because I would have to buy my forth set of tires. I still have my receipts from all the tires I bought I am furios I want to be part of the class action suit against GM.

- Sloan, NY, USA

problem #24

Jun 102011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
2008 Chevy Impala has premature loss of tread on both rear tires front tires do not show any noticeable tread wear but rear tires have lost all of inboard tread. This is a defect in either the wheel mounting or suspension system causing unsafe operation of this vehicle.

- Frewsburg, NY, USA

problem #23

Jul 182011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
I have a 2008 Chevy Impala, at 23,000 miles the tires are bald. I rotated them every 5000 miles. I bought this car brand new in late 2007. From reading the other forums on line, it's not the tires. It's the rear end alignment from the factory. This tires are going to cost $1,400 to replace and I'm being told the new one's will wear out just as fast as the old one's. I see there's a class action suit against GM for 2007 & 2008 Impala's. they fixed all the Impala cop cars but not the general public!

- Dover, OH, USA

problem #22

Apr 132011


  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that both rear tires were wearing excessively. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the tires were rotated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 23,000 and the current mileage was 26,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #21

Jun 112011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I have experience rapid tread wear on the inside of my rear tires. Last set of rear tires were worn down to the steel after approx. 18.000 miles. Current set of rear tires have approx. 12,000 miles on them and are showing significant wear on the inside. A day ago I was driving on a rain covered interstate early in the morning. The rear end of the car swung out to the left and I lost control and spun around 2 times ending up in the grassy median. Luckily, no one else was near me when this happened and no damage was done to the vehicle. Currently, I am trying to get GM to repair the problem which I believe is the same problem that the 2007-2008 police vehicles were recalled for.

- Reedsville, WI, USA

problem #20

Sep 172010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
We have a 2008 Impala, we had to have new rear tires at 24,000 miles and realigned. My tires were so bad it almost did not pass inspection. That is how I found out about the tires being bad. And now I hear that others are having the same problem. I have the before and after measurements.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 012009

Impala 8-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
I own a 2008 Chevy Impala ss, I bought the car in October 2008. Since buying the car, I have had to buy 3 sets of back tires due to excessive wearing on the tires. I have had my tires re-aligned everytime I have had to put new tires on the back, yet they continue to wear out extremely fast. The first set of tires I had to put on the car was in March 2009, then again in May 2010 (of which I needed new back tires prior to then but could not afford to buy them until that time), then I had to replace them again December 2010. I am now on my 3rd set of back tires, and am needing to replace them yet again. I have just recently learned that there is a law suit currently filed against GM, stating that there is a defect in the rear alignment spendle causing excessive wearing on the rear tires. Per the news reporst on the law suit, it is requested to become a class action law suit as GM issued a letter for the police Impala's to be repaired and for the owners to be reimbursed for any tires bought, however they neglected to inform the public who own 2007 & 2008 Impala's with the same problems.

- Wagoner, OK, USA

problem #18

May 152011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Purchased vehicle used June 2010, noted after buying rear tires were 2 different tires, & different from front tires. Purchased 2 matching tires to present front tires, Goodyear Eagle P225/55 R17. Put front tires on rear, new on front. Noted significant inside wear both rear tires, May 2011. Have put on approximately 15,000 miles in this time. I drive approximately 53 miles every workday. Read article in paper, July 6th 2011 by dee-ann durbin associated press, describing lawsuit over this issue, defective spindle rods, replaced on 23,800 police vehicles by GM, not on rest of 2007-2008 Impala's. believe recall should be enforced for all citizen's fairly, by GM, obviously their is a problem, or GM would not have replaced part for police cruiser's.

- Hastings, NE, USA

problem #17

Jun 082011

Impala 8-cyl

  • miles
Rear tire tread on 2008 Impala ss have worn & been replaced twice, only 33400 miles on car. Spindle rods are defective and its unsafe to drive because tires could blow out and people could be injured badly. Manufacturer did a recall for all police Impala but did nothing for the consumer.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #16

May 152010

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2008 Impala, with 38,000 miles. I have had to replace my rear tires last year due to excessive inside wear. I just noticed few days ago that this same excessive wear has happened again and it looks worse than the first time. This issue is forcing me to spend another $200 on tires and worry about my safety. I read an article that the 2008 Impala have defective spindle rods, which connect the suspension to the rear wheels. The defect causes the wheels to misalign, which makes the tires wear out faster. The tires could also wear out unevenly, increasing the risk of a blowout. GM has corrected this issue on the Impala driven by the police dept but has not done anything to the consumer. This issue needs to be addressed and a recall issued by GM asap, for the safety of all involved.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?