Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,280 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Impala wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Sep 172015

Impala

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala equipped with Goodyear gps2 tires, size: P225/75R15. While driving 55 mph, there was a loud noise coming from the vehicle. The contact noticed that the front driver and passenger side tires were separated from the inside and outside wall of the tire. In addition, there was tread separation and the tires exhibited bubbles. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that new tires were needed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The dot number was unknown. The approximate tire and vehicle failure mileage was 35,000.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #28

Apr 072015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Subject: 2008 Chevrolet Impala rear tire wear. Case # [xxx]VIN # is [xxx] we are having a problem with our 2008 Chevrolet Impala. Our rear tires are wearing out twice as fast as the front tires. I went to costco yesterday to have my tires rotated, after looking at the rear tires we had to buy new ones because the back tires were worn down to the metal backing, the front tires were still good. Only one half of the warranty had been used. The tires were Michelin X-radial dt mich passenger S/T P225/60R16 bw mspn 17457 tires with an 80,000 mile warranty. We ended up buying four new Michelin tires for around $600. The costco guy thought that something must be wrong with the car. After I got home I checked on the internet as to what could cause this problem and found out that there was a problem with the 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. there had been a service bulletin #08032A sent out in 2011 to replace the spindle rods on all the 2007 and 2008 Impala's that were sold as police cars to fix this problem that they were having with rear tire wear. I would like to see that service bulletin extended all the other 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. the part number for the spindle rod is the same on all 2008 Impala, police or non police. This is a major safety problem and people are going to be killed if this problem is not fixed, you just don't expect the tires to wear out so fast. We had just finished a trip were we drove freeway speeds up to 75 miles an hour. After seeing our tires I don't know how we keep from having a blow out on the back tires. I think that lots of accidents have happened with these 2007 and 2008 Chevy Impala with tires blowing out because rear tire wear because the spindle bolts are engineered wrong and every one thinks its the tires fault.. GM needs to fix this problem and replace the four spindle bolts. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Tapps, WA, USA

problem #27

Jan 012014

Impala

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The vehicle is equipped with Michelin tires, size P225/60R/16 (na). The contact stated that the tires were wearing prematurely. The tires were replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The tire failure mileage and dot number were unknown. The vehicle failure mileage was 70,000.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #26

Sep 162014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Premature wear on rear tires, less then a year old and ruined.

- Kewadin, MI, USA

problem #25

Feb 282014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
This car is so dangerous due to incredible wear on the tread on nearly new tires. All 4 tires are very worn when the tires have only 10,0000 miles on them. We are slipping and sliding on wet roads. Even though we have had the car aligned -- there is something wrong with this car!!!!

- Lyme, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Aug 012014

Impala

  • 62,000 miles
While driving at highway speed, noticed some vibration from rear tires. Checked tires when I got home. Rear tires have extreme tread wear on the inside edge. This wear is hidden because it is on the very inside edges of the tires, and you don't notice when looking at the tires from the side of the car. Most of the tire you can see looks normal. The wear is on the inner most 5% of the tread. And it is extreme wear, all the way through the steel belts. I researched and found a GM service bulletin for 2007-8 Impala tire wear and suspension problems like this. But that bulletin only called for service on models with police suspension in the rear. The solution required replacement spindle arms to be installed. Called GM and they will not replace my consumer spindles. But I have the same problem. This tire wear has caused bow outs and crashes if you look at reports that a google search can find. Search for Impala spindle and tire wear. You will be amazed at how obvious this deadly defect is.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #23

Apr 302013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I stop at a light or just come to a complete stop my car doesnt seem to want to go when I step on the gas. All of a sudden it shudders and jerks forward. Very dangerous when the roads are slippery! this happened just after the warranty expired, but I am guessing that it only had about 46,000 miles on the car. My dealer said I would have to pay for them to look at the car, could run into alot of money, or wait for the check engine light to come on. I have seen alot of complaints about this problem online in different Impala forums. GM said its out of warranty and basically not our problem. Also, all 4 of my tires were worn out on the inside after only 20,000 miles.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #22

Feb 212014

Impala

  • 49,000 miles
Just bought the car 3 weeks ago with brand new tires on them, and now the rear tires are going bald on the inside of the vehicle. Going to dealership on Saturday to get new tires that they are paying for on the back, but I don't know why this is happening. Very unsatisfied with GM product, I want in on that lawsuit that is going against GM for this faulty year.

- New Brighton, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Inside tread of each back tire wears out prematurely because of an adjustment that cant be made to the rear wheels, all police vehicles have been repaired for this defect as a spindle rod with an adjuster was put in to correct it, I own a 2007 and 2008 and both cars R doing this why should the consumer be stuck for a part that should be put in at manufacture time. How can U expect GM loyalty when U treat us that way.

- Browns Valley, MN, USA

problem #20

Jul 102012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 29,201 miles
The original equipment tires on my father's car, Goodyear Eagle, wore so badly on the inside that the tread split near the sidewalls & was coming off. I, a 69 year old woman, was about to leave on a trip during a downpour. Fortunately, the national tire store that I use discovered the problem when doing a free pressure check or I could have had a serious problem while on the road. I know that the store didn't take advantage of me because I actually looked at the tires myself. The last tire rotation was performed by the dealer at 26,593 miles & I was not advised of uneven wear at that time.

- Bryan, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 192010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In less than 30,000 miles, I've had to have wheel alignments each time I was force to replace 2 sets of rears tires on my 2008 Impala due to excessive wear. Before having to replace the first set of tire, I had the car into the dealership twice for car vibration at speeds of 50 to 65 mph. I was told the first time that all the wheels had to be re-balanced which did not make since to me. The second time I was told that nothing was found. Then the first tire failure and fortunately only at 35 mph. This first failure was at approx. 15,000 miles. One tire, but both were worn enongh that the dealer should have forewarn me before I left the dealership. The second set of the original tires moved to the rear, wore-out at approx. 28,000 miles. I have never in my 47 years of driving had tires and mulitple alignments as I've had on this car.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #18

Nov 272011

Impala

  • miles
I own the Impala ltz...rear inner tire threads are worn. I purchased the care approx. 3 mos ago. Now I am having to replace the tires. I do have warranty on the vehicle so I am going to take it back to the dealer in hopes that it will be repaired. Reading the issues on here... I am having the same problem.

- Elgin, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 172008

Impala 6-cyl

  • 21,381 miles
I have had numerous issues with unusual wear and/or blowouts on the tires of my 2008 Chevy Impala. I first started having issue with tires in Dec 2008 and still continue til this day. When I questioned if there was a possibility it was the vehicle and not the tires, I was told by the dealership in 2010, it was faulty 'factory installed' tires. I have replaced more than once all the tires on my vehicle. Now I find out that GM has recalled police issue 2008 Impala but not those for the everyday consumer.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #16

Jul 252011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 8,962 miles
I have a 2008 Chevrolet Impala and I am having a wheel alignment problem my tires are wearing uneven. The car only has 9830 miles on it.I have had a wheel alignment done on the car and a tire rotation done at 8961 miles. But that did not help my tires are still wearing uneven.advantage Chevrolet checked the cars alignment on 7/25/2011 they said that they can not find a problem with the car.my tires are wearing out in 9000 miles.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #15

Mar 172008

Impala

  • 7,000 miles
I bought a 2008 Chevy Impala, and had to buy new tires 3 times I constantly complain to my Chevy dealer they told me their was no problem with these cars. I finally had no choice but to trade my car only after it was three years old because I would have to buy my forth set of tires. I still have my receipts from all the tires I bought I am furios I want to be part of the class action suit against GM.

- Sloan, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 012009

Impala 8-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
I own a 2008 Chevy Impala ss, I bought the car in October 2008. Since buying the car, I have had to buy 3 sets of back tires due to excessive wearing on the tires. I have had my tires re-aligned everytime I have had to put new tires on the back, yet they continue to wear out extremely fast. The first set of tires I had to put on the car was in March 2009, then again in May 2010 (of which I needed new back tires prior to then but could not afford to buy them until that time), then I had to replace them again December 2010. I am now on my 3rd set of back tires, and am needing to replace them yet again. I have just recently learned that there is a law suit currently filed against GM, stating that there is a defect in the rear alignment spendle causing excessive wearing on the rear tires. Per the news reporst on the law suit, it is requested to become a class action law suit as GM issued a letter for the police Impala's to be repaired and for the owners to be reimbursed for any tires bought, however they neglected to inform the public who own 2007 & 2008 Impala's with the same problems.

- Wagoner, OK, USA

problem #13

Mar 072011

Impala

  • 45,000 miles
Vehicle won't hold alignment and when it does it's still wearing out the rear tires at a rate 1/32 per 1,000 miles, it wore out the rear tires in 6,000 miles just lucky that I looked at them when I did. The vehicle has 45,000 miles on it and this is the second set of tires in 6,000 miles.

- Logan, OH, USA

problem #12

Oct 152010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
Severe tire wear. 2008 Chevy Impala with Goodyear integrity tires. Had to have all four tires replaced at 33,000 miles, mind you these are 50,000 miles tires that have been rotated and kept at the recommended psi. They are severely worn on the inner and outer edges and can see the wear bars. Was told by the dealership that the tires to begin with are junk! I had no choice but to replace them being that this car is a lease and only have 4 months left with it till the turn in date. The unnamed tire store told me that I need an alignment but the dealership that my car goes to never said anything about needing the alignment.

- Williamston, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 282010

Impala

  • 29,631 miles
I purchased a used 2008 Chevrolet on 10/15/2010 and the dealership put a current inspection certificate on the vehicle. During an unrelated visit to my auto mechanic he noticed the tires ( front only ) and stated they were not good and if he would have inspected the vehicle, he would have placed a "rejection sticker" on the M/V. I took the vehicle to the dealership who stated they were ok. Went back to auto mechanic who advised me to file complaint.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #10

Oct 232008

Impala

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the tires were wearing prematurely. The front tires were replaced by an authorized dealer at 5,000 miles and again at 18,000 miles. The recommended tire pressure was 30 but the dealer recommended 35, which the contact believed was a safety hazard because it was outside of the original manufacturer's recommendations. The manufacturer offered no assistance when contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000 and the current mileage was approximately 19,000.

- Glassport, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?