Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
66,568 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 13 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Apr 222010


  • 36,000 miles


I have had my 2008 Chevy Malibu in the garage now 3 times for the same recurring problem. My steering wheel shimmies and then locks up and it's very hard to steer. If I weren't as strong in my hands and arms, I would be dead! it comes and goes but it is a persistent problem that they cannot or will not fix. I was told that they cannot fix something that they didn't diagnose as "broke" and was told it would be too expensive to just start replacing parts randomly that might be the problem. I am very scared to drive my car but have to make a living and am a single mom. I feel this is putting me and my sons life in danger!!!!!!!! there needs to be a recall on this problem in the steering!

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #43

Jan 182009


  • miles
I have a 2008 Chevy Malibu lt. In March of this year the steering wheel started to jerk left and right while driving. It would also jerk while being stopped and while in park.there is also a popping sound or a clunking sound like a bad universal while turning and/or backing up. I noticed this about January of '09. The dealer replaced the brakes and rotors on the front, but the problem did not go away. On 5/12/10 the dealership replaced the left front strut and mount and the intermediate steering shaft. This did not correct the problem. The jerking in the steering wheel comes and goes, it will run fine for a while they itwill start up for a while. There is no warning when this will happen. On 5/30/10 and 5/31/10 the power steering light came on in the information center. I called GM to see if there was a recall on this and there is not. I told them that this is a safety concern and should be looked at. They said that they were looking into it. I went to the Consumer Affairs web ste and seen that this has been a problem since the '05 Malibu (ps control module).there were at least 7 complaints for the '08's on this site that I noticed. About a year ago there was a problem with the door locks not working properly, they would not unlock when the car was put into park nor would the remote work on them. When the left rear door outside handle was used to open the door the door would lock. The dealership could not duplicate the problem. This concerns me because the power steering is electric in this car.

- Saegertown, PA, USA

problem #42

Apr 272010


  • 43,000 miles
I am at about 45K miles on my 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. My console warning of "power steering" came on and with it my steering wheel shakes when I start the car. I don't drive or put it in gear it just shakes! after being told I do not have power steering fluid a GM service dealership told me it sounds like my "electronic motor for power steering" sounds like it needs to be replaced. The cobalt was just recalled for such a problem. I called GM to see if there was a recall for the Malibu and was my expense, I need to have the problem diagnosed, then call them back with the ref# they gave me, and then they will put it in their records!!!! calling and requesting that a recall be put in place was basically ignored. I have explained that if they were to investigate just the blogs about the Malibu they would see thousands of people are having this problem, but are told to fix it themselves. This is really dangerous on so many levels. I have not had an accident, because I am scared to drive most of the time, but I am recording every one of my complaints, because god forbid I get hurt, or worse yet, one of my children, then my lawyer is ready to rip GM apart! I lost my job about a year ago, and for a company who just got bailed out with my tax money, they should think twice before smacking their customers with such arrogance and stupidity.

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #41

May 082010


  • 47,000 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) steering keeps messing up. When I am driving at low or higher speeds (35-60) the steering wheel shakes from let to right. It does this at least once a day. No light on dash showing there is a problem. I have 47,000 miles on my car. I am afraid I will be in the middle of a turn and my steering will go out. I am really scared for my children's safety. This is our family and my work car. Please look into I have done some research and show over 100 complaints on the steering also the 2006 GM cobalt has same steering and the same problems. Please please help for my and my children's safety. [xxx]

- Trenton, FL, USA

problem #40

May 032010


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the steering wheel locked up and began to shake and shimmy. The contact notified the dealer and was told that any repairs would be at his expense. Current and failure mileages were approximately 50,000.

- Savannah , GA, USA

problem #39

Apr 282010


  • 70,000 miles
2008 Malibu the power steering goes out with out warning sometimes on the highway it is very scary this is a big concern to me because this is my wife and kids only transportation.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #38

Apr 302010


  • 50,400 miles


My 2008 Chevrolet Malibu lt will shake violently from side to side and becomes virtually uncontrollable. The first time it happened was in April 2009 with about 2 K miles. I took it to the dealer, they scanned it but no codes were present. The mechanic found a service bulletin where a brake pad problem was referred to regarding this shaking problem, so he replaced the front pads and resurfaced the rotors. The problem recurred in Feb. 2010 with approx. 40 K miles. I again took it in but they said there was nothing wrong. Yesterday 4-10-10 on my way to work it happened again at approx. 70 mph, I thought I was going to crash ! what am I to do ?

- Bowler, WI, USA

problem #37

Apr 012010


  • 43,500 miles
Steering problem with 2008 Chevy Malibu. While driving the steering wheel will go back and forth and hard to control steering. Also, sometimes when engine is on and car not moving the wheel will shake and go back and forth on both sides. Have had the car to a Chevy dealer and they say there is nothing wrong with the car and everything is solid. Also had a wheel and tire check it out and they said the same thing but they say it may be in the rack and pinion system. It is very scary when you have trouble controlling the vehicle.

- Mcalester, OK, USA

problem #36

Jul 212009


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel pulled to the left and then to the right. The contact had to slow down and grip the wheel tight in order to gain control of the vehicle. The failure occurred intermittently but had become progressively worse over time. She also noticed that the door locks had malfunctioned. The wheel bearing was replaced but the doors locks were not repaired when the complaint was filed. The vehicle had not been inspected for the steering failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000. The current mileage was approximately 72,000.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

problem #35

Apr 052010


  • 37,600 miles
Just go over my 36,000 mile warranty, and the power steering problem indicator came up on my dash. The steering wheel starts moving frantically on it's own, whenever it wants to, even if you are driving the car. This could be a big hazard. I call the dealer, and of course it's not included in the power train warranty, even though the power steering is electric in my 2008 4 cylinder Malibu. The dealer also stated no recalls on my Malibu, but this should definitely be a recall, since I see Chevy cobalt is being recalled for the same thing. Please help. I have to take the car in for service, the dealer states it is the power steering electric box or in the power steering column.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #34

Apr 012010


  • 52,000 miles


Steering wheel locking up while driving at 50 - 55 mph. Trouble light on dashboard indicating steering problem. Lock-up same as when car is stopped and transmission lever placed into park position.

- Reedley, CA, USA

problem #33

Apr 012010


  • 32,165 miles
Problem with my 2008 Chevrolet Malibu power steering. Was driving and suddenly the steering had a mind of its own, pulling slightly to the right and then left. Became somewhat lethargic in responsiveness.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #32

Mar 272010


  • 25,334 miles
The steering will suddenly vibrate and cause me to lose control of the car and as a result I have almost gotten into a few accidents.. it happens without warning. The manfacture has a bulletin about this problem but refused to fix it. I then went to a local mechanic who was able to download the correct information into the power steering module. I believe this should be a recall and force the manfacture to correct all effective cars and not get away with refusing to fix it and thus make it look like there is no problem

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #31

Mar 152010


  • 27,423 miles
2008 Chevrolet Malibu steering free wheels at times jerks side to side at times at any speed. Brakes fade at times rumble.this week I contacted General Motors waiting to hear what I should do. Did search on internet and I seen hundreds of people that have same problem.and they say dealer cannot repair.has anyone investigated Malibu steering problems it scares me when it stops working.all at once the steering jerks side to side.hard to turn at low has 27000 miles and has had intermittent problems with steering and brakes since I bought it afraid to take it to dealer they say nothing is wrong with it but I say there wrong.

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #30

Feb 012010


  • 37,000 miles
There was a clunking noise in the steering mechanism, especially at low speed. The dealer stated that it was the intermediate steering shaft. It was replaced at a cost of $371.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #29

Mar 012010


  • miles
I am hearing a "knocking" when I turn the vehicle left or right. This vehicle has had many internet reports of steering problems. I will be taking my vehicle in today March 10,2010 to see if this is in fact the problem. I am just being precautious due to the high volume of complaints before mine. The problem occurs everytime I turn.

- Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 182009


  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2008 Chevy Malibu that has some steering issues. The steering wheel will jerk back and forth while driving or while sitting still, steering wheel makes a popping noise when turning. 2 of the 4 door locks completely quit working electronically. So many more problems, this car is a lemon and GM and the government should be ashamed for making this vehicle car of the year.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

problem #27

Oct 012009


  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 60 mph the steering wheel began to shake and it became difficult to control it. The steering wheel also locked. There were no warning lights prior to the failure. He took the vehicle to the dealer five times. The dealer replaced the intermediate shaft and the computer was reprogrammed, but the failure was not corrected. He will take the vehicle back to the dealer to replace the steering column rod. The failure mileage was 31,000 and the current mileage was 40,000.

- Callbert, OK, USA

problem #26

Oct 102009

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to turn the steering wheel in either direction, there was a hesitation in the vehicle responding to driver input. The dealer replaced the power steering motor in an attempt to correct the failure. Later, while turning the vehicle in either direction, he heard a clanking noise coming from the steering wheel. The dealer added grease to the steering wheel to correct the failure, however the repairs would only last temporarily and he would have to continue having grease added in order for it to function. The dealer stated that the failure would persist for the life of the vehicle and once the vehicle reached 32,000, the repairs would be at the owner's expense. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was approximately 32,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 08/13/10. Updated 08/23/10

- North Cambria, PA, USA

problem #25

Feb 272010


  • 28,800 miles
2008 Chevy Malibu power steering failure.

- Columbia City, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?