Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,615 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Jul 092016

Malibu

  • 179,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While operating the vehicle, the traction control, brake, and ESC sensor lights illuminated. Also, the brake lights would illuminate even though the brake pedal was not depressed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, service brakes). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 179,000. Updated 10/04/16

- East Alton, IL, USA

problem #64

Jul 012014

Malibu

  • miles
The break lights turn on without the pedal being press down while the car moving. Also while the car in not moving and the engine running. Also another problem that I have is that tire monitor light come on all the time without the tire needing air.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #63

Mar 012016

Malibu

  • miles
Consistent problems with headlamps failing frequently. Alternator fine. Cause is due to corrosion of the wiring and wiring harness. Manufacturer defect prevents replacement of headlamps, wires or wiring harnesses without removing front bumper, wheel and wheel well, making maintenance virtually impossible. Headlamps failed in October 2014 and again in March of this year. General Motors unwilling to help with problem. When operating the vehicles in low light conditions or at night, insufficient lighting makes it difficult to spot other vehicles, pedestrians, animals and other road hazards.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #62

Mar 012016

Malibu

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My passenger side low beam headlight works intermittently. I had the bulb replaced two months ago. I'd say it works about half the time. This is at all times, both moving and stationary and on city streets or highwys.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #61

Feb 052015

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles
My driver side headlight keeps going out I've replaced it many time. The wire harness gets really hot and melts the wires.

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #60

Dec 212015

Malibu

  • 52,000 miles
While driving my car the traction control light flashes and the service ESC light flashes in the dash of my car. My brake light remain on at all time, when I mash the brakes no brake light comes on. The brake light is doing the opposite of what it is supposed to be doing. This occured months after I had recall work done (at a certified GM dealer) under GM recall number 13036 and NHTSA campaign number 14V252000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #59

Dec 042015

Malibu

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

High mounted brake light randomly works, similar to previous recall. Chevy dealer tries to tell me light is "fried" when it actually works, intermittently. GM has yet to contact me on whether they will cover the cost

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #58

Nov 182015

Malibu

  • 56,000 miles
Rt front headlight became inoperative took vehicle to Chevrolet dealership for repair mechanic found headlight connector burned and melted--light bulb connector burned possibility of electrical fire

- Maywood, IL, USA

problem #57

Jul 052015

Malibu

  • 93,000 miles
There was a recall for the wiring harness related to these problems..rk Chevrolet in vineland, NJ repaired it supposedly. Days after the warranty on socalled repair the problem persisted yet again and I returned to dealership they said there was no problem with it...gave me codes for something else which did not relate to what is wrong...I'm getting nowhere with this and it is not safe to drive this vehicle which is needed for family transportation and work.ESC light stays on, traction control stays on, brake lights come on while driving but not when braking.

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #56

Oct 202015

Malibu

  • 82,997 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at any speed, the brake light illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. In addition, the instrument panel lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic stability control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in a NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,997.

- Mountplesant, TN, USA

problem #55

Oct 072015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the third brake light illuminated independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the third brake light wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000....updated 02/19/16

- Pumpkin Plains, NJ, USA

problem #54

Oct 062012

Malibu

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving various speeds, the passenger side headlight failed to work without warning. The contact stated that the bulb was changed; however, the failure recurred. The contact also stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and would not recognize if someone were seated in the passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Gloucester, VA, USA

problem #53

Jul 012013

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 30 mph, the contact noticed smoke coming from the front passenger side head lamp. In addition, both the passenger and driver side high and low beam head lamps failed to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the wiring harness and the head lamp assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact also stated that while at a stop light, "service ESC, service traction. ESC off" was displayed across the message board. The ESC warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #52

Aug 152014

Malibu

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the rear brake lights illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the brake lights remained illuminated after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 118,000.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #51

Sep 102015

Malibu

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake lights constantly remained illuminated. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact mentioned that the brake light briefly deactivated when the brake pedal was depressed and illuminated afterwards. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake switch, the brake assembly light, and the multifunction switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #50

Jun 272014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to body control module connection system recall reimbursement. The consumer stated in June 2014, the vehicle wasn't running smoothly. It seemed to exhibit a jerk motion and felt as though it was going to stall. The ESC light would illuminate and then go out. The dealer made some repairs on June on June 27, 2014. After the repairs were made, the consumer received a recall letter. However, the parts were not available. GM informed the consumer, the repairs were not covered by the recall. According to the invoice, the fuel injector wire was replaced. Recall # 14V252000 updated 12/30/15.

- Geneva, IL, USA

problem #49

Sep 292014

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
First issue happened with the driver low beam not working then work again a few days later. The problem keeps going on from passenger and driver low beams. I've noticed the connectors were melted and changed them and they would both work for a few weeks then one would go out again. Second issue is the passenger airbag doesn't turn on when passengers are in the vehicle. It works sometimes but not everytime. Third issue is the passenger side door locks. The door locks work sometimes and again not everytime like they should. There's a lot of people reporting these same issues but nothing gets done unless it's out of our pockets.

- Homeland, GA, USA

problem #48

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
After the completion of repairs for recall 13036 in the fall of 2014 I was informed that my high mount break light was no longer function. After doing a great deal of research I have learned that a great number of consumers are facing the same challenge. My light worked without issues until the recall work was done on my car. The dealership stated that it was not warranty covered nor were they liable for the malfunction. It seems there is a direct connection between the recall repairs and these lights no longer functioning.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #47

May 282015

Malibu

  • 76,555 miles
Bought my 2009 Chevy Malibu ltz in April 2015 in May 2015 my service ESC service traction control lights started to come on and my taillights are lighting up as if on the breaks when I am not.( they come on while I am stoped at a red light have never come on while moving) returned to the dealership where I got my car and the lights were off so they said they could not do anything until the lights were on(the lights reset when I shut my car off). They came on last night went to Chevy dealership last night 7/20/2015 and they told me to replace the break pedal switch and we did that but my break lights are still coming on when they want, it looks like there was a recall for this before I got my car and I don't know if it was fixed or not and if it could be fixed again under the recall...... very unhappy about this.

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #46

Dec 042012

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The passenger front headlight burned out. I took it to the dealership and had it replaced. Within a week or so, it had burned back out. At that time the dealership determined that the entire headlight assembly needed to be replace. I researched the problem on.chevymalibuforum.com and this is apparently very common.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?