Print this page

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Dec 052014

Malibu

  • 143,681 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter purchased this car about a year ago, she stated the drivers side seat would not adjust. I assumed a bad adjustment motor. When I examined the seat I discovered that the welds on the front cross-bar and the rear cross bar were separated between the seat and lower adjustment frame, this causes the drivers seat to lean toward the center console and rear of the vehicle. Upon first examination I thought the welds had broken, but on closer examination it appears that the weld did not penetrate the metal far enough as the weld and bar were both intact, except for some superficial scaring on the tubing. This results in a major safety problem as the seat belt is attached to the seat at the right side of the drivers seat, not to the floor of the vehicle. Should this vehicle be involved in a frontal crash these broken welds render the seat belt ineffective at best or useless, depending on the weight of the driver. If the air bags do not deploy the driver will be thrown foreword along with the seat with the appearance that the drivers weight broke the seat, when in-fact the seat was either broken already or severely weakened by inadequate welds. A cursory on line search revealed that this defect exists in the Chevy Malibu, monta carlo, Pontiac Grand Prix, Pontiac G6, Saturn aura and ion. Model years 1999 through 2009. I contacted GM ref#[xxx] and as with many other on line complaints were told in essence too bad out of warranty your problem not ours. I am fully capable of welding this frame my self, and will do so however, GM dealers charge app $1000. For the repair and if using the same stock frames, will install a faulty frame. In my opinion these faulty welds expose people without a passing familiarity to mechanics, to unnecessary expense as well as an unnecessary safety hazard. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #46

Apr 152014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 98,933 miles
Driver seats tilts to the right and can not adjust forward or backward. Had it repaired at my local mechanic (re-weld) at a cost of $214. Now it is broken again.

- Garrettsville, OH, USA

problem #45

Nov 042008

Malibu

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the front drivers seat weld failed causing the seat to become unstable. The contact mentioned that the seat belt failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed the seat weld had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #44

Aug 152014

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the driver's seat moved back and forth independently. The contact mentioned that after inspecting the vehicle, it was found that drivers seat only had three metal brackets instead of the standard four. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect and did not offer any assistance. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Seymour , CT, USA

problem #43

Dec 262013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
I had spun out on a turn the day after xmas doing a 180 degree turn. I saw a road sign to my left which was directly inline with my drivers door. I should of hit the sign and rolled my car but as fate would have it, the car turned and just backed into the road ditch....however I did slide sideways for a few feet. My two year old was in the back seat.....she hit her head on a water bottle, so once we came to a stop I got out to access the damage. My left front tire was off the car and laying sideways under it. My back driver tire was going flat. We missed the road sign but stopped only five feet from a light pole that would of killed my daughter. Behind that pole was a set of rr tracks. The garage fixed my car and all seemed well but I kept having back problems....I was released a month ago but have relapsed. Turns out my seat frame in my drivers seat is broke but insurance won't cover cause its been nine months. I was quoted 750 for part alone and 300 some for labor. Its not safe and it should of been caught. They didn't hesitate replacing a car seat. Now I see many people having same issues and question gms safety. I am a single mom, anything happens to me who takes care of my girl?

- Hartland, MN, USA

problem #42

Sep 192014

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the front driver's seat wobbled and was unstable while operating the vehicle. The failure occurred constantly. An independent mechanic stated that the brackets needed to be welded and re-mounted on the frame to fully secure the seat. The mechanic stated that the frame and brackets were entirely rusted and the seat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- South Orange, NJ, USA

problem #41

Jun 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife's 2004 Chevy Malibu driver's seat is broken and bobbles up and down and toward the right. According to info I've been reading on websites, many other drivers have had this problem. It appears that the welding has broken loose and causes the seat to bobble. This is a major safety hazard and needs to be addressed by GM. The following link will show all the complaints about this model Malibu. www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2004/Chevrolet/Malibu/seat

- Pinson, AL, USA

problem #40

Sep 112014

Malibu

  • 96,000 miles
Upon entering the vehicle, the driver's side power seat collapsed, leaving the seat leaning backward and to the right. There appear to be broken frame welds on the right side where the up and down motor is located. As the seat is no longer attached to the frame, this is an extreme safety risk were there to be an accident; the driver would not be secure in the vehicle even with a seat belt engaged.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #39

Sep 062013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The weld on the seat broke and the seat leans right and back, very uncomfortable and a real safety hazard if you ask me. The seat does not move up and down correctly or front to back either.we had fixed at todd wenzel in hudsonville mi a used seat cost us $472.95 we feel this was a defective seat and a safety hazard.

- Jenson, MI, USA

problem #38

Jul 232012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 114,830 miles
I got into my car and sat down and something under the driver side power seat broke. Looks like a support bar weld cracked. Now the seat is tipped to the right. If I raise or lower the seat, only the left side goes up and down. I'm not sure if there is enough strength holding the rest of the seat together. I've been waiting for a recall, since I believe this is a safety issue. I can find many complaints on line, so my case is far from isolated.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #37

Jun 302014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Something in the support brackets of the front seat snapped, and the seat now tilts to the side and rocks when turning in corners.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #36

Apr 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The driver's seat is broken and rocks to the rear right. It appears the weld broke in the seat frame. This is the 2nd time the seat has broken. The first time, it was covered by warranty. I have read numerous complaints of this in the Chevy Malibu and am requesting that GM issue a recall. This is a significant safety hazard as the seat is not stable, especially during turning maneuvers.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #35

May 292014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The driver's seat is broken and rocks to the rear right. It appears the weld broke in the seat frame. I have read multiple complaints of this in the Chevy Malibu and wonder why a recall hasn't been issued.

- Decatur, AL, USA

problem #34

Mar 202014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that an unknown bar that was under the driver's seat became fractured and caused the seat to become unstable and wobble while the contact was driving at unknown speeds. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 05/28/14 the consumer stated the seat bracket broke. Updated 06/30/14

- Sidney , OH, USA

problem #33

Mar 012010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 67,987 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the drivers side seat frame was fractured. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician verified the failure and stated that the seat frame needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 67,987 and the current mileage was 95,000. Updated 09/26/2014 updated 02/27/2015

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #32

Aug 262013

Malibu

  • 146,312 miles
While driving went to put on the brakes and the driver seat made a loud thump and shifted forward to the right I had to grip the steering wheel and pull over because the seat was leaning forward to the right and made it hard for me to drive. I got out and the bar under the seat that guides the seat was broken had to manuever it to drive after puttting a block of wood under it to stabalize the seat so I could drive. Had new tires, lugs and nuts put on car in June along with entire suspension system fornt and back and wheel alignment and on two occasions my lugs had to be changed due to breakage or lugs coming unscrewed and dropping off on front driverside and back passenger had car checked and there appears to several mechanic shops nothing visibly wrong but this is a sure safety hazard.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #31

Aug 192013

Malibu

  • 57,000 miles
I recently encounter an incident with my 2004 Chevy Malibu driver side front seat, out of no wear the steel welded bar under the seat broke on the right side cause the seat to tilt to the right, making it very difficult to drive the cars in a safe manner. To the NHTSA team this problem is dangerous and unsafe something should be done to correct this problem before it resort in a life and death situation.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #30

Jul 102013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Upon entering the vehicle, the driver's side power seat collapsed, leaving the seat leaning backward and to the right. There appear to be broken frame welds. As the seat is no longer attached to the frame, this is an extreme safety risk were there to be an accident; the driver would not be secure in the vehicle even with a seatbelt engaged.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #29

Apr 152013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Sliding & leaning back to adapt to a comfortable position in the drivers seat, the very comfortable and electrically adjustable drivers seat listed to the right and slightly rotated to the right. Now, sitting on an angle as if the car is on a hill I continue driving. I eventually got a flashlight and while parked and resting my head on the floor mat I could see the rusted bar that runs horizontal to the seat and welded on the left side next to the drivers door, is hanging on the right side dropped below where the weld was holding it; I imagine in a circular pattern since I see half a circumference remaining behind the dropped bar. I can lift the bar back to the remaining half weld, and when I let go it drops back down moving the seat snug with the center console. I was told by a company that welding it would not be wise and would put them in jeopardy if an accident occurred. A new frame would be about $600, then add labor; we're looking at approx. $900+. yes, as others have said on www.automotiveforums.com it's a shame no recall, but after 140K miles... guess I'll ask if I should use wd-40 on the bar after install. Since this is the only electric seat in the car I don't expect the other seats to be effected.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #28

Apr 272013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 82,600 miles
I purchased this vehicle in 2006 with 17,000 miles at the carmax superstore in naperville Illinois and have had several serious issues since. The leaking sunroof with the innumerable failed attempts at repair. The leak has never been resolved and I have resorted to covering the vehicle with a tarp during inclement weather. The constant clicking noise in the steering when moving the steering wheel back and forth and the severe stiffness in the steering wheel when curb side parking between parked vehicles. The intermittent ignition failure, the vehicle will not turn over unless you depress the accelerator slightly. There were countless futile attempts at repair for all these defects through out the years of warranty and extended warranty coverage. The failed attempts of correctly diagnosing and properly repairing these defects by the englewwood auto group in englewood New Jersey have left me unsatisfied and super frustrated. Today I am writing because the operators seat has now tilted to the right and is leaning against the center console. There was nothing of significance that occurred while driving that immediately alerted me of this problem, I was simply adjusting the seat when I noticed that the seat was rubbing against the center console. Upon inspecting underneath the seat I observed that the right rear corner does not rise when engaging the electric seat controls. The angle of the lean is so bad that it affects my posture and pains my lower back. I am also afraid that the seat will completely collapse while I am driving. When the seat is lowered all the way down it does level to its acceptable norm, but at 5 feet 4 inches tall I cannot operate safely that low to the floor. For a vehicle that is driven on average once a week it is plagued with some serious manufacturer defects that the dealerships' service department is unable or unwilling to repair.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?