Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,945 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Sep 152015

Malibu

  • 62,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 9/15/15 I was making a right hand turn from a red light when I heard a loud pop or bang from my front end, when I stepped on the gas the car would not accelerate. My car was out of warranty so after complaining to the dealership and GM they finally had it towed to the dealer (after 2 weeks) to have it fixed or looked at. The check engine light that was on at the time reset it self but the 2codes found in the computer were the P0716 and P0717 transmission codes but since they were historic (which the check engine light has never come on except for the break light issue) the dealership said my car was fine. I picked it up and off I went. 12 days later the vehicle bucked making a left turn, and the vehicle would not accelerate and the check engine light was back on. I was forced to drive to the dealership when the vehicle would not come out of 1st gear. The transmission was shredded. They would not tell me what codes were in the computer this time. But as I stated was an issue with vehicles from 2007 -2009 the 3-5 wave plate broke and contaminated my transmission. The car is still not 100% running right. The car still hesitates and jumps and has a hard shift with issues accelerating.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #41

Jul 312015

Malibu

  • 68,924 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving various speeds, the engine rpms rapidly increased, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was merged to side of the road and parked on the shoulder where he switched from automatic to manual and proceeded driving. The shift lever failed to shift from second to third. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,924.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #40

Jul 092015

Malibu

  • 86,641 miles
I was driving through the intersection and the vehicle just stopped while going about 15-20 mph. The check engine light came on and I attempted to push the vehicle. The ABS has engaged and the vehicle would not move. Until giving gas and letting vehicle rev up to 4,000 RPM it jumped into gear and began to drive normal again. Now the vehicle drives but revs at 2-3 gear and then just slows down, there were 13 fault reads from cpu which were all transmission control module fault and cpu malfunction. This happened out of no where and standard maintenance does get performed. I am told my warranty expired 2 months ago because they said that's the month it went to the dealership. I thought it went off when the vehicle was driven off the lot. I am due to pcs in 56 days to a new duty station and now my family and I are in a bind, I love Chevrolet but I am at a loss right now with a very unsafe vehicle that will drive fine and out of no where rev up and just stop.

- Ogden, KS, USA

problem #39

May 022015

Malibu

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated. In addition, the rpms failed and the gear shift became inoperable. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,000....updated 06-16-15.

- Elk Grove , CA, USA

problem #38

Jan 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at various speeds, the service ESC, traction control, and reduced engine power warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle independently lost power. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not taken in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Muskego, WI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Apr 232015

Malibu

  • 94,600 miles
My 2010 Chevy Malibu lt 2.4L won't go into park and shifter feels loose. If I put it in park position it slides down to reverse. In order to take the key out the ignition I have to set my emergency brake put the shifter to (P) and take my keys out. When I do that I don't know if the parking is engaged or in reverse. Everything else works and drives just fine. I took it to a transmission shop and they told me that the component has a NHTSA safety recall in effect campaign # 12V460000. They recommended to take the car to the Chevy dealer...I took the car to Chevy dealer and they told me that there is no recall on that. Only recalls they have is #13036- #10085. They couldn't see my car at the moment do to being backed up. So I took it to Toyota and they took it in. They told me they found shifter cable ripped and inop causing vehicle not to engage into gears properly. It seems that NHTSA safety recall #12V460000 sounds about right with what I read online.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #36

Apr 072015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 82,640 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ESC and traction graphic and text alarms have been initializing intermittently while driving at various speeds since March 2015. On 4/7/2015 and again on 4/13/2015, after starting the car these two alarms initialized along with the power steering alarm and there was a loss of power steering. In each case, turning off the engine reset the alarms and the power steering restored. Loss of power steering at highway speeds particularly in a curve or while making a turn could cause a serious accident. I now feel very unsafe and insecure while driving this vehicle.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #35

Apr 012015

Malibu

  • 74,000 miles
My car wouldn't move after shifting into reverse. I immediately called GM, because my car is till covered under the power tran warranty. Car gets towed to webb dealership( very poor customer service). They replace the transmission on Thursday 040/09. Receive a call from [xxx] with webb Chevy stating and I quote. "[xxx] the transmission was replaced successfully, but you have other problems the check engine light is on and the car will not get any power to accelerate. In order for us to diagnose the problem you would need to have another diagnostic test done for 119.00". get call today from [xxx] saying oh we did the diagnostic test and it came back its the throttle body needs replacing its no good and the cost will be $513.41 plus tax. How could this be "????? why isn't this covered under the power tran warranty??" the throttle body is related to the engine... I am confused and very upset and disappointed with GM poor services and vehicle and webb Chevy. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Blue Island, IL, USA

problem #34

Mar 162015

Malibu

  • 74,200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 15 mph, the vehicle made an abnormal noise and accelerated without warning. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,200.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #33

Feb 042015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 74,701 miles
When my wife, two kids, and myself were driving to a friends house to take care of their pets, our Chevy Malibu experienced a severe drop in power. We were driving at about 75 mph when all of a sudden our car dropped to 10 miles per hour and was violently shaking. I was lucky enough to pull off to the side of the road without being rear ended due to the sudden drop in speed. While on the side of the road I observed the traction control and check engine lights were on. Error messages displayed in the information screen to "check traction control" and "reduced engine power". also while I was on the shoulder of the interstate, my car was attempting to jerk forward with the brake pedal fully pressed. I had placed my car in park and turned my car off fearing that at any moment the car could take off without me wanting it to. After we were calmed down, I turned the car back on and their was no more jerking motion, the traction control light was not lit, but the check engine light was still on. I fear for my families safety while in our only family car with this issue considering the drastic drop in power and speed while traveling at highway speeds.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #32

Jan 312015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 81,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was traveling down the road and just stopped moving. Found that a lot of GM products have 3-5-R clutch wave plate problems. This is very dangerous if this were to occur at a high rate of speed on a busy highway.

- Milan, OH, USA

problem #31

Jan 232015

Malibu

  • 101,365 miles
Stopped at a red light, accelerated, vehicle would not change gears. Engine light came on. Vehicle will not go in reverse. GM dealership says a new transmission is needed. Warranty expired 1/24/15. Asking GM for assistance for repairs. Vehicle is only 4 years old. Cost $3700 to $4500.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #30

Nov 032014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. In addition, while in reverse, the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Tinley Park , IL, USA

problem #29

Jan 152015

Malibu

  • 83,492 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle would jerk as the ESC and the traction control warning lights illuminated. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the map sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,492.

- Holland , TX, USA

problem #28

Jan 062015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 18,100 miles
Drove car around town with no problems, came home, put car in park on level street and left it running for 2 minutes, got back in car put in reverse and noticed car shifter was a little stiff. In the process of putting my car in the garage, going from drive to reverse a couple of times, I noticed it took quite a bit of strength to get shifter to move from one gear to another. I went in the house and got online to see if anyone else had the same problem and if there was a recall for this. I did see there is a general recall from GM for several vehicles, my year and make included. The problem is the tabs on the shift linkage come off and not only cause the shifter to be real stiff, but cause the little silver button on the side of the shifter to stick and not come back out after pressed making it impossible to change gears, causes is the shifter to appear to be in "park" but it really isn't and the car ends up rolling after the driver leaves it, people have had problems getting their keys to come out of the ignition because the car wasn't actually in park even though the shift lever was in the park position. I called the Chevrolet dealer in watsonville, ca and they said it sounds like my car does have a problem with the shift linkage, but my car wasn't on the recall list, and even though my car only has 18,100 miles on it, it is out of warranty, so I would have to pay for this fix. I then reported the problem to GM with senior advisor [xxx], operator #[xxx], please refer to case #[xxx]. I feel my car should be included in the recall since it was experiencing one of the same problems described in the recall. Please look into this and get back to me. I would like a contact person I can work with on this. I would like to avoid safety problems for myself and others. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #27

Sep 182014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
I was stopped to wait on oncoming cars to pass to turn left onto a street. As I was about to turn with my children in the car the steering wheel locked up and would not turn.if, my steering wheel would have not been turned already, as I was getting ready to turn, I would have been hit on the right side where my child was sitting. I had no option but to drive up on the curb. This is the same situation as the 2008 and 2009 model Malibu's which have a recall on them for steering:electric power assist system GM's recall #14V15300 recalled 3/31/14. Obviously this recall needs to be added to the 2010 model since it is still occuring. I took my car to the freeland chev. Where they had to replace the entire steering column due to the bad torque sensor. This cost me $689 to replace, I feel GM should take responsibility for this and add the 2010 model Malibu to the recall list so that I can be reimbursed for their error and so their customers that put trust in purchasing their vehicles are safe. To note I have contacted and spoke with several reps at GM none of which offered any type of help with this matter.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #26

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
When I try to put my car in park it will not go into the park position. I have to put the car in neutral with the emergency brakes on in order to turn the car off. The key can not be removed and I have to disconnect the battery. The gears automatically slides from R to L without pressing the button. I was told there was a recall in 2012 for the shift lever and that the part expired a year later when the previous owner had it. I recently purchased the vehicle 8 months ago. I have taken my car to Chevrolet and they confirm it is the shift lever. I am required to pay for the fix even though there was a recall almost 2 years ago which appears to me to be the same problem.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #25

Sep 182014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Car was recalled for #13036 from estero bay Chevrolet 9/05/2014 estero Florida.the car is still malfunctioning. Taken car back to dealer, they stated they check the work done. The car still shift out park and gets stuff in park and will not shift out without forcing the shifter and the brake. 9/18/2014 taken car back to dealer and told them the car is still malfunctioning. The said it did not do it for them. I stated you need to drive the car for at least half hour to malfunction. I feel GM is trying to fix the problem the cheapest way possible, by placing a washer and grease on the wire harness. I feel the entire BCM ( brake stabilty comtrol module) wire harness should be replaced. They have has the car for 2.1/2 days anc ould not fix it. I have proceeds to call GM about this problem.. I have not driven this car in 5 months because of the problems to the car. This car is used by my daughter and my infant grandson. I now have been making car payments on it for 5 months and could not use it. Very disappointmend in GM..

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #24

Sep 152014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 95,555 miles
I was trying to reverse my 2010 Chevrolet Malibu ls when I realized I couldn't get my car out of park. The shift cable in my transmission is broken! this same shift cable that was replaced during the first round of recalls back in early 2013 is now broken!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #23

Jul 252014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 53,143 miles
Shaking, with the traction control and engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. Contact also stated that the gas pedal sank to the floor. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who stated the at the throttle body and connector needed to be replaced to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53143. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bronx, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?