Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,619 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Spark engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Spark:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Spark Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

May 262016

Spark

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark. The contact stated that the vehicle revved abnormally and accelerated even while the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle operated normally until it was remedied per NHTSA campaign number: 16V422000(electrical system, equipment). The vehicle was returned to the dealer, but the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 24,000.

- American Canyon, CA, USA

problem #24

Apr 022015

Spark

  • 300 miles
The check engine light starts flashing and the traction light comes on, then the car loses its ability to accelerate properly and shakes all over like it's about to fall apart. This is particularly dangerous when I'm on the highway and the car suddenly forces itself to go slower and won't accelerate beyond 20-30 mph if I'm fully revving the engine. It is an unpredictable on and off issue that the dealership has yet to see and is not related to temperature as the issue has occurred in all 4 seasons. As of last week, the acceleration and shaking issues have started occurring without the check engine or traction lights to warn me it's happening again.

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #23

Jul 062016

Spark

  • 39,000 miles
Went to store a couple miles from home, came out of store and car would not start. Thinking maybe the battery was at fault I tried jumping the battery and still nothing so turned the ignition off and took keys and got ride home. Then upon returning to store to pick up items purchased the car was running without the keys and the ignition was in the off position. I had the woman come out of the store to see this. And it also freaked me out on how this could happen. Then I called vic koenig in carbondale, Illinois where I purchased the car, and at first they said it wasn`T covered under warranty because it had 39,000 and warranty ran out at 36,000 and that they never heard of that where a car just starts up without the ignition turned on. They wanted me to bring it in, I was afraid to even drive it so I called Napa down the road and a couple of there mechanics come over to see that it had started with the ignition turned off. So then they gave me a ride home and the other one took the car back to Napa garage to disconnect the battery cable and see if that would shut it off, for I did not even want to step foot in the car.

- Vienna, IL, USA

problem #22

Apr 092016

Spark

  • 49,966 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine light came on, and it was an issue to find out what was causing a rough start and a warning I could lose power. After I took my car to my shop, he found that my fuel injector was the cause of my problem. PO301 cylinder misfire #1 injector plugged. I was parked, and when I turn on my car, the engine light stayed on when the other lights went off.,

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #21

Jun 172014

Spark

  • miles
We bought are 2014 Chevrolet Spark new and since we have had it these are the problems we have had. Four times we have went to start the car turned key and nothing happens, no warning lights nothing it's like there is no battery in car also key gets hot and 3 times we have lost power, once turning from a traffic light pushed gas pedal would not go over 2 miles an hour let off pedal pressed again bogged down let off pedal again then when pressed it the car shifted hard and took off fast. We took the car to dealer 3 times the service department said nothing wrong fed up called Chevrolet corperation took it back out to dealer they said still nothing wrong. Fed

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 172016

Spark

  • 0 miles
Recall my RPM is going up to 6 and 7 RPM range before it shift into the next gear or level. It is hard to go up hills. Now it is burning more gas now.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #19

Feb 152015

Spark

  • 188 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car accelerates on its own when braking which is highly dangerous in traffic as car jumps forward when it does this. Continuously runs at over 4000rpm. Car stalls when accelerating making pulling out into traffic or coming off an exit ramp quite difficult and will rev on its own while driving. Continuous engine noise as if car is being redlined. Car also has difficulty going in reverse. Emergency brake does not hold properly. Car will roll backward when in drive and on a small incline. Electrical issues with car where stereo will spontaneously change stations and the dash lights will flicker. Have made complaints to GM continuously and had in dealership more than 11 times for repair of issue. Car was bought in Feb 2015, first taken in to dealership for issue in Feb 2015. It is now Feb 2016 and GM refusing to address issue. Car falls under lemon law and they are stalling to wait out time frame.

- Manassas Park, VA, USA

problem #18

May 132015

Spark

  • 21,036 miles
From May 2015 to Sept. 2015, my vehicle high-revved and died on the highway three times... the same three lights would come on: Traction control, check engine, reduced engine power. Due to the timing of incidents, autonation refused to accept the vehicle although it was warrantied. I called GM corporate and explained that this was a danger to the safety of others and jeopardized my life, and they made attempts to remedy the situation at hand.. autonation called and apologized for the lack of customer service, but they did not schedule an appointment to find the problem. On a day off from work, I took it to the same autonation to have them run diagnostics, and the turned me away. This happened a document three times. I took it to another Chevy house, and they also refused the car. Driving it endangered my life as well as other drivers. Fast forward a couple months, I find out the throttle body is bad, and no recall has been put out. On a separate occasion, condensation had begun on the interior of my vehicle. Upon further inspection, my floorboards were sopping wet, and water began to fill the cab of my car. Autonation did find that a hose had been cut and had been leaking fluid throughout the cab. Today, 2-9-16 at appx. 0426, my vehicle began filling the cab with noxious fumes and smoking upon parking from underneath the hood for no obvious reason. No lights or chimes initiated inside the vehicle. This vehicle could have set fire at any moment had I kept driving. This vehicle is very dangerous to myself and those around, and no one at autonation takes it seriously. I hope by advancing my problems with the 2014 Chevy Spark will steer potential buyers the other way, and I also hope that GM will do the right thing and buy the car back. When a car dies on the most dangerous highway in Texas for no reason and starts smoking, there is obviously something wrong.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 012014

Spark

  • 1,500 miles
The vehicle will randomly rev and stall. Took vehicle in to be repair on five occasions dealers drive it for maybe 30 miles and say issue can not be found.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 292015

Spark

  • 17,756 miles
Hello, below is an email detailing the issue I sent to hertz which I rented the car from hello, as a reoccurring hertz customer, I wanted to make hertz aware of a severe safety issue with a Chevrolet Spark that I recently rented. While on I-95 in Connecticut, the car turned off completely and I lost power steering and power brakes. I was able to safely pull over and restart the car. If I as a driver had anything to do with the car turning off, the only logical explanation is that my knee touched the keychain which caused the key in the ignition to turn off. Such a light tap of my right knee while I am driving to potentially be the reason a car turns off is of great concern. I would like to keep renting with hertz but this incident has damaged my respect for hertz rented vehicles. Because of this incident, I would appreciate hertz inspecting this vehicle and providing reimbursement and other relief. Below is the information on the rental: Sincerely, [xxx] rental agreement no:[xxx] invoice date: 03/30/2015 document: [xxx] rental reference rental agreement no:[xxx] reservation id: [xxx] frequent traveler: ZE1 I.T. no.: vstate voucher: [xxx] rate plan: In: vstate [xxx] rented on: [xxx] la guardia ap NY, NY returned on: 03/29/2015 17:15 loc# 190110 la guardia ap NY, NY car description: [xxx] veh. No.: [xxx] car class charged: A mileage in: 17,756 rented: A out: 16,895 reserved: A driven: 861 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Long Island City, NY, USA

problem #15

Nov 122014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine shuts off while the car is in park and while driving. The dealership can not find the reason why. All they will say is the there is nothing wrong with the car.

- Albertville, AL, USA

problem #14

Dec 022010

Spark

  • 80,000 miles
Vehicle loses power when merging on to interstate or taking off almost hit in tail in.and still acts as if its hesitate when taking off.was told by Chevy dealership mechanic its because its a four cylinder only had car a few months now and scared to go far from home in it.talked to others that have the same car and they have the same problem just would like to know does it take someone getting hurt or killed before the problem is fixed.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #13

Jun 152014

Spark

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark. While driving various speeds, the brake pedal was aggressively depressed in order to stop the vehicle. When the clutch was depressed, the engine rpms rapidly increased. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Palmdale , CA, USA

problem #12

Dec 172014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 7,281 miles
When accelerating from a stop, making a left turn into cross traffic with plenty of time, the engine will not accelerate! even with the gas completely pressed it stalls for a good four seconds. I would have been involved in a major accident if it traffic did not slow down for my car to finally rev up, sounding like it's red lining just to get with the flow of traffic.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 222014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 19,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Spark M300. The contact stated that the vehicles antifreeze level was low and the antifreeze reservoir was almost empty. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and diagnosed that the antifreeze canister had a leak and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,700. Updated 02/02/15 updated 10/6/2015

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 062014

Spark 4WD 4-cyl

  • 434 miles
1st and 2nd recall completed but vehicle still does not run right. 3rd 4th and 5th recall has not been schedule by GM and are safety recalls. 1. bolt on bottom has to be torqued to the right setting or could be lost of steering. 2. airbag not deploying. 3. need new hood latch as it could corrode vehicle could open unexpectedly. This vehicle should not be on the street.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #9

Nov 222014

Spark

  • miles
I received a recall notice for my 2014 Chevy Spark regarding the PCV valve indicating that the valve will cause the car to leak oil. I did not see this recall on your website so I thought I should inform you. Thanks

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 252012

Spark

  • miles
Rental car - Chevy Spark. Went to make a left hand turn and was not able to power vehicle. Slowly started rolling into fast moving traffic (from both directions) and could not accelerate. Not sure if this is a faulty ignition or a power failure. Car was going from a fully stopped position to a left hand turn.very dangerous and would have been in collision had not other cars in traffic come to a stop to avoid a collision. I am unsure of year (2013 - 2015) as did not record this information.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 142014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 485 miles
With less than 500 miles on it, vehicle was hesitating intermittently upon acceleration from a stop; occasionally would miss briefly, would not always "shift" unless you took foot off gas; would feel like brake being applied when coasting at low speed; and was getting bad gas mileage. Car was not showing any error codes but mechanic found these issues upon test driving it himself. Dealership replaced pistons, rods, etc. Was told wrong pistons installed at factory. Upon test driving after repairs mechanic found transmission problems (leaking) and found a crack in the housing and an O ring not seated properly. Replaced housing and again test drove and had transmission noise and found metal shavings in pan) and they then replaced entire transmission. Loved the style of this car but am totally disappointed in the quality of this car.

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #6

Aug 082014

Spark 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
Reported several problems with the Chevy Spark with purchased in Aug 2013, no starts, auto shut offs, RPM spikes and "now" oil burning, beginning October 2013 directly to GM company at 855-238-0780, 866-790-5600 and Chevy headquarters and several Chevy service centers: Onstar subscriber services acct# account number: 139-256-583 at 1.888.4.onstar activated August 2013 began sending vehicle diagnostic in Sept 2013 with an vehicle problem alert for the transmission/engine systems, I addressed this with several Chevy dealers and was told at one point that it was a possible reporting error by onstar since the Chevy service center could not locate or duplicate the problem. The issues with the Spark further deteriorated into burning oil and leaking oil problems, of course it was taken to the Chevy dealers in both enterprise and [xxx], [xxx] in indianapolis Indiana and nothing significant was supposedly found although when checking the oil stick we continue to find no oil or low oil levels in the car, we then have to repeatedly put replacement oil in the car. Today, Friday August 8, 2014 while driving the vehicle on the highway the car's engine light came on again, the owner [xxx] attempted to steer the car off the highway but was hit from behind, the airbag did not deploy, fortunately no one was killed this time. We are not certain of the injuries but the owner, [xxx] has complained of backache and headache, symptoms of a possible concussion. We hate this car!!! it is a lemon and may eventually kill someone. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?