If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,284 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #95

Sep 122008

Trailblazer

  • 82,812 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I approached a stop light. As I stopped, the whole car shut down. I turned the ignition "off", put the car in "park", and turned the "ignition switch" to restart the vehicle. It did start. A couple days later the same thing happened. I took it to my dealer on Sept. 15 2008.they asked if I had a lot of stuff hanging on the key ring, I did not. They replaced the ignition switch. On Jan. 21, 2011, I was driving, and, after stopping, the car was running but would not engage (move). Had the car towed to dealership. They again replaced the ignition switch and another switch. On Feb. 11, 2011, I was at a "drive-up" window, my car just quit running. I had to push it off to the side and have it towed to the dealer. This time they again replaced the "ignition switch" along with a transfer case switch and a transfer case module. They said they had to replace all of them since there was no way to know for sure if it was still related to the "ignition switch". I feel all my issues were relate to the "ignition switch", and all repairs should have been paid by GM.they new they had an issue, or the dealer would not have asked about "excess weight hanging on the key fob".. I believe the "ignition switch issue" goes back farther, and affects even more models, than they are currently owning up to. I still have all paperwork pertaining to my repairs.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #94

Mar 252014

Trailblazer

  • 139,000 miles
I was driving my '02 Chevy Trailblazer on the interstate. The vehicle slipped and fishtailed a bit and I pressed the brakes to bring the vehicle to a stop. When the vehicle came to a stop, I tried to accelerate forward, but it would not move. The vehicle had not turned off on its own. I manually shut off the engine and restarted the vehicle and proceeded to move onto the shoulder of the interstate. I then noticed smoke and a small flame coming from under the hood near the front passenger tire/wheelhouse. The flames got bigger and soon it spread to the entire engine. The flames started near the right passenger wheelhouse and moved to the left driver wheelhouse. In about 20 minutes the entire vehicle was engulfed in flames. I have no idea how or why a fire started. I looked at forums online and many vehicles like mine have caught on fire while driving.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #93

Feb 132014

Trailblazer

  • miles
My 02 Trailblazer I bought used 4 days after I bought it the right turn signal would flash quick if I hit the brake but would be normal without pushing break. Than my brake lights started flickering and stopped working except for the middle one. Now when I turn my right turn signal on my reverse lights come on left turn signal flickers almost all the taillights flicker when on. I did research and found a recall for that problem and was wondering if my vehicle is one that was recalled the number is- GM recall no. 04087

- Rapid City, MI, USA

problem #92

Dec 012002

Trailblazer

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

GM ignition switch recall needs to be expanded. My mother purchased a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer new. Approximately 5,000 miles into ownership, the car would "drop" various electrical components while driving down the road. For instance, while driving, the engine would continue to run, but the wipers would stop working, HVAC would turn off, air bag and ABS warning lights would illuminate, etc. Dealer had no idea how to fix. Eventually they replaced the ignition switch and the problem was solved. To my knowledge, GM never issued a recall, but I'm sure the issue is not isolated. These switches were unreliable across several vehicle lines, please investigate gmt 360 platform well.

- Lumberton, TX, USA

problem #91

Jan 012014

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
All Trailblazer Tahoe and Envoy have the problem when you disconnect the battery it causes theses actuators to slam open and shut breaking them. The dealership is telling me almost 2000 dollars to fix this safety issue. This is a safety issue because I live in Michigan and depend on the heat to unthaw my windshield. Considering this is a manufactures problem and any mechanic knows to disconnect the battery to work on the vehicle. So what is this crap? do I have to retain a lawyer for this issue if someone could please contact me at [xxx] my name is [xxx] I would like to resolve this issue with a recall. Heat in winter I would say is a safety issue that needs to be recalled. I will be persistent with this. Thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #90

Sep 192013

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 208,565 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated when the engine was started and the heat activated, the vehicle would stall. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for diagnosis. The contact was informed that there was an electrical issue with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 208,565. Updated 12/03/13

- Orange, MA, USA

problem #89

Sep 272013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving I noticed a burning smell outside of my vehicle but assumed it was coming from the area around me not my car. When I got to my destination I noticed smoke coming from under the left side of the hood and above the drivers side tire. I raised my hood and noticed smoke coming from around my fuse box. I had the car towed and have been told by my mechanic my fuse box and wiring harness burned. He also stated there could be other damaged related to this fire. The mechanic also asked if I had problems out of my headlights because the problem seemed to have started with the headlights. I have researched this since being given this information and electrical problems seem have been a problem with Trailblazers. I found several instances on this site and also online related to electrical problems on the Trailblazers. Complaint #10487846 is identical to mine and its a shame nothing gets done about these mechanical failures until there is a tragedy.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #88

Sep 052013

Trailblazer

  • miles
Instrument cluster started to act erratically and then went out completely. No odometer, shift postion or gauges. Cruise control works fine. I have to use my gps to judge speed.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #87

Jan 012013

Trailblazer

  • 90,000 miles
Above date & mileage is approximate. I am only able to activate driver's side window. No other windows operate from driver's door panel. I was told that there was a recall, but I never received any information about the recall. I have owned the car since around 2004.

- Mountain Top, PA, USA

problem #86

May 182013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the brakes failed without warning. The contact was able to safely pull over to the shoulder where the vehicle started to smoke and caught on fire. The fire was contained by the local fire department. A fire report was not filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was destroyed and was not inspected for the cause of the fire. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Gilbert , AZ, USA

problem #85

Feb 242013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving the check gauges light illuminated and the oil pressure gauge was at zero. This occurred when I slowed and then stopped at a traffic light after having driven for about 20 minutes (the vehicle sounded as if it were about to turn off so I pulled over and turned it off). When looking at the instrumentation panel I then noticed the check battery light is dimly illuminated (battery is 6 mo old) and various readings are off (rpg is registering low and one RPM indicator starts at 5 when the ignition is turned on). Various Trailblazer forums are indicating owners are experiencing the same problem. Two Chevrolet dealerships have indicated that it is likely an instrumentation cluster problem (and indicate they have guidance from GM to run 2 checks to determine if it is an instrumentation cluster problem). Two independent repair shops have identified it as an instrumentation cluster problem that they have seen on many 2002 Trailblazers. The repair costs range as high as $750. GM customer assistance can only state this is not a recalled repair (applies to later models but not 2002); therefore, it is the customer's responsibility. My GM file # is [xxx]. GM did ask that I pay $80 for the diagnostics, while also saying they would not pay for the repairs. Adding an additional $80 to costs or paying a dealership more money than an independent shop is not practical nor an added expense I should assume. Most amazing is that GM can give dealerships instructions on diagnosing this problem, dealerships are repairing a far amount of vehicles with this problem, independent repair shops are aware of this problem because of the many customers who patronize them, yet GM takes no responsibility for correcting this known problem..this is dangerous, the car can stall anywhere and lead to an accident without customers having any idea of the problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- League City, TX, USA

problem #84

Feb 242013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
When driving the check gauges light illuminated and the oil pressure gauge was at zero. This occurred when I slowed and then stopped at a traffic light after having driven for about 20 minutes (the vehicle sounded as if it were about to turn off so I pulled over and turned it off). When looking at the instrumentation panel I then noticed the check battery light is dimly illuminated (battery is 6 mo old) and various readings are off (rpg is registering low and one RPM indicator starts at 5 when the ignition is turned on). Various Trailblazer forums are indicating owners are experiencing the same problem. Two Chevrolet dealerships have indicated that it is likely an instrumentation cluster problem (and indicate they have guidance from GM to run 2 checks to determine if it is an instrumentation cluster problem). Two independent repair shops have identified it as an instrumentation cluster problem that they have seen on many 2002 Trailblazers. The repair costs range as high as $750. GM customer assistance can only state this is not a recalled repair (applies to later models but not 2002); therefore, it is the customer's responsibility. My GM file # is [xxx]. GM did ask that I pay $80 for the diagnostics, while also saying they would not pay for the repairs. Adding an additional $80 to costs or paying a dealership more money than an independent shop is not practical nor an added expense I should assume. Most amazing is that GM can give dealerships instructions on diagnosing this problem, dealerships are repairing a far amount of vehicles with this problem, independent repair shops are aware of this problem because of the many customers who patronize them, yet GM takes no responsibility for correcting this known problem..this is dangerous, the car can stall anywhere and lead to an accident without customers having any idea of the problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- League City, TX, USA

problem #83

Nov 152012

Trailblazer

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that all of the warning lights and gauges on the instrument panel malfunctioned, preventing him from being able to determine any accurate readings. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 160,000 and the current mileage was 171,000.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #82

Dec 042012

Trailblazer

  • 169,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the headlights did not automatically turn off when he exited the vehicle and smoke was emitted from under the hood. Upon inspection, it was found that the fuse box was smoking and the wiring harness had burned. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileage was 169,000.

- Wintersprings , FL, USA

problem #81

Nov 102010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 100,083 miles
The dash lights and gauges all go out intermittently.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #80

Jun 122010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
In June 2010 the overhead dvd player quit working and the bose in-dash stereo systems began to intermittently work and not work. In May 2012 the windshield wipers would sometimes not turn on and at times in operation would stop operating mid way. At the same time, the bright lights sometimes would not come on. Moving the steering column up and down would allow the brights to operate, but in most cases they don't work at all. The heat & A/C fan motor only works on high speed as well leaving the other speeds inoperative. It seems there may be an electrical issue in the steering column and I'm not sure if the stereo and dvd player would be somehow connected with that portion of the wiring harness. I contacted Chevrolet and they say there are no open recalls for our VIN number.

- Reeds Spring, MO, USA

problem #79

Jan 202012

Trailblazer 4WD

  • 30,000 miles
I have had multiple issues with my 2002 Chevy Trailblazer where the 4X4 selector switch will not work, or while driving at highway speeds the vehicle will be put into four wheel drive while the selector switch is still turned on two wheel drive. The selector switch at times has not worked when I wanted to make the vehicle go into four wheel drive. I have found out the vehicle is in four wheel drive by having a hard time turning the front wheels and seeing the front tires spin on loose gravel even though I never switched the vehicle into four wheel drive and the selector switch states it's still in two wheel drive but the yellow light is lit up that it's in four wheel drive. I have complained multiple times to GM and have had the selector switch replaced 3 times but it still continues to happen. Everytime that GM looks at it they say that it is working just fine. I have seen and heard that many other people are having the same problems with this. I feel there should be a safety recall put out for this drive selector switch.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #78

May 312011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
I feel that even if you have had a recall issue once and the situation continues to happen then it needs to be fixed until the problem is solved I have contact GM several time and nothing has been done to ratify my problem with the windshield wipers and the 4 wheel drive and several other recall issues this is sad I say we need a class action law suit I am not one to take legal action but for people that have this kind of money and to not fix their problem that they put out on the roads for us to drive safely is shameful.

- Louisviile, KY, USA

problem #77

Mar 102011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
My 2002 Trailblazer 4X4 came locked up completely with no possibility to even open door with the key. Chevy dealer blamed the module vcm located under the behind seat that must be changed. Re-programming all seems working but erratically until the effective change of vcm module. Is there a possibility to repair it ? thanks [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #76

Feb 022010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The rear right and left brake lights and rear turn signal lights have burned out repeated. I purchased the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer in December 2001. The problem first started to occur when the brake lights failed at 30,000 miles in 2003. I had to replace the circuit boards the lights plug into at my own cost to fix the problem. There was a recall to replace the circuit boards in 2004, NHTSA #04V527000, which I had performed on the vehicle. Subsequently the circuit boards burned out again a few years later. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and they said they wouldn't replace the circuit boards at their expense. I then purchased and installed the circuit boards myself. In 2010 the circuit boards burned out again. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and they investigated and said they couldn't find anything wrong with the vehicle other than the circuit board. They charged me $191.50 to investigate the problem and change out the circuit boards again. This is a safety issue because the rear brake lights and rear turn signal lights not working increases the risk of a crash. I received a ticket/warning on 2-2-11 for the brake lights not working but expect the brake lights will become inoperative again soon as this is the 5th set of circuit boards that have been placed in the vehicle and they keep burning out, and Chevrolet/General Motors hasn't supplied a satisfactory correction to solve the problem. Current mileage is 159,000 and the problem started at 30,000.

- Tucker, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?