Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Nov 122002

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 77,784 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet trail Blazer. The contact stated that the passenger side head light was abnormally pointed upward at a higher angle then normal. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated there was no adjustment available for the headlight. The contact stated that the headlight should be pointed straight. When the vehicle was placed in front of a wall to inspect the angle of the head lights, the passenger side headlight would hit the wall about eight inches higher than the driver side headlight. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 77,784. Updated 1/19/2010 the consumer stated the right headlamp was not properly aimed. GM stated that no adjustment was possible. The consumer went to an independent repair shop and was informed the headlamp was installed incorrectly. The consumer went back to the dealership and requested that they install it correctly. The problem was resolved. Updated 03/25/11

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #21

Jul 202005

Trailblazer

  • miles
Have replaced the head light in the Trailblazer 3 times due to the connector for the lamp melting then burning out the headlights.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 312008

Trailblazer

  • 112,562 miles
Headlight plug melted 3 separate times causing the headlight to become non-functional.

- Lehigh, IA, USA

problem #19

Apr 262008

Trailblazer

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 cheverolet Trailblazer. While driving aproximately 70 mph, the headlights failed without warning. There were no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The manufacturer stated that they were receiving similar failure compalints on the same model of vehicle. He is taking the vehicle to the dealer for repair. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #18

Jan 102008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 55 mph, the headlights shut off without warning. An independent mechanic confirmed that there was a recall on the electrical system. The mechanic replaced the multifunction switch and the lights began operating normally. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 60,210 and failure mileage was 59,500. The recall number for this vehicle and defect is as follows: 06E025000. Updated 02-14-08 updated 02/14/08

- Avis, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Aug 012006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 40 mph, the headlights dimmed. The dealer stated that the dimmer switch failed. As October 3, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The contact stated that the brake lights also failed to illuminate. There is a recall for the exterior lighting: Brake lights (NHTSA campaign id number 04V527000), however, the dealer refused to perform the repair. The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 100,000.

- Moody, AL, USA

problem #16

Nov 302006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,848 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since purchasing this vehicle I have spent quite a few dollars in replacing low-beam headlight bulbs. I notice the lights are occasionally flickering and frequently burn out bulbs. I constantly have to drive at night without low-beams, having to use my high-beams which is annoying to other drivers and could cause an accident. I have had bulbs replaced and even the lamp socket assembly at one time, but the problem continues and my warranty ran out.

- Santa Isabel, PR, USA

problem #15

Oct 102005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated the headlight on the driver's side flickered while on low beam. This problem occurred every time the contact used the low beams. The flicker disappeared when high beams were used. He contacted the manufacturer; they said to make an appointment with the dealer. Now he has a pending appointment with the dealer. Updated 12/7/2005 -

- Caroline, WI, USA

problem #14

Oct 012005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The consumer owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The front headlight unit would go on and off. A local repair station said that the wiring to the headlight unit needed to be replaced. The mechanic replaced the headlight unit. The consumer did not call the local service dealer because the vehicle was no longer under warranty, but did report this problem to the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised him to contact NHTSA because there was no recall on this component. (11/22/05)

- Stillwater, NY, USA

problem #13

Dec 072004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Contact bought a 2002 trail Blazer in 2004. Contact complained about electrical problems. Brake lights/headlights/ 4-wheel switch, and blower switch went out. On 12-720-04 she started having transmission problems. It started grinding when she put in fourth gear. When she took vehicle to the dealer, they told her that gears were faulty. When she put vehicle in 4-wheel drive, it broke. She had it repaired, and then the headlights went off because the headlight switch burned out. Then she had a new actuator put on it and a month later, she had to have another actuator put in. On 7-20-05 while driving, the 4-wheel drive switch came on, and was switching between 2-wheel drive and 4-wheel drive. Vehicle stopped, and she put it in 4-wheel drive. Went back to the dealer, who told consumer differential failed. Before she could drive home the transfer case module went out. The name of the dealer where she has been taking the car was gillelands at 3019 division street, St. Cloud, mn 56301. In addition to all the vehicle's problems, the sunroof was broken and the sway bar links were loose.

- St. Stephen, MN, USA

problem #12

Mar 022005

Trailblazer 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had the right front headlight replaced on my 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer on 2 separate occasions because the bulb burned out. It recently burned out again and I went to have the bulb replaced again only to be told that the entire socket had burned out and had to be replaced. I questioned the technician about this but he had no concrete answer as to why the socket would burn out. He speculated that perhaps the bulb (which they had replaced twice) had not been put in securely or it had been loosened during normal driving. I am upset because this burned out socket ending up costing $65 to replace. Had they done this during one of the other instances, my warranty would have covered this. I think this problem is a defect because I have encountered many Trailblazers on the street with one of the headlights not operating.

- St. Lous, MO, USA

problem #11

Jan 242005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The headlights do not operate, making it difficult to see the road at night. Took vehicle dealer for repairs twice, but the problem recurred.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #10

Aug 082004

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Front right low beam headlight has burned out four times... I only have 20K miles and the dealer can't find the problem.

- Denville, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jul 092004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The right passenger low beam socket burned/melted twice since 5/2003 and three bulbs have been replaced. Reported to Chevrolet 7/04. This is a T.S.B. listed on alldata.com, but Chevrolet refuses to use T.S.B.'s listed anywhere but the GM site and the NHTSA site.

- Linden, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 012004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Headlight failed for the 4th time...I looked at the connector and it has burned area indicating a short...no fire this time but may cause one in future...if the light fails this often, can both fail and cause injusry or death due to no headlights while driving at night"?" too many failures for a car that is only 2 1/2 yrs. Old...

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 102004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Our 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer has problems with its lights. We have had multiple problems with headlights and brake lights. We know others with the same problems and see many on the roads with brake lights out.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #6

Oct 222003

(reported on)

Trailblazer

  • miles
Brake lights malfunctioned repeatedly/turn signal lights failed three times/headlights, and parking lights also malfunctioned. Vehicle had been in repair shop for these issues at least seven times.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #5

Oct 102002

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ever since I bought my 2002 Trailblazer I have had nothing but problems. I have a stack of paperwork of everytime I brought this into the dealership to fix and have had about 5 rental cars due to this. Now after searching this site I find there have been alot of recalls on these and I havent been informed about any of them besides the one for security. Please help me. Im a single mom with 2 children that ride in this truck. Windshield wiper module replaced under warranty at 48,594 miles.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 102003

(reported on)

Trailblazer 4WD

  • miles
Problems with 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The headlamps went out while driving. The 4WD light appeared on the dash board, while driving, the gear switched to 4WD which caused the vehicle to jerk.. also on 2 occasions the consumer was unable to shift the gear from park to drive.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #3

Apr 202003

Trailblazer

  • miles
The head lights worked intermittently.

- La Habra, CA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?