Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,431 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Sep 032004

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At approximately 10,000 miles, my 2004 Chevrolet Malibu developed a steering problem. Upon starting the car, the steering wheel visibly shook and pulled when I tried to turn right. I called the dealership and they had to order a replacement part. When the part came in a week and a half later, they replaced the steering column. Ea04018_cat.

- Sumner, WA, USA

problem #58

Aug 222004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,355 miles
Loss of power steering while vehicle is in motion. Vehicle has just reached 10K miles. Steering the vehicle during failure is difficult. Reported failure to dealership on the afternoon of failure. Instructed to immediately return vechicle to dealership for repair. Ea04018_cat.

- Sherman, TX, USA

problem #57

Jul 202004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
Without warning the power steering system failed twice making the vehicle to hard to steer, almost causing an accident. The steering column was replaced twice within two weeks because the first replacement also failed. Ea04018_cat this is like an accident waiting to happen.

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #56

Aug 062004

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fax ltr fm james ballou wadford (va) owner of a my 2004 Malibu reporting loss of steering capabilities suggest NHTSA recall vehicle safety defect. While driving the consumer lost all steering capability. The service engine light illuminated on the dash as the driver attempted to pull the vehicle over onto the side of the road. The vehicle was taken tot he dealer where they indicated that he received a service bulletin on this problem in May. The consumer feels the problem should be recalled. Ea04018_cat

- Wilsons, VA, USA

problem #55

Aug 242004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,491 miles
While makeing a right turn onto major street wrench icon lit upon on instrument panel, information panel indicated power steering failure, had to manhandle car to parking lot of K-mart. Restared engine, drove to chev dealer, left car with them, they replaced steering column. Do not feel safe with this car as there other reports of failure after the steering column had been replaced. Ea04018_cat

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #54

Sep 022004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,730 miles
I was traveling at highway speeds to work on the expressway when the second occurrence of (epa) steering failure. The first occurrence was on 8/30/04 and the second occurance was on 9/2/04. The car was taken to dealer on 8/31/04 for repair they connected the computers and found no code errors. Today when power steering stopped working I found a safe place to pull onto exit ramp shoulder to park car and shut down. I waited a few minutes restarted no problems. But my car is at dealership for service the second time. Ea04018_cat

- Booneville, MS, USA

problem #53

Aug 312004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,444 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stopped at red light after driving approximately 45 miles per hour on the way to work. Steering whell "jiggled" a bit. When I accelerated, the power steering was gone. Car was hard to steer; was able to drive approximately four miles to the dealership. Dealership said there was a part in the steering column that needed replaced, and that they would replace the steering column. They ordered the part (from Michigan), but due to hurricane frances, they could not fix the car until next week. The dealership was very nice and gave me a loaner car at no charge; but my car is now sitting out in the open at the dealership with the possibility of hurricane force winds damaging the car. The fact that the part was not readily available concerns me. Ea04018_cat

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #52

Aug 052004

Malibu

  • 7,332 miles
While the consumer was pulling into his driveway the vehicle's power steering unit failed and caused loss of steering control. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who replaced the electric power steering unit per a service bulletin issued by GM. The vehicle has been working properly since repaired. Ea04018_cat

- Jersey Shore, PA, USA

problem #51

Aug 252004

Malibu

  • miles
Power steering. While driving at various speeds the steering wheel jerks up to 45 degrees, side to side, in both directions. No loss of control. No steering has been lost as of yet. Appointment set with valley cheverlot, carson city, nv on August 31, 2004. Ea04018_cat

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #50

Jun 172004

Malibu

  • miles
While driving steering wheel locked up and the consumer lost power steering. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. Ea04018_cat (duplicates voq 10089025- same VIN/driver)

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #49

Sep 192003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A knocking/clicking noise came from the steering wheel/column when turning. Vehicle had been to the dealer, and dealer replaced steering shaft, but problem recurred. Ea04018_cat deleted EA04018 annotation - have not validated this is second power steering loss incident cat

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #48

Aug 272004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving service message indicated to consumer that power steering column failed. As result, consumer had to restart the vehicle. The dealership reset the computer three times, but problem recurred. Ea04018_cat

- Coeburn, VA, USA

problem #47

Aug 092004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,167 miles
1) first failure at 4589 miles. While driving 60 mph on winding two lane road at night. Warning chime sounded, "wrench" and "power steering failure" appeared. Within a few seconds the ps completely failed making vehicle very hard to drive. Dealer contacted factory rep then ordered and installed new column. 2) second failure at 9870 miles. Turning as I backed out of driveway, ps failed. Stopped and turned engine off. Called dealer. Started car and it was fine. Dealer replaced column again. 3) third failure at 10167 miles. While driving up a steep, winding two lane mountain road near here with heavy Saturday afternoon traffic, ps became stiff and then there was some involuntary movement back and forth. I do not know whether warnings sounded, I was too busy trying to avoid traffic while looking for a place to get it off the road. Called dealer and was towed to shop some 20 miles away. Subsequent checks and extensive test driving found no stored codes and no malfunctions. Dealer said he could not help me any further and suggested I call GM customer satisfaction, which I did and the formal complaint process is in progress. The tow truck driver also noticed that the steering was very stiff while loading the car. Since my wife and I feel strongly that the car is not safe, she does not drive it and I drive it carefully and slowly only as necessary. Ea04018_cat

- Coeur D' Alene, ID, USA

problem #46

Aug 062004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,300 miles
While driving 25 mph engine service light came on. As a result steering failed without warning. Ea04018_cat

- Wilsons, VA, USA

problem #45

Aug 062004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,098 miles
Power steering assist failure while driving. Speed approximately 45 mph, travelling in a straight line. Was able to get the vehicle (2004 chev Malibu lt) home, but exit ramps and corners very difficult to navigate. Problem cleared with turning off and restarting motor. This was the second occurrence. Ea04018_cat

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #44

Aug 052004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,185 miles
The incident happened twice. The first time occurred in a low speed turn. The first incident occurred 2 months ago. The second occurred while stopped at a traffic light. In the second incident, all electric power steering assistance was lost suddenly making the vehicle difficult to steer. A warning indicator "wrench/car" shows, audio alarm sounds, and a message is displayed on the radio message display "power steering off". I put the car in park. Shut off and restarted. Worked ok. Ea04018_cat

- Munster, IN, USA

problem #43

Aug 022004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When turning the steering wheel to the right, I noticed a "scraping" sound from the steering column. This occurred several times and on the date that I was taking the car to have the problem investigated, the entire power steering went out (while traveling at about 35 mph) and I had extreme difficulty managing the vehicle. Fortunately, I was able to safely arrive in the parking lot of the dealership. I've been waiting for 3 days for this problem to be remedied and have yet to receive my car. I have been told by the dealership that they will probably need to replace the entire steering column, etc. I'm still waiting for the results. I really don't understand why GM hasn't notified customers that there is this potential since it seems that it could be dangerous. Ea04018_ cat

- Laurinburg, NC, USA

problem #42

Aug 042004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Both front side windows did not roll down. Also, a steering column problem. Vehicle pulled to left. Dealership inspected vehicle several times, and could not fix it. Ea04018_cat

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #41

Jul 312004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
While driving at 30 mph steering wheel locked up and wouldn't turn in any direction. When this occurred a wrench icon illuminated on the dashboard. Consumer veered off the highway, turned the vehicle off, and restarted it. This unlocked the steering wheel. A service representative indicated that was a common problem with these vehicles, that resulted in accidents. Ea04018_cat

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #40

Jul 072004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,162 miles
Issues that arose with my 2004 Malibu July 7, 2004. These issues are still worrisome to me even though the problem has been addressed by the fort wayne kelley Chevrolet service people. Ea04018_cat. I encountered several dangerous issues with the automobile. The first issue occurred at a stop sign. I was completely stopped at the stop sign when my steering wheel started to pulsate uncontrollably. Upon acceleration it seemed to subside until I tried to turn left and at that time I had no control over my steering. I was able to get into the correct lane finally and thankfully I was only 1 mile from my home. As I turned into my neighborhood the steering once again began to pulsate leaving me without steering power and I had to break upon someoneS yard in order not to hit a child playing in the street. This is a huge concern. I immediately called kelley Chevrolet. We were addressed courteously yet I was still very anxious about what had happened&especially considering my daughter had a Malibu just like ours. I have a granddaughter who rides in that car and I was very nervous about the fact that this may also happen to my daughter. Kelley did address the problem promptly and gave us information concerning document id# 1521111 2004 Chevrolet Malibu service information ( noisy steering column, lack of power steering assist, dtcs C0460 and C0545, steering wheel moves slightly by itself #04-02-35-009-May 24, 2004) my steering wheel was not just noisy, it was pulsating to the point I could hardly hold it. Also the issue of the steering wheel moves slightly by itself is also a huge understatement. My steering wheel could be moved by me, however, my wheels did not turn in the direction of my steering. This is something GM must address. KelleyS took care of the problem but I am extremely apprehensive about my car or ever getting another Chevrolet with electronic steering. Ea04018_cat

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?