If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,509 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #62

Jan 162005

Trailblazer

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the brake lights in his vehicle were completely inoperative. The dealer replaced the brake lights, but the failure recurred. In 2005, the instrument panel made a clicking sound and sporadically failed. The contact believed that the failure was directly related to the brake lights. The dealer stated that the instrument panel failed and the contact paid to have it corrected. In 2008, the instrument panel failed again and completely stopped working in January of 2009. He spoke with two different mechanics and they stated that there was a recall for the failure. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle had been previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 03V096000 (electrical system:wiring:interior/under dash); therefore, they could not assist. The current mileage was approximately 170,000 and failure mileage was approximately 113,000.

- La Place, LA, USA

problem #61

Jan 072009

Trailblazer

  • 39,200 miles
The electronic sensors and key fob to open and lock the vehicle do not work, causing serious problems because the rear tailgate door will not unlock manually and all of the emergency equipment is stored under the carpet in the tail section. This problem started in cold weather and even replacing the batteries in the key fob didn't work. This is serious in cold weather for emergencies ie, cables to jump the car and flares are stored in the back of vehicle.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #60

Dec 312008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 39,200 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the key fob sensor failed to open the power doors. This presents a hazard because there is no manual key entry for the doors. The failure occurs in cold weather conditions. The dealer stated that the repair was under warranty and will be repaired. They will replace the sensor and check the wiring in the vehicle. The failure mileage was 39,200 and current mileage was 39,620. Updated 03/09/09. The rear wiper was inopertive. Updated 03/12/09.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #59

Nov 282008

Trailblazer

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I touch the buttons on my radio they get very very hot. Their is a long list of things wrong with this 2002 Chevy trail Blazer. But when I contacted Chevy they told my that my SUV is not one of the ones affected" their is a noise in the front and the right side of the truck seems lower, like a shock is broken" the rear windshield wiper never worked. The air conditioning only work on the highest level ( 5 ). the rear tailgate never locks when you hit the power locks. The tape player starts on its own, and will blow a fuse causing an electrical smell. The day I bought the 2002 Chevy trail Blazer the head gasket blew and the dealership replaced it with a used head gasket. This SUV has alot of issues and is getting unsafe to drive. I have tried to have Chevrolet address these issues but they wont fix anything without me paying for them. I am on a tight budget, and I have seen alot of recalls with these issues that I have described. Shouldn't they fix these things free of charge? please help!

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #58

Jan 202007

Trailblazer

  • 87,000 miles
We bought the vehicle in 2004-2005, about a year later the instrument panel started having some intermittent problems, that's when we found out about the recalls. We took the vehicle to the local dealer (airport Chevrolet) where the repairs were made. About a year later the instrument panel started having the same problems, I took it back into the dealer, they said it would cost me about $500 to have it fixed and it would not be covered under the recall. I contacted Chevy by email, and after a couple of months of emailing back and forth they said "they have to draw the line on age and mileage for the recall". I told them I was going to contact my attorney, they said they did not want to hear anything more about it and not to email again. Since then we have driven the vehicle, the more we drive it, the more something else, electrical, goes wrong. I.e. the rear wiper does not work, the cooling/heating fan does not work, the radio/cd player gets really hot, the last thing that happened was the battery got fried and my cell phone while plugged into the cig liter for recharge almost got fried, almost too hot to touch. So I am paying monthly payments for a vehicle I can not drive.

- White City, OR, USA

problem #57

Feb 272008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I have a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer. When I press on the accelerator the vehicle will lose power for a moment and regain power in heavy traffic. Also, the service engine light will come on. I took this vehicle to a service center and they say that the engine is running rich and running lean. The service center told me to use the rest of the gas in my tank and refill my tank with new gas at a well known gas station. I did as the service center requested by filling at exxon, but the problem with the vehicle did not change. This vehicle has been doing this for 3 months with 80,000 miles. I believe that there is a electrical issue somewhere in my vehicle.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #56

Nov 142007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Remotes quit working, liftgate would not open, rear wiper not working. I had this issue back in may '05 and replaced engate module. Same issues occurring again. I am sure I will have to replace engate module again.

- Ames, IA, USA

problem #55

Oct 042007

Trailblazer 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Transmission has failed at 55,000 miles, not driving car but was about to run errands. Have had to replace power steering block, alternator, starter, tail lights, instrument panel, radio and electric on a car that is just over 5 years old. The instrument panel, power steering block and transmission are all not under warranty.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #54

Mar 242007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,113 miles
I jim emmert have had my trailbazer in the shop more times then I care to remember for all electrical lights not working changing clusters & tail lens. I have had two dealers look and post to have fixed the problems and still haven't. I have spent at least 2,000 dollars and do you know what the manager said don't bring it back take it somewhere else?

- Spfd, MO, USA

problem #53

Aug 012007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 20 mph, the electronic gauges began to flash off and on. The contact also stated that the speedometer went from zero, to top speed, and then back to zero. The passenger side air bag deployed without warning as well. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but they cannot repair the vehicle due to liability reasons. The current and failure mileages were 85,000.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #52

Jul 312007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer ltz. The problem that I'm having is that the driver side mirror loses its memory and always needs adjusting when starting up the vehicle and even while driving!!! I have done everything that the manual suggest and even took it to the dealership twice to have it worked on. The problem came back and is still present. I think that this is a huge safety matter for the fact that the mirror moves on its own while I'm driving the vehicle. I hope something is done about this in the near future. Thanks.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #51

Feb 052007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I live in southwest Ohio and I own a 2002 Trailblazer. I noticed that in December of 2006, my rear windshield wiper would not function when turned on. Shortly thereafter, we had our first frost and I noticed that the rear defogger/defroster was not working. It is now nearly 0 degrees outside and even if I clean the window with a scraper, it still frosts up while driving. I have looked for a fuse to replace, but find none for the rear defrost, and the one for the rear wiper is fine. Just yesterday, I picked up some large items at a home improvement store and was unable to unlock the rear gate, I tried to use the button on my remote, to which the car no longer responds, even with new battery, I tried to unlock it from the driver side controls with the car off and turned on, but nothing happened. So there me and my pregnant wife were standing in zero temperature weather with three large items on a cart and nowhere to go with them. We ended up paying somebody to haul them to our house.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #50

Jan 052007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
It all started around 40,000 miles I have had all interior problems. I have one speaker in my car that works, sometimes if I am lucky they all will come one but not. I have a light behind my temp. Control that comes on and off when it want to, and now of all my head lights and day lamps work when they want to. I was told that the car has faulty wires (as if) and I bought this car for what to buy another car in after four years (no). They say you pay for what you get well I have put more into it than what I have got (head pain)! I almost got hit not knowing I had no lights. And got pulled over once! now I have to pay to have my car inspected to find the wire defect and then get it fixed (the car is not worth it).

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #49

Jun 202006

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Exterior side mirrors with memory option fail to return to set position when key is inserted in ignition. Mirrors have to be reset almost every time key is inserted in ignition. Dealer re-programmed mirrors. But problem still exists. Dangerous because if you don't notice mirrors have moved and you go to make lane change in emergency mirrors could be out of adjustment causing increased time to change lanes.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #48

Nov 112005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Tie rods, multiple transmission module problems, airbag, taillights, stop, turn signal rear problem, electrical/ wiring, radio, HVAC, pressure control,2 batteries, 2 fan clutches, among other problems.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #47

Feb 162004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Feb. 04 46,000 miles repaired transmission, 2nd gear and reverse broken, was told by a GM transmission repairman that this is very common problem, sometimes it takes just one fix, some Trailblazers have required many repairs (also problem on Envoy), being a straight 6, the transmission cannot handle the torque causing the gears in the transmission to break; vehicle cut off on me at a red light for unknown reason; dash gauges and radio would not come on when car started, drove for a few miles, cut car off, restarted and all came back on;radio facing becomes extremely hot to touch at times and flickers on and off; obnoxious squeak in the front end of car, taken to mechanics with no reason why; ticking noise while running; other than the transmission, no action has been taken due to reading the filed complaints of others with no real successful results or answers from dealers. I hate this car!!

- Campobello, SC, USA

problem #46

Oct 212005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,671 miles
02 October 2005 my wife and I were returning after shopping in the evening is when the first incident happen. Traveling at 45 mph the vehicle completely shut down. We coasted to the side of the road. After several attempts the vehicle restarted. We continue our travel home with no further incident. 03 October 2005 I contact the dealer where the vehicle was purchased at, notifying them of the problem. The vehicle was dropped off that evening with no incident. They held the vehicle for 10 days and could not identify the problem. 21 October 2005 on a trip to the mall with the family in the vehicle again the vehicle completely shuts down. Again, we coast to the side of the road. We were traveling at 30 mph. After several attempts to restart the vehicle, the vehicle restarts. We also notice that the dials on the dashboard would go haywire during restart. No further incidents. 24 October 2005 I notify General Motors of our situation. General motor will document the complaint and gave me a service request number. General Motors also informed me that there are no recalls on the vehicle.

- Port Byron, NY, USA

problem #45

Dec 012003

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer was involved in an accident as a result of the rear tail light being inoperative. The consumer's vehicle was rear ended while he was slowing down in traffic. This SUV had other failures to include the windshield wipers, engine(6 times), battery (2 times), dash board, head light and various electrical problems.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #44

Dec 142004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The front door controls are inoperable!! no windows, no locks, can't use my remote lock and alarm. The part is $200 and only available at a dealership. I tried to get one from a junk yard, and was told they have no Trailblazer doors because of this very problem. I also called several dealerships in the area, and they are fully aware of this problem also, and don't understand why it hasn't been recalled. Everyone wants to diagnose the problem, and I cannot afford the many hours they want to spend on my 2002 vehicle. I have already had to replace the front wheel bearings (at $400 each just for parts), which I should not have had to do yet!!! if the dealerships and junkyards are aware of my door problem, why aren't you? not being able to roll down my windows or use my alarm are definitely issues in my book!!!

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #43

Dec 072004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Contact bought a 2002 trail Blazer in 2004. Contact complained about electrical problems. Brake lights/headlights/ 4-wheel switch, and blower switch went out. On 12-720-04 she started having transmission problems. It started grinding when she put in fourth gear. When she took vehicle to the dealer, they told her that gears were faulty. When she put vehicle in 4-wheel drive, it broke. She had it repaired, and then the headlights went off because the headlight switch burned out. Then she had a new actuator put on it and a month later, she had to have another actuator put in. On 7-20-05 while driving, the 4-wheel drive switch came on, and was switching between 2-wheel drive and 4-wheel drive. Vehicle stopped, and she put it in 4-wheel drive. Went back to the dealer, who told consumer differential failed. Before she could drive home the transfer case module went out. The name of the dealer where she has been taking the car was gillelands at 3019 division street, St. Cloud, mn 56301. In addition to all the vehicle's problems, the sunroof was broken and the sway bar links were loose.

- St. Stephen, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?