Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,416 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Impala seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #87

Jul 282014

Impala

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The "service air bag" light comes on and turns off occasionally. There does not seem to be something in particular that happens for the "service air bag" to either come on or shut off, but from what I have heard this is not an issue with the air bag. It has been to the Chevy dealer more than once (not for that light) and they haven't even mentioned it. Very nervous that if something were to be wrong with the air bag, how would I possibly know when the light was actually stating a real problem??

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #86

Aug 052015

Impala

  • 101,000 miles
The "service air bag" light will come on while driving. It will then go out after a few minutes. It has done this repeatedly.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #85

Jul 282015

Impala

  • miles
When turning the car on the "service air bag" light stayed illuminated then it would randomly turn off while driving then turn back on. The following day the "service air bag" light just stays on at all times now. I feel that this is a huge safety issue and upon searching online and some online forums this seems to be a common issue with Chevy Impala from 2006-2013. Updated 9/15/15

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #84

Jul 172013

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service airbag light comes on intermittently, but goes out in cold weather

- Pedro, OH, USA

problem #83

Jun 182015

Impala

  • 96,000 miles
Service air bag light came on periodically, then stayed on. Went to jeff wyler dealership(shelbyville, ky). Was told there was corrosion in cable. Repaired a $98 diagnostic fee plus parts. Was first given option of not repairing, as they forgot to tell me about the diagnostic fee, or repair at cost of fee. Was repaired on June 18, 2015. On 7/12/15, light came back on. Is not staying on long enough for me to take to the nearest dealership in eminence, ky. Jeff wyler closed its local dealership. Called GM yesterday. No recalls for my VIN #. I am concerned.

- Shelbyville, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #82

Jun 012015

Impala

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 121,000.

- Alma, MI, USA

problem #81

Jun 272015

Impala

  • 127,865 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At start up, the service air bag came on dash and the air bag seat belt light came on. And now it stays on. I see this seems to be a regular problem with the Impala.. if that many people are having that problem it seems to me to be a faulty something and a safety issue.

- Licking, MO, USA

problem #80

Jun 012015

Impala

  • 84,000 miles
When adjusting the steering wheel the service airbag light would come on. Now it comes on quite often while driving.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #79

May 142014

Impala

  • 89,231 miles
Service air bag light came on. Had the car scanned to find out it was a passenger side air bag. Now on 6/2/15 I am getting another service air bag light, but after I shut the car off, and turn it back on, the light does not come back on. The dealer tells me that until it stays on, they can not scan it. I am not very confident in the airbag system. I have been told by a technician that if one airbag is not functioning right the whole air bag system shuts down. Scary!

- Northfield, MN, USA

problem #78

Feb 142015

Impala

  • 30,000 miles
I bought the car a few weeks later the air bag light comes on. It comes on and turns off at random times. I have called the dealer and they said there is no recalls for it. I also looked online and there is many more people having the same problem with there air bag system.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #77

May 182015

Impala

  • 72,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. Upon starting the vehicle, the service air bags warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 72,500.

- Glenwood, IL, USA

problem #76

Feb 022015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
The service engine light goes on intermittently. Sometimes stays off for up to a week and then comes back on. Took it to Chevy dealership and was told the module for the driver's side air bag needs to be replaced at a cost to me of $730- how can something like this happen when there has been no accident, low mileage or any type of "bumping" to the vehicle. I feel this is a safety issue that GM should resolve. Upon looking into this complaint on the internet, I see there are quite a few that have this same problem. This is something that would effect any driver with this problem if there is a serious accident and the air bags do not go off as intended...updated 10/20/15 updated 11/09/15.....updated 08/11/16 updated 1/20/2016...

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #75

Mar 172015

Impala

  • 53,977 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. Under the front passenger side seat, the wiring harness for the air bag fractured and the air bag warning lamp did not illuminate to indicate a failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the air bag wiring connector. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V517000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,977. MA 08/05/15 updated 9/24/15

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #74

Mar 172015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 53,977 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While at an independent mechanic for repair, the mechanic diagnosed that the wiring harness for the passenger side air bag fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,977. MA 08/05/2015 updated 9/29/2015

- Troy , MI, USA

problem #73

Jan 052015

Impala

  • 73,000 miles
When trying to start this vehicle it will not crank over. The lights on the dash light up and the proper noises as if your starting your car come on; however the service airbag sign comes across my dash and the car will not crank over. I tried to use the keyless entry and this does not work either. I have placed a passenger in the front passenger side of vehicle and after leaving the ignition switch to on for a few minutes the car will then crank over. It will either start or just crank over and act as though it will start. If it does not start the first attempt I wait several more minutes and mess around getting in and out of the passenger seat. It will crank over and start. After reading several complaints on... www.impalaforums.com/Chevy-Impala-8th-gen-discussion/328381-service-air-bag.html#/forumsite/20859/topics/328381 I wonder why there cannot be a recall issued on this" it appears to be an ongoing safety issue. I have had this at the dealership without successfully being repaired. Is there anything you can do about this" I do not feel safe in my own vehicle.

- Cranberry Township, PA, USA

problem #72

Dec 012014

Impala

  • 66,000 miles
Service air bag light randomly comes on. Warring can be erased by pushing the reset button so you continue to view information window. Moving driver seat back or forward can something erase the warring. Dealer could not tell if driver side air bag is working when the warring light is on, go figure! repair could be thousands of dollars. Why are air bags not covered for a 100,000 miles or 10 years like emission components? after all air bag systems are safety issues and emissions are not! I will just drive the vehicle as is.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #71

Jun 152010

Impala

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and the lower engine power warning light illuminated. The vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that an unknown part related to the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician stated that an unknown part needed to be tightened. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Daleville, VA, USA

problem #70

Sep 052014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact started the vehicle and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000. Updated 6/30/15 updated 07/02/15

- Crespon, IA, USA

problem #69

Apr 242015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 10,246 miles
This was the first time the service air bag came across center info on dash info system. The light also showing that the SRS was on indicating a problem. My husband came took the car for a test and no lights or warnings. Took it to the dealership and serviceman stated if the errors are not showing it could be a problem trying to find the issue of the light and warning. With just over 10,000 miles on this vehicle 2009 Impala because being over 5 years old I would have to pay for all checks which may or may not correct anything. My husband has checked it several times in the last few days and he didn't get any errors. I drove it to church today and sure enough it said service air bag and the icon light was on for driver's air bag. Then no lights or warnings coming home. Will the air bags deploy when this warning is showing? why can't the dealer inform owners of this vehicle that a problem exists. I found several places on line about the same problem. Apparently one person paid over 900 dollars for a repair others said that dealers were of no help. I just want to go on record that this may be a safety issue and all owners with this problem should report it to GM and also to the NHTSA.

- Farmington , NM, USA

problem #68

Mar 102015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I began making a left turn, when the vehicle lost control. The acceleration picked up and I lost control of the ability to steer. The brake would not press down and the vehicle picked up speed faster before hitting a tree.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?