If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page
2005 Chevrolet Malibu steering NHTSA complaints: Steering:Electric Power Assist System

NHTSA — Steering: Electric Power Assist System Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,535 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #11

Jun 052014

Malibu

  • 142,035 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This relates to recall campaign 14V153000. In 2009, I first began having power steering failures when accelerating from stopped. I would feel the steering wheel jerk to the path of least resistance (straighten) if I was in a turn, and would hear three chimes (ding-ding-ding). If I released the gas pedal, the power steering would resume operations, but if I maintained pedal activation, power steering would remain off and an alert would illuminate on the dashboard indicating power steering failure. The problem occurred with increased frequency on hot days, especially when air conditioning was operating on high (leading me to believe that it was a loss of power to the steering column, induced by a problem with the way that the electrical system was set up--giving higher priority to A/C fans than to the power steering). In October 2009, the vehicle was repaired under special bulletin 10183. However, in April 2014, I began having this problem again. On every day where the temperature was above 75 degrees, I've had this issue. I called GM and they stated that my VIN is not among those affected, though I drive a 2005 Chevy Malibu and I clearly have had the same problem that other vehicles using the same parts. The dealer refuses to look at it unless I have a recall letter. NHTSA should look into how many customers have been notified out of this my, especially since there is nothing in the language (or logic) of this recall that should exclude my vehicle.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #10

Jun 272012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer states problem with electric power steering the dealer test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failed power steering condition. GM stated they would not authorized a repair that the dealer could not replicate after a test drive.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 202011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving 55 mph the power steering failed. The power steering light came on at the same time the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic were it was determined the electronic power assist module was failing. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 71,000. Updated 01/05/12 updated 01/09/12

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #8

Nov 012010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the front driver side turn signal had malfunctioned and would not activate when engaged. The contact changed the bulb but the failure was not repaired. The contact stated the wiring was faulty and needed to be diagnosed. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The failure mileage was 46,000. Updated 11/16/11 the consumer stated the problem was fixed due to a service bulletin that was issued. It required cutting out the turn signal bulb socket and splicing in a new socket, because the old one overheated. The consumer also stated the electrical power steering was an issue on the vehicle as well. Updated 11/18/11

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Aug 092010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The power steering failed intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed that the power steering column needed to be replaced. He received a recall notice from Chevrolet in August 2010 that specified if the vehicle was over 100,000 miles the steering failure would not be repaired. The contact explained to General Motors the vehicle was diagnosed before the 100,000 miles, but he could not have the repair done; therefore, the vehicle should repaired by General Motors. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage 115,000. Updated 12/15/10. The consumer sent in a recall notice along with his complaint regarding the electric power steering. Updated 12/27/10

- Brockton , MA, USA

problem #6

Jan 162008

Malibu

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving 20 mph on a curved road, the power steering warning light began flashing followed by a loss of power steering assist. The steering became very difficult almost causing the vehicle to crash. The dealer informed the contact that the entire electronic power steering unit would need to be replaced. The dealer replaced the power steering system. The manufacturer sent the contact a questionnaire regarding the power steering but did not provide any further assistance. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Oneida, TN, USA

problem #5

Jul 132006

Malibu

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 2 mph, the front end of the vehicle began to make a loud clanking noise. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was repaired for the related defect under the manufacturers voluntary recall. The specific repair performed was unknown. On a separate occasion there was a loss of the electric power steering with a chime tone, followed by the power steering warning light illumination. The failure occurrence was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic on three different times for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to detect a problem. Recently, the contact received a notification from the manufacturer offering an additional protection for the electric power steering. The manufacturer required that the mileage not to exceed 100,000 to repair the vehicle of a free remedy. The contact stated her vehicle exceeded the mileage requirement. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Anboy, NJ, USA

problem #4

Sep 012008

Malibu

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The steering fails intermittently while driving. She will see the power steering light illuminated before the failures occurs. The steering shakes and is hard to turn. She turns the vehicle off and the steering resets back to normal. She had a independent mechanic diagnose the failure and they stated the steering console will need to be replace. The dealer estimated cost for repair was $800. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of complaint. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 95,000.

- Thousand Oak , CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 092006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Rattle in steering while driving down road sounds like something loose in steering & makes you think its coming apart dealer has installed new rack & pinion but I think its something in the electric steering box under dash and its still makes noise.

- Gallatin, TN, USA

problem #2

May 052007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Chevrolet Malibu 2005. Driving on a local street, I made a right onto another street and the steering became stiff, hard to make a sharp turn and I had to pull the steering wheel hard and use an extreme amount of effort to completer a turn, a bell went off. I was unable to steer to the left or the right. The car was still running. I turned the car off and then restarted the car and then I was able to turn the wheel freely for about 15 seconds then the wheel became stiff again. If I had reached the highway to get to my destination driving 50 mph and I had to suddenly quickly steer to the left or right to avoid an potential problem, I may have gotten into a potentially serious accident injuring myself & others. I purchased the car used & only had it 10 months. I am financing the car. I am very concerned about the safety of this vehicle now because it's only a 2005, only 2 years old with a possible major safety problem. I want to know if there are other 2005 Chevy Malibu's with the same problem who have serviced the vehicle and if they continue to have the problem and if there are more owners with this complaint. I am taking this car to the dealer where I bought it, have them inspect it a get more information about this problem.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #1

Apr 062006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,850 miles
At approx. 7:30 am 04/06/2006 I was heading westbound on I-290 on a clear, dry road, 40 degrees temp(about) when the power steering failed in my 2005 Chevy Malibu, causing me to lose control of the vehicle. My vehicle impacted with (1) one other vehicle, both of our respective vehicles spinning out of control.I was transported to a hospital, and have been in touch with my insurance company, which informed me that they(my ins. Co. ) would not subrogate, in fact to get my car looked at by GMC, the insurance co. Finally decided to hold the car in salvage, instead of sending it to auction, which they were in the process of doing, due to the fact that no recall on the power steering(eps), or steering column exists. This is a courtesy(it, the car was a total loss)to me, as I have started the process of calling GMC and am trying, unsuccesfully to complete my report to their claim dept( cannot get through).my auto will be held, as I stated for 60 days for GMC to come and inspect it. However, I have been told that when the motor vehicle is restarted(as it was after the accident I was involved in) the power steering can reset itself. My insurance co. Has assured me that, had there been a recall that they would do "everything within their power" to file and pursue a claim against GMC for all costs involved, and this is why they are willing to hold the vehicle for inspection. All I know is that I found this site after having relayed what happened to me to a gentelman in a local grocery store, if not for this complaint page, my car would have been auctioned off by now. I am in considerable pain, and not only out the loss of my vehicle, but I will be surcharged for3 years 4 mo. In, (for a problem that GMC is aware of, and on your /this complaint page all GMC does is ""replace the steering column".) (2007) when my policy renews.this is unfair, and I have searched the internet, and found similar complaints on msn.com/autos/Chevrolet/Malibu/2004/2005 personal reviews.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?