Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,277 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 27 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #123

Jun 292007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was making clunking noise in the steering wheel/tire area when making turns. Dealer replaced intermediate steering shaft. This was the third time involving a steering issue. Replaced steering gear assembly and rack & pinion.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #122

Apr 272007

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
TL-caller is leasing a 2004 Chevrolet mailbu. Current and failure mileage 48000. While driving at 3mh and attempting to enter traffic, the car died with no warning. Steering froze. She was able to restart the vehicle and took it to dealer later that day. The steering was replaced however the engine problem was a mystery to them. Weather was dry temperature unknown. The vehicle has both manual and automatic. Ktf

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #121

Sep 232006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,905 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving on 09/23/06 the steering became very hard. The contact was just able to steer the vehicle and park it. The vehicle was towed, and it was found that the steering module did not work. The steering module was replaced on 09/27/06. However, because the vehicle owner believed this was a hazard he was afraid to drive the vehicle. The current and failure mileage were both 10905 miles. Update 4/9

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #120

Dec 122006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle lost power steering control nearly causing an accident. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer could not duplicate the issue.

- Hamshire, TX, USA

problem #119

Jan 202004

Malibu

  • miles
2004 Malibu anti theft light and radio lock light illuminates, problem with seal on the rear left window. The steering was stiff, the molding on the let rear window came out of place when the window was rolled up. The vehicle would vibrate while driving. There was a rubbing noise coming from the front of the vehicle, the check engine light illuminated several times, the temperature and fuel gauge light illuminated. The trunk would not open properly when using the remote. The vehicle started by itself and all the lights illuminated which caused the battery to die.

- Hamilton, MS, USA

problem #118

Jun 092006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,650 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to make either a left or right turn there is a knocking noise present in the steering of the vehicle. While driving at any speed the vehicle pulls to left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on 3 occasions and the manufacturer has been alerted however there is no fix for these problems.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #117

Jan 022006

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was a clunking noise in steering when turning or acceleration and or steering wheel shakes when standing still.

- Hallandale, FL, USA

problem #116

Jan 062006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Steering failure, steering replaced three times. Steering went out when car was 11 months old, again fall 2005, Jan 2006. Two different dealers have worked on car, noting that they are aware of steering problems with this model.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #115

Jun 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
I bought the car brand new in 2003. Have had to take it into the dealership on three separate occasions. And it's happening again so this next time will be the fourth. Problem occurs every 6K or so. Play in the intermediate steering assembly begins to occur. First indication is a knocking noise heard while turning. I have taken it to three different dealers and they still can not correct the problem. It is just going to get frustrating over the life of the vehicle to constantly have to have it repaired. Very concerned with the safety of the vehicle. Also, if I tried to sell it, this problem could seriously affect the value of the vehicle.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #114

May 232005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 6,110 miles
2004 Chevrolet Malibu developed major steering problems. The steering column assembly had to be replaced three times in the last thirteen months.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #113

Aug 042004

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chevrolet Malibu experienced problems with the steering.** answer required***. the consumer stated the vehicle pulled to the left when he would take off from a stop and it would drift to the left while driving.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #112

Apr 202005

Malibu

  • miles
Slowed down to about 5 mph to make a right turn into parking lot. Completed 90 degree turn into parking lot and started to slow down to come to a stop when she felt the wheel stiffen (steering ┐ felt off┐); started up to make a 90 degree right turn (needed to make a 90 degree right turn followed by a quick 90 degree left turn). As she tried to turn wheel, she could only move the wheel from 12-1 O┐clock so she just coasted into a parking area (car covered a couple of parking spots). Stepped on brakes as she coasted to a stop since she felt as though she had no steering. Towed to dealer, who replaced steering solumn again.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #111

Aug 192004

Malibu

  • 8,835 miles
Steering wheel oscillated back and forth while vehicle was on, but stopped; happened again while backing out of parking space; about 5 minutes into 15 minute drive home (going 10 mph); vehicle felt like it was pulling left so it took more steering effort to turn wheel right; had steering column replaced August 19, 2004.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #110

May 192004

Malibu

  • miles
Problems with power steering and air bags on 2004 Chevrolet Malibu.** answer required***. the consumer was involved in an accident in which the air bags did not deploy. While driving the power steering stopped working.

- Elmont, NY, USA

problem #109

Feb 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The power steering locks and causes the vehicle to pull to the left, making it difficult to control the vehicle. Manufacturer was contacted for repair, but they fail to correct the problem.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #108

Oct 272004

Malibu

  • 10,000 miles
While driving 25 mph, the vehicle lost power steering. The consumer managed to drive to a auto shop. The problem was repaired. The dealership was notified.

- Burlington, NJ, USA

problem #107

Jan 152005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On or about 01/15/05 the power steering game out while driving. The engine light came on, car was taken to dealer on 01/17/05. Dealer changed the steering wheel column, vehicle was picked up a day later. On 01/21/05 steering gave out as backing out of the drive way and engine light came on. Car was turned off and on and power steering worked again. Car was turned back in to dealership where after 3-4 day I was informed that there was no record of any defects.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #106

Nov 112004

Malibu

  • miles
The electronic steering in my 2004 Malibu failed while the car was in operation. It had been jerking while I was driving on the highway. I took it in and they said it was probably water/dampness causing the jerking. Then it failed while I was driving and they replaced the parts under warranty.

- Bainbridge, GA, USA

problem #105

Jan 022005

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,800 miles
I own a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. At present time, I have had to have the steering column replaced twice, due to intermittent power steering failure and a constant pull to the left. The first time was at approximately 8800 miles, the second time at 17700 miles. I have also had to have the brake rotors and pads replaced twice. The brakes still make a rubbing noise in the right front, however the dealers tells me they cannot fix that. The car currently has 18000 miles on it. I still have steering issues, such as twitches in the steering wheel and thunks and clunks when driving. I am very uncomfortable driving the car because I am afraid the steering will go out again.

- Lantana, FL, USA

problem #104

Jan 142005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
My wife was driving with my daughter on board, traveling at approximately 25 mph preparing to stop at approaching traffic light, all of a sudden the steering wheel "froze" and would not move. When she finally stopped the car, she turned the engine off. Needless to say she was terribly frightened. After a few minutes she restarted the car and the steering was ok. I hate to think what might have happened if she had been on the express sway at the time. Now she is afraid to drive her own car. The car is a 2004 Malibu.

- Warren, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?