Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,008 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Apr 242014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 66,478 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Chevrolet Malibu brake lights stay on without brake pedal being pressed and go off once pedal is pressed...this is a serious issue that I have researched and found common among this model and other GM models. I believe that a recall should be issue immediately to fix this issue.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #20

Mar 302014

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated independently without the contact depressing the brake pedal. The contact also mentioned that all of the door locks would independently lock and unlock while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Grandview, MO, USA

problem #19

Apr 012012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The headlamps provide poor visibility. The illumination of the low beams is only about 15 feet in front of the vehicle. This requires us to drive with the high beams on most of the time. However, when oncoming traffic are coming, we switch back to low beams. We have tried various light bulbs but that didn't fix the issue. My husband has physically tried to tilt the light bulbs, but that doesn't work either. There needs to be a redesign of the headlamps to provide better visibility. Poor visibility can cause accidents. We purchased this vehicle as a used vehicle in April 2012. I have always had this problem, just decided it was time to report it.

- Springfield, TN, USA

problem #18

May 102013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brake light comes on when the brake pedal is not being pushed. It doesn't matter if the car is sitting in park or being driven on the highway, the brake light stays on when the pedal is not pushed. When the brake pedal is pushed, the brake light goes off.

- Edgewood, KY, USA

problem #17

Oct 212013

Malibu

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated the brake lamp would illuminate independently without the brake pedal being depressed. When the contact did depress the brake pedal, the brake lights would fail to illuminate. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Lancaster, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Aug 162012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The brake lights on our 2010 Chevy Malibu, turn on while driving but turn off when the brake pedal is pressed. After tapping the brake pedal, the brake lights then stay off for approximately 4 seconds, then illuminate on their own again. When this occurs, the cruise control does not work and the service ESC and service traction warnings are displayed. This problem occurs intermittently and for varying periods of time.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #15

Sep 102013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the cruise control failed to engage and the brake lights failed to operate intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 58,000. The current mileage was 58,200. Updated 11/13/13 according to the invoice, the brake lights illuminated when they were not needed and did not illuminate when the brake was applied. The dealer replaced the brake pedal position sensor. Updated 11/14/13

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #14

Jul 062013

Malibu

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, she was stopped by law enforcement and asked why she was depressing the brakes for such long periods of time. The contact determined that the brake light was illuminating when not depressing the brakes and would not illuminate when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis where the contact was informed that the brake light sensor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, one week later the failure recurred. The dealer replaced the brake sensor a second time and the failure recurred the following day. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 53,000.

- New Virginia, IA, USA

problem #13

Aug 122013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The brake lights do not come on when the brake pedal is pressed. They stay on as if I am always applying the brakes. When I press the pedal they go off. I understand there may be a recall but when I called local Chevrolet dealerships there is no recall on my VIN.

- Knightdale, NC, USA

problem #12

Aug 142013

Malibu

  • miles
The cruise control in my vehicle has stopped working as of 8/15/13. On 8/14/13, the cruise control stopped working but then about 20 minutes or so later, it started working again. I have tried resetting the cruise control by turning the control on and off however this was unsuccessful. I have also been experiencing a problem with my dash lights going on and off. It happens at random times so there is no specific incidents that cause this to occur. This has been occurring for about a year now.

- Sneads Ferry, NC, USA

problem #11

Jun 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the service ESC/service traction lights flash. When this happens the brake lights malfunction turning off when the brake pedal is pushed and on while I'm accelerating. Updated 8/22/13

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #10

Aug 092013

Malibu

  • 70,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving various speeds, the brake lights erroneously illuminated. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,500.

- Martinsville, IN, USA

problem #9

Jul 292013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 25,434 miles
Vehicle brake lights stay activated when brake is not applied. When brakes are applied, brake lights deactivate (opposite of what should occur). During this time cruise control does not work and warning indicator light "service traction control" appears. Vehicle was taken to Chevrolet dealership on 7/30/13 and dealer replaced brake sensor (part # 22666955) after finding that brake lights were faulty. Reporting party has supporting documentation.

- Chatham, IL, USA

problem #8

Jul 202013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 55,500 miles
After the cruise control stopped working on my Malibu, I noticed that the brake lights were staying on while driving. The brake lights are on while driving normally, then when the brake peddle is pressed lightly the lights turn off. After the peddle is depressed quite a bit (while braking for stopping or to make a sharp turn) the brake lights will turn back on. After releasing the brakes all the way, the lights will turn off and then back on again a few seconds later. Every time the brake lights turn on, the cruise control stops working.

- L'anse, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 132013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Brake lights remain on while driving, turn off momentarily but then turn back on. Service traction control notice appeared immediately after.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 172013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
While driving vehicle, the brake lights will illuminate without pressing the brake pedal. Once the brake pedal is pressed, the brake lights go out and will come back on approximately 5 seconds later. In an emergency stop, the driver behind me will not have warning that there is an emergency stop. Additionally, the cruise control will turn off as the system believes the brakes are being applied when they are not. This will happen without warning while driving on the highway.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 162012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The brake lights will go on for no reason while I am pressing the gas and then when I press the brake, they will shut off. As well as when I turn on the hazards, my traction light will switch on and when I turn them off the light stays on saying "service traction" and then the left tail light blinker shorts out and pretends like it is going out and will blink rapidly. Then when the brake light issue is happening my cruise control will be faulty. There is a short or something happening with the wiring, it has been bad for a while now. I haven't gotten around to actually doing anything about it until I read this: www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/03/12/GM-recall-feds-midsize-Chevrolet-Malibu-Saturn-aura_N_2862354.html.

- Newton Falls, OH, USA

problem #4

Oct 082011

Malibu

  • 51,729 miles
Driving down the freeway at night with my cruise control on. All of a sudden it turns off and I notice my brake lights illuminated in my rear view mirror. I tap the brake only to have them come back on. It kept doing it for about 20 miles then stopped. It has happened on numerous occasions and Chevy has failed to do anything about the problem. I feel unsafe driving this vehicle. I have all my documentation of dealer records for this.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #3

May 022012

Malibu

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the brake lights illuminated without the brake pedal being engaged. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation and when the contact was driving at any speed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Techachapi, CA, USA

problem #2

May 092012

Malibu

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake lights failed and would illuminate without the brake pedal being depressed. The contact stated that he would depress the brake pedal and the light would remain illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Lakewood , OH, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?