Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,416 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Impala seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Mar 012015

Impala

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I contacted Chevy service to inquire why my "service air bag" light came on when my vehicle had not been in an accident. They stated that no recalls were currently in place for air bags and they would cover the diagnosis cost to find out what the issue was. The service department called and said the "seat belt tensioner bracket was defective and needed replace" they also stated they had no of knowing if the air bags or seat belts would deploy in the event of an accident without replacing the defective seat belt tensioner bracket. It would seem to me that if this situation is true (safety restraint system can be rendered ineffective without notice) that possibly the situation should be looked into. The "service air bag" indicator was coming on and off by itself so I originally did not worry too much about it until it came on and stayed on. Imagine my surprise when the GM service department stated that I could have driving around with no safety restraint system. Imagine also my surprise when Chevrolet customer service did not seem to see the urgency of who knows how many vehicles are out there with a potentially useless safety restraint system. Please use your position or respect to pursue this issue and find out if there is a safety concern. Thank you. I have case file numbers and more information if you require.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #66

Jan 112015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, another vehicle crashed into the front of the contact's vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact was unsure about what warning light illuminated. The contact sustained head, back, neck, left arm and shoulder injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was repaired but the contact was unsure what repairs were performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was unknown.

- West Land, MI, USA

problem #65

Feb 022015

Impala

  • 85,829 miles
On 2-2-2015 vehicle was involved in a two vehicle, personal injury auto accident. Damage was incurred to the left and right front 1/4 (fender) panels, engine compartment, interior dashboard and steering wheel area along with the passenger side front door of the aforementioned vehicle and respective VIN. At the time of the accident, none of the air bags deloyed and the vehicle is equipped with driver side, passenger side, front side impact and head/curtain air bags. The vehicle has subsequnetly been totaled by the insurance company and awaits disposition at their salvage impound facility. A "hold" has been placed on the dispostion of the vehicle by the insurance company pending an investigation by General Motors corporation, Chevrolet division product safety personnel. The GM assigned incident # is 805801 and was assigned on approximately 02-19 or 02-20-2015. To date, aside from the intial notifiction by GM of receipt of the incident/complaint, the person assigned to the incident has failed to return telephone inquiries for general infortmation, status of the review and /or investigation.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #64

Feb 282015

Impala

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 25 mph, the service air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Niskayuna, NY, USA

problem #63

Mar 162012

Impala 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I woke up in the hospital with a brain injury, tongue nearly cut in half, thoratic sprain, neck sprain, etc. From what I have been told, I was going at least 60-65 mph when I had my front end crash and my head went through the windshield. I had numerous issues already submitted to Chevy, such as the steering issues I had. The air bags did not deploy. I later was driving down the road and when I was turning my vehicle shut off.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #62

Nov 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated. The contact also stated that the service airbag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V517000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000. Updated 4/7/15 updated 11/3/2015

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #61

May 302014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a guard rail and rolled over. The air bags did not deploy and the vehicle failed to restart. The contact did not disclose if a police report was filed or not. The contact sustained whiplash all over the body that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 4/27/15

- Mountain Green, UT, USA

problem #60

Jun 262014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 71,407 miles
I was involved in a violent, jarring collision on June 26, 2014 with an SUV in las vegas, nv. I was rear-ended by a Toyota rav 4. I sustained significant injuries, & my car suffered substantial damage, which resulted in my vehicle being deemed a total loss. The engine automatically shut off & the vehicle airbags did not deploy because the ignition switch moved out of the run position, turning off the engine. The GM provided remedy was not made available until September 2014.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #59

Nov 012013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Check airbag indicator light appears and "check air bag" appears in driver info center soon after starting driving the vehicle. This occurs every time the vehicle is used, not intermittently.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #58

Jun 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Dashboard knocks.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #57

May 122014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, the steering seized and the vehicle exhibited a loss of engine power. The contact crashed into the guard rail and the front driver's air bag failed to deploy. The contact suffered unknown injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not destroyed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) and believed that it's directly related to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Mountain Green , UT, USA

problem #56

Oct 032011

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.ne

- Palmer, TN, USA

problem #55

Dec 012011

Impala

  • 42,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to respond and the steering wheel became seized causing the vehicle to crash into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The police report was filed and no injuries sustained. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Sycrause, NY, USA

problem #54

Sep 152014

Impala

  • miles
2009 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to recall repair. The consumer stated the recall was performed on September 15, 2014. However, the repair only last for about 10 miles. The dealer stated there was probably something else wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle would not stay in the run position which resulted in loss of engine power.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #53

Oct 062014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Passenger side impact accident. Air bags failed to deploy.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #52

Apr 172014

Impala

  • 85,056 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. While traveling approximately 70 mph, the vehicle drastically decelerated without warning. The contact had to merge to the shoulder as the vehicle continued to slow down. The air bag sensor illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician reset the sensors, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the acc sensor, pedal assembly, air bag impact module, and the wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 85,056.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #51

Sep 302013

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala lt. The contact stated the driver side air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The problem recurred numerous time. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #50

Feb 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
We purchased a used 2009 Chevy Impala around February 2014. Within a week of driving it we started hearing a loud clicking noise anytime we unlocked the doors or cut on the heat but everything seemed to be working fine so we just dealt with noise. I did look online only to find tons of people with the same problem and I also had multiple friends who said nearly every Impala like mine they had been in made that same noise, wow! seriously? but me being the Chevy lover, I just saw it as a minor issue maybe missed in production but not really a safety hazard. Then a couple of months later that seems to have went away but now it takes about 2 minutes to get the ac to switch from defrost to blowing out of the dash vents. You can still hear it on, but it doesn't actually start blowing for about 2 minutes. Still, not a big deal. Then I was driving about 15mph(near a school) when a low oil pressure power off engine light came on and went off quickly, I pulled over and cut the car off and back on, no more issues. A few days later my service air bag light started coming on randomly, hmm, so if that light is on will my air bags deploy if needed? not sure... then I get alarms that someone in the passenger seat was not buckled in, but there was no one in the passenger seat. Then my car starts cutting off randomly while I'm driving. This morning I backed out of my driveway and it just cut off leaving me in the middle of the street for a few minutes with no way for other cars to get around me.... it would have been terrible if I was pulling out and another car sped around the corner. Then there is a recall notice sent to me stating I should remove everything from my key due to ignition failure recall. I saw on cbs you could request a free loaner vehicle until parts came in but the dealer only offered me a rental at 300/wk.wow, thanks GM for caring about our safety.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #49

Sep 262014

Impala

  • 71,000 miles
Service airbag warning light is on for no reason. I see today that there is an electrical short in the 2014 air bag warning system. I think the problem is bigger.

- Postville, IA, USA

problem #48

Sep 012013

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the engine failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. In addition, the contact stated that although the vehicle has never been involved in a crash the air bags had to be replaced a total of eleven times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Aurora , CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?