Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Mar 102016

Malibu

  • 44,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at any speed, the vehicle accelerated uncontrollably and required the contact to exert extra brake force to stop the vehicle, including the engagement of the ABS. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 04V528000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 44,500.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #47

Jan 122016

Malibu

  • 218,000 miles
So after having the car serviced for the sticking accelerator in September of 2015 the problem seemed to be fixed. 3 weeks ago the problem started happening again. On January 12th 2015 while travelling home the car was acting up again. The car was travelling 60 mph without touching the throttle. I contacted Chevrolet the following morning and was advised to take it in to the dealer. Turns out the problem is not with the recalled part but some other reason for the accelerator sticking. So I was told with parts and labor it would be $510 I do not have the money to fix the repair so I was told their would be a $89 service fee which again I don't really have.

- Twin Valley, MN, USA

problem #46

Dec 042015

Malibu

  • 83,556 miles
My son was driving the 2003 Chevrolet Malibu on the highway when the theft protection system suddenly kicked in an shut off the engine causing him to lose speed and power steering and forcing him to stop on the highway. Then he had to sit there 10 minutes with the key turned on to reset the theft system before he could start the car again and get out of a dangerous situation. The ignition and key was already ready replaced under the recall too.

- Little Chute, WI, USA

problem #45

Sep 302015

Malibu

  • 214,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the check engine warning light illuminated intermittently. In addition, after stopping the vehicle, it stalled. The vehicle was restarted. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V400000 (electrical system) and 04V528000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that cylinder two was misfiring. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 214,000.

- Twin Valley, MN, USA

problem #44

Aug 242015

Malibu

  • 61,450 miles
Driving car at about 30mph, took my foot off the accelerator pedal and the car continued to accelerate. Brought to Chevrolet service, , and they replaced accelerator cable. I researched the issue, and there was a campaign id 04V528000. To replace sensing and diagnostic module. Service manager said that was done 1-10-05 on this car. If this is not that issue, then this is a new safety issue with a different part failing that could result in a vehicle crash.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #43

Jul 102015

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 50 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and became stuck. The contact had to apply force and lift the pedal up with her hand, in order to release the pedal. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 04V528000 (vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Grantville, KS, USA

problem #42

Jun 182015

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Computer problem 2003 Chevy Impala 6 cyl front wheel drive automatic 130000 miles this recently started, the traction on light and the ABS yellow lights on dash stay on. Rarely do they go off, only a few times. The square indicator light says "service traction control" light comes on when I start the vehicle, stays on for 1-2 minutes then goes off. But the traction control light and the ABS light remains on. How can I reset this or what to not have a trip to the expensive auto repair shop. I have no problem with the ABS brakes to operate correctly, no delays or brake hesitation when I press the brake pedal in use. Help me out with a good solution. I will greatly appreciate your response.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #41

Nov 082014

Malibu

  • 141,000 miles
I was passing a vehicle at about 40 mph. When I released the gas pedal the car kept accelerating. I finished my pass at a high rate of speed the whole time standing on the brakes. Dropped the car into neutral. Pulled to the side of the road and shut it off. I tried to restart it and it reeved to high rpms. After about 15 minutes there was a loud clunk and I restarted the car. The rpms stayed at normal speed. I called a tow truck and had it sent to the dealer I bought it from. Waiting for a response.

- Newaygo, MI, USA

problem #40

Dec 162013

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly accelerated independently and the engine stalled. The problem occurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

problem #39

Sep 152014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph with the brake pedal engaged, the vehicle suddenly accelerated causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle and crashed into a building. The contact suffered head and neck injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed during the incident. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #38

Oct 012014

Malibu

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While the vehicle was stopped with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact released the brake pedal and depressed the accelerator pedal. As a result, the vehicle hesitated and accelerated with force. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Fayetteville , PA, USA

problem #37

Sep 012014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The contact had to shift into neutral and then the park position in order to maneuver and stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Roy, UT, USA

problem #36

Aug 012013

Malibu

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that during warmer temperatures, the throttle became stuck and there was a sudden increase of up to 150 engine rpms. The contact had to immediately engage the brakes and shift into neutral in order to stop the vehicle. The dealer was not made aware of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offered any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 04V528000 (vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #35

Apr 092014

Malibu

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the speedometer and RPM gauges would read incorrectly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the throttle body was clogged. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000 and the current mileage was 146,000.

- Strafford, MO, USA

problem #34

Apr 122014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 29,332 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the brakes failed without warning. The vehicle continued to accelerate while the brakes were applied, causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 29,332. Upadated 06/24/14 MA updated 06/30/2014

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #33

Mar 202014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Car accelerating on its own. Even on braking the car would still continue accelerating which made braking hard. Car increased speed on its own from 25 to 45 when I had to apply brakes to keep from going over speed limit. This was an ongoing event until I was able to pull into a parking lot and shut the car off. When I restarted the car right away the rpms were up so I shut the car off and waiting about 5 minutes and restarted. Car was fine for the drive home. I bought the car used from a dealership April 18, 2011.

- Milford Center, OH, USA

problem #32

Mar 172014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 128,846 miles
Vehicle will idle high, 3000 RPM, driving is dangerous and braking is difficult. I called Chevy on 03/12/14 and they made an appt. And said it would be no problem under recall #04092. I went down today 03/17/14 for my appt and they told me recall had been completed on 12/13/2004. This is new information and now they will not inspect my vehicle to tell me what is wrong. The dealership gave me a document which states that on 12/31/04 the accelerator pedal was inspected but no actions were taken. This informs me that they had not properly replaced recalled items which were required.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #31

Sep 102013

Malibu

  • 63,500 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and failed to stop down despite constant force being applied to the brake pedal. The contact shifted into neutral but the engine rpms began to increase rapidly. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the contact then shifted into park to stop the vehicle from accelerating any farther. The vehicle was shut off and restarted one hour later, as it resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis however, the technician was unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 63,500.

- Worthington, KY, USA

problem #30

Aug 012012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
After my 2003 Chevrolet Malibu had been parked in the sun for a while, on a short trip of 4 miles, the car started revving up and taking off on it's on. It also caused my A/C hose to burst (I am convinced it is related). I took it to dealer for repair and they cleaned the throttle and replaced the A/C hose. There is still the same problem. It seems as though it happens when it is very hot weather and I am making short trips running errands which calls for turning engine off and restarting. I drove back home with my foot entirely on the brakes while trying to keep the car from running out of control. I am very reluctant to drive it now, until I can find someone to "really" fix the problem (as I was stuck with a $487 repair bill).

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #29

Mar 142013

Malibu

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving 50 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact pulled over and shifted the vehicle into park and the vehicle had high revs while idling. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or local mechanic. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?