Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
102,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Aug 132016

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traction feature fails when braking. The brakes will not operate properly causing the vehicle to continue to travel forward although the brake pedal is being pressed. This happens most often when braking on an incline or in wet conditions. It happens whether the speed is fast or slow. Have brought vehicle to graff Chevy for recall repair, but continue to have problems. Had brake pads and rotors checked by Firestone who stated that neither of these needed repair, and therefore, are not adding to or causing the problem.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #41

Jun 262016

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 54,085 miles
Brake lights stay on when not depressed cruise control will not work recall was completed took car back brake sensor was replaced on 6/16/16 as of today 6/26/16 problem is still there cost of $287.20. Iam not going to pay for the same problem I am a GM man but maybe no more and ill make sure and let everybody I can know about your service thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #40

Jan 302016

Malibu

  • 84,000 miles
I'll start by saying my vehicle had approximately 84,000 miles on it when this issue occurred a few weeks ago and is very well cared for and maintained. While driving on the highway at night I noticed that my break lights were not coming on when I pressed the break (I didn't see them illuminating the car behind me). While stopped in traffic I noticed that if I pressed the break pedal as far as it could go the lights would come on. The breaks lights then started working properly for about 15 minutes, then they started working in reverse order (breaks not pressed and light switch on, breaks pressed and break lights switch off). I brought the vehicle into a Chevy dealer to have this issue looked at, and referenced that it was showing the symptoms described in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000. The dealer noted that I had already had the repairs for 14V252000 back in 2014 so it could not be due to that issue. In the end the deal changed my break switch and pedal position sensor, which has resolved the issue. I would ask that 14V252000 be updated to require the break switch and pedal position switch be replaced. I believe GM's response to original complaints of 14V252000 is not adequate. I am fortunate to be very observant of what my vehicle is doing, others will be much less fortunate and the results will lead to a crash.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #39

Oct 142015

Malibu

  • 161,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 10 mph around a curve, the brakes did not respond and the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard when depressed. The traction control light became illuminated and the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a ditch. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained an injury to the right arm that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 161,000.

- Casmalia, CA, USA

problem #38

Oct 192015

Malibu

  • 128,000 miles
Vehicle was already serviced under recall 13036 at dealer in Michigan - now just over 1 year later the same issue is present - brake lights on without depressing peddle - putting on brake does not turn on brake lights - cruse control not working because brake lights are on, sometimes unable to shift out of park, etc - same problem - last recall was only a temporary fix in my case.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #37

Jun 302015

Malibu

  • 33,800 miles
In Sept 2014, I had my 2006 Malibu repaired under GM recall 13036. At the end of June 2015, I noticed that my brake lights were malfunctioning. I took my car to a local mechanic for repair, which was the same work that was done for the recall. At the end of July 2015, the malfunction return again. I contacted Chevy via email and phone, and was first told that there wasn't a recall for this problem. I called again and explain that I was having the problem described in recall 13036 (" these fluctuations can cause one or more of these conditions: The brake lights to illuminate without the brake pedal being pushed; the brake lights to not illuminate when the pedal is pushed"). I was then told that there was a recall, but that mine was "closed" since I had already had it done once. I am concerned that I will be rear-ended because of the malfunctioning brake lights, which is a problem that Chevy/GM is aware of, having already issued a recall.

- Munhall, PA, USA

problem #36

Jul 242015

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have not been in wreck yet but many people are driving cars that are unsafe. When you are driving brake lights are on when you apply them they go off, recall is not fixing problem. Chevrolet keeps charging diagnostic testing when they know its a module that needs isometric paste reapplied every three months. The power steering goes out also and that's how you know the lights aren't working, other than people asking if you are riding the brakes.

- West Richland, WA, USA

problem #35

Dec 222014

Malibu

  • miles
While driving my car days after I purchased it, suddenly the instrument panel lights started flashing on and off. This includes gas gauge, oil light, check engine soon, ABS, speedometer, dome light, radio, ... also showed on instrument panel an image of a car and a lock. Etc.. it flashed on and off for a while then completely went out. So I was unable to determine speed, how much gas was in the tank no inside light or radio.. the weather was below zero with a wind chill factor and I assumed it had something to do with that. After a few days everything came back except radio. An additional couple of days and radio came back. The car went in for inspection with in 10 days of purchase. Nothing was said, about electrical or instrument panel. Now on or about June 10th the same thing is happening more continuous flashing and electrical going out. It flashes when you start the car and continuously flashes while you drive sometimes just going blank for a while.. thank you.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #34

Apr 052015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 198,756 miles
My brake light on my car keep popping on in off while driving as if am pushing on brake.the police pulled me over several times in asked me was I riding my brakes I told him naw. He said I need 2call the deal ship because its an electric problem than.

- Memphis , TN, USA

problem #33

Apr 072015

Malibu

  • 1,500,000 miles
I was on 44 just turned on 41 no cars on left or right none behind proceeding across traffic light other party was making a right turn I was stopping brakes ankle was fractured and we had a head on colision.

- Sanford, FL, USA

problem #32

Jan 152014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at approximately 5 mph, the brake pedal was applied but the vehicle failed to stop. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a median in order to stop. The failure occurred on several occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electrical stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #31

Apr 242014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V1153000 (steering). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/28/2014 updated 4/22/2015

- Jermyn, PA, USA

problem #30

Jun 252014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 166,000 miles
As I am making a right turn on airline street I felt it was a tight turn from the beginning & really don't think nothing of it, as I continue driving at about 15\20 per hour I was trying to make a right move to the right lane & once again my steering wheel was tight so I was force to use my brakes which I tried repeatedly but was enable to stop at that same moment there was a strong hit to my rear bumper by a commercial truck which end up being a hit and run from the commercial truck.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #29

Sep 102013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I worry that something will happen, my daughter and her 2 little girls use this car with faulty brake usage. Please help with this repair before they are in an accident. Thank you.... this is a recall but I am not getting anywhere.

- Veedersburg , IN, USA

problem #28

Jan 032011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brake lights would work intermittently. The contact replaced the brake lights on numerous occasions. The independent mechanic repaired the wiring harness but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the BCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) the remedy failed to rectify the failure. Additionally, the contact also stated that the heated seat function failed and the power steering seized intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 60,000...updated 10/01/14 the consumer stated the fuel tank would show 1/8 of a tank, but in actuality the tank was empty.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 13,130 miles
No physical incidents have taken place as of yet, however when asking about part being replace for my two recalls I get nothing but attitude and "I don't know" answers. My recalls are on the transmission shift cable, body control module, brake apply sensor and electronic stability control. I still make car payments, single mother with a toddler in the vehicle and all I get is an " I don't know" when our safety is in question. If I could afford a rental I would get one and keep the car parked, however a rental is like another car payment....where do I go from here?

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #26

Aug 212014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Was driving and saw a deer in the road. When I pressed the brakes they locked and then the pedal went to the floor as if the brakes went out. At that time the steering was difficult. The vehicle went through a field through 2 fences and over a ditch before coming to a stop. The engine did not shut off. There was major front end damage, from the fence posts, and the air bags never deployed. The vehicle was declared a total loss due to the damage.

- Lebanon Junction, KY, USA

problem #25

Jul 112014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Hello, I contacted your national service line and they referred me to jack wilson Chevrolet in saint augustine. We have had three recalls on this vehicle and no resolution on any of them. VIN# [xxx] 2006 Chevrolet Malibu maxx 65000 miles steering issue, took to a dealer ship in jacksonville, fl., they told me it was a brake issue. Had the front brakes replaced and still have the issue and charged me $60 for a wrong diagnosis. Received letter on 7-18-2014, recall #13036, no parts available and do not know when they will be at this time. Received letter on 8-11-2014, recall #14152, no parts available and do not know when the will be at this time. The national customer service center called jack wilson and set up for me to go and have them inspect recall items and let me know that there was no eminent danger. I went to jack wilson and spoke with the service person [xxx] which did not have the inspection done. She was willing to inspect the steering issue which she said was not a recall issue by turning the steering wheel back and forth and did not have a certified technician even look at the car. This car is my mother's only car, she is 84 and doing well until she got these recall letters. She does not feel safe to drive this car and no one can tell me when the parts will be available for the repairs to be completed. [xxx] I am contacting GM first with this as you requested. Please help us with this matter, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #24

May 142014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I was un able to get my car from park to drive. I had to pull extremely hard on the shifter to get it to move.

- Nauvoo, AL, USA

problem #23

May 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
On 5/07/2014 I got in my car that morning to take my 4 children to school the car started and died 3 times. When it finally did start I couldn't get it out of park! while on the way to school I was nearly hit from behind because my brakes lights failed to function! the problems have gotten worse daily since then. When I would drive the car it would take off on its on, the cruise control no longer functions, I have to try at the minimum of 7 times to get it to crank!! now it is very unsafe for me to drive I can't even take my children to school my neighbor has to take them and pick them up! I was finally sent a recall letter the last day of July 2014. In this recall are all the problems I am having. They say when called that they do not know when the parts to fix it will become available. What am I to do? I have a car I am paying for and can not drive!! I can't afford to go buy a different car. I told them since they had no idea when parts would be in to just replace my car and the answer was no!! they also want me to pay to have it inspected. This is their fault not mine I should not have to pay for anything!!!

- Nauvoo, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?