Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Trailblazer emerged from an "upscale trim line" of the Blazer, but there's nothing upscale about its transmission problems or its wonky, unpredictable headlights.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,384 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #20

Dec 192007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The electrical gauges on our 2002 Chevy Trailblazer did not function properly when the fan clutch failed, leading to engine overheating. The overheated engine blew the head gasket before the engine itself blew up. My husband was had just backed out of the driveway and had driven about 200 yards when this happened. It is important to note that warning systems malfunctioned: There were no lights, bells or any indication that complete engine failure was imminent. There wasn't even the odor of an overheated engine. If this had happened on our local freeway I could be suing GM over my husband's injury or death.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 242007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,113 miles
I jim emmert have had my trailbazer in the shop more times then I care to remember for all electrical lights not working changing clusters & tail lens. I have had two dealers look and post to have fixed the problems and still haven't. I have spent at least 2,000 dollars and do you know what the manager said don't bring it back take it somewhere else?

- Spfd, MO, USA

problem #18

Jun 012007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact received a recall notice for the exterior lighting:tail lights. On August 18, 2007, he arrived at the dealer to have the vehicle repaired. After servicing the vehicle for five hours, the contact was informed that the vehicle could not be repaired. The reason was because there was a part in front of the defective part and, if the mechanic broke the part that was not included in the recall, then the dealer would not be responsible for any damages. The dealer further stated that the responsibility and repair costs would fall on the contact. As a result, the vehicle has not been repaired and the tail lights continue to fail. The manufacturer stated that they are looking into the matter, but cannot offer any assistance at this time. As of August 21, 2007, the manufacturer has still not responded. The NHTSA campaign number was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 100,000.

- Webster, MA, USA

problem #17

May 012007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the tail lights on the rear driver side are filled with 3/4 of water. He stated that there are no visible cracks on the tail light covers. The vehicle has not been inspected to determine the cause of failure. The current mileage is 16,600 and failure mileage was 16,500.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 102005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,427 miles
1. other than several recalls for a faulty tail light, which still does not work properly on 2002 Trailblazer did not have any major problems prior to the incident on September 10, 2005. 1. while driving home on about the evening of September 10, 2005 my 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer with 47,427 miles suddenly groaned loudly and rapidly decelerated approximately 1/4 mile from my house. I was able to get home at a speed of about five mph. When I arrived home I contacted my mechanic who said it sounded like a transmission problem. My mechanic looked at the vehicle and told me it was the transmission which he was unable to repair. He suggested I contact my dealer as he felt the vehicle did not have high enough mileage to warrant tranmission failure. I contacted tillery Chevrolet in moriarty, nm where I purchased the vehicle and spoke with Mr. Glen tillery. He asked if I had purchased the extended warranty package. Upon hearing I did not purchase the extended warranty package Mr. Tillery gave me the approximate price for his dealership to repair my vehicle. I felt his price was high and the dealership is located approximately 50 miles from my house which was too far to drive my vehicle in its condition. I received recommendations from other people and took my Trailblazer to budget transmission in albuquerque, nm. Budget looked at the transmission and stated it needed to be replaced which I authorized. When I picked up my vehicle the technician informed me my transmission failure was due to a faulty sunshell. The price to repair the vehicle was $1,813.68 3. the repairs included a rebuilt transmission and torque converter. The original parts are not available.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Nov 112005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Tie rods, multiple transmission module problems, airbag, taillights, stop, turn signal rear problem, electrical/ wiring, radio, HVAC, pressure control,2 batteries, 2 fan clutches, among other problems.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 152005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure to addquetaly repair recall stop light system for the tail lights

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #13

Aug 202004

Trailblazer 4WD

  • 25,848 miles
Re defective 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer 4X4, problem with 4 wheel drive, A/C, batteries, taillights and electrical problems. While driving 55 mph the vehicle's 4-wheel drive went into four wheel high or low intermittently. The vehicle's battery loses it's charge. The taillights went out and the blower in the air conditioner had to be replaced. Fuel splashed out of the filler while the consumer was filling the tank. The vehicle stalled intermittently.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 192003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle constantly displays "service engine lamp", air bag module had a problem, rear brake lamps blew out, 4 wheel drive mechanism on dash was replaced, ignition never turned off all the way, killed battery because it drained battery.

- Fair Lawn, NJ, USA

problem #11

Mar 012004

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
Tail lights burning out.

- Broken Bow, NE, USA

problem #10

Jun 152004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 40 mph steering pulley failed. Vehicle lost power. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. The vehicle switches itself into 4-wheel drive while the manual switch is in 2-wheel drive. The taillights failed. At new computer had to be installed. The rack and pinion needs to be replaced.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #9

Sep 052003

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On my 2002 Chevy Trailblazer, I have ben pulled over by police 3 times because of one of my rear taillights always being out. I have brought it to the dealership 3 times since and have had it reparied. This will be # 4 in repairs to the light.

- Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 012003

Trailblazer

  • miles
Right rear tail light does not work when brake is applied. Have had this problem for several months, almost a year. I have changed the brake lights several times and the tail light still will not work.

- Lusby, MD, USA

problem #7

Apr 192004

Trailblazer

  • 53,000 miles
Tail lights failed. Tail lights repaired four times. However the problem recurred. Dealer stated the circuit box mafunctioned.

- Benson, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 062004

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,532 miles
While driving 40 mph, the engine light illuminated, then the vehicle stalled. This caused the consumer to lose control of the vehicle, hitting a wall. The consumer had the vehicle towed. The dealership tried to repair the vehicle 7 times, but did not resolve the problem. The air bag also failed to deploy during the accident. The PCM failed due to a circuit inside, fluid leaked from the power steering hose, the engine revved high and was loud when the vehicle was started, the consumer saw sparks under the hood fuse block at the same time the gauges fluctuated and shorted, the right rear tail lights were inoperative, and the fuel gauge made a whirring sound when the vehicle was started.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #5

Jun 012002

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Purchased Feb 1, 2002. Since then have had nothing but problems. Had into 4 different dearlerships fixing many problems but after each visit another problem occurs. From tail lights burning out, windhshield wiper motor failures, instrument cluster replaced, heater control panel replaced once, memory mirror modules replaced 2 times, heated seat switches replaced 2 times, rear window defogger/replaced entire rear window 1 time, battery replaced 1 time ( said battery was at fault for current problems) battery was fine and charged me $ 150 for new battery that was not the correct battery replacement, exhaust gasket became loose/loud and had to be replaced, the fuel pump replaced because it just cut off as I was on the expressway going approx 65 miles an hour, I had to get to the side of the road quickly- had to be towed to dealership. Problem fixed, however after I picked it up then the current problem began. I could go on and on with the problems that I have had. Present problem is that whenever I turn on the heat it dies out with no warning---just stops and stalls. Dealership says they fixd it but upon pick up the problem still exists. Gone to pick it up 2 times, but when I start it and put on heat, it dies all over again even after dealership claims they fixed it. I live in Chicago and it has been a cold winter. Almost caused a crash on another expressway on way home from having the airbag sensor and a complete brake job done and all fluids changed. This vehicle is not worth $ 37,000 and I feel it is time that GM accept some responsibility for this lemon of a vehicle. It is my only vehicle and I am still paying dearly for it but lately cannot even use it as it remains in one dealership after another at my expense. I will not purchase another vehicle from GM. I need help and answers as I am not getting anywhere even with this vehicle still under warranty.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

Jan 302004

(reported on)

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,700 miles
Intermittently tail lights malfunctioned this was due to a socket wire short that blew out the bulb. Bulb was replaced 3 times before the dealership replaced the tail light assembly.

- Anna, OH, USA

problem #3

Nov 212003

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,553 miles
Brake and tail light on 2002 Chevy Trailblazer ext have failed on four occasions since leasing this new car on 5/24/02. Service people have been great in fixing the problems. This first incident on 11/6/2002 involved only one tail and brake light but the fourth incident on 11/21/2003 involved both tail and brake light. The failure comes without warning and only is noticed when a good citizen driver informs me. The latest incident was noticed when a driver almost rear ended me because both lights were out. Fortunately, the top (dole) light worked. The dates of the repairs are: 11/6/02, 8/7/03; 12/23/03; 11/21/03. In a related problem the windshield wipers and/or washers have faied on three occasions: 7/2/02; 11/6/02 and 12/23/02.

- Thiells, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 152002

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is a knock in the engine of my vehicle. The new engine with the new design of the pistons straight layout is making my engine have a continuous knock. My four wheel drive does not work due to a electrical short in the dash harness. Wire harness is located behind dash. Tail lights constantly burning out.

- Madison Hts, MI, USA

problem #1

Jul 312002

Trailblazer

  • miles
I have had numerous of problems with my 2002 Trailblazer. I have had to replace my rear tail light housing 3 times in the last year. I have also had to replace the clutch fan 3 times within 3 months. My hood keeps squeaking and has to be readjusted every other month. My instrument panel has gone out twice. The alarm also works when it wants to and the passenger side seat belt always locks up. On 6/13/03 it left finally left me stranded on the side of the road on the way to California. I live in Arizona and was traveling with my wife, mother-in-law and our 3 year old daughter. I had to pay for a rental car and had to submit to GM to reimburse me for the rental car. By reading all the complaints on these 2002 Trailblazers I think we should all get together and do a class act law suit towards GM. E-mail me with your thoughts. Jorgutierr5@aol.com.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?