Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,431 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Dec 052003

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a rattling noise in the steering wheel when turning like something is loose. Dealership serviced the vehicle twice before hearing the problem. Dealership indicated a part needed to be replaced and ordered the part. The consumer has been waiting for 4 months for the dealership to receive the part and install it. Pe04031_cat

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 252004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,200 miles
Power steering failed, even though engine was still running. Car was very difficult to maneuver. Pe04031_cat

- West Nyack, NY, USA

problem #17

Apr 212004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,238 miles
April 17, 2004 experienced jerking in steering of 2004 Chevrolet Malibu. Additionally, steering wheel felt tight in turns. Had car towed to dealer. Dealer released car back to me on Tuesday, April 20, 2004. Informed me that they could not reproduce effect and computer diagnosis was negative for a problem. April 21, 2004, steering completly locked on me while in busy intersection of bradenton, Florida. Car towed to same Chevrolet dealership. April 22, 2004, car released to me after dealership (cox chevorlet) installed new steering column. Dealer service rep and service manager stated they had seen similar problems with the 2004 Malibu, however, I was the first customer who was forced off road. Dealer rep and service manager reported to me that they had contact General Motors about my original problem and were told not to make repairs without reproducing problem or computer diagnosis verifying a problem. Pe04031_cat

- Myakka City, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 072004

Malibu

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at highway speeds steering wheel pulled to the left. Consumer had the problem fixed once before, but the mechanic did not resolve the problem. Pe04031_cat

- Wyoming, MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 142004

Malibu

  • 2,500 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power steering while driving at 55 mph. This occurred without warning, and the steering wheel became difficult to turn. Dealership indicated that the first set of these vehicles that came from the factory had steering problem. Pe04031_cat

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 062004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,258 miles
I had just driven my 2004 Chevrolet Malibu off the highway and was on a main road when I heard a beeping, I looked at the radio console and it said "power steering." I then tried to turn the wheel and the power steering was gone. I was able to struggle and get the car home because it was late at night. The next morning when I contacted the dealership and told them of the problem they told me they had already had one instance with another 2004 Malibu last month. Chevy ordered a tow truck to come and pick up the car. When the tow truck driver arrived, he attempted to move the steering wheel and it moved fine. But, I told him I wanted it to go to the dealership. It has been there ever since waiting for a module to be put in. I have called the dealership to check on my car and was recently told they have 3 Malibu waiting for the power steering module to be shipped. I was fortunate enough to be able to drive my car home safely however, this is a potentially dangerous situation. Pe04031_cat

- N. Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #13

Apr 082004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We recently through my employer obtained a new fleet of 2004 Chevy Malibu ls. It has been noticed on several of the cars that the electric power steering will start to jerk the steering wheel slightly to either direction when idle or when the vehicle is moving. This week the power steering completely failed at highway speeds while in the process of changing lanes. Vehicle was at about 75 mph when an audible alarm came on, the steering wheel became exremely hard to manuver, and a "power steering" prompt came on the information center. Getting off the hwy and into a gas station to see what the problem was w/O power steering was quite difficult. It eventually came on after turning off the car and restarting only to fail again a few miles down the road. Although this happened to me this week, the same probelm has happened to 2 other Malibu in our fleet. Pe04031_cat

- Flowery Branch , GA, USA

problem #12

Apr 122003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 2,767 miles
While driving power steering failed. Dealer was contacted, and replaced steering column twice. Pe04031_cat

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #11

Dec 292003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
Within 6 weeks of purchasing this 2004 Malibu and with less than 2000 miles on it, the power steering locked up. While driving home, a warning indicator appeared on the dash along with the words "power steering". I was able to drive the vehicle home, but there was virtually no power assist. The vehicle was in the dealer repair shop from December 31 until January 8. I had to make folllow up calls to the dealer who repeatedly told me the part was on back order. I was subsequently advised that a service bulletin was issued and the dealer made all repairs in accordance with that bulletin. The problem happened again on Tuesday, April 6. (at 4098 miles) on my way home from work while driving on a major highway, the warning light went off, the steering column tightened up and the "power steering" message displayed on the dic. Car has been returned to the dealership again. I have alerted the service manager and sales person of the situation and my intent to pursue my full rights under the state lemon law. Also have experienced problems with key becoming stuck in the ignition and not releasing right away. That problem has yet to be addressed/fixed. Pe04031_cat

- Oaklyn, NJ, USA

problem #10

Mar 232004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,200 miles
Driving 75 mph on the highway at rush hour, power steering gave out completely, "power steering" displayed on the computer console, orange light in dash (car w/wrench). Could not steer at all, luckily was able to drift to the left into the grass. Called aaa for tow to dealer. When car was turned back on, power steering was back on, everything seemed okay. Towed to dealer anyway. They performed a diagnositc and called GM with the code. GM told them to replace the entire steering column. They had my car for over a week and then tried to assure me it wouldn't happen again. I am scared for my life, it was luck that I was not in the middle of the highway when it happened, because there was absolutely no way to steer the vehicle. Pe04031_cat.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #9

Apr 062004

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 75 mph the steering wheel lost power. The driver was able to maintain control of the vehicle and pull over. The driver drove the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that the steering column modular needed to be replaced. Pe04031_cat

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #8

Mar 232004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
The electric steering column did not return to the center after making a turn. The dealer replaced the steering column, however the problem continued. Talked with consumer on 3/26/04 to obtain details and customer said he also experienced loss of power after moving car at stop light. Cat pe04031_cat

- Rockville Centre, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 112004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 291 miles
Power steering has failed on 3 separate occasions. The first time, the dealer replaced the cam sensor in the transmission. The power steering failed again 5 days later. The car is still at the dealership, they are trying to figure out what is wrong. Pe04031_cat call notes: Backed car out of garage. Steering was difficult. Saw ┐power steering┐ on display. Turned car off and restarted, but no power steering. Drove car to dealership, who could not duplicate condition, but they did replace cam sensor. After about 4 days, driver was backing out of garage and same situation happened again. Shut off car and called dlr. Had a commitment so he drove car without power steering. After finishing commitment restarted car and power steering worked. Brought to dealer, who kept car for 4-5 days and replaced steering column assembly. As he was driving car out of dealership, felt car pulling to left, but needed car so he drove car and brought back after finishing commitment. Dealership kept car for 7 days, calibrated steering, but did not replace any parts. Driver just picked up car and things seemed ok. Cat 3/25/04 no crash or injuries per consumer call on 3/30/04 cat

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 052004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,300 miles
Power steering failed at 2300 miles and 5000 miles. When the power steering failed, it was impossible to turn the steering wheel. Driver was heading home from work and had driven about 15 min. Heard message board sound; saw ┐power steering┐ on display; service light came on. A few seconds later, she had no power steering, but was able to drive car to side of road. Turned the car off and restarted car a little later. Power steering was working so she drove 12-15 minutes further when she lost power steering again (heard sound, saw message, and service engine light). Pulled car over to side of road, restarted a little later and was able to drive car to dlr. Left car at dealer, who said they would need 2-3 weeks to get part, but ended up calling back 5-6 days later and told her to pick it up. Car fixed under warranty. Same situation and warnings happened again on March 4, 2004. Brought back to dlr, who said they had to reset a sensor. Cat pe04031_cat

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #5

Mar 082004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2004 Chevy mailbux maxx lost its electric power steering assist when making a right turn out of a sam's parking lot. The 'power steering' message was illuminated on driver information center (dic) and an orange vehicle service light appeared on instrument panel. The vehicle was very difficult to steer. The next morning when I restarted the car the vehicle service light was not illuminated and the electric power steering asssit worked correctly for a while. Then suddenly, while in revese out of my home driveway, I lost power steering assist, the power steering message illuminated in the dic and the vehicle service light illuminated again. I have contacted the dealer buff whelan chev and have a service appointment scheduled for 3/15/04 at 8am. I am glad that this steering assist failure did not happen while on the highway getting off on an exit ramp. Pe04031_cat

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 162004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
The power steering was displayed in the information display center of the radio. The power steering then failed. This happend two times. I brought the vehicle to my local Chevy dealer and they could not identify the problem or duplicate it. A problem like this at high speeds could be dangerous and cause a driver to loose control of the vehicle. There needs to be further investigation about this to avoid serious problems. The steering wheel can still be turned but exptremely difficult. The steering became heavy instantly. Complainant son was experience the same issue when pulling the vehicle out of the drivway. It appears to be an intermittent problem. Owner did state that she knows someone else with an 04 Malibu and the electric assist steering went out.cw pe04031_cat

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 152003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
When turning steering wheel towards the right steering wheel locked up, causing the consumer to lose control of the vehicle. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealership to be inspected. When failure occurred, there was virtually no assist but drove the vehicle home. The next day the steering was normal. Dealer replaced the steering column. Repair order provided.cw pe04031_cat

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 022004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
While driving and turning to the left steering wheel failed. Dealer notified. While making a left turn at a major intersection at 15 mph the electrical system shut down which resulted in loss of power steering. The vehicle information screen indicated that there was a power steering failure. The vehicle was driven to a parking lot and turn off. When the vehicle was turned back on the power steering returned. To date the vehicle has not been repaired or replaced. Pe04031_cat

- Prospect Park, PA, USA

problem #1

Sep 242003

Malibu

  • 3,035 miles
After putting the key in the ignition, it became stuck and was not able to be released right away. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealership several times, but the mechanic could not resolve the problem. When the power steer locked up, the consumer had trouble turning the wheel. Steering column and steering position sensor replacedcw. Pe04031_cat

- Flint, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?