Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
67,593 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 7 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #169

Nov 292012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 65,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First time it happen sitting at a red light and the steering wheel jerked out of my hands and a message came a crossed the dash reading power steering it was very hard to steer but I managed to get it off the road turned the car off and let it sit then started the back up and it was working again.it has happen 4 more times since the first time and I was moving those times and you can not steer the car it is very difficult to handle when the power steering stops working I took it back to the dealer ship where I bought it from they told me it was covered on a recall but they had to take it to a GM dealer to have it fixed. Now the GM dealer said it is not covered. But I have found the same problem with alot of Chevy owners with the same year & make & model as mine it is a big safety issue and I have found were GM has sent out recall letters with extended coverage on the power steering for up to 100,000 miles.they know it exist why are they picking and choosing which ones to fix and not to fix. I am afraid to drive it not only put my family in it.they should be held accountable for there product.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #168

Dec 092013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My 2008 Chevy Malibu ltz 4 cylinder lost complete power to the power steering today while driving 10 mph. Luckily I'm young and strong and was able to turn the car into a parking lot and safely exit it. I saw that this model does not have power steering fluid so now I need to contact the dealer and fix this problem as this was very scary. I saw that many many others have had this problem so a recall needs to be made.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #167

Oct 062013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
After turning the car on while still in park, the wheel would jerk from left to right by itself. Also occurred while driving at both low and high speeds. The power steering was failing without warning! it was particularly frightening at high speeds and would happen with no warning. This happened multiple times on many different occasions before the chime sounded and the words power steering appeared on my dash information. After bringing the car to the dealership they fixed it citing the problem as "code 0475 - power steering motor shorted internally, replaced power steering motor and set up new module". the total cost was $847.87. After doing further research I found out that many 2008 Chevrolet Malibu had been recalled for the same exact issue. In two different recall letters released by GM it was stated "2008 model year Chevrolet Malibu...equipped with electric power steering, may have a condition where there is a loss of power steering assist". the letter further stated "for 2008 model year vehicles, dealers will replace the power steering motor control module". which is exactly what needed to be replaced on my vehicle as per my dealership receipt. The letter said "if this condition occurs on your 2008 model year Chevrolet Malibu vehicle within 10 years of the date your vehicle was originally placed in service or 100,000 miles, the condition will be repaired for you at no charge". I contacted GM with my information attempting to be reimbursed. After multiple phone calls and everyone telling me my VIN # was not included in the recall and there was nothing they could do I finally gave up. To add insult to injury Chevrolet sent me a letter stating "please accept this letter worth up to $100 towards your next maintenance service or repair on your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu". I will never buy another car from GM and will spread the word about this issue.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #166

Oct 012012

Malibu

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering assist intermittently failed without warning. In addition, the door locks for all four doors failed to engage when using the key fob remote. Also, when shifting the vehicle into park the doors failed to unlock. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #165

Nov 032013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 76,277 miles
I was driving on Sunday 11-03-2013 and was pulling out of a driveway onto a busy street when, all of a sudden I had no power steering and the words power steering appeared on my dashboard. It took 2 men to help steer the car out of the middle of the road. I had the car towed to the Chevrolet dealer where I bought this car, paul masse Chevrolet, East providence ri. I told them I had received a letter from Chevrolet dated June 2012 addressing this problem, but the letter stated if you do not have this problem, you should not bring the car in for replacement part. The dealer looked at the car and stated the problem was with the torque sensor not the electrical input signal mentioned in the letter, therefore, the repair would be greater than $900. They told me if the module goes out then bring it back and that would be covered. No one seems to care that this is a safety hazard because the car does not have steering with no warning and anyone could get hit or hit me as I am stuck in the middle of some busy street. The dealer would not replace the module mentioned because they said Chevrolet would not reimburse them. I hope you can look into this because looking at complaints on your site there are over 80 complaints regarding this very problem. I also learned Canada recalled these Malibu's for this very same reason. I spoke to someone at your office and she gave me a confirmation # 10551103 however I felt she could not understand my situation and I felt the need to explain it in writing. I hope someone can look into this because it is a safety issue to abruptly loose the ability to control the steering.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #164

Nov 032013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving about 5 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for inspection and it was repaired. The contact was advised that the steering column needed to be replaced and the torque and steering sensor had to be recalibrated. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76000...updated 12-26-13 the consumer stated while turning out of a driveway, onto a busy street a message appeared on the dashboard that read power steering. It took two men to push the vehicle out of the middle of the road.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #163

Apr 282012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While test driving the vehicle on April 28, 2012, I was sitting still on an incline and the wheel began to turn back and forth on its on. The car lot assured me it was motor mounts, an easy fix, and I bought the car. Within a month or two, the steering became increasingly worse. Today, November 5, 2013, I was driving the vehicle and without warning, the power steering went out on the freeway and I am a petite woman(weighing in at around 110 lbs.) so it was very hard for me to regain control of the vehicle. The ending cost for my vehicle is around 15,000 and it has only been a year and a half since the time I purchased it. I can't afford to replace the entire steering column.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #162

Nov 022013

Malibu

  • 115,508 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 30 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 115,508.

- Louisburg, TN, USA

problem #161

Aug 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 69,800 miles
Steering wheel shakes while car is idling and driving. Problem was intermittent. Power steering would fail while driving, pulling vehicle to the left.GM had recalled many 2008 Malibu vehicles for the same problem. Steering wheel warning light would emit. I checked with my local dealer and they said it was covered. Replaced defective part, problem solved. 2 weeks later received a bill for the repair, the bill stated it wasn't covered since my VIN didn't fall in the brackets of vins for repair.GM doesn't seem to want to do anything about it either. The dealer didn't contact me concerning the non coverage, just sent me a bill. This failure could have caused an accident as it would pull the car into oncoming traffic.this is a known problem and not sure why GM won't cover my vehicle.their attitude seems that since the VIN doesn't fall in the category, it's not their problem.

- Diller, NE, USA

problem #160

Oct 212013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 136,194 miles
Car steering wheel shakes while in park also shakes uncontrollably while driving. Very hard to control vehicle while driving! power steering light comes on. This problem has been recalled in Canada. This problem is very unsafe and will cause a serious accident! please help! this needs to be recalled in the United States! took the car to dealer and said the problem is caused by the power steering motor being defaulted.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #159

Aug 102013

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on straight road and car suddenly pulled right onto the shoulder. It felt like the car lost its steering capacity. Tried to correct the steering onto the road and then car spun 180, then hit ditch. Car rolled over 100 ft. In air and landed on wheels. The front, nor side air bags deployed even when car struck the side on the ground. Canada has recalled 67,000 vehicles due to power steering motor control module defective. GM needs to recall these in the us before someone gets killed. (it almost killed us if we didn't have our seatbelts on!)

- La Junta, CO, USA

problem #158

Sep 062013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I reported this problem in Nov of 2011, and Chevy fixed my car at no charge because it had under 12K miles. The problem has returned and now because it is no longer under warranty, I am expected to pay for a defect which is so severe that Canada has recalled 67K vehicles that have the exact same problem. www.autoblog.com/2012/10/03/GM-recalling-67K-Chevy-Malibu-Pontiac-G6-and-Saturn-aura-models/ the steering module that was installed on my car in Nov 2011 is just as defective as the original part that failed on my Malibu when it was made in 2008. There is no recall or recourse for owners of these vehicles in the usa, so we are forced to either trade in our car or pay hundreds of dollars to replace parts that Chevy knows is defective. Please help before someone gets killed driving these cars!

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #157

May 032013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Like some of the other Malibu owners, my 2008 started shimmying while idling, and also sticking while driving. I took the car to a local shop and they had to replace the steering shaft, steering column assembly, and the ps module. They called GM to see if there was a recall issued, and there is none. My car has 37,000 miles on it; I should not have to be dealing with a steering issue at this point, especially to the tune of $1600! by all rights, GM should do the right thing and issue a recall on the steering system.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #156

Dec 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Steering wheel shakes back and forth uncontrollably 3/4 of the time while driving. It also does it when the vehicle is idle and in park. There has been numerous complaints about this issue. This is a safety issue and needs to be recalled immediately. Families lives are at stake. Many people have posted videos on youtube and have filed complaints about the problem. Here is an example www.youtube.com/watch?V=eoh5mq4X4cg GM needs to take care of its people considering the people took care of them a.K.a. "bailout".

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #155

Jun 012013

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
Starting in June of 2013, our 2008 Chevy Malibu starting having steering issues. Regardless of what speed you traveled, whether it be 20 or 55mph, the steering wheel starting jerking left to right on its own. It would stop, and then sporadically start back up again. We visited our local auto shop and they told us it was the ball joints. After spending $400, we found that the problem did not go away. After doing some research online, we found an entire community of 2008 Chevy Malibu owners who had experienced this same thing. www.gminsidenews.com/forums/F31/steering-column-module-08-Malibu-71371/index2.html www.batauto.com/forums/index.php"topic=11400.0 and some video: www.youtube.com/watch?V=zr62gjnh1gm www.youtube.com/watch"V=eoh5mq4X4cg and these models were recalled in Canada for a power steering issue: www.autoblog.com/2012/10/03/GM-recalling-67K-Chevy-Malibu-Pontiac-G6-and-Saturn-aura-models/ after doing this research, we recently just took our Malibu to our nearest Chevy dealer, diamond Chevy in auburn, MA. They told us that it was not under any kind of warranty. After doing diagnostics, they told us it was indeed the power steering motor control module, which is the same thing that the above mentioned owners were experiencing. We were quoted at $956 for parts and labor to repair this. We feel that this issue is a very serious safety issue and defect of the 2008 Chevy Malibu. Us, and it appears many other drivers have experienced this problem, and it was deemed serious enough in Canada to recall. While you can't put a price on safety, we feel that it is an extreme injustice that we should have to pay $900 + out of pocket for a problem that a) effects our safety so extremely and B) is not considered normal "wear and tear". I beg you to please consider a recall on this model Malibu.

- Dudley, MA, USA

problem #154

Jul 282013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 138,480 miles
The steering wheel started rapidly moving side to side while my wife was driving our 2008 Malibu. The faster she drove, the worse the problem got. When she came to a stop, the steering wheel continued to move side to side. She turned the car around and went home. The next day I took the car to a Firestone complete auto care center. The mechanic said the problem was in the electronic steering assembly and the whole steering wheel assembly would probably have to be replaced. He estimated the cost to be around $1500. This is a huge safety issue. I hope Chevy issues a recall before someone gets killed.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #153

Jul 282013

Malibu

  • 50,900 miles
While driving I noticed the steering wheel was moving side to side. Had to hold on to prevent the car from going off the road. Even when stopped at a light or in park I can visibly see the wheel moving left and right. Afraid to drive now until I figure out the problem. Huge safety issue that needs investigation.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #152

Feb 282013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The steering wheel shakes and vibrates on and off. Now I get a message power steering. My husband looked online and there over three or four pages of consumers with the same issues, power steering column and GM has not put out a recall. The consumer must make the repairs of approximately 700 to 1500. I do not have money or credit. I may have to give the car back as I am unable to drive it. It is a shame that GM will not step up and fix this known issue.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #151

Jun 032013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the electronic power assist failed. The wheels started to shake, there was a warning chime that sounded and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 53,000.

- Newfane, NY, USA

problem #150

Jun 012013

Malibu

  • 51,000 miles
Steering was a fight to keep the car in lane steering wheel shaking like it was trying to steer it's self thought is was going to run off the road this needs to be recalled researched online found hundreds of the same complaint what will it take to force a recall someone dyeing I cant let anyone drive this car.

- Kettering, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?