Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,361 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Aug 172013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,401 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had issues since the day after I got it. I have had this vehicle for less then a month and within 24 hours of having it the issues started. The fuel gauge drops to empty, when I fill the tank. The starter will crank but the car will not always start, sometimes the start is a long crank & sometimes it will not start at all, now today the check engine light is on. The steering wheel makes a popping noise.

- Rogersville, MO, USA

problem #19

Jun 012013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 179,000 miles
I'm highly upset with my vehicle. The first time this happened was back in June and I had just filled up my car and I drove home the car was fine. Got back in the car to go to the store not even 30 minutes later, start the car pull out of my apartments and it immediately said no fuel! so I freaked out thinking someone stole my gas or the gas station had some bad gas....then the next day it would go back and forth from F to E. it's now almost the middle of Aug. And it still does the same thing. I ran out of gas on 8/2/13 taking my mother to the hospital for an emergency! something awful could have happened and it all would've been because I can never tell how much gas is really in my car! there needs to be a recall for this, I'm obviously not the only person with this problem and from this site, complaint's go back to 2011! that's 2 years and nobody has tried to get this issue fixed! there can be accidents because of this!!! I would love to not have to pay to get this fixed because I'm not paying $600+ to get something really simple fixed but because you have to drop the gas tank it makes it more expensive.....please get this fixed because I'm bout ready to get rid of this car because of it! had it for 3 years and I refuse to spend that kind of money on a part that should be considered a recall.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #18

Jun 212013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 124,500 miles
I filled up my gas tank and while driving for a little bit the fuel gauge when to empty, the light came on and the message read low fuel.

- Westerly , RI, USA

problem #17

Mar 012012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approx a few months back I filled up my gas tank, as I started down the road my gas gauge went from full to empty and my fuel light came on and so did my engine check light. It did it several times throughout the day. By the next day it was fine and has been fine up until about a week ago. The gas gauge is erratic and the engine line comes on. In 2007 when I bought the car I also had issues with it starting up and when I would shut it down it would continuously stay crunked. I took it to the dealership and basically they gave me a document id#2001730 report that it was a normal condition. I still continue to have issues with my car starting. I started to do research on my car and see many complaints about these same issues. I did take it to the dealership and they say the fuel level sensor shorted out and I need to replace fuel pump. I see there is a recall on fuel pumps but apparently not for my vehicle in particular.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 092011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the fuel gauge failed and whenever the vehicle was filled with fuel, the fuel gauge would erroneously display an empty reading. The check engine light was constantly illuminated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure nor was the vehicle taken for inspection or repair. The failure mileage was 61,000...updated 05/09/12 updated 05/14/12

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Nov 222011

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
Fuel gauge always at F and intermittently drops from F to E and beeps low fuel message and then seconds go by and it bounces back to F. it doesn't matter what speed I'm going, stopped. Intermittent check engine light. Searched the web - seems like plenty of the same complaint. Not willing to spend $500 to hope to have the issue resolved! I will continue to track fuel level with notepad and trip indicator.

- Sault Sainte Marie, MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 012011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have only had my 2006 Chevrolet Malibu for 6 weeks, and I already am experiencing 3 major problems. 1. the fuel gauge will go wild anytime gas is added to the tank, and as the weeks have gone by it is less accurate. I only know when my gas tank is full or empty. I have no idea on anything in between. 2. when I will start the car the power steering will not come on with the car. I will have to turn the car off, remove the key and open and shut the door to register the next try as a truly new start. If you fail to open and close the door, the car does not completely power down so it will not recycle. 3. the power steering assist will begin to lock up on me while driving, and I will have to fight the wheel to keep the car going straight. I have let go of the wheel once or twice and the wheel will turn enough in one direction to nearly do a uturn. If this were to happen when a driver was inattentive, im pretty sure it would cause one heck of a accident! the worst part is that the dealer I bought the car from had the car for 8 months, so they must have know about these defects and sold it to me anyways. The dealer put gas in the car before we did the paperwork. I know the guy saw the gas gauge going nuts, and that's why he insisted on being the one to drive the car to the gas station. I think they might have reset the computer to get the car to behave for test drives, because I had only put 40 miles on it before all this stuff started. Certainly not a coincidence.

- Kansas City , KS, USA

problem #13

Jun 142011

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles
Purchased a used Malibu 2 years ago. My car is a 2006 model and now has over 120,000 miles on it. My car started having start- up problems. Some days I would go and try to start my car and it would not start up. This went on off and on for about two months. Finally I took the car to a shop to have checked. Right away I was told the car needed a new fuel pump. The fuel pump was changed. About a week later, I picked up my car from the shop, I went to the market and when I came out of the store, the car would not start up. I called the shop back and had to have the car towed right back to the same shop. This car eventually ended up at the same mechanic shop three times, before I finally decided either the shop was not aware of the (right problem) and changed a fuel pump that was not necessary or I needed to find a more knowledgeable mechanic shop. After taking my car to another certified shop, I was told the mechanic could not find the problem. Several hundred dollars later I am still stuck with a vehicle that will not start up everyday.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #12

Feb 162011

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The fuel gauge malfunctioned and the contact was unable to read the amount of fuel in the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic and the mechanic advised that the fuel tank needed to be dropped in order to diagnose the problem. The contact did not have any repairs performed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Ecorse, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 042010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu ls. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was inoperative and would read that the tank was either empty or full erroneously. The check engine warning light would also illuminate intermittently. The dealer denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle and the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 73,000. Updated 11/16/11 the consumer also stated the catalytic converter was clogged and the vehicle would not accelerate in passing gear. Updated 11/30/11

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 112011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge quite working.

- Buchtel, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 112011

Malibu

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. After adding fuel to the vehicle the contact noticed the fuel gauge display began to fluctuate. The contact stated the fuel gauge reading did not provide an accurate reading on the amount of fuel in the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #8

Nov 012006

Malibu

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering would lock abnormally and without warning while driving various speeds. There was also an abnormal rattling from the steering wheel. In addition, the fuel level gauge would provide erroneous fuel level readings and the interior lighting would malfunction sporadically. The steering failure was repaired under an unknown recall, yet the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where he was unable to duplicate the steering failure but replaced the fuel tank sensor. Later, the contact was involved in an unrelated crash and while having the vehicle repaired, the contact was advised that the steering column was locked defectively and would need replacing. The steering column was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 33,000 and the current mileage was 45,000.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #7

Apr 092011

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 123,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated the odometer failed. While driving 39 mph the mileage increased from 76,000 to 107,700. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated they would run a diagnostic test but the contact does not want to pay the repair cost of $112. The vehicle also suddenly accelerated while driving. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 123,700. The consumer stated there was also a fuel system problem. Updated 06/14/11

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #6

Apr 162011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 78,785 miles
Faulty gas gauge on my GM Chevrolet Malibu. I ran out of gas and was stranded just after the low fuel light went on. I had never run out of gas and just previously during my drive the fuel level read between 1/8 and 1/4 full tank. So the fuel level reading indicated more fuel availability than was actually available in the tank. I probably only went 10 miles after the low fuel light went on and my car has good fuel economy. I think the reading was inaccurate. I have had multiple incidents of random fuel level reading while I was driving, with the low fuel light and bell going off, then later returning to another, not low fuel level, and the low fuel light going off again. This is very frustrating. I feel like I cannot trust the gauge and I reset my trip odometer on every fill-up so I can keep track of how many miles I've driven.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #5

Mar 252011

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, the fuel gauge displayed an inaccurate reading indicating a full capacity level although the fuel tank was empty. Suddenly, the vehicle stalled as a result of the empty fuel tank. The vehicle was refueled and resumed operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the fuel tank sensor was replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #4

Oct 292010

Malibu

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu lt. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact stated that the check engine and fuel lights illuminated, causing the vehicle to shut off. The dealer was notified and advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for a diagnostic test. The manufacturer was contacted, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were approximately 83,000.

- Scottdale, GA, USA

problem #3

Oct 122008

Malibu

  • 37,000 miles
I purchased gas and the gas gauge drops down and fuel light comes on then the check engine light comes on and im getting really frustrated with it. It seems to be getting worse with every fill its jumping up and down.

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #2

Mar 012009

Malibu

  • 59,500 miles
The fuel gauge suddenly drops to empty, then back up again. Check engine light has come on. Started 2 tanks of gas ago.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #1

Aug 102006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to start the vehicle. The dealer performed an oil change and stated that a fuel injection throttle body, fuel injector kit, and double clean were needed; however, this had been done a month ago. The contact was also informed that the calibration was outdated. When entering the vehicle, the clock sometimes needs to be reset. The failure mileage was 5,000 and current mileage was 48,000. Updated 09/10/08. Updated 09/12/08

- Houston, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?