Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Suburban fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Suburban:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Suburban Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Sep 012010

Suburban 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,600 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice in reference to NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock) and for 05V155000(fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The first recall repaired the failure that occurred seven months later when the ABS lights illuminated on the instrumental panel. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who stated that he needed to replace the braking module and the ebcm. The vehicle was repaired. The second recall notice was issued the failure occurred later in 2010 when the vehicle stalled while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him that the fuel pump and the fuel filter needed to be replaced. The fuel pump and filter were repaired. The failure mileages was approximately 120,600. Updated 03/24/11 updated 04/28/11

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #33

Jun 172010

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when he noticed that the fuel gauge displayed empty which was inaccurate; however, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to his residence. The contact repaired the vehicle by replacing the fuel pump module. The failure mileage was approximately 69,000. Updated 08/24/10 the consumer stated the electrical wring in the fuel pump module had melted the insulation and was causing a short in several placed. Updated 08/24/10

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #32

Mar 022010


  • 143,000 miles
My 2001 Suburban completely shuts off and the steering stops when I am at speeds below 10 mph, if I am making a turn, backing out of my driveway, or come to a stop at a stop sign. I took it to many places to have it tested and they all stated that everything is fine nothing was detected. I have had the fuel pump replaced by dealership when it just completely stopped running on the highway. I am at a loss for words and this is dangerous when it is the only car you have to haul yourself and kids around in. This is happening everyday and it seems that I am not the only one having this problem. This is a serious problem for americans trying to make an honest living.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #31

Jun 142004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,852 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that the fuel pump has failed twice. The vehicle stalled and was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was repaired under warranty at 35,852 miles. During the second failure, the engine light illuminated and the contact took the vehicle to the dealer. They performed a diagnostic and stated that the fuel pump was failing. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact is waiting on an estimate for the repair cost. The failure mileage was 35,852 and current mileage was 123,000. Updated 05/08/09 updated 05/12/09. Updated 06/09/09.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #30

Oct 232007

(reported on)

Suburban 8-cyl

  • miles
Consumer wants to be reimbursed for recall work performed on his 2001 Chevy Suburban. Manufacturer denied his claim to be reimbursed. The consumer had already had the work done regarding the fuel pump prior to the recall.

- Opa-Locka, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Aug 202005

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
While driving vehicle, vehicle cut off and would not start back up.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #28

Jun 292007

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,137 miles


Fuel pump wire/connecter overheated melting a small hole in module which caused fuel to leak out. Contacting dealership about recall, old part is avail.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #27

Oct 242006

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,912 miles
Steering, fuel pump module, wires connectors. I took it in to fix but I had to pay for it $ 1.054 why if there's a recall on it that was just for thefuel pump moduel call me about this

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #26

Oct 152004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
- the contact stated that while driving his 2001 Chevrolet Suburban (failure mileage: 132000) at 25 mph the fuel gauge does not register the correct amount of fuel and can waver between full and empty. The contact stated that at times the vehicle does not start. The vehicle is also experiencing the same problem as the recall number 05V155000 for fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump, certain trucks and sport utility vehicles were built with fuel module reservoir assemblies that contain fuel pump wires connectors may overheat under certain operating conditions.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #25

Dec 072006

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
: the contact stated a noise was heard and the vehicle hesitated while traveling various speeds. A NHTSA recall #05V155000 concerning the fuel pump was performed on the vehicle a year ago. A leak was now noticed under the vehicle in the driveway. It was taken to the dealer, who determined the fuel pump needed to be replaced however; it was not covered by an update of the recall.

- Westlake, LA, USA

problem #24

Apr 112006

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,690 miles


GM currently has a recall for wiring on the fuel system for 2001 Suburban. My fuel pump assembly was replaced recently due to this same issue. The VIN number of my Suburban was not covered, however, the problem was that as described by the recall notice. The repair shop contacted the local dealership, and the dealership would not cover the repair as not an approve recall VIN for my Suburban. Based on what is published, this repair appear to be the same thing. Would like reimbursement for this item.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 042006

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
: the contact stated the fuel gauge on the vehicle is inoperable. The vehicle has not been seen by a mechanic. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V155000, regarding the fuel pump. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #22

Nov 172005

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states received NHTSA recall campaign 05V155000 on November 17, 2005 concerning the fuel pump. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for service, after she picked up the vehicle the check engine light illuminated. The dealership was contacted, they advised her that it was because they worked on the fuel pump and it would go off in about a week. Afterwards, the vehicle back fired, and the check light engine light was on. The vehicle was taken to the dealership on November 30, 2005. The dealership contacted her on December 1, 2005 stating that the fuel pump/ fuel filter needed to be replaced, and the injectors needed to be flushed. The repair would be over $1000 in damage.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #21

Oct 282005

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact stated there was recall 05V155000 for this specific vehicle. When he contacted the service dealer they said if this vehicle did not have a defective fuel tank the contact would be responsible for the cost of the diagnostic service. The consumer contacted the manufacturer, and they supported the service dealer's decision. The consumer received a recall notice through the mail informing him of the recall. Updated 11/16/05.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #20

Oct 192004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The consumer owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. In October 2004 the vehicle quit. A fuse was replaced at a cost of $137.75. This amount included the towing fee. On 12-07-04, the vehicle experienced the same problem. The consumer had to pay $306 to have another fuse replaced. This included diagnostic fees. On 12-14-04, the same problem occurred and the dealer replaced the fuel pump at a cost of $567.55. The contact received recall campaign# 05V155000 concerning the fuel pump about three-four months ago. The dealer and General Motors refused to reimburse the consumer for the aforementioned work performed because the recall hadn't occurred. The recall stated that the consumer would be notified on 10-19-05 because the parts were available. The consumer thought that this was a very unusual amount of time for him to wait for reimbursement. (11/22/05)

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #19

Oct 012004

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban that simply would not start. This happened without any prior incidents and without warning. The contact had the vehicle towed to a local mechanic shop. The mechanic noted there was an internal fuel pump leak. The contact paid out of pocket for the repairs for which the mechanic performed. After repairing the internal fuel pump leak there were no further problems. The contact later received a notification letter prior to a NHTSA recall being issued, when the contact tried to seek reimbursement GM denied his request citing that this vehicle did not qualify and the VIN was not included. GM will not reimburse for the repairs..

- Garvin, OK, USA

problem #18

Sep 032004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Fuel leak due to fuel pump wiring and connector. Lost 3/4 tank of gas.

- Bahama, NC, USA

problem #17

Mar 042005

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,222 miles
I stopped to get gas 1 mile from my house on the way to work. I filled the tank and got back in the car. When I tried to start the engine it continued to turn over but would not start. I tried 3 times. A person behind my 2001 Suburban noticed gasoline leaking beneath the car. It initially was leaking about a 1/4 gallon per minute. The fire department and hazard response team was called. The spill was limited to 2 gallons. A toe truck took the car to the dealer. The dealer determined that a short had occurred inside the fuel tank which caused the fuel pump to melt and leak to the atmosphere. The service rep (trent) told me he had not seen this before. I was also told that it was unlikely to cause a fire because it is in a low oxygen environment. However, I found several complaints about the same problem with 2001 Suburban on the internet in less than 5 minutes of searching after returning home. The 2001 Suburban has only $44,000 miles on it. I believe this is a very serious incident needing immediate remedy from the manufacturer. The cost of the repair was $731.01. A new fuel pump module 25315983 and filter 25171792 was installed. Cost of parts alone was $441.88. The rest was tax and labor. In addition I paid towing cost in the amount of $ 99.84.

- Camas, WA, USA

problem #16

Feb 252005

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
With engine running, there is always a loud whine noise from fuel tank. I suspect maybe fuel pump. 52000 miles. you should add "automotive forums" to your source list on this website.

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 242005

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Fuel pump failure on a 2001 Suburban.

- Bremen, GA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?