Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Jun 202016

Impala

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall this issue is this: I bought the car in December 2015 first my engen light comes on, than my traction controle light, than my car tells me to service traction controle, engen power is reduced, service stabil track, the engen cuts I loose power steering, and I have to pull over for 15 min waiting for the car to reboot. I have had the car to the GM shop every 2500-3000 miles. The shop replaced all the factory covered parts and now will start guessing. The first fix is replacing some wires that another shop replaced in an attempt to fix this same problem. No one will fix this death trap. I will not drive it.

- Somerset, WI, USA

problem #45

May 262016

Impala

  • 68,800 miles
Driving down the highway the car shook and jerked then the engine power reduced, service stabilitrack, and service traction control showed up on my dashboard. The check engine light came on and so did the traction light and they stayed on. The RPM meter is averaging between 3 and 4 when it usually averages between 1 and 2. also, the speed has been reduced.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #44

Apr 292016

Impala

  • 83,000 miles
Vehicle slowed on highway, reduced engine power warning message and stabilitrak meassage displayed also engine indicator light is on.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #43

Mar 022016

Impala

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started seeing error message this morning on start up of the car: Engine power reduced service traction control service stabiltrak experienced reduced engine power, traction light on, engine light

- Maplewood, MN, USA

problem #42

Jan 082016

Impala

  • 110,000 miles
I have problem with the stabilitrak/traction control on a 2011 Impala with 120,000 miles. I have found other people from all over the country with the same problem. I have taken it to 3 different mechanics and they are all unsure as to what it is. I have put a new throttle body in, new spark plugs, change my oil faithfully every 3,000 miles. It continues to flash the message to me, does not have the same acceleration, is very unpredictable as far as reducing my engine power at any given time. This happens when I'm driving down the road and even when I just start my car. I have to turn car off, let it sit for a few minutes and then it seems to reset but the engine light stays on for a few days. This needs to be addressed with as many complaints I am reading about!

- Marseilles, IL, USA

problem #41

Oct 112012

Impala

  • 44,815 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 65 mph, the engine stalled and the engine stability power reduction warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the accelerator pedal and re-learned idle failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Also, while driving at various speeds, the gear shift became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission was failing and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 44,815. Updated 01/12/16

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #40

Nov 152014

Impala

  • 76,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the traction control system activated the engine idle decreased and the system could not locate the new throttle position. This caused the eng power reduction and fault warnings on eng tcs and scs to light in order to drive I had faults cleared and turned off systems. GM says the codes have to be read to fix.unsafe.

- Lots Lunas, NM, USA

problem #39

Jun 012015

Impala

  • 130,000 miles
While at a complete stop, when the vehicle is in drive, as I attempt to push the accelerator to drive through an intersection, the car will stall for a second, make noise that sounds like a whine, and then jump forward like it's having a difficult time finding first gear. The vehicle does this every so often, but not all the time. I've taken it into car X, my local Chevrolet dealership, and another local Goodyear tires dealer, but nobody has any idea what I'm talking about. The vehicle has been hooked up to a computer and technicians have looked at it, but just scratch their heads. There is even a forum online regarding this happening with other Chevy Impala owners (www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/chevy_impala.html) and owners seem to put lots of money into the issue but with no resolve. ** the issue seems to remedy itself when I turn off the traction control. ** there have been a couple of close calls where I'll be pulling through a busy intersection and the car will stall and I'll feel like I'm about to be hit because the car "dies" for a second. I feel this is a real safety concern that needs to be addressed.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #38

Feb 092015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving on a highway going approximately 55 mph, the engine light, stability control light, and reduced engine power light came on at the same time. Within two (2) minutes of the dash warning lights coming on, the car completely shut it self off while I was driving in the left lane going 55 mph. I lost steering, had no power, or braking. I threw the car in neutral, in an attempt to get it started it while I was in motion with no power. The Impala didn't even try to turn over. The car wasn't responding because the power steering / braking was not responding. The Impala went into "limp mode" without warning. I let the car cost for a while until I could find a safe spot to apply the emergency brake. I really had to muscle the steering wheel with some significant force to get it to turn. I have never had any problems with this vehicle before this issue. It turns out that the "pedalassembly" gas pedal sensor went bad, causing the 2011 Impala to go into "limp mode" while I was driving.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #37

Feb 182015

Impala

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving to a job interview on a barely moistened road. Service control then proceeded to pop up on my dash board along with the check engine light and reducing engine power. My car then shut off and I wasn't able to crank it for about 5 minutes.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #36

Feb 022015

Impala

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck when depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the accelerator pedal needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000. The VIN was not available.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #35

Feb 182015

Impala

  • 55,575 miles
My wife was driving home from work going 65 down a very busy highway. All of a sudden the reduced engine power light, check engine, stability control off, and traction control lights came on. The car begin to loose speed. Luckily she was able to get over to the right shoulder without anyone hitting her. When she got to the shoulder the car was running really rough. She turned it off waited a few minutes and restarted it. It then ran fine but the check engine light remained on. She made it home and was scared to drive it again. I took it to work last night and made it about halfway to work and it did the exact same thing except I was able to get it to maintain 45mph. When I came to a traffic light though the engine was running so rough the car was very hard to stop. I made it to work. When I came out to go home the first stop light I came to it started acting up again. From the light I was barely able to get it to go 25mph. I pulled over and shut the car off waited a few minutes and restarted. Everything was fine again. I made it about 5 miles and all the lights came on again but I was able to maintain 45mph in the 55mph zone I was in. I took it to my repair shop and they said it needs a throttle body. They also said GM has had allot of issues with these. I called my GM dealer to see if it would be covered under 5 year 100K mile warranty and they said that it isn't. if there hasn't been an accident caused by one of these throttle body issues yet I would be surprised. It's very dangerous in heavy traffic and all of a sudden you can't go.

- Savage, MN, USA

problem #34

Feb 172015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 95,620 miles
2/17/2015 was the second event. I was driving approx- 65 mph up a mountain when my electronic display panel showed stabilitrack/service traction control/vehicle in reduced power. As the power suddenly reduced I lost power steering control and brake function. Since I was traveling at a up hill grade, I was barely able to jerk the steering wheel enough to roll across the lane of traffic beside me to the side of the road. I wasn't able to get out of the road completely and was almost hit by a logging truck. After removing the keys from the ignition for a few minutes, I restarted the car without any hesitation. The engine light still remains on at this time. I did contact onstar and have them run a diagnostic test which revealed a problem with supposed fuel system. I have not taken it to a dealership yet. After so many complaints on various sites that I have reviewed, looks like GM would do a recall and investigate the problem before someone loses their life.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #33

Feb 172015

Impala

  • 95,620 miles
2/17/2015 was the second event. I was driving approx- 65 mph up a mountain when my electronic display panel showed stabilitrack/service traction control/vehicle in reduced power. As the power suddenly reduced I lost power steering control and brake function. Since I was traveling at a up hill grade, I was barely able to jerk the steering wheel enough to roll across the lane of traffic beside me to the side of the road. I wasn't able to get out of the road completely and was almost hit by a logging truck. After removing the keys from the ignition for a few minutes, I restarted the car without any hesitation. The engine light still remains on at this time. I did contact onstar and have them run a diagnostic test which revealed a problem with supposed fuel system. I have not taken it to a dealership yet. After so many complaints on various sites that I have reviewed, looks like GM would do a recall and investigate the problem before someone loses their life.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #32

Feb 162015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Driving at approx 35 mph, my car showed service stabilitrack / service traction control / vehicle in reduced power. I did have reduced power, could not go any faster than 15 or 20 mph. I continued down the road another block and without warning, the car shuts down while going down a slight grade, , which cause steering to become very hard to use along with little to no braking, I ended up going thru a stop sign at the bottom of the grade because of lack of braking power, luckily no vehicles were coming, I got the vehicle stopped, and looked at the display, it said ignition disabled, service throttle. By the vehicle shutting down that is a safety issue, the vehicle should never shut down making steering and braking almost impossible, if it finds an issue with the throttle, it should just disable the throttle so I can steer and brake without problem. After attempting to start the vehicle a few times without success, the 4th time I tried the vehicle did start back up and was able to continue to work, but was did not seem to be running right and check engine light stayed on.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #31

Jan 242015

Impala

  • 103,000 miles
I turned my car on to let it warm up after work, then started driving home. Then some lights popped on. It said service stabilititrak. It said that it was reducing engine power. Service control soon. It was very scary driving home. The car would take off by itself and it felt like it was stalling out. Its a fairly newer car 2011, I shouldn't be having these issues.

- Southbridge, MA, USA

problem #30

Feb 032014

Impala

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the traction control, reduced engine power and the disabling throttle warning lights illuminated as the vehicle suddenly reduced in speed and stalled. The contact had to wait a moment after turning the vehicle off to restart the vehicle several times. The contact stated that the failure progressed intermittently and was becoming worse. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the accelerator pedal assembly throttle position sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Andrew, IA, USA

problem #29

Nov 092014

Impala

  • 77,675 miles
As I was driving the engine light pop on and. Read stabilitytrak reduce. Engine speed service control soon.

- Milwaukee , WI, USA

problem #28

Dec 202013

Impala

  • 42,000 miles
Dec 2013 vehicle hit pot hole while braking at approaching intersection, after that warning lights started flashing ABS brakes/tract control/stab control, I was unable to brake, then shut down. Since then temp gauge went bad N was replaced. The 3 above dash warning lights continued intermittently, worse when it rained. At take offs N turns car would jar N ABS brake system would pulsate(grabs). Hub/speed sensor was replaced, this did not help. Accessory outlets, when contained w a charger, doesn't maintain contact w power source (such as disconnection/loose connection), causing power surge resulting in 2 iphones to have bad aux ports. May 2014 blower motor started intermittently not working for seconds, then minutes until today Sept 6th, 2014 when something under-dash (near blower motor) overheated filling car with smoke, then car shut down while moving once again, car smells awful from the burning! car has been a lemon and not covered under power train! seems like auxiliary elect fuse box(passenger rt foot board), and harness is shot as well as whichever harness is sending power to speed sensor, among many other things I could not mention (problems/defects) due to so many other issues w this 2011 Impala which is now worth 7000 as trade at Chevy, I paid 13500 on oct14, 2014! I've checked several ground connects N they seem okay.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #27

Jun 262014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,800 miles
The service stabilitrak, traction control, and reduced engine power warnings came on and the car started to lose power going around a curve. I temporarily lost the ability to accelerate nearly causing me to get rear ended by a vehicle behind me. Since the incident occurred the car has been very sluggish and unsafe to operate. I am planning to get this serviced asap. After reading many forum posts online regarding this safety issue, I believe a recall should be issued. I was shocked to see how rampant of a problem this and that it is usually caused by a faulty throttle body that isn't covered in the 100K mile powertrain warranty. Myself and many others from what I have read believe this to be a very dangerous malfunction. If this were to happen at high speeds on the highway someone could very easily be killed if their car loses power due to this.

- Holly, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?