Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Nov 252003

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brake lights in my 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer have gone out 4 times in 9 months. Each time the dealer has replaced the circuit board and bulb. I consider this a serious safety defect with my Trailblazer. No one seems to know why this problem keeps happening, and I am worried about future problems.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #24

Nov 212003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,553 miles
Brake and tail light on 2002 Chevy Trailblazer ext have failed on four occasions since leasing this new car on 5/24/02. Service people have been great in fixing the problems. This first incident on 11/6/2002 involved only one tail and brake light but the fourth incident on 11/21/2003 involved both tail and brake light. The failure comes without warning and only is noticed when a good citizen driver informs me. The latest incident was noticed when a driver almost rear ended me because both lights were out. Fortunately, the top (dole) light worked. The dates of the repairs are: 11/6/02, 8/7/03; 12/23/03; 11/21/03. In a related problem the windshield wipers and/or washers have faied on three occasions: 7/2/02; 11/6/02 and 12/23/02.

- Thiells, NY, USA

problem #23

Nov 102003

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This is the second time that my brake lights have failed. Luckily someone behind me has been nice enough to let me know before I am rear ended. I have two small children and hope that GM fixes this problem before someone is seriously hurt. The socket has been replaced once and appears to be the problem again. If you pull the bulb slightly out of the socket the brake lights will work, the only problem is that the first bump or two you go over shorts the lights out again. I only hope I continue to have nice people, who are paying attention, behind me when I am traveling, otherwise I may be writing back to report serious damage. Let's get this fixed-it is obviously a problem-just read the complaint list.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #22

Nov 062003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights keep burning out...3 times so far.. also I see the same situation on may other trail Blazer on the road.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #21

Oct 222003

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer with approximately 40,000 miles. I have had to replace the brake lights 3 times. They are out again. Both of them. A lady stopped me this morning to tell me. That explains why someone almost rear-ended me last evening.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Oct 222003

(reported on)

Trailblazer

  • miles
Brake lights malfunctioned repeatedly/turn signal lights failed three times/headlights, and parking lights also malfunctioned. Vehicle had been in repair shop for these issues at least seven times.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #19

Aug 032002

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights have been not been working on several occasions since buying 2002 Chevy Trailblazer in 2002.

- Amityville, NY, USA

problem #18

Oct 032003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Iżve had to replace the brake lights on my 2002 Chevy Trailblazer twice now. Having almost been rear-ended numerous times and if it wasn't for other drivers telling me my brake lights were out, I'm sure there would have been an accident by now. Also at 41,000 miles now the "service engine soon" light has come on as well.

- San Dimas, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 152003

Trailblazer

  • miles
Brake light failed intermittently. Dealer stated computer board failed.

- Suitland, MD, USA

problem #16

Sep 192003

Trailblazer

  • miles
My wife has a 2-year old Chevy trail Blazer. The right brake light has burned out twice and the left brake light has burned out once. I've noticed many trail Blazer on the road with burned out brake lights. Is this a quality issue or a design issue" is GM aware of this problem? are they doing anything about it" thank you.

- Shelby Twp, MI, USA

problem #15

Jan 022003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Trailblazer ls. Left brake light continues to fail. Each time I pull the bulb out, it is ok, so I put it back in and it works for a day or two. I have now noticed that it seems to work longer if you pull the bulb out slightly instead of seating it fully into the socket. This is a very common problem in this vehicle, according to my son, an ase certified Mr. Goodwrench technician, employed for years by GMC and Chevrolet dealerships. Brake lights going out are going to eventually cause a fatal accident, and I don't think Chevrolet wants that! make them accountable!!!

- Ben Franklin, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 042003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,439 miles
I have had every recall there is and then some that should have been on the recall list. Brake lights is a big issue, they are not on the recall and they should be! they are not sealed properly so the circuit boards are exposed to the elements and then they go out constantly! if you are out of warranty, you pay!!

- Deer Park, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 242003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The rear right brake light was inoperative.. also the seat belt buckle was loose, the brakes squeaked and the front stabilizer was replaced because a noise was heard when the consumer made slow turns.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 012003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,500 miles
I own a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls. I currently have 37,000 miles and therefore am out of my initial warranty period. The problem I am having is with my brake lights. I have taken my vehicle to the dealer twice to have my brake light circuit board replaced because water keeps getting into the area causing shorts in the board. Water comes off the rear tires and directly underneath the tail light casing and makes contact with the circuit board because there is no protection for the board. Now that my vehicle is out of warranty I am forced to continue replacing this item every time it occurs. This can cause serious problems because the brake lights are very important in traffic. Also, individuals can be ticketed for this problem.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #11

Dec 062002

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The brake lights have failed, on both sides, on numerous occasions. The dealer replaced the assembly into which the bulbs plugs into, on both sides. The problem continues. Either the bulbs burn out, or they become loose. This results in loss of that brake light.

- Glen Oaks, NY, USA

problem #10

Oct 102002

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ever since I bought my 2002 Trailblazer I have had nothing but problems. I have a stack of paperwork of everytime I brought this into the dealership to fix and have had about 5 rental cars due to this. Now after searching this site I find there have been alot of recalls on these and I havent been informed about any of them besides the one for security. Please help me. Im a single mom with 2 children that ride in this truck. Windshield wiper module replaced under warranty at 48,594 miles.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 012003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The brake lights have burned out in the last 3 mos. 3 different times. The passenger side brake light seems to go out every month. I was complaining about the passenger seat belt locking up but thought I was just doing it wrong. After reading other complaints I noticed that it is a common occurrence. I have had the trail Blazer in the shop for the noise under the front when you hit a bump. They can't seem to find the cause of the noise. The back gate would pop open just driving down the road. Dealer adjusted the latching hook. Has not done it since. Now after doing some research I have found that there are 8 recalls on this vehicle and I have just received 2 notices. This is a bit unnerving.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 012003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The brake lights on my 2002 Chevy Trailblazer recently stopped working. The dealer replaced/repaired them at no cost. Discovered through an internet user group this problem has occurred in many Trailblazers. Would like to log my complaint mileage = 30K in-service - Feb-2002.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 102003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer lt new about 10 months ago the truck has been in for service many times for different things as for seatbelt looking up and wont release, brake lights failing, derectionals that blowout every few days, radio/cd player wasnt working, leakage of water everytime it rained etc etc.. anyways I just took it back on 6-9-03 for seatbelt to be done again and for the derectional that failed again and also to have truck inspected I picked it up later that day and found that the inspection sticker had a wrong VIN # on it and that other work was done I left there knowing they said they dont know why the light in derectional keeps failing but they did change the bulbs { this is everytime I bring it this is all they do to fix it} on 6-10-03 the derectional wasnt working again my husband changed the light bulb this time due to the fact it takes me almost 40 mins to get to dealership.....I will be going to the dealership to ask for a copy of the history on truck and will be getting a lawyer involved and also contact the dealers commintion and channel 12 on this matter.....I payed almost 30,000 for a truck that is not worth it and I am a very unhappy costumer..

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #6

Feb 032003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
Left rear brake light shorted out requiring replacement of "circuit board". service manager indicated this was occuring frequently.

- Clover, SC, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?